Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Graniteware Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Graniteware Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Canning is an economical and nutritional way to preserve fresh grown fruits and vegetables at home, without added preservatives or pesticides. The Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Canner is a versatile canning kit that comes with the essential tools needed to start canning today. You'll get a 21.5-quart canner with side handles, a matching lid and jar rack. You'll be able to fill your jars quickly and safely, and the stylish porcelain exterior looks lovely in any kitchen setting. Plus, the canner's glass surface does not contain chemicals to change the taste, color or nutritional value of foods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
33
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation88%177 out of 202reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 182 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
33
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Too Delicate to be Shipped

09/02/2010
By ,
Elkins, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had veggies from my garden that were ready to be canned IMMEDIATELY and none of the Walmart stores in my area had any canners in stock, but I found this one online and had it shipped. I was quite surprised and pleased at how fast it arrived at my home. I was NOT at all happy with the condition it was in. There were big chips in the lid and in the pot itself, and had I not needed to use it immediately, I would have returned it because it will most assuredly rust in the chipped spots. But when compared to the inexpensive price and my immediate need, I decided to keep it and if it rusts later on, I'll just replace.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Bought On-Line Picked-Up @ Store

07/31/2014
By ,
Rural Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the title above says, I bought this on-line and then picked it up at the local Walmart the same day.
A review on the Canner:
The Good News: The canner is well made, though not as heavy as the heritage ones that everyone's great grand mother may have owned. It is made in the USA and does the job perfectly. The canner included a rack which has no dividers which is good in that one can fit various sized jars on the rack, more pint or half pint than the ones with dividers which are essentially designed for the quart sized jars. It worked well on my Jen-air stove which has a special raised canning element just for large pots and canners. It cleaned up well after use and is now on my pantry shelves. It is really a great value but is not something one can bang around as it is porcelain coated on both the inside and outside and as we all know porcelain is easily cracked when the pot is miss-treated.
The Bad: The canner is light-weight, at least lighter than heritage ones. It is subject to damage, I suspect rather easily, if it has been abused either on the shelf or in shipping. Since it is real porcelain, rather than simple cheap enamel, it is easily damaged. Be sure and carefully check the condition PRIOR to leaving any Walmart Store or quickly upon arrival. My local Walmart manager had trouble finding one that did not already have existing damage because of rough handling either at the store or perhaps while shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Real nice canner for the price

07/09/2014
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am sorry to say I had to return this canner as it was everything I wanted. When I opened the box and read the fine print it said "Do Not Use On Glass Stove Tops". I have a glass stove top. I sure wish it would have worked out. It was very nice and for a good price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

needed it quick

08/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not a top shelf product but it worked great for what I needed at a price I could afford. Worked fine on my glass top stove, plus Worked well with my smaller jars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Does the job at the right price

10/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheapest one price wise out there, got the last of the garden tomatoes canned before the frost. Doubles as a lobster cooker in this house!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

perfect for canning

07/22/2009
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I needed. Just wish i could have found it in the store. Its big though and fits tightly on my stove. Its deep and wide so pint jars can even fit double layered (with a second rack). A great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Arrived Damaged

07/28/2014
By ,
Moneta, Va.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pot arrived at Walmart with a dent in it and porcelain chips missing from the outside and inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

great for canning

10/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Little woman needed help in hoisting this big pot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Must Have Canner

04/20/2009
By ,
Cherryville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Granite Ware Canner is an excellent choice for the budget minded person. Being able to can wholesome foods will be much easier with this Granite Ware canner. It holds 7 quart jars, making each canning session economical.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Great canner for a beginner.

10/12/2014
By ,
Lower Burrell, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good deal for a beginner or someone with small needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Everything I expected.

10/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked it up in store. It was in great condition, no chips or dents. Worked just like it was supposed to. I've used it several times now, and have had no problems with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Very nice canner pot for the money

06/17/2014
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pot was larger than anticipated and a very good find for the price considering it came with its own rack. However, it is a bit "thinner" made than your usual Porcelain pot. Edges were a bit rougher and unfinished, vs the nice smooth edges on an expensive pot, but has a good fitting lid. For the price, it is a very good deal. Please keep in mind this is not a canner that is going last thru 8, 10 or 12 canning seasons, but it will get you thru the first 2 or 3 just fine for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Exactly what I wanted

05/28/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and exactly what was advertised. I used this on my Kenmore glass top stove with no problems. Site to Store was perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack
06/03/2009
By ,
los Angeles Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its just a canner, nothing fancy, just a pot to give jars a water bath..Has rack and the box came with 2 canners giving space for 14 jars instead of 7 (that was a BIG plus)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/24/2012
Did they send you two of the canners by accident, does it come with two, or did it come with two when you purchased this product? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Good value

10/08/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value product. The only negitive is that the wire basket will not hold half pint jars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Woodridge, IL
maybe changed the basket??
Posted 05/16/2012
Maybe they changed the basket but I bought this model about 3 months ago and am in the process of getting another and all I can are half pint jars and I have no problem with the rack, I use the Quilted 8oz jars. Ok, hope this helps
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Nice Pot

12/27/2010
By ,
Norman, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I actually bought this product for canning and when I got it I came to realize I cannot can meat and vegetables with it. So now I will have to get the pressure cooker since this would be the type of canner I can use for both kinds of canning. If you are only interested in canning fruits and jelly this pot would be great to use. It is a pretty pot but as far as durability, I am not so sure that you can do this with this pot. However for making large batches of soups of beans that you do want to can, you can cook large batches in it and then use the pressure cooker to can the food.
I love the size of the pot as it actually came in handy for me just last week when I made a large pot of soup. It is great for this: making large batches of soup and beans or even punch.
Just remember to get a pressure cooker canner to do meats and vegetable--canning these things.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

very good for the value

09/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed to buy canning supplies again. I am real happy with the granite
canner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Better than we expected

09/16/2014
By ,
Mitchell, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It came with a canning rack which wasnt mentioned in the ad when we ordered it so its more than we expected, great item. However why have a tracking number, from the day we ordered it the next day it said it was on its way and was in Macy, New York. It stayed there even up to the day we got the email to pick it up in our Scottsbluff, Ne Walmart. According to the tracking number it was still in Macy, New York. Whats up with that?????
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

08/25/2014
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AFTER CANNING WITHOUT THE BENEFIT OF A CANNER WITH A RACK I FINALLY BOUGHT ONE FROM WALMART THAT WAS AT A BETTER PRICE THAN EVERYWHERE ELSE, INCLUDING OTHER ONLINE PLACES, I REALLY CAN NOT FATHOM BEING WITH OUT IT. ABSOLUTELY DELIGHTED WITH THE PRODUCT AND HAVE USED IT ALMOST EVERY WEEKEND SINCE THE PURCHASE. I AM SURE THIS WILL LAST FOR YEARS ON END. WORTH ITS WEIGHT IN GOLD ! !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

very good product

11/23/2010
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a frequent canner and this product made my project very easy. I used it on a glass top stove and it worked just fine.
I'm grateful to have a product that was so reasonably priced and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next