Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

RCA RTS202 200W DVD Soundbar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert
Average Customer Rating:
3.95 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation85%51 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

It's a good unit for what it costs.

11/19/2008
By ,
Freeport,IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have two of these units. One in my living room sitting on top of my 60" Philips tv and one in my bedroom on top of my fireplace mantle. I hooked up an external amplified subwoofer to both of them. I'm just using it as a surround sound unit. Sense with this unit can sit on top of the tv or mantle. The sound bar produces crisp midranges and highs. The subwoofer is very poor sounding. It needs an amplified subwoofer to complete the overall sound quality.The dvd player is very poor as well sense most of the time it doesn't want to read a dvd or a cd. When it does play a dvd the picture is very clear and vivid.It needs more input hookup jacks like optical inputs.This is a good unit if you don't like to run wires and have alot of clutter around your house.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

classy looking, sounds great.

12/18/2008
By ,
louisville , ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
learn how to use the EQ settings and you wont be disappointed . It took me a while to figure it out but it sounds great . The dvd player looks great upconverted to 1080i. It doesnt give the surround effect as good as having the speakers behind you but it sure beats having to run all those wires and it sounds a heck of a lot better than the normal tv speakers. good bass with proper adjustment. It has adjustments for center , subwoofer, front left ,front right , bass and treble adjustments, Radio reception is good also. mp3 hookup with the right rca cable. 300 dollars cheaper than other brands. lots of picture adjustment just like a television. very happy that i didnt have to pay 500 for it and it looks just as nice. comes with wall mounting brackets but you need to buy the wall mounting anchors and screws. I cant wait to mount it on the wall underneath my 42 inch plasma.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Good product use digital connections

01/24/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After getting the unit I discovered that reading the reviews here is very good info. Was using the left/right stereo rca output for audio but it didn't really sound that good. I too went with buying the optical to digital converter for the sound and the difference is Amazing. I thought it was weird that the sound while watcing a dvd was so much better but that's because the dvd is built into this unit. To get digital quality sound from the Satelite receiver just needed a digital connection as well. The Coax connector on this is a little misleading. It's really more like a rca connector so all you need is a rca cable to plug into one side of the optical to coax converter and plug your optical cable to either your tv optical out or the satalite optical out to the other end of the converter and you're set. Just do what others said about going through all the audio and video settings and this unit will sound good. I don't have a noise in mine that I can hear. It had a slight noise when I turned it on for the first time but after gong through all the setup stuff, it wasn't there. This unit sounds so good. After switching to the digital connection i even turned down the subwoofer a little. The moral to this story is read the whole manual and use hdmi for video for everything you have and use the coax digital in for the best sound. Even if you have to buy the optical to coax adapter, you won't be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Very nice soundbar

01/11/2009
By ,
Ankeny, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice outfit the audio is fantastic, we have high ceiling and it sounds great in here, we both like the radio on it, we can get all of our FM radio stations on it, and the DVD qualitity is great. To me it's one of the best soundbars on the market today for the price, and it's very easy to hook up. One thing people should know we have to have ours on aux 1 to get the audio for our new 47 inch phillips 1080p HD TV which we got at walmart also.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Bottom Line!

02/04/2009
By ,
Bay Area Cali
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, bang for your buck is the bottom line. I read all the reviews and shopped around for other soundbars but for the price you cant beat this one. Some of the reviews stated that the sub was not that strong, or there was a loud fan noise, etc. Took mine right out of the box and it was perfect with no fan noise or anything like that.
As for the sound, like the other reviews stated, adjust the EQ settings. For the sub, you can put it on soft, regular, and Powerful. You can then adjust the EQ to increase the bass, sub ,etc and after I did all that the soundbar and sub sounded GREAT!! I highly recommend this item.
Only issue I have is that the soundbar itself is 7 inches deep so if you plan on mouting it on the wall under a plamsa or lcd it will stick out a lot further then the tv.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Thumbs Up!

