Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sega Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Sega Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

This compilation features 49 of the best first-party games from SEGA's venerable 16-bit Genesis years, as well as feature bonus content from its 8-bit Master System and 1980's arcade era games library. Featured games include Sonic the Hedgehog 1, 2 and 3, Columns, Ecco the Dolphin, Shinobi III, Space Harrier, and fan favorite Streets of Rage. The games in the collection have been reproduced with the utmost detail and accuracy to the original games. In addition, Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection can output the games in 720p with higher resolution graphics for HD televisions, bringing a new visual richness to playing these classic titles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.356 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
12
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation88%64 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
12
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Sonic's Brand Sellout Collection...

07/18/2010
By ,
Alabama, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Honestly, I thought it would have been a great game. There are some ups about it, and there are several downs.
Pros include, the Sonic games... But there isn't really anything new about them, and I say that because they have been included on every single game collection with the word "Sonic" in the title for the past 4 or so years.
Cons include, I assumed that playing the other games that I had never played before would be fun. But they are all super boring to a modern day gamer, and I love classic games, I haven't tried all of them yet, but for example "Ecco" is really not straight forward and you have to fiddle around aimlessly to figure it out. I won't review each individual game, but most of them aren't really entertaining unless you liked the specifically in the past.
It's not really worth the $20 that you would pay for it if you already own the original games that you would like on it. There aren't even online capabilities added into the games.
My opinion is they are not worth it, unless you are into getting several new games at a cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Good Old Memories

01/16/2010
By ,
Boca Raton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this game last Saturday, and Received the following Saturday ( Today!), played for 2 minutes because I had to go to work, Just got home now, drinking some beer, and playing Sonic. I tear drop dripped down my eye as I have not seen these games for over 10 years, and It reminds me a lot of my childhood. I recommend this to anyone who may be in their 20's because when this all game out, we were 6+ yrs old, and its awesome to relive these awesome Games. Only thing I found about sonic the hedgehog is that you can kneel down, and do that speed thing to boost yourself off like you could with the sega controller which isnt a big deal but was useful when stuck in those loops. I love this game, and its well worth the wait, and the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Ahh, nostagia

04/15/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When they call it the Ultimate Genesis Collection, they mean it! All my favorite games from the old Sega system are on this one disc. Sonic, Vectorman, Golden Axe, Shining Force, Phantasy Star 2-4 (with the first one as an extra unlockable), Alex Kidd, and more.
The ability to save at any time means you don't have to play through a whole game all at once, or allow you to reload to a better place after a mistake. That's very nice to have on most of these old games.
Even after all these years, and all the new games coming out, these have stood the test of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

OMG has them all!

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've spent about 30 years playing these games. Hoping to find them on a compilation game. They did it finally. All of my favorite Sega games are on here. Can finally get rid of my aging and brittle games and system and get some added storage space! Joking aside, you really don't notice how much space and room those older consoles and cartridges take up until they're no longer there. Absolutely recommend this to the RPG collectors out there. Has most of them. Only complaint is phantasy star has to be unlocked by playing sonic 2 and take down first boss on 2 player mode. I don't have anyone else who could play it with me. Oh well, otherwise this is super rad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Just as I remembered

01/10/2011
By ,
Raleigh., NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A wide collection of games, most of which I don't ever remember playing. But the Sonic Hedgehog games were exactly like I remembered. It has all of the Sonic releases and they play just like they did when they were relased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)
09/06/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only played a Sega a few times as a kid, so I brought this mainly because I've never really played Sonic or other Sega games (except Shining Force). It's an excellent value for the number of games on the disc, and for Sonic, Alex Kidd, Fatal Labyrinth, etc. fans, this is nostalgia at it's best. All the games are HD, but they're still pixelated, so it's like playing a Sega again, only with a much better picture.
I've only played it a few times and haven't quite figured out the save system, because there's both an in-game save if that was originally part of the game, and a player can also save the game by going to the collection menu. Buy it if you were a fan of Sega and enjoyed the original games, or if there were games you never had a chance to play and/or beat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Good price but boring games

06/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I guess now I now why Sega went out of business. The price was ok if the actual game was good. But now that I think about it I bought old games, what could I have spectated? Think before you buy it. Would you like to play some old games?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)
12/23/2009
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was really excited to receive this game because it contained a lot of games that I first cut my teeth on when gaming began. It wasn't that the games weren't as advertised or as I remembered. What I didn't expect that the difference in the graphics quality is so stark compared with today's games. I was hoping to get my classic games upgraded. But overall I did get what I paid for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Thanks for the memories!!

04/21/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Call it nostalgia, but this collection ROCKS! Many of the Sega classics I've grown to love are compiled on this disc, including the entire series of Phantasy Star games. That fact alone makes this collection worth buying. However, you also have to consider many of the games included in this collection are 800 points each on the Wii virtual console, making the $18 price tag for this collection a steal! Any way you slice it this collection is an amazing deal and a great opportunity to play some of the games that really defined their genres at the time. Do not pass this one up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Awesome!

04/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brings back great memories! I'm thrilled that all the classic sonic games were put onto a single disc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Great Compilation

11/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great compilation of classic Sega games and games you may not have heard of let alone had given a chance. Whether you enjoy the speed/style of the original Sonic games or want to play RPGs like Shining Force or the Phantasy Star series, you're bound to find something to pass time. The price makes this game an even more valuable find.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

A Great Value

01/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is so refreshing to be able to get back to the days of olde when games where truly about having fun. This game is definitely worth the value and what's so great about it, I can also play it with my children, would recommend....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection

06/09/2011
By ,
Sioux falls,SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just as i remembered from playing the genesis as a kid i was addicted to every one of the sonic games i love sonic the hedgehog and now to play it years later with my kid it brings back great meamories.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Great "oldies"

01/07/2011
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great game for the Sega lovers. Great for kids of all ages. Love the fact there are so many games to chose from. You never get bored. My kids range from 9-17 and they all love playing this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Great trip down memory lane!

02/19/2011
By ,
Boone, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic Genesis games to the max. My favorites are the Sonic games as well as the Phantasy Star series.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)
01/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great game! I got this for my 7 year old son and he loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Best games ever

10/31/2013
By ,
Belklevue NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this game at store and loved every game on the disc. My best friend saw that I had it
Wanted his own copy. I got it for his birthday which made him happy and his wife cry a little ha ha. This game does have achievements to unlock while playing the games and it brings up fond momeries of when I had my Sega. The game list is awesome it has all the sonics but it also has vector man and both shining forces which is an epic game all it's own. I would of paid twice what this game costs online just for that one game. Epic buy for the gamer that has played just about everything out there because come on you can say I have over 49 games on one disc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

cool

03/24/2014
By ,
new orleans, la
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cool
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

It's Sonic

12/23/2013
By ,
Gaffney SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought for my daughter for Christmas. Not used yet (Santa hasn't come yet) but she should like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection (PS3)

Ok

12/31/2013
By ,
York, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought this would be a cool nostaglia gift for my husband but he played it once and lost interest. I think I was more
excited because of the "we played this when we were kids", than he was. I dont see us getting much use out of this
game but oh well, at least our kids can see how deprived we were! I would actually reccommend renting this if you
can verses buying it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next