Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn A1c Test

Relion ReliOn A1c Test

The new ReliOn A1c test provides an easy and affordable alternative to visiting your doctor for your quarterly testing. This easy to use, mail away test provides lab certified results in as few as 5 days.
Average Customer Rating:
3.773 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation71%47 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 126 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn A1c Test

ReliOn A1 Test

11/30/2010
By ,
San Francisco Bay area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very easy test kit to use. All supplies are included and your results are confidentially delivered by e-mail , if you request it. This test kit is reasonably priced and is high quality . The ordering process ( on-line) was simple and the kit arrived in days .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn A1c Test

Affordable

07/29/2012
By ,
Arab, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Convenient, readily available at Walmart with no prescription needed. Affordable, good choice for those without insurance. Enables a1c test to be done more often or in-between doctor visits for better glucose control. Pre-paid mailer enclosed with no extra expenses of any kind beyond purchase price. Results are received via mail or email within a reasonable time.
Cons: The two lancets provided are one-time use only and cannot be re-set for repeat use should more than two sticks be needed to obtain an adequate amount of blood to completely fill the test circles as instructed. Even by carefully following directions, some people may find it difficult to maintain the necessary blood flow to completely fill the test circles with a single application of blood. Multiple applications of blood are allowed as long as one drop of blood is not placed on top of another although some overlapping is impossible to avoid completely. I wonder how much, if any, this would affect test accuracy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn A1c Test

Home A1C Kit

10/18/2009
By ,
Coppell (DFW), Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your diabetes specialist/general practitioner normally only want to take a A1C test every 90-180 days. To me, that was way too long of an interval to see what short term progress I may be making with changing diabetes treatments. Although the A1C test is designed to test your average glucose reading over the last 90 days, it is important to know that, due to cell death patterns, the test is heavily weighted towards your level over the last 30 days.
I use the home test every 30 days because the test of just so inexpensive and the service is top notch. I can always count on hearing the results directly within a week.
Discovering my A1C level every 30 days gives me a much better reading on progress and allows me to stay on track for better short term results.
This kit is excellent and the results are always consistent with what I receive from my doctors office. An outstanding deal for any diabetic who is serious about getting things under control.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Too long of an interval??
Posted 11/15/2013
There's a reason why your practitioner wants to do the A1C test every 90-180 days. A1C is testing the average percentage of blood sugar in your blood for the past 3 months. If you test sooner, you are not going to get an accurate figure as it will not change very much. If you are interested in having results sooner than the 3 month window, then test your blood glucose every day for a week or two and average it yourself and look up the A1C conversion on the internet. It's a very easy and a fairly accurate representation of your A1C without having to go to the doctor for a blood draw.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for ReliOn A1c Test

Expected results received in 10 days. Inexpensive.

01/23/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the A1c kit easy to use and the instructions clear. Received results (from their website after getting the email notice) 10 days after mailing the sample. I expected a result very close to what was determined, so I am fairly confident in the accuracy. (However, I would prefer if the mailing envelope was better sealed, hermetically--it's just a paper envelope!) It is very important to wash your hands in warm water or shake them a bit, to stimulate blood flow, as you will need about four large drops.
***Be certain that you check the expiration date on the box before you buy it! I encountered many boxes at multiple Walmart stores that were well over a year past expiry. The lab cannot process your sample if the kit is expired! This may account for the large number of reviews here complaining about no results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn A1c Test

Requires alot of blood

05/31/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A seriously huge drop of blood is needed. About 10 times as much as the biggest drop you use for a Glucose meter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn A1c Test

Great test kit

03/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than Bayer. Cheaper that your co-pay for lab work for most insurance. Service as promised. And it means you can bring your results to your doctor rather than coming back for a second visit.
Be careful about covering the circles with blood drops. Follow instructions exactly, which means some people with poor blood flow, shaky hands or poor motor controls might have problems. Still, after I messed up the first test, they sent me a free replacement kit -- WITHOUT my asking. Much more than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn A1c Test

An Amazing product/service not found anywhere else

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Getting your A1C done at a Dr. is expensive, and the other home tests use meters and are more expensive and seem to be less accurate. This is a great way to get those regular tests done, without the cost.
On rare occasion I've had an issue and I find the testing company to be very responsive. It was them going above and beyond recently that made me drop everything to come here and tell you about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn A1c Test

Below Expectations

06/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I sent my test in on Sunday 06/01, and requested my results by e-mail. I received an e-mail today 06/07 letting me know my results were ready. I followed the link I was given to get my results, and received an error message telling me that my results were not available at this time. There was a phone number to call for problems. I called the number and received a message telling me that calls were only accepted Mon thru Fri. Not very professional. Not waht you would expect when dealing with a medical test.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn A1c Test

