Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Average Customer Rating:
2.714 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation48%10 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Cheap home theater

01/18/2009
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our teen, as a room stereo. So far it has been a great system. I am AV savy so setting it up wasn't to bad. It did take a while. It is more than enough for the teens little room. It would work well in a dorm, small apartment or for someone who doesn't rattle the windows. I bought a Sony system from someone else and it is quite equal to the more expensive system and has the USB jack for your mp3 or flash drive. My teen listens almost daily to it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

You get what you pay for

12/05/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product last week and it is perfect for what I paid for it. I wanted a simple home theater system without paying $500.
The other reviewers are complaining about the rear speakers being too short but if you know something about speakers you can adjust that. I bought extra speaker wire and connected it to the provided speaker wire and it works perfect.
My IPOD works perfect on it too. You just have to change the input from the remote (I believe it was the AUX button).
I paid $88.00 in the store and it is worth what you get. It is not a perfect product but it is a great value at its price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 3 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

I did love it

01/06/2009
By ,
NW Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had this unit for 6 months. I did love it. It
just started freezing up about 3/4 of the way thru the movie ( really, annoying). I've tried cleaning
lens (as suggested in manual and on-line trouble-
shooting), no luck. Called customer service, I can
send it in for repair (my dollar on the postage) and
I can expect to see it back in 45 business days! And
the customer service tech informs me that this problem is common for this unit. Isn't that great. I
have kids that watch DVD's alot, as well as myself,
45 business days isn't going to fly. What really concerns me is if this is a "common problem with
this unit", I have just spent 45 business days waiting for my unit to be fixed and returned , and
will probably still end up buying a new one. So much
for that one year warranty. I know this is a low priced unit and you get what you pay for, but I really liked this unit. So, if you are considering pur-
chasing, be aware there are "common problems with
this unit".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Lacks a lot of features

11/04/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PROS: clear sound.
CONS: -painful setup
-rear speaker wires much too short (and i have a small room!)
- bulky center channel...can't fit on LCD TV..whats the point...
- twice defective, sometimes won't power on?
- cheap flimsy materials
- 100 bucks is too much for the poor quality. go with logitech
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 5 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

wouldn't buy it

11/09/2008
By ,
cookeville, tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this home theater got it home & the volume was very low turned all the way up. Then the volume would not turn up past halfway, you could barely hear it at all then. I don't think it is worth $100.00 It is built cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 6 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Limited

12/29/2008
By ,
Billings, MT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Intended to be used with Visio 22" flat panel that sounded pretty small. Problem I had was not researching the TV outputs before purchasing. I assumed the HDMI would be a two way communication but it goes form DVD to TV only. TV only has SPDIF (optical) output for audio or headphone output. Had to get stereo to rca adapter for that but was too confusing for the operator to have to monitor volume on both units. The straw to break the camels back was finding every time the RTD315 was turned on we lost OTA HD all the time and OTA DTV some of the time; even with the unit totally disconnected from the TV it would interfere with OTA reception. Still considering keeping it for my own use with cable or returning it for PC speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Review 7 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Great value for the price!

01/27/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After looking around for a good surround sound with HDMI output, this system can't be beat for the price. It hooks up easily and has a USB drive input, and two RCA audio inputs, plenty for basic surround sound. The HDMI output works flawlessly. The DVD reader is loud with certain DVDs. The speaker wires are short indeed, but can be easily fixed with extra wire. The volume is not loud enough because of its wattage, recommended for dorms or very small rooms. If you want to crank it up, you better get a different system that will cost at least three times as much. We'll see how it fares in the long run. Thanks for reading!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Its good

11/18/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think that it is a good choice so far. Its cheap enough while still not suffering the lack of money. And the sound is also good. I'll admit that the sound does not go very loud, but I'm also assuming that the lack of volume is a safety feature for the speakers. And another thing I do not like about this system is that the back speakers do not have enough cord length. But then again, that can be fixed if its ever needing to be, LOL. Overall, I like this system.
Also another thing, the FM radio seems to be working good on mine. Considering I'm currently living in a basement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Do not play my MP3 player

10/15/2008
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I brought this system with a vizio lcd 42 inch. I was so excited until I got this product home. One of the cool feathures you get with this product is you can listen to your mp3 threw the surround sound. It was easy to set up however my mp3 player does not work. So I tried my husbands ipod and that did not work. I took it back and got a new one thinking it was defective, but the second did the same thing. I love the surround system, it is clear. So if your not concern about playing your ipod thru your surround system then your in luck. Unfortunately, I wanted it all!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

don't buy this one

07/18/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First of all, the upconverting doesnt work at all. yeah, maybe it take normal dvd's and puts it through an hdmi cable, but its still normal dvd quality.
Sscond, my remote for this would stop working within ten minutes of the unit being on. every time. i would have to turn the system off to fix this.
Third and last, i've had the unit for about one year, and i go to turn it on today and the power light is blinking and it won't turn on. so i fear it has died.
decent for the money, but a piece of junk otherwise
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Would spend more next time.

01/12/2009
By ,
Pocatello, ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had it for a year and the dvd player keeps turning on and off, the remote broke and RCA wouldn't help me replace it and I couldn't even buy it anywhere, the rear speaker wires were to short and i did end up buying speaker wire and lengthening it but I shouldn't of had to do that, and THE SPEAKERS DONT HAVE MOUNTING HOLES ON THE BACKS so how am I suppose to put them on speaker mounts? I wouldn't recommend this item to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Nice for the money

01/01/2009
By ,
MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is nice for smaller rooms.. Volume was low when I first used it however it is a very easy fix, tuning the speakers, and adjusting the surround sound made a huge difference.. Nice for the price, if you want booming sound, shell out more cash, but for surround sound on a budget its a nice product...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Good product

12/30/2008
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have this set for about a month now, works great, easy to install, and if you read the instruction you can adjust all speakers separate, the sound is loud enough for a small living room, a good set for his price, if you want more noise, yiou need to buy a more expensive one. I recommend it very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Good Buy For the $$

02/03/2009
By ,
franklinton, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product arrived very fast(3 days). Satisfied for the most part. especially for the price. If you like more kick as far as the volume goes you probably would need to upgrade to the 1000 watt system. otherwise very adequate sound. one other drawback is that it wont play some burned dvds
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Great Product!

01/31/2009
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned mine for about 4 months and it has worked great. The only problem is wires, but other than that it is a really great system, excellent sound, and awesome component output. I recommend this for anyone who is looking for a simple, cheaper surround sound system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

100% GARBAGE

12/27/2008
By ,
Pawtucket, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very simple do not buy.... the max volume i could barely hear in the next room (i live in an apartment) and the dvd player upscale is pretty good but it glitches...i got this as a christmas present and i will be returning it asap
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

this system doesnt work for me!!

12/14/2008
By ,
alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought the system today,got it home played some music on it volume at max and it powered off...played a dvd on it and powered off,really annoying when you buy something that is supposed to work right and does not.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

I'm disapointed

01/24/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hooked it up per directions and put in a dvd it said no disc and after repeated tries with different discs the same ting I wound buying a different system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 19 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

Good product.

01/21/2009
By ,
Lewiston, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my son, who has it hooked up to tv - says the sound is very good, and the dvd works
well. Good product for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for RCA RTD315 200W 5.1 Home Theater with DVD Upconvert

One Star too many

01/24/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It has only 1 audio input.
Comes with no cables
Comes with no FM antenna
On of the speaker outputs burned out right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next