Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Seal-a-Meal Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Seal-a-Meal Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Save money, save time and keep food fresh longer with the Seal-a-Meal Vacuum Food Sealer. This Vac Sealer is a great way to protect and preserve moist, dry and delicate food safely in bags. The vacuum food saver is easy to operate and features a dishwasher-safe drip tray for no-hassle cleanup. The Vac Sealer comes with starter bags included. The Seal-a-Meal Food Sealer, VS106 also includes an accessory port.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation86%48 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 64 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Money Saver

09/10/2009
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this just to save left overs but I've become addicted. I make up salads, with everything but the dressing and seal up each bag, lasts me 2-2 1/2 weeks. I make the hubby breakfast bread and muffins and seal those up, they're as fresh as the day I made them after a week. I just back the bag out a bit so that it doesn't vacuum for the breads because it will smoosh them. Great versatile machine that is well worth the money. (Extra tips: if they don't have the cheaper seal a meal bags at your local walmart go over to the food aisles and pick up a great value box of freezer bags, they work with the machine just fine. If you're not wanting it to vacuum out your food i.e. bread then don't put the bag as far into the machine as directed, this will bypass the vacuum and then seal it for you.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Just Right!

06/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used all of the hand vac and hand sealers around in order to avoid paying big bucks for a "real" vacuum sealer system. To be fair they have their place but this Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer is just AWESOME!
.
It is simple, easy to use and does the job perfectly. The cheaper ones feel cheaper and from the reviews have lots of problems. The pricier systems have more to go wrong and just cost way too much. The Seal-a-Meal is just perfect for the person who wants to seal a few things a week AND it works great with those generic discount vacuum packaging bags and rolls so you really can save money.
.
If you have a bag sealer keep it handy, you can use it to make staple like spot welds in the bag so bulky items seal cleaner with the Seal-a-Meal.
.
Once you get the hang of this thing you can make your own bags or even tubes. I always end up with extra tomato paste so now I just mix in a little olive oil and make a toothpaste like container. It's a little tricky keeping the sealer from sucking the paste out but once you get the hang of it you can keep the tube in the fridge and just squeeze out what you need.
.
Yeah I'm rambling but it's awesome so if you are looking for a good vacuum sealer at a good price this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Does what its say it does

01/29/2009
By ,
Bronx, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this product so far a couple of time, its not something you use everyday. The food that I sealed looks great after a couple of weeks, no frost on the meat, looks just as fresh as the day I sealed it. I cut a green pepper in half used it then seal the other half and left it for a week and to my surprise the edges that normally get crusty was still fresh and tasted great. Everyone should get one and I bet that people won't have to throw away spoiled food anymore saving your pockets and the your food. This was a great investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+136points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Missing some basic functions

11/05/2010
By ,
Hampton VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live on a boat, and need to ensure long-term storage of a number of food and non-food items that is waterproof. I use a vacuum sealer to do this. When my old one broke, I purchased this one on-line, thinking it would have the same basic features of my previous one. However, it is missing one of the most basic, which is allowing the user to seal a bag, independent of vacuuming. This allows me to create bags of any size from a roll, seal a bag without vacuuming for delicate items, such as crackers, chocolate or pasta, and seal with a partial vacuum. Without this feature, it requires you to use individual bags, instead of the roll, which makes the on-going cost much more expensive. Also, fragile items either can't be sealed or they will be crushed. I would strongly recommend you look elsewhere for your food sealing alternative.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Pleased as Punch

03/06/2009
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the Seal-a-Meal from a Walmart store and brought it home. It was lots of fun practicing making different size bags and sealing our stuff to keep it fresh. We'll be using it for all SORTS of things. It's so easy to use! We're pleased as punch and would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Great idea. Time will tell the results.

12/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like to fill my freezer with baked goods, but always had to throw a lot of things out because of freezer burn. I guess time will tell whether this machine and its bags will prevent freezer burn in the foods I preserved with them.
It's extremely simple to use, both with pre-cut bags and custom bags made from the rolls.
If you intend to freeze liquids or sauces, or things that might squish or lose their shape when the air is sucked out, I recommend freezing them overnight in regular ziploc bags to keep their shape, then transferring them to the Seal-A-Meal bags to use in this machine.
For example, I took a homemade pumpkin pie, froze it whole to maintain its shape, then cut it into wedges with a big sharp knife. Each wedge is in its own Seal-A-Meal bag in the freezer, its shape intact and perfect for portion control for a single person, and leaves no leftover pie sitting in the fridge to tempt overeating (or absorbing nasty fridge odors!) Just take the pie slice out of the bag before thawing, or it will become soggy from the trapped moisture.
I've sealed up meats for the freezer with this equipment too, adding BBQ sauce to marinate the meat before sealing the bags.
So far the Seal-A-Meal is a great product. My only complaint is that it doesn't like trying to process narrow tube-like bags that don't span the whole width of the rubber suction gasket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

LOVEIT!

03/03/2009
By ,
PHOENIX, ARIZONA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'M HAVING A BLAST USING MY NEW SEAL A MEAL. THE FIRST DAY I SPENT THREE HOURS USING IT. RAN OUT OF BAGS. HAD SO MUCH FUN. I WASN'T EVEN HUNGRY! IT'S MY NEW TOY! I WENT TO THE STORE TO PICK UP MORE BAGS. IT'S THE BEST INVESTMENT I HAVE MADE. I CLAP AND YELL YIPEE WHEN THE SEAL LIGHT GOES ON!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Love this product

01/14/2010
By ,
Cartwright, Ok.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best thing for keeping food fresh I have ever had. It does everything it says that it does.
I buy the rolls of bags and make my own perfect size bags. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Very disabled product.

