Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

The Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Pinpointer is equipped with a preset ground balance, which neutralizes the response to mineral content in the ground. With, the Squelch-Tech, this detector eliminates false signals saving most of your time. The pinpointer helps in finding the exact location of buried metal objects. This automatic metal detector features a digital LCD display with four-segment digital target identification and three-tone audio feedback for accurate and easy identification of buried objects. The LCD display also gives you a clear view of the varying distances. With the push-button discrimination and one-touch depth control, this LCD metal detector is very easy to use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation93%43 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Pro's Con's and a Warning

03/19/2013
By ,
Sequim, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this unit today, bought batteries, set it up, and stepped outside my yard and almost had a heart attack when the first coin I found looked gold and had a date of 18??.
Turned out to be a John Adams $1 coin. Not gold but a thrill to find on the first swing!
I'm not new to MD so I know the basics. The controls need to be experimented with to find what is best for you. Don't give up.
I found it easy to set up and use out of the box.
I did have a hard time pinpointing with the coils.
My old one had a button for pinpointing.
I was disappointed with free pinpointer that came with it.
The sensitivity is very poor. I works but you need to be within 3/4 of an inch from a large target.
A stud finder from the lumber store would work better. Search youtube.
Warning?
I wish they would warn first time buyers of these detectors to check local, State, and County rules, regulations, and laws before they run out and start searching. Washington State and most county parks require permits. Don't go to jail over a $25 ring.
Over all this unit will do what I need it to do. Help me loose about 20 lbs. :0)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 2 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Great Metal Detector

05/14/2012
By ,
Milford, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just got into metal detecting and had researched many brands. We decided on this one and have been happy with our decision. This is easy to use and lightweight making it great to carry when walking a bit of a distance. I would recommend this brand and model for those starting out before they go and buy one of the high dollar ones. It does use batteries more than I thought but we get a good day or so out of one, you will either want to carry/have extras or may consider buying rechargeable ones. Other than the battery use... awesome metal detector.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 3 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

worked exceptionally well

03/22/2011
By ,
Toronto,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
metal detector worked exceptionally well right out of the box,directions were easy to follow,had know problems learning controls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Review 4 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Exactly what I was looking for

09/14/2013
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Metal Detector for my boyfriend for his birthday, it's something we've both wanted to do as a couples hobby. He was so excited when he opened it and we used it that same day! Worked great! We tested it out on just a few small patches of our yard and it found a few bullet casings, a clothes pin, and pop tab. The pin pointer also works great! Overall I am very happy and so is he :) I would definitely recommend this product to someone starting out or looking for an inexpensive hobby that helps get you into shape :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 5 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Excellent Metal Dectector

10/15/2012
By ,
Ponca City, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this metal detector because Im a Disabled Vet and cant do alot of the hobbies that I used to do. It is light weight and very accurate, I have used it on different ground surfaces, hard packed dirt, sand, in a dry river bed, and grassy areas, it performed great, the screen, tone and depth are spot on, the only item that I didnt really care for was the pointing device, you have to be about 1/2" from the object for it to activate. the headphone jack works great, if you want to block out any background noise, however it is not needed the noise emitted from the detector is ample enough, I would purchase this as a gift for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 6 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

A treasure found.

11/01/2013
By ,
Cloverdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This detector is described as a hobbyist metal detector and as a first time user I found it quite easy to operate straight out of the box. The instructions are quite clear and easy to follow. The unit is lightweight making it good for the whole family.
At just under $100 there are definitely cheaper detectors out there, but compared to what this one has to offer I didn't feel they were of equal value. I definitely recommend this for those just starting out and maybe even the intermediate treasure hunters, too.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer
02/08/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the unit to work great so far. I had a lot of screws dropped in a work area and used the detector to find most of them. Look forward to using it at the beach this summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Review 8 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

an ideal hobby

02/18/2009
By ,
AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The metal detector is just what I've been looking for as a hobby that, with my disability, am able to use and enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Review 9 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

GREAT STARTER DETECTOR

05/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked fine...good value...we found alot of pop tops but could have easily muted aluminum...the pin pointer is pretty disappointing...but the Bounty Hunter works GREAT
+8points
Review 10 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Highly Disappointed