Good option for A1c Testing

06/05/2012
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, for the price, it's worth it. The most difficult part was trying to get enough blood sample to fill the appropriate area of the form. Once that was done, then it was simple process of mailing the results in a pre-paid envelope (another plus) and waiting to get the results either through e-mail or regular mail. The results arrived within 5 days after mailing and was very accurate.
Although it's a bit inconvenience to mail in the sample to get results, it's better than relying on devices that provide instant results but may not be accurate. Considering that if you do A1c testing every 3 months, the price for 4 kits is unbeatable. I would recommend this. The only reason for not giving 5 stars is the amount of blood needed. The amount that's needed is more than single blood drop taken for typical blood glucose. However, it's much less than the vials taken at doctor's office.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn A1c Test

Took Longer Than Expected to Receive Results

11/06/2013
By ,
Americus, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the product description I was expecting to receive results very quickly (within 5 days) but it took 13 days from the day I mailed my sample for my results to be receive by me via email. This is tolerable if it is expected, however, I had emailed them and was told they were never received and I had assumed they were lost at the post office level.
In retrospect, I assume the test was physically delivered via the post office but had not been officially checked in. This would explain why they had not marked the test as received even though I (and others here) had expected it to be received days before I had contacted them.
Also, it seems that others here have the idea that the two circles need to be completely filled. They did not in my experience. I used slightly more blood than I do for my glucose monitor, but I only filled the circles about halfway.
I read and re-read the instructions and nowhere do they say to fill the circle completely with the blood sample, but there is an illustration that shows the two circles completely filled. Perhaps that is where the confusion came from.
I put my blood drop in the center and as I said, it filled the circle halfway from the center to the outside, and I received results with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn A1c Test

Cheap, easy and reliable

02/15/2009
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At $9.00, this test is cheaper than most insurance co-pays. If you've been a lifelong diabetic, you already know what you've to do to manage your sugars (adjust insulin delivery rate, etc.).. all you need the doctor is for your A1C level. I got my result emailed in 3 days and it seemed pretty accurate.
Next time I have to see a doctor, I will get an A1C done there and do another one of these tests at home. I will then compare the results and post another review.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn A1c Test

A1C

04/20/2009
By ,
Grand Junction, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got my bill from my doctor's office for an A1C test and was floored. $86. I won't go that route again. I've used Reli-On before and was surprised how easy it was.
Walmart - start carrying this product at more stores.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn A1c Test

Extermley Easy to Use

08/03/2010
By ,
Auburn, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a cheaper way to keep tabs on my AC1 without having to pay the $15 copay just to have the dr take my blood. For $9, and the fact I can do this at home and have the results sent to me via US mail OR email, this is great. The test results, give or take half a percentage point, is on par with the results I get from my dr. This product comes with everything you need including a prepaid envelope. Fast results and simple to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn A1c Test

Don't waste your money

06/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took over a week to get here. Postage was as much as the item. When it got here the box was smashed and missing parts. Also found out you still have to send it to a lab. So I went to my immediate care and it was done in 10 minutes and insurance paid for it. If the parts would have been there it would have taken about 3 weeks total time spent. Didn't bother to send it back because the whole process dealing with customer service was not worth the trouble!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn A1c Test

Might be okay if you get results back

06/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually do not review my purchases.
The reason I gave it a poor review is because it has been two week and I have not received my results back. Whether it was a mix up on their end or something I did when I made out the form I do not know. I called customer service and they were going to direct my call to the lab but at the time the lab wasn't open and I haven't found time to try again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn A1c Test

Incredible!

04/30/2010
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart ought to be congratulated for making this terrifically important test available for under $10.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn A1c Test

Money saving test

12/05/2008
By ,
Texarkana,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a diabetic for 8 years had my doubts as to accuracy of this test. When I was e-mailed my results they were totaly in line with what my A1c results always run. Mailed my test in on Monday and results were e-mailed to me Friday. I will use this test again and highly recommend it. If you have ever had blood work done you can easily see how much money this test can save you.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn A1c Test

JHG

06/30/2014
By ,
Greenville MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very difficult to use, very slow processingOver a week and still waiting for results
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn A1c Test

ALL Diabetics need this!!!

03/28/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For less than $10, you get a fast and accurate A1c. I have used this kit twice by drawing blood for the kit within minutes of having my blood drawn by Quest Labs. Both times, the results differed by 0.1 - REMARKABLE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn A1c Test

It does what it says but...

05/12/2010
By ,
pennsylvania
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There is a ton of packaging for what is a simple blood test for a diabetic user. I wish they would put 2-4 tests inside rather than just one in the same box. We already have the lancets and wipes that are included as well. A very good value and it allows me to get monthly A!c tests cheaply. If i could buy the same box with four tests for $30, I am all in!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next