07/07/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product a week ago. It didnt have much suction at all. Would not seal the bags at all. So I thought I may have bought a defective one. Went and exchanged it and ran into the same problems. Your bag needs to be HUGE for the product to suck or seal and cannot handle anything even remotely wet. I returned the second one and sport the extra $50 for the Food Saver brand and it worked perfectly on the same item I was sealing in the same size bag. This prodect is seriously underpowered and should not be even sold.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Sealed With A Kiss

11/09/2010
By ,
Rochester,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My girlfriend and I just sealed about 30lbs of fresh deer links. We used 22 quart sized bags without any issues.This machine worked each time / every time.Took us about an 1/2 hour to do it all.The only thing we did to help the process out was to, flip a plate over / upside down so that the bag sits level with the machine. Would highly recommend this to any hunter,fishermen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Foodsaver v 106

03/26/2010
By ,
Portland, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After about a month of reviewing vacuum sealers I decided to go ahead and purchase this model. If it didn't work, it could returned since I bought it a wal-mart and are store is very good about accepting returns so I would not be out my money. Well im certainly glad I did. This is so worth the money and performs exactly how I had hoped and was at a price that was very affordable. If this sealer only last a yr, I will have gotten my moneys worth, and would gladly purchase another one. Although you have to cut the bags it really isn't an issue with me, since its not a big deal to cut and seal them on the end.I just don't see how you could go wrong with this vacuum sealer at a really good price. Although i have only had this for a few weeks, I am vacuuming the heck out of everthing and it seem to be holding up well. Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

seal a meal

07/12/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this product cannot be used with other bags. it wont vacuum if you dont use the seal a meal bags and there are none sold in walmart stores. buy one that has bags available where you shop!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

What a piece of garbage!

08/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading all the rave reviews on the Seal-A-Meal, I had to check to see if I had bought the same item. This sealer was a major disappointment! Do not waste your money on this piece of garbage! Here are the cons:
1) The maximum width of bag is only 11" which is much more limiting than I anticipated. Until I started trying to seal food, did I realize how much I couldn't do with it. For example, homemade pies won't fit.
2) You can't seal anything with any kind of moisture content in it...it simply won't seal. I tried sealing garden peas after blanching and draining to freeze for the winter and no luck.
3) The sealer is very tempermental as to if and when it will seal at all. I had to keep pressure on the lid throughout the process to increase my chances of success. I learned to ignore the "hands free" indicator quickly. I wasted an enormous amount of bags with all the trial and error! Not exactly environmentally friendly or cost effective!
4) There is no manual control on the vacuum. This means that baking (I tried homemade banana bread) is crushed by the sealer and ruined. The manufacturer recommends freezing softer foods first, then sealing them. I'm looking to remove steps to the process, not add them. Neither am I looking to have to backtrack once food hits the freezer!
The unit's going back tomorrow! I'm shopping for another sealer!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Smoked Salmon

09/23/2009
By ,
Sequim, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been having good luck on the river and now have a freezer full of smoked Salmon, sealed the same day it was pulled from the water! It works with the roll so you can make your own size bags. A real plus.
It took a little longer to do all the bags that I had because you have to wait between bags so it has the time to cool down and I had to push on the top hard to get it to come on. I guess that is normal. But the bags stack in the freezer nice and neat!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

suck-it-to-me

11/09/2009
By ,
Albuquerque NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fine product, I concur with all of the positive reviewers...
I use sealer to seal and compact items in emergency/first-aid kits.
Adapters allow user to use "zip-lock" bags and other containers.
Nicest feature is the S-A-M canisters (from seal-a-meal), they are cheaper, better and stronger than other makes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Better than expected

02/07/2009
By ,
Portland, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works fine. Will save money buying in bulk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Saves on throwing away freezer burned meats.

09/21/2009
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for when I would stock up on meat. I got sick of throwing away meat that was freezer burned. I love this sealer. It took a little getting used to, but it's worth it. You can't have any wrinkles in the plastic when you try to seal it, otherwise it won't seal. And you have to be careful when filling the bags so you don't overfill them. Otherwise they won't seal properly. I think this was well worth the money, and probably works just as well as the more expensive models. For the little bit I use it for, it works perfectly.
I've also used it to save leftovers sometimes. It makes it easy to fit them in my lunchbag the next day to take to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Fit for a Queen!

12/08/2009
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this for a Christmas present from my husband in 2008. I was so happy that he listened to my request for a change. It has saved us a bundle of money. I purchase the long roll and make my own size bags. I like to freeze my home made soups in the winter. That way when ever the mood strikes, my husband can have a bowl of home made soup at his finger tips. He just places the bag in a bowl in the microwave or use it a a boiling bag on the stove. I do Chicken noodle, Vegtagle, and chili this way. There are just the two of us left at home know so I buy the large packages of meat and devided them which makes the servings cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106

Great Product, Great Value.

04/25/2009
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were getting ready to butcher a Pig and I didn't want to use trditional freezer paper. I had bought another vacuum sealer and it didn't work as advertised. I researched online and went to the store and bought this one. It works great. the hands free is especially good. When it's finishing you can get the next package ready. It comes with an accessories hose,so I can seal up leftovers for work and they stay fresher than they woul in any other container.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Seal-a-Meal Vac Sealer Food Saver, VS106
07/13/2009
By ,
Bozeman, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just recieved this product, and I think it will work well for my purposes. It isn't exactly hands free, because you have to hold down the corners quite a while before it tells you that you can remove your hands. I was disappointed that it only came with 6 bags (barely enough to try it out), but that was probably written in the specs, and I just missed it. Otherwise, so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next