Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Durabrand Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Durabrand Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

Average Customer Rating:
1.95 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation25%5 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

It's annoying

11/01/2008
By ,
SLC, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first got the product in the store, it was ok and worked fine. But then after a couple months it started making some weird noises when we turned up the volume. We would have to turn it off for a min, then turn it back on, then it would start up again a while later. Certainly a pain when you're trying to watch a DVD/Movie.
I therefore would not recommend this. Durabrand I guess is not a brand you can rely on ... :\
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

Good for computers

01/28/2009
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this system since October 08 and after tweaking the individual speaker volume to there highest and upping the preamp , and setting the graphic equalizer the speaker perform flawlessly. I use these speakers for gaming , music and movies (none of the speaker are more than 3 feet from me) after tweaking the equalizer the bass response was awesome and the treble was crisp and clear. this system wont break your ears but it will definitely make you notice it. I am more than happy with these speaker. when ever my computer is doing something boring like a system scan i watch a movie on the included dvd player.
side note these speakers are not powerful enough to fill a large room with allot of soft materials in I.E thick rug and many pieces of furniture, a small space is needed to enjoy these speaker at there full potential
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

Looks Can Be Decieving

01/30/2009
By ,
Tracy, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first when I seen this product I compared it to Durabrand HT-3918 60 watt, but I seen the Durabrand 5:1 100 watt, for 20 dollars more I'd get a DVD player, plus I'd get 100 watts of power. I was excited but that was short lived. I was very disappointed with this product, when the volume gets loud the picture quality gets distorted, the DVD player has limited features, & the speakers don't have anything on the back to help you hang them up, I'd have had to drill holes or do something more to mount them on the wall. I've tried both systems side by side, don't waste your time purchase the 60 watt system instead, it blows away the 100 watt system, & you wont have any of the problems I run in to.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

Not a good buy (or me, anyways)

11/09/2008
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product online here and I am extremely disappointed.
First of all the product I received is silver not black like the picture shows. The DVD player and all of the speakers are made of silver plastic and don't match my TV at all.
Ever since day 1 the rear surround speakers constantly make a "ticking" noise, like a clock ticking. It's not a loud ticking, but it is loud enough to be annoying while trying to watch a movie.
Now one month later the subwoofer stopped working. The sub makes a loud pop when the system is turned on or off but no sound at all from the sub while playing a DVD.
I wouldn't recommend this system to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

DON'T BUY THIS!

01/29/2009
By ,
Richmond Hill, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst surround sound system I could think of. I bought a durabrand home theatre system a couple years ago and I've never had a problem with it. All the chords were regular speaker wires hook up through the sub woofer. Unfortunately this model has all the wires hooked up through the dvd player..and you can't expand the wires b/c there is a special plug for it to be plugged into dvd player. The wires are short, and it is really a waste of money....in this case, pay a little bit more and get a better system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 6 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

It's...so so

12/27/2008
By ,
Atoka, Tn.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok, first off you gotta understand that this isn't a high end home system obviously. I'm not a big tech kinda guy. So this unit fits my needs sorta. I have it in a medium size room, and it's loud enough for me. Alot of people in the room talking might over power it. But I'm a pretty simple guy so I don't have to many complaints. It's easy to hook up, and tweak, and all that. My only problem is that I couldn't hook up more than one outside unit to the thing, ie: I have my xbox 360, but I can't hook up my tv. It only has one output on the back. Maybe radio shack or walmart has some cords that can help, I don't know. And the dvd player seems...pretty cheap ya know. I gave it three stars cause it kinda fits what I needed it for, and I'm on a budget, and the sound quality isn't great, but it's not really bad either. So if you have a small to med/small room, on a budget, and looking for something kind of basic, then I would say, ehh, give it a try, maybe. I'm not disappointed, I knew it wouldn't be super great. But for me, it works out, kinda. It just doesn't have that kick I wanted, but I don't plan on taking it back. Whether or not this help you, I have no idea. Like I insinuated, this unit is some where between kind of good, and not good at all. Worth the money? Well... just not quite. I think the price is a tad high for what it is. I don't think your getting ripped off though. All in all, I'm almost happy with it cause it suits my needs. Hope this helps ya. I wish you all good health and luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

