Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Char-Griller Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Char-Griller Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Ideal for outdoor parties and events, the Char-Griller grill and smoker provides 580 square inches of cooking surface and 250 square inches in the side fire box for a total of 830 square inches for cooking and smoking. Cast iron cooking surface ensures a crisp, even sear, and an easy dump ash pan to empty your ashes safely and quickly. This Char-Griller Smoker also features 2 wood shelves for holding condiments, trays, and foods, a heat gauge, adjustable charcoal grate, and a large bottom wire shelf for storage. Easy to assemble, the Char-Griller Smoker also features a smoke stack and a sliding door for easy access to coals and ashes in the side fire box. This deluxe setup lets you cook up terrific burgers, hot dogs, tri-tip and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation92%135 out of 147reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 165 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Top Notch

04/26/2012
By ,
Columbia, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The grill is great - cast iron grates, easy to adjust coals, not too difficult to put together. The smoker I haven't used yet, but the side-firebox appears to be a nice little grill also if you need another cooking area (although the main grill is pretty big in and of itself, so you may not need more!). Overall, I love it so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Super value for the money

05/18/2012
By ,
Barrington, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this smoker with high hopes because of positive reviews everywhere. I was not let down at all. This smoker is solidly built and the cast iron grates are much more durable than the standard grill. I followed the installation instructions exactly. There are a couple small details in the instructions that are out of date, like using screws in the side fire box to support the grate... The new model has welded supports for the grates. So it's an upgrade, which is good!
This smoker has a large following and because of this there are lots of tips and tricks to get the most out of this particular smoker. Some of the most common changes people make are adding two thermometers on each side of the grill and modifying the chimney to keep the heat in longer. But even without these mods, this smoker is definitely built better than any comparable priced smoker hands down.
One feature that deserves mention is the raised ash trays in both the main smoker and side fire box. This feature is something that I haven't seen in other smokers in the price range. This not only makes cleaning the ashes a breeze, it also will keep the bottom of the grill from heat related issues. I will recommend this smoker to anybody.
The optional rotisserie is not a perfect fit though. But it can be mounted with the motor over the side fire box. The side fire box lid won't open if you do this, but you can load coals with the sliding ash tray anyway, so it's not a big deal. You also won't be able to close the lid fully even if you punch out the knockouts on the side of the main smoker chamber because the "universal" mount won't mount low enough with the side fire box attached without modifications to the mount itself. But that's ONLY an issue if you buy the rotisserie!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Bargain Quality Performer

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chargriller smoker proves that you don't need a 400 500 or $800 "professional" smoker. The firebox adds an extra measure for true or indirect heat. I already seasoned it and was amazed because I was skeptical if it would be even heat or if Id have to babysit it every 20 minutes. The only gripe that I have is that the instructions for assembling it were a little vague/could've been written better. I challenge you to find a better price for value I think this thing is a bargain and have looked at many brands recently. MADE IN USA!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Great smoker

06/02/2010
By ,
Cape Coral, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are in the market for a smoker with a side box this is it. I looked a home depot, sears, lowes and at walmart. The char broil unit that walmart has for $159 is no where near as nice as this the build quality of Char Griller. Lowes sells this in 2 parts the cost is over $200 this is a much better buy go with site to store for free shipping and enjoy the BBQ!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker
10/21/2011
By ,
Plano,TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a little time to put together but had good instructions. We went by the information how to season to protect the unit and the paint and everything was a-okay after using it twice. Seasoning is very important so do it right from the first. Fairly good price for a smoker that did what I wanted it to do.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Arrived to the Store Beat Up and Missing Pieces

08/19/2012
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was shipped to our local store for pick up. It was scratched, dented, and losing paint all over the place as if it was either 1) Dragged and kicked across the ground a few times or 2) Used before being seasoned so the paint was coming off and other parts were quite scratched and dented. My spouse and I were even willing to let the cosmetic aspect go up until the point where, during assembly, we realized it was actually missing several pieces. I will not be able to attest to its usability as we will be returning it and buying a different one entirely. Attached is a picture of just one small part where it is scratched and dented. All-in-all it sounds like if you get one that isn't used or beaten up its a great grill/smoker combo but I guess we'll never know.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Looked like it fell off truck

