Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Holmes Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Holmes Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

This Holmes brand humidifier model offers a 3 gallon output with sturdy design for Large Rooms. The model is filter Free and provides soothing medicinal relief and the tank will operate several nights on only one filling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation67%12 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

A Good deal

01/05/2009
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this humidifier hoping that it would be quiet. I hate noisy ones. I had never used a hot air humidifier before. I always used cool mist. This has worked exactly as expected so far. It is easy to clean. To be honest I am not cleaning it every day as they say but quite often because it is so easy. No filter is key. It was hard to get started the first time. If I had read correctly I would have known to wait the 2 minutes when refilling the tank so that the water can trickle to the heating chamber. But now that I know that I have not had a problem and I leave it on all day now. Its quiet as can be other than some bubbling noises when I hear the water drop to fill the tank as its being used up. I am already over that. I am sure if I moved it a bit farther away from the bed I would not hear a thing at all. No more raising the TV volume to hear the TV with the humidifier on! Yea!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

Great idea, works fine, but lots of cleaning

12/01/2008
By ,
Illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was so excited to see that this didn't need a filter--those things get expensive! It is nice, quiet, and works well.
The 2 drawbacks:
1) You have to clean it EVERY day--the whole bottom part gets covered in this "silt" from the water and you have to wash it (only takes 2 minutes, but it's still a pain to remember every night).
2) It's weird--if you don't do things in the proper order (turn on, turn off, wash, unlock, fill with water, wait 2 minutes, etc...), it won't run... which wouldn't be so bad, except you can't TELL it's not running (the light is on, looks good to go)--so I turn it on in my son's room, say goodnight, and since it takes 10 minutes to warm up and start working, some mornings I'll go in there and it hasn't worked all night!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

great product

01/24/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I much prefer a warm mist humidifier to a cool mist one. This product worked perfectly. It is basically unheard (super quiet - typical for warm mist humidifier) and it works great. It humidifies my whole apartment practically. I definitely recommend this product. I like that it has a built in humidistat, too. It is also really nice that it shuts off when the water runs out. It's really helpful when you're not home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

Great product!

02/02/2009
By ,
Laramie, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This humidifier works very well and is actually easier to clean than the directions might suggest. It's dishwasher safe (parts of it anyway), and the heating element doesn't have any weird cracks that are hard to reach. I highly recommend this product if you are looking for a humidifier that doesn't have the hassle of a filter and works wonderfully!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

A great Humidifier

02/19/2009
By ,
Big Rapids, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this unit because my son has a sinus infection and we have low humidity in our house. It is easy to fill and the humidity has gone up 4% in the few hours we have had it. We are very happy with this product. The negative comments make me shake my head. Yes it bubbles but it is not loud. I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

Is the cleaning EVERY NIGHT worth it???

12/21/2008
By ,
Everett, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this because I couldnt find any other warm mist humidifier with a bigger water tank. I previously purchased the medium room one and the water ran out in 6 hours on the high setting.
I must say this one is very good if you need something on high setting lasts at least 10 hours if you fill it ALL the way completely.
My BIG problem with this is the DAILY cleaning of the TRAY and HEATING ELEMENT which i didnt know at first that the heating element needed to be cleaned around everynight because it gets gross scale on it and the humidifier WILL NOT WORK if it is not CLEANED PROPERLY. Dont know if the other customer that wrote a review realized that might be the reason it didnt work sometimes.
And let me tell you it is SOOO DIFFICULT TO CLEAN AROUND THE HEATING ELEMENT , the way it was made you cant even fit your fingers in one corner to clean it PROPERLY AND EVERY NIGHT HAVE TO CLEAN IT WITH A FEW Q-TIPS AND EVEN THE Q-TIPS ARE HARD TO GET IN THE CORNER AND AROUND THE CIRCULAR PART OF THE HEATING ELEMENT , I DONT KNOW WHO CONSTRUCTED THIS MACHINE, but i get mad everytime i have to clean it and my fingers don't fit enough to swipe the cirucular area with the q-tip of the heating element.
In the book it just says, to wipe heating element with a damp cloth , but that is bull ---- because it gets alot of build up around that circular part that MUST BE CLEANED. Then on a weekly basis you must clean the tray with undiluted Vinegar which i couldnt even find at my supermarket and was the tank with bleach and of course clean that heating element. So every night to remember to clean the stuff has been a really BIG PAIN. its up to you if you want to save the money on the filter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

A Great Purchase

01/28/2009
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This warm mist humidifier is just what we needed for these winter months. It really puts out the moisture in the air, and it does it quietly. It's right outside our bedrooms, and we can't hear it at all. The warm air is a lot more soothing than the cold blast of air.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

Not What I Expected

01/12/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have used Holmes products before and was very satisfied with them. This time, however, the product gave a lackluster performance. I thought I was reading and following the instructions for the product, but it never provided the humidity I needed in my apartment.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 9 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

Possibly a defective unit

12/19/2008
By ,
Fort Dodge, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased both the HM5602 (medium rooms) and the HM5250 (small rooms) as I did not want to purchase a portable whole house evaporation unit. (Note: The HM5602-U description states it is intended for large rooms).
The smaller unit worked right out the box. In 10 minutes I had vapor,but the HM5602 did not work.
I filled the water tank, put it on the unit and nothing happened. I checked to see if the bottom pan was in the locked position, turned the machine, on, off, low, high, and finally reset. Dumped the water started over twice. I also waited over the required 10 minutes for vapor, before starting over again. I went out on the internet and read other reviews which said it was tempermental and that you had to move the gauges in a certain order, so I did.
I found if I advanced the moisture setting gauge, the humidifier said it needed resetting. This should only occur, if the humidifier runs out of water (the reason I tried it several times before giving up). The bottom of the unit was hot, but no vapor was released. When I finally had given up, I found the heating element had some type of white substance that had grown on it? This did not occur on the smaller unit.
As I have owned other name brands cool evaporation units, I did not want to have the continuous investment of water solutions (to prevent bacteria) and replacement filters (they become contaminated). The advantage to a warm mist is that the water is boiled to prevent bacteria and this specific unit did not require additional filter purchases which was my reasons for buying it. The disadvantage is its capacity of small or medium rooms.
If I try another unit and find successful, I will write another opinion, as the smaller unit has worked very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free
02/01/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item is loud! Keeps me up at night bubbling like boiling water. Also, the output of steam compared to my cool mist Holmes unit is much less. (I have the humidity level detector). I do not recommend this item especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

LOUD HUMIDIFIER

01/28/2009
By ,
Poughkeepsie, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This humidifier would be fine if I could sleep through the noise. It sounds like an old fashioned coffee pot that percolates at a very noisy percolating. It even kept my wife awake & she sleeps through most anything
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

dont buy beware

12/27/2008
By ,
moyock nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I went to use this item it leaked. Then the second time I tried to use it was stuck on reset and nothing I did could get it to work. I plan to return it. Beware of this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

Holmes Humidifier

02/01/2009
By ,
Eau Claire, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The tank is a little difficult to fill, as it does not sit level while filling. Also the tank can be misaligned easily when reinstalling it. Overall, the humidifier performs as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free
12/01/2008
By ,
Northern CA foothills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the humidifer about 1 week. It seems to work well, on the lower setting it will go 24 hours. Its much easier to clean than my previous Holmes which was very much like this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

works veary good

12/30/2008
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my husband that has copd and emphiazema . He can berath much better .the only down fall is the tank size. I wish ie were larger
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free

good

12/26/2008
By ,
45368
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we use this type in the hospital very effective
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Holmes Large Room Warm Mist Humidifier, Filter Free
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5