Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

The new Mongoose XR75 mountain bike can tackle just about any terrain. Its dual-suspension frame is powerful, yet lightweight enough for young riders to maneuver. The Mongoose mountain bike has 21 speeds, linear pull brakes and a quick-release seat post.
Average Customer Rating:
3.907 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation80%69 out of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Great deal

07/03/2009
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't listen to all the elitists that shop at their Local Bike Stores (LBS) and spend a fortune for their bikes so they can feel better than everyone else.
This bike is a deal for $118. You have to know what you are buying, and how to use the equipment. It doesn't take a genius.
The grip shifts shift by feel, meaning if it doesn't shift up to the next gear, twist it another click or two. Another thing, read the manual. It tells you not to use the first chainring (front gear #1) with the last two cogs (back gears 6+7) and the biggest chainring (front gear #3) with the first two cogs (back gears 1+2). If it makes noise, adjust the left twist shift minutely up or down, depending on the derailleur position so that it doesn't rub the chain.
I can't argue about the workmanship of walmart employees as they differ from store to store. I bought mine from Elk Grove, CA and they put the bike together really well. I rode it many times since I have bought it without any adjustments made. I even attached a trail-a-bike to it, and works well. If your bike was assembled poorly, an average person with the right tools could figure out how to do the simple adjustments, or just pay a bike shop ~$20 to adjust for you.
I often ride around the neighborhood and bike trails that include some dirt paths (nothing major, which is what this bike is intended for). If you're going off jumps and riding it to the "extreme," then I would suggest that you buy something more expensive from your LBS. Take it for what it is - a commuter bike with a comfy suspension. 'Nuff said!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 2 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Great Bike Greak Price

04/23/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been all over Atlanta looking for something to replace an old mountain bike. I wasn't looking for anything expensive and thought a bike shop would be a great alternative to the department stores, I was WRONG...bike shop prices started at $500 all of which looked like something out of the Wizard of Oz, minus the wicker basket and $2500 for Dual Suspension Mountain Bike. Next stop Wal-Mart, fell in love with this bike, then to Target, REI and Sports Authority...none of the other stores had anything comparable or even in the same price range. I'd read the reviews on this bike and thought the seat comments were just people being picky but they weren't kidding...my only complaint is the seat padding is obstructed with HARD stitches, easily rectified by adding a gel padded seat cover or a new seat. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great price for people not looking to break their bank on something they aren't considering going cross country on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Review 3 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Very smooth

07/04/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second bike. I am not a pro by any means. I needed to get around and i go through some construction sites with gravel dirt and pebbles of all kinds. Also regular pavement and city blocks. This bike handles very well, of course you will feel big bumps but it will not hurt your butt which is the main point. I swapped out my seat for a nice think padded one. I recommend tightening all the bolts especially for the handle bar before riding because i was going really fast down hill and suddenly it loosened and i started serving. It is my fault because im a kid and i wanted to test it instead of checking it for safety. I am a broke college kid and this is a great bike for the price, really smooth ride with great shocks and suspension.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 4 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

This is a great bike for the cost.

