Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Synaps Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Synaps Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

With a beautifully bright screen, the Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame makes pictures come to life! It's wall-mountable and looks great in any room. Plus, the Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame plays music files via built-in stereo speakers that recreate quality sound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.023 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation81%35 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Good Value - Over, solid product

01/03/2009
By ,
Central Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave this frame to my wife for 24th wedding anniversary. I did not research frames... just went to Wal Mart and got the biggest one and this was it.
Overall, this is a good value for the money, but it has some minor drawbacks. Again, minor stuff ... overall this is a fine digital picture frame. For the price, I am pleased with the purchase.
Very well packed.
Very well constructed.
Good directions.
Good picture quality.
Slots for about all types of your memory devices.
Things that could use improvements....
-My biggest complaint is that there is no way to randomly view your photos. It is always the same, predictable, boring order. However, if you research digital frames, they are about ALL this way. You have to pay a lot more to get one that has a "random order" feature.
I did the best work around I could. I downloaded a free shareware program called "ShuffleFilesNames". This easy, small program will change the name of your photo files and rearrange the order randomly. This way you can mix up your photos. I create a different folder on my desktop and keep A COPY of the photos for the digital frame
in that folder. Then shuffle them up with that shareware program. Just be careful NOT to shuffle your original photos, or you will loose the original name of the photos. The program does allow you to "revert to original names" of the photos if you did this my accedent. But it does not seem to work 100% of the time when reverting the names back to the original photo name.
Now, once you "shuffle" the photos around, it will always play in that order until you perform another shuffle. Make sense?
- Remote is usable, but not well designed,... goofy functionality with what buttons perform what functions?
-Same with on screen menus ... they are fair to poor, but workable.
-Cheapest memory device you can get is USB Flash drives (not included). But this frame can only handle up to a max of a 2 gig flash drive. That seems to be plenty for me, but too bad it is limited at that size. I have a larger 8 gig flash drive, but I have not tried it to see if it works.
Sorry this review is so long. Hope it helps you decide if this if for you or you want to spend more money for a more options with another brand. FYI, I paid bout $220 at a WalMart in Peoria, IL for this frame (Dec 2008).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+119points
Review 2 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

12/05/2008
By ,
King George, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this frame. This frame is easy to work with and does not stretch your photos; as with other frames I bought (i.e. other sizes w/ widescreen) as gifts and did not like them at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 3 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Great gift, happy Moms!

05/16/2009
By ,
East TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I looked over the digital frames that were available from several different mass merchandisers and this one seemed to be far and away the best buy for the money, considering the screen size of 15" diagonal. Online reviews seemed to back this up.
We took a chance and ordered two. The shipping was fast and the rate was reasonable. The frames arrived in perfect condition and were easy to set up and to load.
The only problems I encountered was that one of the USB cords packed with the frames was faulty, and the remote is a bit difficult to use. I switched the faulty cord out with one I already owned, and as my mother-in-law won't be adding photos herself, I didn't pursue any sort of replacement.
The other cord packed with the other frame was fine. The remotes work, but they have to be directly aimed at the receiver, don't have more than a few inches of range, and a button press takes longer than I expected to respond so there's a chance of mis-cues.
Really, though, this is a minor problem as the only time I used the remote was to do the initial setup. Other than that, the buttons on the back of the frame work as well or better. Besides, most people will load this up and let it run without much remote-tweaking. ;-)
The onboard memory is spacious for jpgs, though it would quickly be eaten up by mp3's or videos. I loaded over 500 photos onto one of the frames and only used 80 mbs or so out of the 256 mbs of onboard memory.
The display is bright and clear, and most photos will display larger than actual size with no pixellation evident. (I scanned them in at 300 dpi resolution/millions of colors) You'll need to do all orientation and photo-tweaking on your computer or camera before loading to the frame, as editing options on the frame itself are limited.
I haven't tried loading from a digital camera or SD card, but loading from a USB stick worked very well. The sound quality from the frame's speakers is acceptable, but there is an option for hooking this frame up to a home speaker system if you're interested in playing music or videos as well as viewing photos.
Both mothers were very pleased and touched with their gifts, and I feel we made an excellent purchase. If these frames have a good working life-length, I feel they're one of the best gift purchases we've made for our Moms, ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 4 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Great for Trade Shows