07/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks like feel off truck TWICE
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

What a cooker

08/16/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the package arrived looking like ten people had picked it over and then retaped closed, all parts were there(except for a couple of bolts which were easy to get at the hardware store). The instructions say it takes two people and that sure would've been nice but I did it myself. Being single with two housemates, I use the side fire box to grill for myself and a friend. I usually make enough for another meal or two during the week because there isn't always time for a nice dinner mid-week. So you're asking why such a big grill. Parties! Yes I had my first big Bar-B-que two weeks ago and smoked 8 racks of ribs, 3 chickens and 2 briskets. The cast iron grills are the best, they come seasoned so you don't have to do that part. Hardly any food sticks to them. All in all, I heartily recommend this grill. There are two other similar smoker/grills available and I shopped for the best deal and got it here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Great Grill

02/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a number of friends who have this grill, and they all love it. And once I got it, I see why. I love this grill. Its big, its heavy, and it cooks evenly. The cast iron grates are thick, heavy, and add to the grilling experience. Also, the side firebox is great. I smoked a pork loin and ribs in the center of the main grill, and the fire and wood in the side box, all between 200 and 225 degrees, and they came out amazing! My wife, who's parents raise their own livestock and butcher their own meat, said they were some of the stuff she's ever had.
The only downside to this, is it does NOT come with the warming rack. I will get it at some point, because you need a warming rack. I will also be getting the grill cover. Stay tuned for a review on that.
All and all, I cannot say enough about this grill. I've only had it a few months, but my friends have had theirs for years, so if you take care of it, it will last a long time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Performed EXACTLY as anticipated.

11/26/2009
By ,
Deep South
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just smoked a 9+ lb. Boston Butt and a 3 lb venison roast for Thanksgiving and it performed exactly as described in other reviews. I have an old Brinkmann H2smoker and it has always been a real challenge to use. Hard to maintain an ideal temp and since it requires constant tending, I've stopped using the last several years. I cranked this badboy up at 10:00 last night , dialed in the 225 degree temp by 10:30 pm, and started the pig. Set a timer and checked it at 2:30am, again at 6:30am, (stuck the venison in under the pork at 10:00am). Everything came off at 12 noon We ate delicious pulled pork, etc. at 1:15. If I wanted to spend a GREAT deal more, I suppose I could have purchased a really "impressive" smoker or a big green egg, but I don't buy 'em to look at. I also cook steaks, burgers, etc. on a Weber Genesis gas grill and this is the perfect compliment. I did have to add charcoal every time I checked, but tending the fire was no where near as demanding as before. Easy slowwwww cooking and real pit bbq results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

SMOKER/GRILL

06/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST SMOKER WE HAVE EVER PURCHASED. MUCH BETTER THAN THE 3 WE HAVE BOUGHT IN THE PAST.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

i love this grill

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best grill I ever bought.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Great Product

