Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Patton Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Patton Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

This Holmes model offers the best value in whole house humidification with an 8 gallon output and comfort control Humidistat. Tank will run throughout the night on one filling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%12 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

Great Product

10/23/2008
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had witnessed first-hand the performance of this machine, as my parents had bought this same model several years ago. When I saw my store had it, for only $75, I didn't hesitate.
This humidifier is VERY quiet, works extremely well, and holds quite a bit of water. Did I mention this thing is quiet? My previous one sounded like a jet engine. High fan speed isn't even that loud, which you really only need at the initial start up.
I could tell how dry it was before I plugged this thing in, and I can tell how not dry it is now. Very comfortable. I have a 1 bedroom apartment, and it works very well. As I said my parents have this same model, 3 bedroom house plus an extra room, and it humidifies very easily, very quietly. See why I bought it?
I highly recommend this humidifier to anyone who needs one. It doesn't cost that much, can handle quite a bit of square footage, holds a good deal of water (6.2 gallons), and is whisper quiet. My computer is louder than this humidifier.
Buy it, you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

Excellent Product

12/18/2008
By ,
Pepin, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This humidifier is perfect!! I have a very dry forced air heated house that never seemed to be able to hold humidity, I recieved one of these from a family member that was moving and began using it. WOW, what a difference this model makes. We bought a bigger house with 2 levels, so decided to get another one, the first one I think is 4 - 5 years old and still works perfectly. I tried one of the bigger console models for the second one and decided to take it back it did not perform near as well as the Holmes humidifier!!! I really do recommend this unit to any one!!! The low setting is very quiet, while the high setting really pumps out the humidity, and depending on yer water needs this unit will run from 32 hours to 160 hours on one refill of the tanks!!!! I will be buying a couple of these so I have spares in the future!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

works well, but flimsy and cumbersome

12/21/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this humidifier for the first floor (~1400 sq ft) of our house. Overall, the performance is very good. It works very well, easily keeping the first floor between 45 and 50% humidity. The filter seems to last for about 1 month, but we've got pretty hard water, and we're not using the decalcifier, so your mileage may vary.
The reason for the average rating is because of the design and construction. There are two tanks, each holding about 3 gallons. The tanks are filled from the bottom, but the tops of the tanks are rounded, which means they can't be set down for filling. This means you either need to hold the tank against yourself with one arm (keep in mind that the handle is now on the bottom) while you fill with the other, or recruit a second person. The whole unit, including the tanks, is made with thin plastic (polycarbonate), which is a bit flimsy, especially considering you'll be lugging 25 pounds of water around in each one on a daily basis. A more durable polypropylene tank with a flat top would have been much easier to use.
Overall, it does what we ask it to do, and for the price, I probably shouldn't complain too much. My 2 cents.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 4 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

Puts out a lot of moisture.

12/20/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This humidifier will put out a pretty good amount of moisture. Their are a couple of negatives to this unit. First off, there is no percent next to the humidity dial. It just goes from high to low. I believe in the manual it states that it adjust from 25 to 60, I had mine at about 1/2 and it was holding 50%, so I bet on high it would hold 70%+ (of course in a huge room things might be different). The only other complaint I have is the fact that the tanks seem a bit flimsy, especially considering the fact that when they are full they can get a little heavy. The manual justifiably states that you should hold the tank with 2 hands, I would be willing to bet if you constantly picked up the tank with one hand the handle would break from the weight. The filters last about 1.5 months for me and cost about $10. I will say that I am impressed with the amount of water that this unit holds (6.4 gallons total) along with the amount of humidity it produces, after all, that is the main reason why you get a humidifier. I don't know if it will humidify your whole house (walls do create limitations to humidity travel), but would bet it would do 1250 sq feet in a open area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

Very good product

11/16/2008
By ,
North Caroline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned one of these Humidifiers for over 7 years and it's been very effective and dependable for those 7 years. The 8 gallons total (the humidifier tank and the two tanks you refill each day) keeps our 1700sq ft house at whatever setting we use (typically 48%) and we fill the tanks once a day. Setting the humidity level greater than 60% would require refilling more than once a day. Without the humidifier while the heater's on will reduce the humidity to less than 20%, very dry for a household. We've never experienced any mold due to using this device, as long as you leave it running once you turn it on, or allow it to run until the filter dries completely out.
We typically replace the filter once to twice each season. I agree that the unit is quiet if used in another room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