10/15/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to show off our products at an upcoming aviation trade show. The quality of the pictures are excellent. The frame is classy looking, doesn't look cheap. Easy to use, just plugged in and played. Also liked that is had the capability of playing music. We paid $183 (included taxes) for this product in San Antonio, Texas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 5 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Great size for the money

12/30/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, this frame is great for the price. We bought it for my elderly Grandmother and wanted to be sure that she would be able to see the pictures. The only problem that we had with it was that once we loaded our pics, they weren't taking up the full size of the frame. We called customer support and they just said 'If that's how you camera took the pics, then oh well.' I was NOT satisfied with that answer and we figured out on our own how to resize our pics to fit the frame. Some were not clear enough to include, but most were. I was a little ticked at the customer service (from the maker of the frame) because you think this would be a common issue. After all, we had pictures from 4-5 different cameras, so it wasn't that there was a problem with ours. (I am a mid level tech person, so I know that there is a way to do things, I just don't always know how to get them done!)
As for Wal-Mart.com, they underpromised and overdelivered. We got the package much earlier than anticipated. Thanks WalMart for the quick delivery during the busy Christmas Season.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 6 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Holiday gift for Mom, or whom ever...

12/14/2009
By ,
Detroit , MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was holiday shopping for my mother and came across this item, i read the reviews and thats what helped me decide to make the purchase.....not to mention the Price $99.99 (due to the holidays).
it arrived in this huge box , which i thought was rather odd but it wasnt damaged, the box can be used storage etc. anyhow...
i had no problems uploading pictures , i just conected the usb cord and plugged in frame and went from there.
the color is great and im still shocked about the size (my first dig frame purchase) i guess i was expecting it too be smaller .
Im sure My Mother will be Happy with her Christmas Gift , i cant wait to see her face =)
the frame itself is nice and not cheesy like others ive seen, and has a cool little remote too.
so if your looking for a great frame , i would check this out, Im sorry if you Missed the Great Deal, but it may be worth waiting for Next Year!
Happy Holidays
P~*
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 7 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

digital photo frame

02/04/2009
By ,
Cabot, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great! I bought one of these for my parents for their anniversary and I had to have one as well. The clarity of the photos is great and it is very user friendly. I have it hanging in my office and enjoy being able to take a "vacation in my mind" for a few moments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Serious Error

06/26/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My biggest complaint is that this frame will not randomize photos. That means it starts at the first photo each time you turn it on. If you only have a few photos this is fine. I wanted to put 4 gigs of photos on it, and would have never seen anything past the 1st 100 unless I left it running 24/7.
Two of the pixels on the display where bad, being permanent white.
The power cord was way to short.
The manual indicates it only reads a 2gig card, but I had no problem with a 4 gig card. So whats its real limit?
The piece in the back (stand?), that allows you to sit this on a desk was flimsy and the frame could fall over easy (reminded me of cheap picture frames).
I returned this the day after I rcvd it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 9 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Big picture frame, good but not great color

12/11/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just gotten one of these today and first and foremost it is big!!! Positives: price ($100), size, resolution, ability to play music while in picture slideshow, good stereo sound, good responsive remote. Now for the slight negative: the color is just good but not excellent, black is not deep black, try dialing 10 for contrast, 4 for brightness, and 14 for color, that helps the color a bit. The frame will not support xd card, but this is just another minor hindrance in an otherwise good product. I rate this frame an A-. Hope you enjoy yours.
P.S If you want one with excellent color, try the Philips 10.4" Digital Photo Frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Good Price-Point

01/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: $99 for a 15" digital picture frame - good price indeed.
.
Cons : Pictures displayed sequentially, no random functionality for the slide show. Frame material and finish could be better but I think this can be replaced by any standard frame size from hobby lobby or michaels.
.
But for the price I paid, I cant complain. There are freeware programs that would randomize the names of the files and this would be a nifty solution to viewing the slide show in random order. However, you would lose track of the files when time comes for you to update the contents of your memory card.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Synaps 15" Digital Photo Frame

