Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Aspca Collection ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Aspca Collection ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Take your pet along with you anywhere you need to go with the ASPCA Kennel Aire Pet Carrier. This ASPCA Pet Carrier is approved by both domestic and international airlines. Made of powerful and durable plastic, this durable plastic pet carrier uses shatterproof parts for easy set up, without any tools. It provides proper ventilation in all directions for better pet comfort. The airline approved pet carrier comes with an epoxy-coated rust-resistant door, which can be opened either way along with a convenient and secure door lock. It features a tanned bottom and a white top.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation83%80 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

ASPCA DOG KENNEL SIZE LARGE

04/21/2010
By ,
Muskegon, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Love this product. We purchased this product at our local WalMart for 56.97 + tax on April 15th from our local WalMart. Ours was the last one in stock. We have a 18 week old Labrador and purchased this kennel to replace an N2N kennel purchased from Petsmart. I have to say this may have been the best purchase for our Lab ever. She absolutly loves it. There is plenty of room for her to move around and for her blanket and toys. Another plus is that this kennel will also fit her as an adult. The price compared to other carriers makes this one the best choice hands down. If you are going to travel however you will need to invest in a compact food and water dish because this kennel does not come with them. Also do pay any attention to my rating above these stars would not go above 2 when I clicked on them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Perfect for 16lb dog

03/08/2010
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have a big Chinese crested that weights 26lb. this 'Large size"kennel (it says XL, but this is actually Large size) is pretty big for 26lb skinny dog but it has enough room to lay down and seems like he is very comfortable being in the kennel. easy to compose. i would def. recommend this kennel for med size dogs!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Rugged Value

09/29/2010
By ,
St. Petersburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a private pilot for Canine Rescue Flights. I bought 5 of these crates to use in my airplane. They are lightweight, rugged, easy to break-down and set up, and they collapse to 1/3 their size when not in use.
I have not had any problems with dogs chewing them or damaging them in any way. The price was the best around! They are simply the BEST value I could find. They do the job.
I was, at first, concerned with the little polypropylene clips that secure the top to the bottom. But I have not had one problem... and they actually make it VERY easy to assemble and disassemble without tools. The door is the standard spring-latch door you find on any of these crates -- it works. The crate has additional holes at the half-seams, should you want to reinforce it by putting ty-wraps through them.
Weight is issue for me, and these crates are light but sturdy. They are also a little bit flexible.. which is a good thing, they are not "brittle" and prone to cracking like some crates can be. They are simple to sanitize, without fancy but pointless curves or edges to clean. Nice flat, solid bottom is comfortable for the pet but prevents any "accidental" leaks.
This is a case where simple is definitely better. My crates see a lot of use, and these things stand up to the task... for a real bargain price.
This is the Fischer-Price of dogs crates. Simple, Rugged, Reliable, Affordable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+36points
Review 4 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Two Different Models

04/13/2011
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There seems to be two different molds for making these crates, and one is superior to the other. One mold comes with built-in handles in the sides, and it has larger clips (to assemble the top and bottom), and the plastic seems thicker and more sturdy. The other mold comes with no handles, smaller clips, and seemingly thinner plastic.
I purchased the Large from a local Walmart, and loved it. It had the handles, large clips, etc. I wanted another to keep at the beach, but could not find another locally. I purchased a Large online, and the mold with no handles and small clips was received. I returned it, and I found an X-Large locally with the handles, so I purchased that. If I never saw the difference in person, then the one without handles would probably have suited me fine, but knowing there is a difference, I wanted the better one.
Pros:
- Flat Bottom compared to other brands
- easy to assemble, disassemble (for cleaning)
- Price
- Better ventilation then some competition
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

worked great

12/29/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our rescue bought these for sending dogs to adopters, they work great. These also come with Live Animal Sticker Labels, and a food/water dish that attaches onto the bars which was PERFECT. The only thing i would change about this product is a lot of airlines REQUIRE that crates be put together with nuts and bolts, so we did end up having to buy hardware (not difficult, nut, bolt, and 2 washers for 8 out of the 14 holes) and used zip ties for the other 6) But these are great! You can't beat the price, if you buy a crate this size at Petco/Petsmart you're looking at spending at least 100 dollars.
The only reason i didn't give it 5 stars is because it technically isn't (all) airline approved without modifying with nuts and bolts) Even if your airline states that it doesn't need to be put together with nuts and bolts i would highly suggest it, what holds this particular crate together is just little plastic pieces that can be easily broken.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+37points
Review 6 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Exceptional Product and a qualification