06/06/2013
By ,
Kansas City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this metal detector would be better than a kid's toy. Pulling it out of the box I could tell I was wrong in that assumption. The lower half of the device is made of cheap plastic and I'm afraid under minimal use it will break very easily.
One thing I was very disappointed in was the lack of a volume control. This seems like a simple device to put on something that makes a lot of noise but instead they want you to get headphones (quarter inch jack, by the way) so that you can go deaf listening to the tones without any way to adjust the sound.
The device was cumbersome to use and gave a lot of false positives. At one point it was going off and would not shut up while I was holding it up in the air away from any and all metal objects or wires.
The readout display is fairly useless as well. An old pull tab from 1970's coke cans gave me every sound and readout on the thing. As soon as I found it and took it out of the ground it quit beeping so I know that the pull tab was the metal it had found, but like I said it acted like it was each type of metal it can detect both on the display and audibly.
Frankly, with the $100 price tag I was expecting something better than the $20 metal detector I had when I was a kid but honestly I think that one back then did a better job.
I'm going to try to play with this a little more but I don't have high hopes and most likely will be returning it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 11 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

i like it!!

04/09/2009
By ,
cordele, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
have enjoyed getting out and about with my new 'toy'.. good exercise and have found an assortment of odds and ends in my own yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 12 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

good starter

04/15/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this is a real good stater kit i have a lot of fun finding stuffe
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 13 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Great for the Money!

06/27/2012
By ,
North East Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I located lots of underground items: Electrical cable at 14", Galvanized steel water pipe at 2', One very large metal object at more that 2' which I cannot dig up until people stop using the area. Lots of fun to use and very useful as well. The little pinpointer is great and saves pawing through dirt to reveal stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 14 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

metal detector

10/16/2013
By ,
Louisville ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel that this product meets my every expectation thanks very mush
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 15 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

love this detector

10/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and very nice all around .... Easy to use found 4 pennys 1 was a 1959 on my first day..... LOVE IT !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 16 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Great choice at the price

05/22/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First day out with my young nephews we found 3 quarters, a dime, 3 pennies, two rusty nails, and a piece of wire. They had a blast! Great hobby detector with multiple tones to help hint at what might be hidden even before you start digging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 17 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Great!

05/04/2013
By ,
Narrowsburg, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased as a birthday gift for a 13 year old. He loves it and it uses it all over. It is easy for him to use. This motivates him to get outside and get some exercise while having fun instead of sitting in front of video games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 18 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Beginner or Back Up

11/24/2013
By ,
Tuckerton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer was exactly what I wanted: I am a casual (occasional) metal detector user; neither inexperienced nor a pro.  There are times when I loose something (such as a metal bit) in the yard, and there are times I just like to poke around on a beach: This model seems ideal.  The pinpointer is a good thing to have especially when I want to locate one of the metal property pins, but perhaps not sensitive enough for smaller/ deeper items (but handy).  Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector's automatic adjusting and the ease in selecting the desired setting are great.  I had an older detector which required adjustments every few minutes (it was a victim of hurricane Sandy's storm surge).
Before I bought this outfit I read a number of reviews and made numerous comparisons.  One reviewer complained that when he installed the 9v dc batteries the detector beeped erratically and constantly until he replaced the batteries with (my interpretation as a retired electronics tech) weaker ones.  ACTUALLY? The manual states if you attempt to operate the metal detector within your home and numerous metal objects are near it will produce this result.  This behavior indicates to me that the sensitivity and proximity to various types of metal are the cause: It is not "Robbie the Robot".  Once outdoors running a test in my yard away from nails, tables, pots and pans . . . it worked perfectly.  I am very satisfied and happy I made this selection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Great detector for the beginner or intermediate.

03/25/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bounty Hunter Quick Silver metal detector was delivered on time and in undamaged packaging. After unpacking and a few minutes of reading the instructions and assembly i found the metal detector to be built of lite weight materal, but good construction. (I don't know how tough yet!) I installed the batteries and went to test it out and within twenty minutes i had found several pieces of diffrent kinds of metal in my back yard, including an old dime from 1965, at a depth of several inches. (the discrimanation could be better but this isn't a several hundred dollar detector ether). The pinpointer that came with it is great for digging and finding the metal in the hole or loose dirt. They say in the manual to use two nine volt alkaline batterys, (the detector really does work much better with them). The only reason i didn't give a five star rating is that it has no volume control, and i had to order a pair of metal detector headphones with volume control to listen to the tones for long periods at a time. This is a really good metal detector at a great price, I am willing to recommend it to anyone who is interested and have. I can't wait for warm weather now so i can go detecting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Bounty Hunter Quick Silver Hobby Metal Detector with Free Pinpointer

Great for a Hobbyist

08/19/2013
By ,
Faison,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's not the top of the line by any means, but for the money and occasional use it fills the bill. It is light and simple to use and the pointer was a bonus. I think for the money it a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next