07/20/2009
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to start off by stating that I had not been on a bike in a awhile due to surgery. I bought this bike to get back into shape, (and to save a little money on gas and to help the environment a little in the process.) This is a good bike...
1. Weight - This bike comes in around 45 pounds but feels light under me. It is helping me to meet my goals and I am starting to get back into shape. (So far I have gone from 220+ down to 170 pounds.) After riding this bike for awhile you get used to the feel and the weight, if you want a lighter bike then you should get a "road/commuter" bike instead of a "mountain/trail" bike.
This bike is not heavy, it is comparable to any other bike in it's class/price range.
2. Durability - I don't know what anybody is doing to this thing to break it. Unless you participate in extreme sports this bike will be just fine. You need a more expensive bike to handle extreme jumps and big drops and/or hard trails.
It is a very sturdy bike and can handle anything a normal rider would throw at it.
3. Adjustments - As with any bike, you have to learn how to care for and maintain your ride. (I only had to adjust the derailers and brakes. Always make sure that things that are supposed to be tight are tight, and things that are supposed to move, do so freely.) If you do not know how, you can go to a reputable and trusted bike shop and usually they will do it for a very small fee, and most will show you how and what to do. Most respectable shops want you to enjoy your bike and make sure that it is safe and properly cared for to get the most enjoyment out of it that you can for as long as you can.
ANY bike straight off of the shelf, or out of the box, will probably need some adjustments.
4. Ride Quality - I ride this bike daily on a mix of road and dirt trails. The seat is hard, (the more durable the seat the more you tend to give up in comfort), and the linear-pull brakes tend to slip a little in wet/muddy conditions. This bike is not a true a "road" bike, and yet it feels fine on the pavement. And at the same time it is not a true "trail" bike, but has handled the trails I ride just fine. You can ride this bike with some confidence.
This bike transitions very well from paved/smooth roads to trails/dirt and back again without sacrificing ride quality on either surface.
I do get a lot of compliments on this bike, it does look good. (My bike is the black/red combo like in the picture.)
I have bought some other things for this bike, (most of it I got at the same time at Wal-Mart).
-Bell Sports F-20 bike computer
-Bell Sports Night Trail Light set (this lights up the trails just fine, and when on the street it allows others to see you)
-Key Cable Lock with Kevlar (Somebody broke into my back porch and stole my last bikes so make sure you buy quality locks and that you use them!)
-Bell mini/frame push/pull pump (I think they also have Beto double-head mini pumps)
-Water bottle cage (mounts to handlebars)
-Mongoose bicycle gloves
-Bell Adrenaline adult bike helmet
-Topeak Defender fenders, front and rear (durable nylon, quick release, mud fenders)
-Tamer suspension seatpost
-As I stated, I ride everyday, (rain or shine), so I am going to upgrade to disc brakes. Which, for this bike, that means a new front fork (because the current fork doesn't have the disc brake tabs, also called bosses), and new wheels to accept the disc brake conversion. I am probably going to go with Avid BB7 mechanical disc brakes.
-I also might look at a more comfortable seat when this one wears out a little more, the stock seat is a little hard.
Side note, After riding this bike awhile, I realized it is comfortable enough that I could ride it to work three times a week too. So as a benefit to getting into shape, I can also help the planet and save a couple of bucks here and there on gas. However, I will get a road bike for the longer commutes.
In summery - This is an excellent bike for the money. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this bike. Just be wary of your skill set and needs. If you are into professional riding, (cross-country, extreme sports riding, etc.), you will need a more expensive bike tailored to meet your specific needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+194points
Review 5 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Keeping Value in Mind.

05/02/2009
By ,
Bethlehem Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For my needs, being that i am 25 and picked up a cycle up for the first time since i got my license 9 years ago, this cycle is absolutely perfect.
I see people bashing this bicycle and i believe that they need to keep in mind several things :
You need to adjust if you bought from the store: Walmart employees built it quickly to place on the shelve.
For an entry level biker, its a great bike, and keep value in mind. If you were an expert bikerwhy would you waste your time on a 120$ bike. For entry level or recreational bikers, its a good buy.
To argue strength and durability: i stand at 6'3 and 220lbs, im a big athlete and the frame has not bent on me yet.
I love my bike and would recommend it to anyone who wants to get back into the sport of biking. It is great cardio, and with todays economy, why waste several hundred more for minor changes in quality. I agree that the breaks may not be that excellent and neither is the gripshift, but i keep in mind that if i stick wiht the sport and use this bike alot, one day i can get a cannondale for $3000. For my needs and my bank account, this bike is great. I wouldnt have bought a bike for a dollar more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