Don't Waste Your Money or Time

01/01/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Out of the box....pretty easy to set up. Played a CD fine. The positives stop there. The DVD player would only pick up a portion of the sound from DVD's, not the voices. The picture quality was terrible. It wasn't the cables. Our $20 DVD player does a much better job. It was interesting reading the 9 reviews here. All but 1 were negative. I was going to try and swap the DVD player at Wal-Mart, but will simply return it instead. Avoid the hassle and frustration.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 8 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

Sound ... isn't

01/03/2009
By ,
Lakin, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item to use with an overhead projector.
Everything hooks up easily, which is as good as it gets. When I played a DVD, the sound was extremely low - even on its highest level.
I'm pretty easy to please, so I wanted to appreciate this for what it was - a low end system. (I bought it at Walmart without reading the reviews first)
But, since my TV plays much better and louder than the speakers, I can't really recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

Looked Good, But has some Drawbacks

11/30/2008
By ,
Cleveland, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very nice looking system with a decent remote control. I think I would have kept the cheap system if the speaker wire for the rear speakers was longer. I bought it for my guest bedroom. I must warn you that the bass on the system is not very strong, but the sound quality was good. I returned the item after reading ther reviews that indicated that system developed problems rather quickly. I'll keep looking for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 10 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

very poor

11/15/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this product about 3 months ago now i understand thats a long time but only after a few weeks of owning it it started having problems now its to the point where i can put a brand new dvd in it and have a hard time getting it to read it and sometimes i have to unplug it and plug it back in, to get it to even let me get the dvd out i would NEVER recomend this product to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

Not bad

11/30/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Depending on what you want it for.
I got this system for the kids TV and video games. For that, the system serves its purpose fine and if the kids happen to do damage to it, its not the end of the world.
If you are looking for a system to complement a large screen, plasma and other high end components then you'll want to get a high end sound system as well. Not this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

WORST THING I HAVE EVER BOUGHT

03/25/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IF YOU WANT TO HAVE TO PURCHASE ANOTHER DVD PLAYER EVERY 3 MONTHS THEN THIS IS THE DVD PLAYER IS FOR YOU. AND THE NUMBER ON THE BOOKLET IS NOT THE NUMBER SO YOUR GOING TO HAVE TO BREAK DOWN AND PURCHASE ANOTHER ONE. NOT WORTH THE TIME OR THE MONEY
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

horrible product

12/23/2008
By ,
trinity nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
all of the speakers dont work except for one.. when its been on a while... i hear static in them... it no longer reads dvds ... i wish the company would do a recall.. glad im only out 60.00 but as always you get what you pay for ...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

sorry i brought it

01/05/2009
By ,
albany ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
where do i start this is not a good prodcut you can not get this away for free i will not tell anyone to buy this it. it is easy to install but it does not play loud it is a very poor product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

Perfect!!

02/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works fine. AND IF YOU NEED TO, YOU CAN EXTEND THE REAR SPEAKER CORDS, Unlike the other review said you couldn't. Bass is great,and the sound is perfect Works well with BIG rooms too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

WASTE OF TIME & MONEY

01/19/2009
By ,
Sugarloaf, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product looks very nice but the speakers go in and out and has a very fuzzy sound quality. Not worth the effort of setting it up. Returned to store after one day.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

60 bucks is to much

12/26/2008
By ,
ia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
speakers already making static noises. u cant play through tv if had known it wouldnt play thru tv wouldnt have bought
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System

damaged

01/04/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this on line when i received it, it was damaged had to return it to the store for another purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 19 for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System
12/25/2008
By ,
Ocala FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Speakers all do not work, DVD skips, and could not run the sound thru the tv.
Taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Durabrand 5.1 100W DVD Home Theater System
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5