Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Twin Thunder is an advanced helicopter that requires more skill than a Havoc to operate. The helicopter can fly in a space as small as 6' x 6' and can take off from your hand or any flat surface.
Average Customer Rating:
3.71 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation77%24 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Air "Swine" Supreme

01/01/2009
By ,
Horton, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The air Hogs Twin Thunder is not a first -time flyer machine, for those folks I would recommend the Havocs series . Those of us more seasoned pros pilots will enjoy this well engineered machine. Forward flight is well executed while hovering is a breeze, all of course with finessing the trim knobs.
I fly larger scale nitro and electric models in the summer months and this little bird is a perfect indoor flyer in winter indoors. I would suggest a two car garage or similar space.
Additionally a neat trick I discvoered is to remove the outer ring on the directional stick of the transmitter. This will enable more travel of the control and even a little reverse flight if your good. This is not suggested for a "newbie" though.
This is a very rugged heli but not invincible. Yesterday I had a bad crash and the front rotor angle servo gear had skipped a tooth. After very carefull disassembly with an exacto knife , I was able to re-align the potentiometer switch in sinc with the rack gear. Alignment marks make this easy.
All in all this is a good buy for heli pros.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Inexpensive 6-way control heli.

01/04/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me start by saying that I picked this up on sale for $20. At that price, it's an awesome deal. At regular price, still pretty good, as long as you don't mind indoor-only flights.
When I think back to the toys available just 10 or 20 years ago, it amazes me that kids can now buy remote control helicopters on one or two months' allowance. But it does have a few flaws. It is fairly difficult to control. Beginners or younger kids might be better off with the $30 Havoc Helicopters, where a lack of pitch input makes it harder to crash. The Tandem Thunder sometimes feels unstable in flight, and the altitude control regularly changes in sensitivity. It's also a good idea to stay away from your house's heat vents.
I would definitely recommend this toy to anybody who wants to take to their living room skies, but only if they are willing to take a bit of time and really master the controls.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

A great cat chaser

10/06/2008
By ,
College Station, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
Extremely durable, I have 3 cats and one of them thinks its great fun to jump up and swat it down, have not had any problems from that or constantly running into things (pilot error)
Easy to control and has trim adjustments. The trim adjustments make all the difference in the world, they keep it from doing things that you don’t want it to do.
Cons:
Short flight time. Only lasts about five minutes, but that is a product of a small battery (has to be light for something that small)
Summary:
Even though it has a short flight time it is still extremely enjoyable, the first few flights you will simply sit there and learn to fly it, but after a few you will be able to fly it really well, and if not (like me) it will stand up to the abuse that you put it through fairly well (not saying its invincible, just durable; It is a toy and will break after to much punishment)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

My son loves it!

12/26/2008
By ,
Wellville, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 11-year-old son saved his own money to purchase this RC chopper. He totally loves it and has become quite good at flying it. My only complaint about the product is its durability (or lack thereof!) The motor on our original Twin Thunder died on the second day of use, so we had to exchange it at our local Walmart store. Also, the blades aren't going to last very long, and it didn't come with any replacements. I understand that the concepts of "light-weight" and durability seem to inherently conflict. I just hope we can find replacement parts. Despite my complaints about its fragility, my son is thrilled about the Twin Thunder, and it's definitely a better product than other RC helicopters we've purchased in the past.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Great Toy

01/19/2009
By ,
Honolulu, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great toy for anyone that understands that it is a fragile toy, but handled correctly, it can take minor crashes without damage.
The price here at Walmart makes it very worthwhile buying, and I'd recommend it to anyone that has a cautious approach to these kind of toys (mostly because it will break if you mishandle it).
It hovers very well, and same with forward straight flight and forward flight with right turns. Left turns are more twitchy, but doable. Reverse is not enabled by default, but by removing the bracket on the controller, it can be made to reverse too, but it is very unstable reverse.
Overall a great toy with great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Fun indoor chopper