12/30/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these RCA soundbars to compliment my 42" RCA tv. The main reason I purchased this unit was to match the look of my wall-mounted tv and eliminate the use of multiple speakers and wires.
I wasn't sure exactly what to expect in terms of sound quality from this unit, but it actually does deliver crisp surround sound and rich, dynamic bass.
The picture looks great at 1080p using an HDMI connection, and the controls are user friendly.
The one complaint I have is that standard HDMI and RCA cables WILL NOT fit between the wall and unit when using the supplied wall-mount brackets. I had to add spacers between the brackets and wall in order for my cables to fit.
Otherwise, this is a great unit for the price and delivers amazing surround sound without all the speakers and wires.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Great Value

03/07/2009
By ,
Jackson, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well... I read many of these reviews prior to purchasing and most of the negatives were unfounded. The "fan issue" is definitely not a problem and the sound is much better then that of my 50" Plasma TV on it's own. The FM Radio is a definite bonus as well!
The only issue which I did read and have to agree with is that of the wall mount brackets... The engineer who designed this needs to be fired! These brackets will only work if you are lucky enough to have studs that are 16" on center and two studs have to be directly centered on your wall (there's no room for adjustment with the current brackets). I had to buy a shelf to install separately to set the unit on under my TV and have it be centered.
Other then that this is a good system!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Great Soundbar

03/23/2009
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had the soundbar for 5 days but I simply LOVE IT. I have it mounted on the wall under my 50" flat screen TV. I have it connected via HDMI cable for DVD play and connected via RCA cable for sound from the TV.
Pros:
-DVD picture and sound is VERY good.
-The sound overall is great and I can detect the surround sound.
-The subwoofer REALLY thumps (just make the adjustments with the remote)
-Radio gets all my favorite stations
-CD's play with SUPERIOR sound
-Remote and controls on the panel are easy to understand and easy to use.
Cons:
-No USB port or IPOD connection or dock
-The supplied mounting brackets are flimsy and could be a bit more sturdy
Overall:
I think this is a GREAT Soundbar for its price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Well worth the money

05/02/2009
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money. We hooked the sound bar up to a 42" Vizio, and it sounds great. I used a HDMI cable from the TV to the sound bar, and RCA cables for the audio. Few things to remember. The speakers have to be turned off on the TV or else there will be an echo. Another is I turn the volume up to 30 on the sound bar and the source to Aux 1, then have full control of channels and volume with the cable remote. Lastly the sound bar and sub woofer settings have to be set manually to your liking to get the best results. If these few things are done, this is an awesome sounding system for the money. The Dvd, and CD players are very good also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Stereo, Not Surround Sound

01/02/2009
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't get me wrong, I like this product, I really do but please do not buy this thinking it can duplicate your home theater surround sound system, it can't. The system pretty much is a stereo, I good sounding, quite powerful stereo. The system doesn't have DTS which to me was a bit of a bummer. The remote control was pretty tacky looking but I have seen worse, other than that I would say the system does a decent job of giving you a high quality stereo sound without the cluster of wires. As for the bass, it satisfies, I know that's a pretty vague description but I feel you shouldn't be disappointed it's performance, I sure wasn't.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Very good product, but..

01/22/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit is very good, excellent sound and controls. All connections are easy to find and use as well. The only problem is if you want to mount this unit to the wall. The engineers that designed the mounting of this unit should be forced to mount every one purchased.
The brackets are too close for it to fit on two studs, so make sure you use proper support. Also, you have to attach the brackets to the unit first, so it 'hangs' on the screws that you put in the wall first. Makes it much harder for a tight solid connection.
Other than the mounting issues, the unit is excellent for the price and purpose of the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Mediocre Product