BEST BIKE UNDER $150!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

02/04/2009
By ,
ATLANTA, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THIS BIKE!! AFTER OWNING TREK AND ROSS MOUNTAIN BIKES IN THE PAST THAT COST $300 (TREK) AND $600 (ROSS), AND HAVING TO ADD STUFF TO THEM TO GET THEM THE WAY I WANTED (BLACK RIMS, DIFFERENT SEAT, SHOULDER CARRY STRAP, ETC), THIS IS ONE COOL BIKE FOR $118!! KUDOS TO MONGOOSE FOR THIS ONE!! I JUST WANTED A GOOD (BUT NOT TOO PRICEY) BIKE FOR EXERCISE. I'VE ALWAYS GONE TO BICYCLE SHOPS FOR MY BIKES IN THE PAST, BUT THIS TIME I WAS GOING FOR THE MOST BANG FOR MY BUCK. THIS BIKE HIT ALL THE MARKS FOR ME (21 SPEEDS, BLACK RIMS, SPRINGS IN THE FORKS AND FRAME, GOOD SEAT, AND A PAINT JOB THAT LOOKS BETTER THAN THE ALL BLACK TREK I OWNED, AND IS NOT AS FUSSY AS THE ALL CHROME ROSS BIKE I HAD TO CONSTANTLY POLISH TO GET THE LOOK I WANTED. IN THE PAST I USED TO SEE MONGOOSE PRODUCTS IN THE BIKE SHOPS, SO I TRUST THE BRAND. I TOOK IT OUT ON THE ROAD SOON AS I BROUGHT IT HOME. AFTER A LITTLE ADJUSTMENT OF THE BRAKES , SEAT HEIGHT, AND FRAME SUSPENSION, I WAS ON MY WAY. THE SEAT FELT GOOD, THE RIDE WAS REMINDING ME OF THE MORE EXPENSIVE BIKES FROM MY PAST, AND I DIDN'T HAVE TO HOT ROD MY BIKE WITH A LOT OF EXTRA PARTS TO BE HAPPY. WHAT'S WRONG WITH THIS BIKE? IN A WORD..... NOTHING. YES I HAVE MY LITTLE QUIRKS ABOUT IT, BUT THEY ARE THINGS I WOULD CHANGE TO SUIT MY TASTES. THE BRAKE LEVERS ARE A LITTLE SMALL FOR MY LARGE HANDS, AND I WISH THEY WERE ALL ALLOY INSTEAD OF ALLOY BRAKE LEVERS FITTED TO A PLASTIC HOUSING. A QUICK CHANGE OF THE BRAKE LEVERS AND THE HANDLEBAR GRIPS (THE ROSS MT. HOOD BIKE HAS THE BEST GRIPS!!) WOULD FIX THIS FOR ME. AFTER MY FIRST RIDE, I WANTED TO PUT MORE TENSION ON THE SUSPENSION BUT THE ADJUSTMENT COLLAR ON THE SPRING IS SO TIGHT NOW FOR SOME REASON I CAN NO LONGER USE MY BARE HANDS TO TURN IT AND WILL NEED A TOOL OF SOME SORT TO FIT INTO THE NOTCHES OF IT TO TURN IT (IT'S MY FIRST SUSPENSION BIKE AND I'M USED TO RIGID FRAMES, SO I GUESS I'M TRYING TO DIAL IN THAT RIGID FRAME FEEL WITH JUST A LITTLE CUSHION IN THE RIDE). I HAD MY EYE ON THIS BIKE FOR A MINUTE ON THE WEBSITE, AND NOW THAT IT I'VE PURCHASED IT AND RODE IT, I HAVE TO REMIND MYSELF FROM TIME TO TIME THAT I ONLY PAID $118 FOR THIS BIKE. THIS WOULD MAKE A GREAT GIFT FOR SOMEONE AS WELL. THEY WILL THINK YOU PAID MORE THAN YOU DID. GREAT VALUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+24points
Review 7 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Good till it gives out.

07/23/2009
By ,
Bad Axe, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had this bike roughly 7 months. For the first 5 1/2 it sat in the garage. The last month and a half I have put well over 2000+ miles on it. Actually I can give you an exact 2150 miles. 50 miles everyday. In week 3 of riding the bike gear 7 began to slip. I adjusted my driving and dropped down to gear 6. That gave out in a week. I am in gear 5 now and after 2 weeks I am suffering from the same thing ( the gears slip). I made adjustments to my riding every time but I just can't do 50 miles and get the training I need in 4th gear.
With the exception of the gears giving out this has been a pretty good bike. For the price I would expect it to last a little longer with the wear and tear of everyday use. I probably would have hung on to the bike a little longer had I not borrowed a buddies Mongoose Blackcomb All Terrain Bike. Rode it once fell in love bought it a from the store a few hours ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

A Great Value.

