Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Char-Griller Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Char-Griller Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Ideal for outdoor parties and events, the Char-Griller grill and smoker provides 580 square inches of cooking surface and 250 square inches in the side fire box for a total of 830 square inches for cooking and smoking. Cast iron cooking surface ensures a crisp, even sear, and an easy dump ash pan to empty your ashes safely and quickly. This Char-Griller Smoker also features 2 wood shelves for holding condiments, trays, and foods, a heat gauge, adjustable charcoal grate, and a large bottom wire shelf for storage. Easy to assemble, the Char-Griller Smoker also features a smoke stack and a sliding door for easy access to coals and ashes in the side fire box. This deluxe setup lets you cook up terrific burgers, hot dogs, tri-tip and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.376 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation91%121 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 145 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Top Notch

04/26/2012
By ,
Columbia, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The grill is great - cast iron grates, easy to adjust coals, not too difficult to put together. The smoker I haven't used yet, but the side-firebox appears to be a nice little grill also if you need another cooking area (although the main grill is pretty big in and of itself, so you may not need more!). Overall, I love it so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Super value for the money

05/18/2012
By ,
Barrington, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this smoker with high hopes because of positive reviews everywhere. I was not let down at all. This smoker is solidly built and the cast iron grates are much more durable than the standard grill. I followed the installation instructions exactly. There are a couple small details in the instructions that are out of date, like using screws in the side fire box to support the grate... The new model has welded supports for the grates. So it's an upgrade, which is good!
This smoker has a large following and because of this there are lots of tips and tricks to get the most out of this particular smoker. Some of the most common changes people make are adding two thermometers on each side of the grill and modifying the chimney to keep the heat in longer. But even without these mods, this smoker is definitely built better than any comparable priced smoker hands down.
One feature that deserves mention is the raised ash trays in both the main smoker and side fire box. This feature is something that I haven't seen in other smokers in the price range. This not only makes cleaning the ashes a breeze, it also will keep the bottom of the grill from heat related issues. I will recommend this smoker to anybody.
The optional rotisserie is not a perfect fit though. But it can be mounted with the motor over the side fire box. The side fire box lid won't open if you do this, but you can load coals with the sliding ash tray anyway, so it's not a big deal. You also won't be able to close the lid fully even if you punch out the knockouts on the side of the main smoker chamber because the "universal" mount won't mount low enough with the side fire box attached without modifications to the mount itself. But that's ONLY an issue if you buy the rotisserie!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Bargain Quality Performer

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chargriller smoker proves that you don't need a 400 500 or $800 "professional" smoker. The firebox adds an extra measure for true or indirect heat. I already seasoned it and was amazed because I was skeptical if it would be even heat or if Id have to babysit it every 20 minutes. The only gripe that I have is that the instructions for assembling it were a little vague/could've been written better. I challenge you to find a better price for value I think this thing is a bargain and have looked at many brands recently. MADE IN USA!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Looked like it fell off truck

07/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks like feel off truck TWICE
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker
10/21/2011
By ,
Plano,TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a little time to put together but had good instructions. We went by the information how to season to protect the unit and the paint and everything was a-okay after using it twice. Seasoning is very important so do it right from the first. Fairly good price for a smoker that did what I wanted it to do.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Great smoker

06/02/2010
By ,
Cape Coral, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are in the market for a smoker with a side box this is it. I looked a home depot, sears, lowes and at walmart. The char broil unit that walmart has for $159 is no where near as nice as this the build quality of Char Griller. Lowes sells this in 2 parts the cost is over $200 this is a much better buy go with site to store for free shipping and enjoy the BBQ!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Arrived to the Store Beat Up and Missing Pieces

08/19/2012
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was shipped to our local store for pick up. It was scratched, dented, and losing paint all over the place as if it was either 1) Dragged and kicked across the ground a few times or 2) Used before being seasoned so the paint was coming off and other parts were quite scratched and dented. My spouse and I were even willing to let the cosmetic aspect go up until the point where, during assembly, we realized it was actually missing several pieces. I will not be able to attest to its usability as we will be returning it and buying a different one entirely. Attached is a picture of just one small part where it is scratched and dented. All-in-all it sounds like if you get one that isn't used or beaten up its a great grill/smoker combo but I guess we'll never know.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

What a cooker

08/16/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the package arrived looking like ten people had picked it over and then retaped closed, all parts were there(except for a couple of bolts which were easy to get at the hardware store). The instructions say it takes two people and that sure would've been nice but I did it myself. Being single with two housemates, I use the side fire box to grill for myself and a friend. I usually make enough for another meal or two during the week because there isn't always time for a nice dinner mid-week. So you're asking why such a big grill. Parties! Yes I had my first big Bar-B-que two weeks ago and smoked 8 racks of ribs, 3 chickens and 2 briskets. The cast iron grills are the best, they come seasoned so you don't have to do that part. Hardly any food sticks to them. All in all, I heartily recommend this grill. There are two other similar smoker/grills available and I shopped for the best deal and got it here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Great Grill