02/26/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I personally didn't like this & took it back. It looks good cosmetically, hooks up easy, etc but the subwoofer is better off in the trashcan. The main unit itself worked good but the sound wasn't any better than the factory speakers builtin to my plasma...which i was hoping to improve upon. Just not going to happen for $169 unfortunately. I found several other units like Yamaha & Phillips for about $350-400 & would gladly pay the extra for the huge difference in sound. Save your money till you can afford something of better sound quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 13 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

Not bad

01/25/2009
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far so good. Only problem I have had so far was that a DVD went in to play, and did not come back out. The tray kept opening w/ no cd... I was starting to think it had a cd changer!!! I toyed with that for about 10 min and got the cd out and there have been no probs since.... mind you, i've only owned this product for about two weeks now.
Overall, compared to its competition, id say this is still a good buy (w/ soundbars in the $500 and up range) especially if you are adding a dynamic look to your lcd or plasma.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar

06/07/2009
By ,
Conroe, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good product for the money. It improved the sound from my 40" Samsung HDMI TV substantially, which was my purpose in buying it. The AM-FM tuner and DVD player were a big plus. Setup was painless and operation is straightforward. One minor problem is that, if you place it in front of the TV, it blocks the sensor which receives the signal from the TV's remote. This could be a consideration if you have limited space. But don't buy it if you are a serious audiophile--it is not Bose surround sound!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert
01/09/2009
By ,
Middle River, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just hooked up our soundbar/subwoofer last night to our 47" Vizio 1080 LCD. It works great and we are very pleased. The only thing we noticed was we have to leave our TV speaker setting to the "on" setting and leave them completely turned down so that the soundbar unit speakers/sound stays on when you turn everything on. We have Comcast Cable so once we programmed the remote to work the soundbar unit we found that we need to push the "Aux" button on the remote in order to control the sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

do not waste your time......

03/02/2009
By ,
mcrae, ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the concept is nice(huge sound with less speakers & space)but has a couple of majors negatives. have to turned on and off numerous times to get sound when first turning it on from coming home from work, in the mornigs, etc.(had to unplug and plug back up a couple of times to get sound) the biggest negative is the roaring sound during the broadcast. it sound like a car egining humming through a broadcast. the louder the sound from the program, the worse the roaring is.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

easy home theater

04/08/2009
By ,
Milton, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this product to increase the basic volume on my flat screen tv in my den and to regulate those loud commercials. A friend hooked it up in about 30 minutes and it fits the bill. The commercials don't blow you out of the room and the volume is much better. The real difference is seen (or heard) when you are watching a DVD. The subwoofer is great and it doesn't take a lot of space. If you don't want the wires and installation this is a great substitute!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

looks good too!

01/27/2009
By ,
guilford CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the price, I would say it sounds about as good as a average computer speaker set-up...stereo plus small subwoofer,
not high end sound by any means, I didn't expect it to be at this LOW PRICE
much fuller than the sound of my 42in. LCD tv
Stereo not 5.1 very minor complaint.. I wish the dvd player had eject on the remote and the blue power led is kind if bright when unit is off, can hear the fan when unit is turned on, and no sound is playing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

awesome sound bar

11/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, we've watched all our tv shows with this soundbar on - - we put music on on the background - it's great for SIRIUS or just the DISH music. the only thing I was expecting or hoping for, was a USB or SD slot, which this doesn't have - - - something to play my mp3's with. you can't beat the price for what you get - the subwoofer thumps really good, the sound is much clearer and more powerful than my 42" Toshiba Flat Screen. nice product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for RCA RTS202 200W DVD Sound Bar w/ 1080p HDMI Upconvert

A Very Good Sound Bar

05/06/2009
By ,
Tyler, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good product from RCA and Walmart-I returned a Sony Sound Bar to Best Buy because the sound was only fair. The RCA has much better tone and you can adjust the Bass and Treble and can have Stereo or Surround sound-the Stereo is very good.You will need a RCA A.V. cable to run TV sound to the Sound Bar by AV1 input.The DVD player is great and the AM-FM Stereo Radio is a real plus and picks up well. The best Sound Bar out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next