08/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dogs have all been large breeds - Rottweilers, American Bulldogs, AmStaffs - and this crate easily stands up to any one of them. High quality plastic, fairly strong door, good locking pins to secure both halves.
Note: The locking pins should be put in from the UNDERSIDE because they are designed to lock in from that position - as a careful study of the mounting on the crate will show clearly
I use this carrier for dog safety while traveling in my minivan so I cannot attest to how this crate stands up to airline travel. However, from the looks of it and the extreme sturdiness of the materials, I would guess there would be no problems at all. I would feel completely confident putting my dogs inside for airline travel.
Two points of contention: The dimensions given for these crates are very misleading because they are all OUTSIDE dimensions. So be careful when you are purchasing!
After measuring the XL, I found the inside dimensions are as follows:
L=35 inches W=20 1/2 inches H=30 inches
Large inside dimensions: L=30 1/2 W=20 1/2 H= 28
If you are going to order sizes other than these, find out what the dimensions are.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+76points
Review 7 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

FANTASTIC!

09/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an American Eskimo that has sever separation anxiety. I started out with a wire crate and she ate futons, pulled curtains off the wall, moved the cage up to four feet. Crazy! I decided to try this cage thinking well this plastic thing wont last long with her. WRONG! She loves it. She walks right in and hasn't destroyed one thing. She hasn't been able to chew through it or move it. We were very surprised considering all of the damage she caused in her really heavy wire cage.
I would recommend this cage to anybody! It makes my day 100% easier knowing she can't tear up the house through her cage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+123points
Review 8 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Does the job

12/05/2008
By ,
Evansville,IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our German Shepherd/Hound puppy. I knew he would outgrow it, but wanted something that was his size for now, so I didn't want to spend a whole lot. This worked out great. The plastic is a little thin, and the door can be a little tricky to get the pins in the right holes, but it does the job. I would reccomend this for someone looking to not spend a lot, but get a decent crate. You can certainly find higher quality crates, but for the price, this can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 9 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Large ASPCA Crate

02/17/2010
By ,
Vassar
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have always purchased my crates at Walmart.
I went to Walmart to find they had changed manufacturers for their dog crates
3 out of 4 crates were damaged with large cracks and this crate is recommended for airline traveling.
When pointed out to the associate they were removed instantly. I did take the one they had in good shape but I fail to have the confidence to send a puppy in the crate, so will be returning the crate.
Find it hard to think ASPCA would want to benefit from this poor quality product. Call Kennel-aire, no return call from the company.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 10 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Recieved substitute for Intermediate ASPCA model

11/10/2011
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered ASPCA Kennels in Intermediate size, but received Travel-Aire blue/grey kennels of the exact same size. Based on the photos here I hoped the ASPCA carrier was constructed a little better with formed plastic over the door hinges, as the Travel-Aire model door just drops in to pre-drilled holes, resulting in a loose-fitting door that isn't flush evenly around it's outside edges. I was also hoping the ASPCA label above the door would look nicer for my international air cargo needs, but that's trivial. Both models are probably interchangeable otherwise (except for the color, which I don't mind), and while the plastic isn't totally rigid, it seems sturdy when assembled and should meet cargo requirements for most airlines. Since the models seem similar I decided to keep the Travel-Aire kennels, and Walmart customer service issued a refund for the price difference. As of today they still haven't updated their webpage though- I'd be wary of ordering the intermediate size ASPCA carrier, as you may end up with the Travel-Aire version instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

This kennel is extremelly heavy for an Air Travel!

10/25/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought one ASPCA Kennel, The Large size recommended breeds for Lab Retrievers... the price was good, I have a Labrador Retriever his weight is 78 Lbs. I bought it because I wanted to bring my dog with me in an International Flight on vacations to visit my family. I made all the Travel requirement to bring the dog with me, but for my surprise when I went to the airport my dog in his Kennel was over weight the total weight was 110 lbs. For the airline company was too heavy they only allowed 100Lb or less. So... I mess-up everything, I lost my flight, I had to cancel my hotel reservations, everything was wrong because the kennel was extremelly heavy for the trip. I didn't know only the empty kennel weight was 32Lbs!!!
I will have to make new arrangements for this trip in the next weeks but the damage is already done. New paperwork for my pet and the rest as well.
RECOMMENDATION: Weight your Dog first, then do the Math, If the airline company allowed you to bring your Dog with nothing over 100Lbs just buy a Kenell based on the differential weight of course with the correct size. Doesn't matter how cheap the kennel was, cost like for time the price to pay for everything again, I lost my time, I got upset, I waste my money for nothing. Do not go for the cheap, go for the correct. My bad experience will help another person. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-13points
Review 12 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Spacious