06/27/2009
By ,
Bismarck, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned one of these for nearly two years, and I'll be buying another one here pretty soon as well.
The first one I used to get back and forth between work and home during all four seasons (I'm in North Dakota - so that gives you an idea of what she's been through) and she handled it very well. Other than having to replace the tires and brake pads she held up very well.
She finally met her demise last summer when I crossed paths with someone more interested in her cell phone call then watching where she was driving. Ended up wrecking the rear wheel and bending the frame.
Obviously it is not a high-end bike, but if you keep it maintained she will be a good rider and will last for a long time. Along with all that, it is a very sharp looking bike and you will get compliments.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+4points
Review 9 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Great bike for the price

07/10/2009
By ,
Easton,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this bike for my 15 year old son and he loved it.He started riding it right away.I must say the person who helped me out on this purchase was very pleasant to deal with.He gave his personnel advice since he is the person in charge of assembly of the bikes.I took it and can not be any happier to listen to him.I heard about the hard seat a gel seat will solve this problem,for the price of the bike spend alittle more for the gel seat.You can not go wrong in buying this bike if you are not one of those die hard mountain bikers.They are the ones who go to bike shops and pay out the nose for a bike.Today's problems no one in thier right mind will spend hard money on one of those bikes whem this one will do.I asked the Wal-Mart employee to make all the adjustments before i purchased it.He told me no problem and did it right in front of me.I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BIKE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

The Mercedes Benz of Bikes!!

08/21/2009
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! I really love this bike. I had to exchange three bikes before this one. Frist I had the Women's Next Bike and the bike made a loud noise as I road ould barely hear the music in my ipod lol! The brakes were shot and the seat felt like sitting on bricks. Than I got a Men's Mongoose Road Paver and it was okay but the bike was just pretty boring in terms of looks and I needed a bike that could handle dirt roads and rocky hills. Than I got a Road Master, a cute but very cheap bike also. Than I thought @ least the Mongoose was quality so how about I'll try their mountain bike. One of the best decisions in my life. This bike is great , ride three to four times a week for exercise. This bike is super fast and the shocks handle going over curbs and ruff roads with ease. I got the gel padded seat for extra comfty. The only thing is I would not recommend this bike If you are a man about 6.1 or taller. My husband is 6.3 and say's he too tall for this bike. I perfer the men bikes b/c I'm 5.7 but I have long legs so this bike suits me perfectly. Best bang for your bucks trust me this is an excellent price for the bike and I try several. I purchase my bike right from the store so I did not have to assemble anything!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 11 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Perfect mountain bike for the summer!

05/11/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those people who are into biking during the summer this Mongoose mountain bike is the best bang for the buck. Just bought this bike today and it seem very sturdy although I have not taken it out for a ride yet. I plan to take this thing out for a spin on the mountains sometimes this week or weekend. The frame is actually aluminum alloy and not steel. This bike is very lightweight and for a mountain bike it has all the extras to accommodate your needs. The only test drive I gotten was from the store I bought it from to the parking lot where I parked my car. Very nice handling and smooth. The shocks are actually extremely comfortable. So, comfortable that you can't feel any bumps as you run through it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

"WARNING: Re-assembly required!!"

11/16/2009
By ,
Napa, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is ok; I bought it for my son, mainly because it is a trusted brand name. I figured I couldn't go wrong with a name like Mongoose. But when my son got it shipped to his apartment, he said that it wasn't properly assembled, and that the bike repair man at a local establishment where he lives who had to tune-up the bike in more than 5 areas, said it was "banged-up" during assembly. The bike repair man also noted that the gears didn't shift into 21st gear the way they should without the chain coming off of the track, and my son was told that the reason for that was due to careless assembly because the rear gear guard was dented slightly.
I would simply caution anyone looking into buying this bike: just remember that there is a reason why it is priced as cheap as it is. I learned a good lesson with this: if you want top quality, you have to shell-out to get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 13 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Know your goals when you purchase this bike.