12/26/2009
By ,
North Richland Hills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just received this as a Christmas present. It is working very nicely. I took Caliboytr's advice and adjusted the monitor at the following settings: 10 for contrast, 4 for brightness, and 14 for color, helps the color quite a bit. I would suggest doing the same.
VERY IMPORTANT! We tried a 8GB SanDisk UltraII SD HC memory card my wife uses in her camera and IT WORKED great. We did notice that on longer video clips the sound and picture would get out of sync. Not a huge deal but wanted everyone to know.
So far, we are very pleased with this Digital Frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

disappointing

05/05/2009
By ,
Irvine, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While the picture quality is excellent, this product was otherwise fairly disappointing. The stand is very cheap and not sturdy at all. The speakers for the MP3 player are poor quality. The biggest disappointment so far, though, has been the programming capabilities--or really the lack thereof. I need my photos to display in a particular order, as this was meant for a kiosk display, and for the life of me I cannot get them to run in order! I fear I will have to return this product, as it is not living up to expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 13 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Great value

02/20/2010
By ,
Roy, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased for $99 just before christmas. A 15 inch digital photo frame for $100! Great deal. Uses all popular memory cards including thumb drives. Comes with a remote. Plays movies and has a vga port so it can be used as a monitor. Works as advertised. Good looking frame. All our photos are digital so it's great to turn on and watch. If you size all pics for the 1024x768 resolution you can get thousands of photos on a 2 gig memory card. I wish I would have bought two!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

01/23/2010
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchsed this product because of the positive reviews. I bought it for my girlfriend for Christmas. When I received it, it didn't work. The picture didn't come up. I called the Company from the manual and they told me to ship it back to them and they would repair or replace the frame at no cost BUT I had to pay for the shipping. This frame is not light and I know it would cost me more than $20. Decided it wasn't worht it and will return it to a local Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

a most impressive gift

09/15/2009
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A sick friend in hospital had requested a large digital frame that she could look at from a distance and she was so impressed with this gift. Her husband was able to set it up easily. She said if anyone wants to impress someone with a gift, this is it. And I was delighted with the price too...very reasonable for the size, and it arrived very quickly. I saw many 12 inch digital frames at a minimum of $30 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

outstanding value

12/29/2009
By ,
ofallon, il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loved the digital picture frame. Excellent product for a reasonable price. would recommend this to everyone. The one thing that did anger me however is that it was dropped off at my door without any outside wrapping. everyone knew what i ordered and could steal it from my front door if they wanted a digital photo frame. please start boxing or wrapping items before they are shipped out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Great frame

12/29/2009
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough good things about this frame. The picture quality is great and it is very easy to use. Others have complained about not having a "shuffle" feature. I have 57 pictures on it and have no problems with the order they play in. I haven't used the sound feature so I can't testify to that. Absolute great value for the price. Such a nice big frame for less than $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

No LCD display

12/27/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There were no issues with the shipping and handling of the product. The product arrived in time but when we tested it for the first time the LCD display was not working correctly. We could notice that there was some image but it was not clearly visible and also very dark. We returned the product the very next day but couldnt find any replacement for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 19 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

Fairly Decent

12/31/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought 3. Had to return 1 because it would not light up the screen. Products 800 number customer service was useless. Told me to return it to WAL-MART. Good resolution and picture. Frame is plastic and 3rd unit has a mar in it but decided not to return it again. Have had several compliments on screen size and picture quality. Good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Synaps 15" Portrait Style Digital Photo Frame

My 2nd Digi Photo frame

12/27/2009
By ,
Sunnyvale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd Digital Photo Frame I bought after 9 months use.
From many days I was waiting for a good and big Photo frame. Some I found either very costly or not all slots equipped. This one suits me in every aspect as the AC input is from 110-240V with many card slot and sound features. The Picture quality is also very good.
I liked it...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next