01/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a 5 month old pitbull puppy; she tears up everything when we leave her alone. We received the large crate as a gift and love it! It is very roomy and fits her, her bed, and a couple toys with room to spare. Since we started putting her in the crate when we leave she has actually taken a liking to it, we leave the door open for her at night and she sleeps inside. Best of all,she has not torn up anything since we got this! Very sturdy, safe, and comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Not Airline Approved Wrong Parts

11/23/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I needed to fly two dogs to a new home. Just needed two inexpensive crates for the airline trip. Although specs state airline approved, the crate comes with plastic fasteners. Airlines require metal fasteners to reduce likelihood that dogs can escape. Effort to contact Kennel-Aire with numbers on literature packed with crate was fruitless. 800 # only re-directed you to solicitations for unrelated services, including Bahama vacation package, internet services and discount food card. Found a direct number to the company on the paperwork, but it was disconnected. This crate would be good for short-term use which is all I wanted (assuming metal fasteners provided). Not good for stacking as surfaces on top and bottom are flat and smooth. Front lip on one crate broke off when unloading from car, so plastic is of lower quality versus other crates I have purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 14 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Good Price, Horrible Durability.

11/03/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this hoping to help out with my 6 month old rescue cope with me leaving my apartment. Being a student, I would have to leave for up to 3 hours at a time and he would tear up anything and everything that was not too big to move. He's 25 pounds, and was able to bend the metal bars that hold the door in place to escape, even with the crate against a wall. Once I made NEW, stronger bars myself, he chewed a hole in the side because he was able to get his teeth around the vents.
Maybe it's because he's a rescue and just has not has good experiences with crates, but this thing was nowhere near strong enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Big Crate Little Crate

03/21/2010
By ,
Abilene Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rescued a 4 pound Pug from the shelter and needed a crate. My Walmart has four sizes and I got the one just larger than the smallest. My vet said that I should have gotten the smallest but I felt that the dog would be too cramped. For a Pug, this crate is both Dog House and confinement although that's becoming rare. Well, here I go again only This time, I need a large for a rescue Yellow Lab! ( I'm hoping he won't eat the Pug!) These crates are much sturdier than they look and I really like the reversible doors. Watch those pin-holes they slip into or Pup will Pop them out but seated properly they will hold your dog in just fine. Also, the ventilation holes on the sides can be used to place a water nipple bottle on the outside. Go to any shelter and you will see a lot of these crates being used! Be kind and let 'em out for good behavior!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Walmart Model Numbers Wrong

01/31/2012
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Intermediate size is shown as Model RA28 in Item Description and picture shows an ASPCA Kennel; however, the model number in the Specifications is shown as TA28G, an Travel-Aire Kennel. I have ordered two different times thinking I was ordering the ASPCA two-tone kennel as shown and as described. What I got both times was the TA28G (Travel-Aire) 28 (Grey). Notice two other recent reviews had the same problem. Notice reviews dated 11/10/2011 and 12/30/2011. Other sizes might be ok but you're taking a chance until Walmart fixes their erronous model numbers.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 17 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

Pet Carrier

04/06/2011
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were moving from the west coast to the east coast. In order to fly our dog, we needed an extra large pet kennel that was ASPCA approved. The airline required it, and we have a big dog! Our dog had a great trip. The crate was great, and traveled really well on the plane. It is very easy to dis -assemble to fit in the car. Great product! Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large
12/30/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered the one that was on WAL MART web site which was •Attractive tan bottom and white top . I was shipped aq solid gray crate...not pleased
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 19 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

No Replacement Door

12/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One of the only major kennel manufactures that you can not purchase replacement doors for... Go with another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 20 for ASPCA Kennel-Aire Pet Carrier, sizes Intermediate-Large

No Water/food bowls

03/16/2010
By ,
Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have always bought my shipping crates from Walmart. In the past few years they have gone from faily good to very bad. Now they have even taken out the food and water dishes. Beware if you need to ship and get home to get ready you will need another trip somewhere to find these also!
Talked to the comapny and they say Walmart requested they not include them anymore so you have to buy the 6.00 ones they sell. I think not!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next