02/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a number of friends who have this grill, and they all love it. And once I got it, I see why. I love this grill. Its big, its heavy, and it cooks evenly. The cast iron grates are thick, heavy, and add to the grilling experience. Also, the side firebox is great. I smoked a pork loin and ribs in the center of the main grill, and the fire and wood in the side box, all between 200 and 225 degrees, and they came out amazing! My wife, who's parents raise their own livestock and butcher their own meat, said they were some of the stuff she's ever had.
The only downside to this, is it does NOT come with the warming rack. I will get it at some point, because you need a warming rack. I will also be getting the grill cover. Stay tuned for a review on that.
All and all, I cannot say enough about this grill. I've only had it a few months, but my friends have had theirs for years, so if you take care of it, it will last a long time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Performed EXACTLY as anticipated.

11/26/2009
By ,
Deep South
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just smoked a 9+ lb. Boston Butt and a 3 lb venison roast for Thanksgiving and it performed exactly as described in other reviews. I have an old Brinkmann H2smoker and it has always been a real challenge to use. Hard to maintain an ideal temp and since it requires constant tending, I've stopped using the last several years. I cranked this badboy up at 10:00 last night , dialed in the 225 degree temp by 10:30 pm, and started the pig. Set a timer and checked it at 2:30am, again at 6:30am, (stuck the venison in under the pork at 10:00am). Everything came off at 12 noon We ate delicious pulled pork, etc. at 1:15. If I wanted to spend a GREAT deal more, I suppose I could have purchased a really "impressive" smoker or a big green egg, but I don't buy 'em to look at. I also cook steaks, burgers, etc. on a Weber Genesis gas grill and this is the perfect compliment. I did have to add charcoal every time I checked, but tending the fire was no where near as demanding as before. Easy slowwwww cooking and real pit bbq results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

For a first smoker, it's GREAT

07/07/2014
By ,
Coram, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't comment on durabiltiy, as I've only had it a short time. It APPEARS to be durable.
The first time I used it (first time I ever smoked meats) I got a rack of the most delicious ribs I've ever eaten. I kept a piece of mesquite ("mini-logs" are readily available at Home Depot) on top of the charcoal. Whenever I noticed that it had stopped smoking, I just added another mini-log.
Temperature was MUCH easier to control than I had expected.
I will probably be smoking every weekend!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Great Grill!

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've used it once for ribs & chicken, using charcoal. Food was great! Next time we won't add as much charcoal as the grill held the heat so the food cooked fast. We can't wait to smoke some food. A good heavy duty Grill. It wasn't bad to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Husband is surely happy

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband has wanted a smoker for years but didn't want to spend a whole lot on one. I saw this one for a really good price but my husband said for what i paid it would be very poor quality. After he put it together he smile and said this is a good quality smoker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Great smoker for the money

12/02/2008
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this smoker the day before Thanksgiving to smoke a pork shoulder. This smoker was great! The pork fell off the bone and was absolutely tastey. The heat stayed stable and was very easy to use. Previous smokers have had problems maintaining heat, or would not stay hot enough to cook - not a problem with this one. If you are looking for a cheap smoker that will get the job done. This one is the smoker for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Great Product

05/05/2011
By ,
Hazel Crest, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered the Smokin' Pro for delivery directly to my home (rather than for pickup at a store). I'd read other reviews of the box being in bad shape when they picked up at the store; I had no such experience. In fact, not only was the box in pretty good shape, it arrived earlier than I expected (although the FeEx driver did drop it while removing it from the truck). All the parts, pieces and hardware were accounted for. I assembled it by myself, using a chair to hold the side fire box in place while I attached it; I'd recommend having help on hand to hold the heavier pieces (firebox and smoker lid). The paint on the firebox did peel on first usage, but we were warned by Char-Griller and by other reviewers from this site and others. Only complaint is that the smoking chamber loses smoke at the rear where the lid meets the base. Both the paint and smoke loss issues are easily fixed, and again, if you are taking the time to read these reviews you have probably heard or read about certain modifications that are necessary. The rope gasket needed to fix that area is inexpensive and can be bought at a GOOD hardware store. The thermometer/temp gauge was pre-calibrated, but you should check (pre-heat oven to 250, place gauge in for 10mins--it should read 250). If you need to calibrate it use the nut on the back of the gauge. If you intend to smoke for long periods of time (more than 4 hours) YOU WILL NEED some sort of charcoal basket for the firebox, preferably a simple modification that allows you to remove the ashes without removing the charcoal basket (again, check online resources). Without the firebox modifications it will be difficult to maintain the temperatures you want. But the ribs I smoked tasted great, and I am a first-time smoker. Once I make the modifications I'd like to make, I intend to try smoking a brisket. Also, research something called the "Minion Method"--it should help you keep the temps up in your new smoker. This is a GREAT entry-level smoker for learning the craft.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Good Value!