Don't Buy

10/15/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this about a mo ago. It says on the manual that the machine will need to be refilled every 24 hrs. My kids and I, as well as my friend and her daughter, went to sleep with it on. It seemed like it sucked up moisture rather than put it out. I didn't see any moisture coming out of it, it just seemed like a fan blowing out air!!! We woke up with stuffy noses and sore throats.I went to change the tanks after 24 hrs and still it had not sucked up the water, it was as full as when I first filled them. I live in a small 2 bedroom apt. and it didn't work there so it definitely won't work for an entire house. I left it on for 48 hrs and it still hadn't use the water in the tanks. Sucks Moisture rather than Moisturizes!!!!!
Not Happy =(
I took it back to Wal-Mart within 1 wk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 7 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier
12/10/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The HM 3500 is my second one and it will get the water dripping off your windows if you set it to. Holds a ton of water, but make sure you get the pre-calcifier solution, it will prolong the wick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 8 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

Works throughout my home

12/03/2008
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a single wide trailer and was skeptical that this product would keep humidity levels throughout at a steady level. Was delighted to discover that it does. It's a great value and and requires less refilling than the smaller models. Also like how it cycles on and off in response to humidity levels. The tanks are huge though and when filled with water are extremely heavy. I have to ask my husband to tote them to the base unit as they're too heavy for me. But that only needs to be done once a week after the optimum humidity levels have been reached. If you're looking for a whole house humidifier this is a great product. But be prepared to flex your muscles when it's time to fill the water containers!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

Durable

11/22/2008
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been my longest-lived humidifier. I can't tell you...10 years? I've replaced the Sears 12 gallon's motor and still it rattles and the speed control is messed up. I have replaced untold little ones. I live with forced hot air heat in New England and need 3 humidifiers to keep a big old house liveble. It keeps wooden musical instruments from cracking.
The tanks aren't the most convenient. I use the kitchen sink's spray wand to fill them. They are too tall for the kitchen sink's faucet. They leak at the fill opening, (age) so I carry them upside down (fill port up) until I get to the humidifier.
One time one of the replacement elements had a humidity gauge with it, so I use that as an effectiveness indicator. A new filter lasts about 2 months. You can run it through the dishwasher and get another month out of it. You need about 2 a season at about $15 a piece.
The reason why it is so great is the motor won't quit. Usually, humidifier fans go after a few seasons since they work in humid environments, but this one is like the eveready bunny. May you be as lucky. I had maybe 5 other ones come and go, and this one is still truckin.
The person who said it takes humidity from the air? Probably didn't center the tanks on the part that opens the water flow. Misuse, so blame the product. So stupid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

Great product

12/18/2008
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This humidifier is excellent. We have a 2 story home and during the winter months we have no static electricity, no dry skin, etc. We set the humidity level on medium high, fan on low, and we refill the tanks every 24 to 36 hours. The only problem we have is availability of filters. They are $10 at Wal-Mart and always disappear off the shelf quickly. I would like to see them available on Wal-Mart.com and wish the price were less. We need to change the filter about every 3 to 4 weeks.
This is the 4th year we have used this humidifier and would highly recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

A very good product

11/02/2008
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the Holmes console humidifier for over a year now, so far I have been very happy with this product. At first if your home is very dry it will need to be refilled sooner than the 24 hours, once it has run to catch up the water can last even longer than the 24 hours. I do have to say use the original Holmes filter, may be a few dollars less for the others but you get what you pay for. Unit is quiet until it runs out of water then the tanks tend to rattle a little. Filter is easier to install if its wet first.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
0points
Review 12 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

Meets all expectations

01/20/2009
By ,
Knox City, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is exactly what it states in the advertisement. It has raised the humidity levels in our home to desirable levels and holds the house at a steady humidity level. It cuts itself off and on at the desired time and is very quiet. It is easy to fill the tanks and they last for more than 12 hours a piece so it gives you way over24 hours without having to fill them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier

Great humidifier

11/30/2008
By ,
Plattsburgh, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this humidifier. It covers about three large rooms. I live in a winter wonderland and my house is very dry due to heat and without the humidifier I got a lot of shocks. This humidifier keeps my house humid and the shocks away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Holmes Cool Mist Whole House Humidifier
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5