01/22/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this chopper for something to fly indoors over the winter months. It flies differently than a conventional rc helicopter.
The two rotors are tilted left and right opposite of each other and rotate in opposite directions as well. There are little plastic fins on the front and rear to help stabilize the chopper in flight. It turns by tilting the front rotor left or right. Forward motion is achieved by increasing rpm of the rear rotor.
Neat little toy. I like it a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

very fun

01/04/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've brought numerous remote controlled helicopters and this one has performed better than all. It is also quite durable as it is still working after countless crashes. Really cool to hover and then move the plane right, left, and forward. Only complaint is that the battery in the plane does not seem to last very long anymore. When I first got it, the battery was good for over 15 minutes but now Ill be lucky if it gets 5 minutes of flying. Overall, very fun and easy to fly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Kewl Toy

12/27/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife got the kid in me one of these and it's great. Once I got it adjusted (trimmed out), it flew very well. I found it fairly easy to control and intuative. It seems pretty tough too. I've crashed it several times and it just keeps on ticking. The battery lasts about 6-7 min(as advertised) and recharges through the remote in about 20min. The connector is very small and the on/off switch is even smaller. Great toy for big kids. Inside only.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Great Toy!

01/05/2009
By ,
Alaska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this helicopter for my husband as a Christmas present and he loves it! It's more stable than the single rotor helicopters by Air Hogs and easier to fly in our home. My 8 month old son also really loves watching it whir around the living room.
For me, the greatest part about the thing is that just when it starts to get annoying (around 20min of flight time), it needs to be plugged in for a quick charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Pretty Good.

12/31/2008
By ,
Pollock, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was fun to play with. It was kind of pricy for being so tiny, in my opinion. WARNING though, it says right on the box "Indoor use." My 27 year old fiance` thought he could play w/ it outside and not break it. He broke one of the wing stabilizer things off after only 2 days. It is very sturdy if you play w/ it indoors. I'm sure if he would've kept it indoors it would still be working.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder
01/05/2009
By ,
Pearland, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 8 year old begged for this helicopter and then wanted to return it within a few days. It was difficult for him to fly without assistance from his dad and he lost interest quickly. The battery only allows for 5-10 minutes of flight time and then you have to recharge. Its a sturdy little helicopter and would probably be enjoyed by an older child or adult. My husband had a lot of fun with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

not what we thought it would be

12/28/2008
By ,
tampa,fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought for my husband as a christmas gift, I looked at different kinds on ratings and reviews and thought that this one was the best. However when we got it opened and he used it, it was cheaply made , he had it about one foot in air and it fell and cracked. For that kind of money you would hope for better quality.p.s. bought my son an air hog for $20.00 and its way better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 13 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

01/26/2009
By ,
Dallas,Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was absalutely awesome. The helicopter was way better than I expected it would be. I will definantly be purchasing more helicopters at walmart. I would not recommend this helicopter to someone who has not flown an RC helicoper before. My best recommendation for a beginner is the Airhogs havoc or the Airhogs razor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

my twin thunder

12/27/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just got it today 12/27/08 i am learning to it very well also hoklds up to good drops my dog just barks at it its funny im still working on the trim which is not so easy but i can fly it around and catch irt in my hamd it is really worth the money i love mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

great

01/04/2009
By ,
so plainfield nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product . The only problem is that its very hard to manuever. It takes a while to get used to it , and i havent done that yet . neither has my 8 year old . If you can get it to fly it would be great .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Could be better

01/02/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The forward/backward gear did not work. It did not indicate what batteries were needed. Would be better with rechargable batteries. Made of stiff styrofoam, so beats up and indents the body easily. We returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 17 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Excellent Toy

01/04/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is an excellent toy to keep adults interested as well. Spare rotors would have made it perfect. Mine is still flying perfect after numerous crashes with walls as well as ceilings. Worth every penny of $20.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

Horrible

01/04/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It came to us broken and when we were able to fix it, there was no charger and it is the hardest thing to fly. It now sits on the ground for my 2 year old to destroy. Horrible product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder
01/07/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i was very upset when i picked up this product after ordering it i am ashamed to even give it to the child. it was very small and the paint looked like it was unprofessionally done.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for Air Hogs Radio-Controlled Tandem Helicopter Twin Thunder

FUN

01/04/2009
By ,
Middletown,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My great grandson loved the helicopter and learned to control it the same day. Even the the adults enjoyed watching him learn the tricky moves this craft can make.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next