01/07/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This grill/smoker combo was a good value for the money as I looked at many others before making this selection. It cooks really nicely and smokes well too.
The only issue I have with this product is the paint is now peeling off the top of the side smoker box after one use. It happened when the fire got too hot maybe.
(Although in fairness, the manual says it might happen.) I just didn't expect it to happen the first time we used it.
Otherwise, a great grill/smoker for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
new london nc
paint
Posted 09/16/2012
I had the same problem in my second year I think, but a quick trip to Lowes for a can of heat resistant spray paint, a wire brush and some tape.....20 minutes later it looked like new again. Cost about $7. It's now 6 years old, and except for some rust around the bottom of the legs(my fault) it's still a winner!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Awesome smoker!

06/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd smoker and it has been the best! I made great food in my two vertical smokers but keeping the temp up was always an issue. This has been allot easier. Load the side smoker with charcoal and a nice chunk of wood and let it go. I do add some charcoal about every hour after its been going for a couple hours. Keep your food in the middle to end depending on what you are cooking (not to close to smoker end).
Oh follow the instructions for the greats and u will be able to wash them off in the sink with just hot water. I always recoat them with veggie oil after to be safe and they still look like new.
Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Excellent Value

12/06/2009
By ,
Ontario, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect entry level smoker if you want to get serious about smoking meat and veggies and have a lot of fun and impress your friends. Had mine for 5 years now and except for a few paint touch ups, it looks almost as good as the day I bought it. When it's new I recommend you season it well, it will definitely prevent rusting and burning off the finish.... also burn real charcoal chunks, not briquettes. This bad boy is fun and can certainly handle the food load, I've done 8 beer can chickens at one time, or 2 turkeys, or 9 strips of ribs... no problem. This is now my back-up smoker since I have moved up to a Bradley, but I still love to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

A Good Value

08/21/2011
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit is a good value for the $$$ BUT it needs some modifications to bring it up to the standards of units costing in excess of $800 or more. Without these modifications this unit is an ineffective smoker (as they all are in this price range) but it is the "best of the lot" of smokers in it's price range.
I converted the unit to propane, added steel tuning plates, extended the smoke chimney, added a ball valve drain plug, added 4 larger wheels and added 2 premium thermometers - the thermometer provided with the unit is cheap, not accurate (off by 50 degrees) and in the wrong place. Temperature in smoking is everything and unless you can control it and know exactly what temperature you're cooking at you should stick to grilling on your BBQ.
Before purchasing this unit you should complete a google review search. After you've satisfied yourself that this unit might suit your needs then you should check out www.amazingribs.com (this site has more infomation on smoking than you'll ever want to know). All the modifications I made to my smoker are outlined on that site.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Char-Griller Smokin' Pro Grill & Smoker

Great Great Stuff!

06/02/2010
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying, this is the first time ever taking the time to review an item bought online! I looked for a charcoal grill with smoker/side fire box for a couple months before deciding on this one. Let me say, I am not disappointed! I was almost going to buy the brinkman model until I had the guy at Home depot bring it down and I couldn't believe how thin and cheap it was. The grates were loose and crummy and I had a bad feeling about it, so I left w/o buying. I saw the char-griller at menards, but it did not have the side box, so I shopped online and walmart had the best price with free site to store shipping. What a deal. I followed the directions and cured the grill on saturday night, the same day I bought it. I got to the butcher and purchased a 12 pound brisket. I marinated the meat with Wilinghams overnight. Sunday morning I dry rubber her down with secret seasoning and got her on the grill for a 9 hour smoke fest on my new grill and the family feasted on the best brisket they had ever had!!! Amazing meat! We ate if for 3 days! I had no trouble controlling the heat and the quality of this grill (for the money) is incredible! I also own a $500 gas weber and the old-school charcoal weber and one other charcoal grill that I often use. I have tried ribs and other things on the weber, but you have to open the lid and shift food around to add coals to the fire and you just can't do the 'low and slow' with these grills. However, the Char- Griller can do the direct cook and the low and slow so there's nothing you can't cook with it... and for under $200, you can't go wrong. I have gotten rid of my other 2 charcoal grills and now I just have this new baby and my Weber gas grill and I'm ready cook everything I need in my backyard! I actually called the company and told them how much I love this grill... and the accessories they sell are really cool! You can get a rotisserie and a trailer hitch and mount the grill to your car for tailgating or cabin trips! You can buy these right from the companies website.
If you are looking for this type of grill, you just found the best one! Yum yum!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next