10/05/2009
By ,
Charlotte, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just want to caution those who are looking to enter into mountain biking like myself. If you plan to do any type to trail riding, which is what this bike looks to be made for, step up to a higher quality bike or get one from a bike shop somewhere. This bike worked great riding on a local semi-paved, maintained path here in town. When not pushed hard, and not ridden on any terribly difficult terrain, this bike performs well as I assume most any bike would. However, I found some trails set up by a local bike club in Charlotte, and that has been the source of much frustration. Most every trip through the woods involves coming home and fixing something. The brakes won't stay where set, the gears aren't in line like they were to start with, the rear tire shifts under heavy pedaling, etc. Some of this was due to initial set up, so be sure to tighten all bolts once you get it home if you do purchase this bike. All in all, I just want to pass along my experience. If you plan to go out and do any type of serious trail riding, it is well worth the extra investment to step up to a true mountain bike with it's features.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

GREAT BIKE AT A GREAT PRICE

06/02/2009
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this bike. I owned a Haro Shimano that cost me well over $500 and to be honest I really don't notice a difference between the two. I will be changing a few things to suit my taste like the stop levers (only because they are plastic) and the seat, but other than that it's perfect for me. The seat isn't that bad I just have a very boney bottom. This bike rides very smooth, haven't had any of the problems mentioned by other reviewers. I don't care how much is spent on a bike, they all need tuned to your own specific desires. You won't be disappointed, in fact I bought two, one in black for my other half and one in red for me. We love them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

whaa!

05/31/2009
By ,
austin tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well, first off its a very attractive bike. The suspension is great, and it rides smooth. Now I went to some trails and first the front brakes went out, then as I was pedaling up a small short hill. The chain broke. Well that's it. First time I use it. I'm getting a shwinn. Evryone seems to love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Review 16 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

GARBAGE

03/26/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this bike expecting to perform ok since it was pretty cheap. But the first time out i broke both pedels.The next time the pedel crank kept falling off as well. The handle bars never stayed still no matter how hard i tightend them. I traded it in on the XR200, and have not had a problem yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Cheap, but ok

06/27/2009
By ,
U.S.A
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this via Site To Store. The bike arrived 2 days earlier than promised (which is what I expected).
Putting it together was very easy. Out of the box, it felt sluggish. Some minor adjustments were needed. The ride was smooth. I am a heavy man (230 lb). In spite of this, the suspension worked and going over bumps was not painful.
Overall, this model is not bad. The bike is cheap, which reflects in craftsmanship (bad application of stickers, reflectors installed incorrectly, etc.) But for such a low price, this product fairs very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike
07/20/2009
By ,
LI NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great casual riding bike, obviously not for hardcore mtb but excellent in casual light trails or road, cool look to it, shocks are great, seat is uncomfortable fismrst time but u get used to it so don't waste money on a seat cushion till u try it out for a few days. Some problems shifting but oil the deraillers and it works better. No problems yet, completely happy, nutin more I could ask from this bike!!!! BUY IT NOWW!!!!!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

No more Mongoose

06/17/2009
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Mongoose XR75 26" Mountain bike for casual riding in my neighborhood as a form of exercise. To say that I am disappointed would be a gross understatement. This was an awful experience. This bike was suggested to me by a friend who felt it would be a good starter bike. The bike is very difficult to shift, very hard to pedal, gear ratios were extremely inefficient, the seat is very hard. Overall, the XR75 is uncomfortable and cheaply built. I could not recommend the XR75 to anyone for any purpose. Fortunately I was able to return it to WalMart and get another bike by a different manufacturer and this one is very nice. The new bike is a Schwinn Avenue.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-6points
Review 20 for 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike

Excellent Gift

03/06/2009
By ,
Fort lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price. I purchased this product for my 12 year old son. He's is super happy with it. He tells me it's very light, and that it rides very smooth over bumpy surfaces. A few adjustments had to be made to the brakes, wheel placement, handlebar, and seat, nothing hard, very easy to adjust. Totally happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next