05/05/2011
By ,
Hazel Crest, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered the Smokin' Pro for delivery directly to my home (rather than for pickup at a store). I'd read other reviews of the box being in bad shape when they picked up at the store; I had no such experience. In fact, not only was the box in pretty good shape, it arrived earlier than I expected (although the FeEx driver did drop it while removing it from the truck). All the parts, pieces and hardware were accounted for. I assembled it by myself, using a chair to hold the side fire box in place while I attached it; I'd recommend having help on hand to hold the heavier pieces (firebox and smoker lid). The paint on the firebox did peel on first usage, but we were warned by Char-Griller and by other reviewers from this site and others. Only complaint is that the smoking chamber loses smoke at the rear where the lid meets the base. Both the paint and smoke loss issues are easily fixed, and again, if you are taking the time to read these reviews you have probably heard or read about certain modifications that are necessary. The rope gasket needed to fix that area is inexpensive and can be bought at a GOOD hardware store. The thermometer/temp gauge was pre-calibrated, but you should check (pre-heat oven to 250, place gauge in for 10mins--it should read 250). If you need to calibrate it use the nut on the back of the gauge. If you intend to smoke for long periods of time (more than 4 hours) YOU WILL NEED some sort of charcoal basket for the firebox, preferably a simple modification that allows you to remove the ashes without removing the charcoal basket (again, check online resources). Without the firebox modifications it will be difficult to maintain the temperatures you want. But the ribs I smoked tasted great, and I am a first-time smoker. Once I make the modifications I'd like to make, I intend to try smoking a brisket. Also, research something called the "Minion Method"--it should help you keep the temps up in your new smoker. This is a GREAT entry-level smoker for learning the craft.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Love this grill

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a Char Griller before without the smoker and it lasted 12+ years. The only thing we did to the old one was buy new grates at one point. Easy to assemble and start grilling. We can't wait to use the smoker.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

bought this as a gift

06/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really nice grill for the price and the smoker is awesome. For some reason though when they are had shipped it some things got bent. The box had looked like it got ran over. They need to be more careful with shipping or hiring someone who can lift heavy things. After we had bent thing to place. Its a really nice grill.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Great smoker for the money

12/02/2008
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this smoker the day before Thanksgiving to smoke a pork shoulder. This smoker was great! The pork fell off the bone and was absolutely tastey. The heat stayed stable and was very easy to use. Previous smokers have had problems maintaining heat, or would not stay hot enough to cook - not a problem with this one. If you are looking for a cheap smoker that will get the job done. This one is the smoker for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Early Father's Day Gift

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a long difficult winter my husband was longing to grill. He uncovered his old grill smoker and the bottom had rusted out. He's a guy, it had to be replaced immediately.We went looking for an identical replacement, no luck. Read reviews and purchased this one. It makes great food. We've had wonderful steaks and ribs. He has smoked back bacon and today traditional bacon is in the smoker. Yep, highly recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Awesome smoker!

06/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd smoker and it has been the best! I made great food in my two vertical smokers but keeping the temp up was always an issue. This has been allot easier. Load the side smoker with charcoal and a nice chunk of wood and let it go. I do add some charcoal about every hour after its been going for a couple hours. Keep your food in the middle to end depending on what you are cooking (not to close to smoker end).
Oh follow the instructions for the greats and u will be able to wash them off in the sink with just hot water. I always recoat them with veggie oil after to be safe and they still look like new.
Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Excellent Value

12/06/2009
By ,
Ontario, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect entry level smoker if you want to get serious about smoking meat and veggies and have a lot of fun and impress your friends. Had mine for 5 years now and except for a few paint touch ups, it looks almost as good as the day I bought it. When it's new I recommend you season it well, it will definitely prevent rusting and burning off the finish.... also burn real charcoal chunks, not briquettes. This bad boy is fun and can certainly handle the food load, I've done 8 beer can chickens at one time, or 2 turkeys, or 9 strips of ribs... no problem. This is now my back-up smoker since I have moved up to a Bradley, but I still love to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Good Value!

01/07/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This grill/smoker combo was a good value for the money as I looked at many others before making this selection. It cooks really nicely and smokes well too.
The only issue I have with this product is the paint is now peeling off the top of the side smoker box after one use. It happened when the fire got too hot maybe.
(Although in fairness, the manual says it might happen.) I just didn't expect it to happen the first time we used it.
Otherwise, a great grill/smoker for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
new london nc
paint
Posted 09/16/2012
I had the same problem in my second year I think, but a quick trip to Lowes for a can of heat resistant spray paint, a wire brush and some tape.....20 minutes later it looked like new again. Cost about $7. It's now 6 years old, and except for some rust around the bottom of the legs(my fault) it's still a winner!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next