Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ronco Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Ronco Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Simplify and speed up your prep work in the kitchen with this Ronco Veg-O-Matic. This invention slices whole ripe tomatoes in one stroke while leaving every seed in its place. With this Ronco slicer, you can make piles of french fries or cottage fries in just minutes. You can also dice and chop vegetables for a crudites platter or to add to your recipes. The vegetable slicer comes with a slicing blade for tomatoes, potatoes and other vegetables. You'll also receive a wedge blade for apples and other fruits and veggies. A cube blade for cubing potatoes and other foods is included, along with an onion-dicing blade for tear-free cooking. The Ronco Veg-O-Matic box also contains two pushing grids for use with the various blades that are included. Three cutting blades will allow you to cut potatoes in one stroke. Tomato slices in just one stroke. Bring new life to salads, main courses and vegetable sides in no time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.472 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation64%23 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Not as good as an older model I had years ago.

09/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It doesn't cut near as good as an older model I once owned. I use it mainly for cutting french fries. If the potatoes are very large, it's almost impossible to push the top down to cut them. The only way I have found is to beat it down with my fist. I'm really disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Not the same as the original

07/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This version uses plastic rings that hold the cutter blades vs. the metal rings in the original. Due to the new construction, the cutting blade does not give complete slices -- if you slice a tomato, you get two half slices. I have used only two blades and one was hard to load in the machine. This version is better than not having one at all but if you have a working old one and plan to buy one of these, don't give the old one away until you have tried the new model. You may want to keep both. I should add that the new model will do cuts such as coring and slicing an apple that the old model will not do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Not well made.

08/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It broke the first time we used it The spring on one side came out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Takes some effort

08/25/2014
By ,
Masaryktown, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wanting to save time, I purchased this to chop the fruit and vegetables I put in my dehydrator. It does the job, and I feel I got my $20 out of it, but will be looking for something easier to use. I don't have a lot of arm strength, and it's hard to push down on from shoulder level (it's tall). Crisp apples are too hard, pears and peaches do well. I'm not even going to try sweet potatoes, but peppers are ok.
One of the springs popped out the second time I used it, but was able to re-insert. So far it's holding.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Had Both

08/26/2014
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had both the original and now this. I can't tell the difference. The original did the job very well and this one does too. I'm glad I found it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Very useful

10/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy the ease of cooking since My purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

A cheap imitation of the original

08/05/2009
By ,
Bowling Green, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Veg-O-Matic is okay, but a cheaper version of the original which sold 25 years ago. I purchased a new Veg-O-Matic to replace my old worn blades, but found there is no attachment to slice potatoes for frying and all blades are encased with plastic not metal like the original. For the price this is a good buy, but don't expect to do heavy duty slicing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Great kitchen tool!

03/16/2014
By ,
Wichita Falls, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of these years ago and was really surprised that I could buy it again. Thank you for the QUICK mailing service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Spoiled by the original

03/30/2014
By ,
lowville NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the original and that one was great. Somehow it got lost while moving so I tried this one, tried it once and returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

We keep wearing them out!

10/03/2013
By ,
north lewisburg ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I have been married for 30+ yrs and are on our 3rd one. We wear them out using them. The only negative about the product is most of it is made of plastic and not as durable as we would like. It is the best product for cutting potatoes for making homemade fries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

waste of money

07/21/2014
By ,
Blaine, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
first time I tried using this product what I was trying to chop jammed the machine and I spent twice as much time cleaning it as using it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

very cheap

04/09/2014
By ,
covington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very cheap on the very first time we used it a blade broke and one of the button that hold top down broke i would not recommened this product to know one sorry but its true
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Just OK

07/05/2014
By ,
ELIZABETH CITY NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product had some of the small plastic parts break off on the first use! I am most unhappy with the shipping! The warehouse that it shipped from is only about 3 hours from my store yet it took over a week for it to be delivered! Unreal!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

We have an old one from years ago love it

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used an old one from years ago to make French fries during a recent camping weekend. Everyone loved it and wanted to know where they could get one. I googled it and Walmart came up and everyone wanted one so I ordered one for everyone. They all love them!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

older was better

06/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like the old one I bought about 20 years ago because you didnot have to change out the blades you just had to turn the blades not take them out now you have to keep the extra blades some place in a drawer
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Awesome slicer.

11/20/2013
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of these when I first got married. I used it until I broke the top. I had it for so many years and used it probably 3 - 4 times a week. It was the kind that had 2 blades that you put one over the other to get different slices of potatoes. I've wanted another one but never thought about looking for one online. Then I saw the one I bought and knew I had to have it. So many different blades and they are made so much more sturdy. This one should last me the rest of my life. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Do not Buy

04/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is not solid. It was getting stuck from the first time. Tried to cut onions it jammed. We will return this back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Love it, throwback to 70's improved.

06/11/2014
By ,
Edmond,OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Difficult to keep locked
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

ronco veg choper

03/26/2014
By ,
Westland Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ronco choper is good. But the locks keeps closeing when im choping. They need to do somthing about this.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ronco Veg-O-Matic

Would not recommend

07/08/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It would not cut potatoes and it mashed the tomato I tried to slice. I was very disappointed in the performance and returned the item.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next