Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation87%20 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Not a Christmas Movie

01/15/2011
By ,
Backwoods, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly, I felt this was an excellent movie. It was very dramatic and emotional. It showed the hardships that Thomas had to go through. He showed that family is important, and to never forget where you came from, how the people you care for shape who you are. Please understand, this isnt a christmas movie, it isnt supposed to be. This film does make you reflect on what is important in your life. I highly reccomend it, it is an incredibly touching film.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Heart warming

06/21/2009
By ,
Johnson City, TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very heart warming movie. Demonstrates the power of love and compassion in a small town community.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

SLOW, PROFANITY, SUGGESTIVE MATERIAL

11/12/2008
By ,
FLORIDA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS MOVIE BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WAS A DECENT CHRISTMAS MOVIE FOR THE ENTIRE FAMILY. IT WASN'T!
THE MOVIE STARTED OUT SLOW AND GOT MUCH WORSE.
WE COULD ONLY STAND TO WATCH IT FOR FORTY-FIVE MINUTES DUE TO THE PROFANITY (A LOT), AND SUGGESTIVE MATERIAL.
THIS IS DEFINITELY NOT A MOVIE FOR THE FAMILY! I WAS DISAPPOINTED IN THOMAS KINKADE FOR ALLOWING HIS NAME TO BE PUT ON THIS MOVIE .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Peter o toole is great

01/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Thomas Kincaid
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Perfect Movie for Christmas

11/24/2008
By ,
Rock Island, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great movie that is the perfect present for any Kinkade fan. The movie is based on the book The Christmas Cottage and stays with the story line very well. It is about a young Thomas Kinkade coming home from college for Christmas to find that his mother has lost her job and is going to loose the family home. He takes a job painting a mural of the city to help his mother out. As he paints the mural he puts the towns people in it that mean so much to him and his family. Threw his art the towns people come together for one very special Christmas and Thom learns an art lesson that changes him forever. The movie has a wonderful Christmas ending. It is a PG rated movie and I was very comfortable sharing it with my family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Good Meaning but not a family movie

12/29/2008
By ,
Northwest, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The movie had a great meaning, BUT I did not like the language to call it a clean family movie. I have kids under 13 and we watched 1/4 with the kids and turned it off. For older kids and adults the movie would be appropriate. But when we look for a Family movie, we look for a clean, minimum language and no adult scenes. It missed our approval with the language. When movies are rated PG there seems to be a large margin. I still would not rate it PG-13. It is not that bad. Watch the movie for yourself to determine your guidelines for your family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Great Movie

12/04/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This IS a very good family movie.There are a couple of things they COULD have left out.But when its based off true events you really cant sugar coat it now can you.The dad is very crude and ruff around the edges. But if you dont show that, how can you capture the true emotion they want to portray in the movie.The point that shines through in this movie is that family and friends and love are very important to Thomas Kinkade and that you should shine your light in the world no matter what road in life you are on. Thanks for a great movie!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Not what I expected

01/20/2010
By ,
South Boston, Va.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The story line was very good, but I gave this movie as a Christmas gift to a Deacon and his wife at my church before I viewed it myself. I learned my lesson, I will be sure I view any movie before I give it as a gift. I took for granted that since it was about Thomas Kinkaid it would be perfectly fine, but some of the language was vulgar and suggestive. According to the standards in the movie industry today it is probably considered mild, but not what I would expect with Thomas Kinkaids name connected to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Family Friendly Product

12/26/2008
By ,
Seneca,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the kind of movie that your whole family can sit down and watch together. It is the very poignant and heartwarming story of Thomas Kinkade's humble beginning. There are also many humorous moments sprinkled throughout the entire movie. This is a movie that is inspirational and based on good old fashioned Christian values. It has a good message and could teach anyone who is willing to learn. This will become a family holiday classic for many years to come!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

disappointed

01/11/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The movie would have been fine if the volume on the DVD was better. Throughout the movie the dialogue was barely understandable even with the volume turned way up. This was not a "store" issue but a DVD issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

an enjoyable product

01/19/2009
By ,
pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the movie. I am a fan of Thomas Kinkade and it was interesting to see how he became an incredible painter. I love Jared Padelecki. I thought he and the rest of the cast did a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

The Christmas Cottage

01/24/2009
By ,
CRYSTAL SPRINGS, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EVERYONE SHOULD WATCH THIS MOVIE IF THEY ARE PERSON WHO LIKES THOMAS KINKADE. IT IS A VERY GOOD MOVIE AND FAMILY FRIENDLY IT IS VERY EASY TO WATCH AND YOU WILL WATCH IT ALL AND NOT PAUSE IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Christmas Cottage

01/14/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this movie was a heart warming story, and the person who recieved the gift has an obbsession with Thomas Kinkade! it was a great family movie and I would tell everyone to watch it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)
12/09/2012
By ,
Chattaroy, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hoping for more Scriptural/ Christian references.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)
10/24/2011
By ,
apple valley, calif
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The story is a bit sentimenal. Peter is as ALWAYS worth the time to watch!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)
12/17/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The movie was good, but took a while to get there. Not a show for kids (laguage).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)

Awesome Movie

02/12/2009
By ,
W.C. Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great family movie! Loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Christmas Cottage (Widescreen)
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5