Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Graniteware Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Graniteware Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Canning is an economical and nutritional way to preserve fresh grown fruits and vegetables at home, without added preservatives or pesticides. The Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Canner is a versatile canning kit that comes with the essential tools needed to start canning today. You'll get a 21.5-quart canner with side handles, a matching lid and jar rack. You'll be able to fill your jars quickly and safely, and the stylish porcelain exterior looks lovely in any kitchen setting. Plus, the canner's glass surface does not contain chemicals to change the taste, color or nutritional value of foods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
24
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation88%136 out of 155reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 152 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
24
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Too Delicate to be Shipped

09/02/2010
By ,
Elkins, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had veggies from my garden that were ready to be canned IMMEDIATELY and none of the Walmart stores in my area had any canners in stock, but I found this one online and had it shipped. I was quite surprised and pleased at how fast it arrived at my home. I was NOT at all happy with the condition it was in. There were big chips in the lid and in the pot itself, and had I not needed to use it immediately, I would have returned it because it will most assuredly rust in the chipped spots. But when compared to the inexpensive price and my immediate need, I decided to keep it and if it rusts later on, I'll just replace.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

perfect for canning

07/22/2009
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I needed. Just wish i could have found it in the store. Its big though and fits tightly on my stove. Its deep and wide so pint jars can even fit double layered (with a second rack). A great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Must Have Canner

04/20/2009
By ,
Cherryville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Granite Ware Canner is an excellent choice for the budget minded person. Being able to can wholesome foods will be much easier with this Granite Ware canner. It holds 7 quart jars, making each canning session economical.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack
06/03/2009
By ,
los Angeles Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its just a canner, nothing fancy, just a pot to give jars a water bath..Has rack and the box came with 2 canners giving space for 14 jars instead of 7 (that was a BIG plus)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/24/2012
Did they send you two of the canners by accident, does it come with two, or did it come with two when you purchased this product? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Exactly what I wanted

05/28/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and exactly what was advertised. I used this on my Kenmore glass top stove with no problems. Site to Store was perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Great buy

03/22/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these canners with the wire rack. My mom used one like this for years, and everything always turned out perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Nice Pot

12/27/2010
By ,
Norman, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I actually bought this product for canning and when I got it I came to realize I cannot can meat and vegetables with it. So now I will have to get the pressure cooker since this would be the type of canner I can use for both kinds of canning. If you are only interested in canning fruits and jelly this pot would be great to use. It is a pretty pot but as far as durability, I am not so sure that you can do this with this pot. However for making large batches of soups of beans that you do want to can, you can cook large batches in it and then use the pressure cooker to can the food.
I love the size of the pot as it actually came in handy for me just last week when I made a large pot of soup. It is great for this: making large batches of soup and beans or even punch.
Just remember to get a pressure cooker canner to do meats and vegetable--canning these things.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Good value

10/08/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value product. The only negitive is that the wire basket will not hold half pint jars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Woodridge, IL
maybe changed the basket??
Posted 05/16/2012
Maybe they changed the basket but I bought this model about 3 months ago and am in the process of getting another and all I can are half pint jars and I have no problem with the rack, I use the Quilted 8oz jars. Ok, hope this helps
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

very good product

11/23/2010
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a frequent canner and this product made my project very easy. I used it on a glass top stove and it worked just fine.
I'm grateful to have a product that was so reasonably priced and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

something everyone needs

04/14/2009
By ,
Armuchee, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This canner is a product everyone needs if they like to cook and preserve foods. Easy to use and very durable. Times are such that everyone should be learning how to preserve their own foods for nutrition and sanitary purposes. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Great canner for the money

05/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my canner! This was the first piece of canning equipment I ever bought and it's still going strong. The inside is a little water stained from the hard water we have here but it still works perfectly. I have never has any issues with it and I would definitely recommend it to others. It is rather heavy when filled with water so I suggest not moving it around when full of water but you can easily get all 7 quarts in with no problems. I have never had a jar not seal that was processed in this canner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Glade Spring
white vinegar
Posted 08/10/2013
just put some white vinegar in your water in your canner each time you use your canner, it will remove the old water stains and prevent new ones. Most likely its limestone build up. It also keeps the white film from off the jars that seems to show after they are in the water bath!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Good value for the money.

12/28/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pot was a little lighter than I expected. Time will tell if it holds up. Good value for the price. Excited to start canning with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

returned

12/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was returned due to part missing and bend and break in porcelain.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Great Canner

12/26/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just as described and does exactly what you expect it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Great Product

07/26/2011
By ,
Bastrop, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never tried to do any canning before, but found a good cookbook and this canner with a rack and I was off and running. It did everything I needed it to do. It's big enough to do 7 or 8 pints of goodies at a time. It was the perfect pot for me and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

21.5 Qt Canner ith Rack

05/27/2012
By ,
Northeast Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second canner. The first one lasted 20 years. The rack hold 7 quarts. I use it for canning pickles and jelly. It is a very durable pot and works great for steam bath canning. You can't go wrong with the quality and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Perfect for our needs

12/18/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looking forward to canning all year!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Great Water Bath Canner

08/10/2009
By ,
Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this, so I could make pickles this year and store them. The canner holds 7 quart sized glass jars and has a nice rack. The rack can set on the sides so you can put the 7 jars in before they go into the boiling water, and it lowers real easy. I had no problems canning this year usinig this product. Well worth the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

not for glass/ceramic cooktops

08/28/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I never got to use this canner because it had ridges on the bottom, which I cannot use on my glass/ceramic cooktop. I need to find a flat-bottom kind.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Granite Ware 21.5-Quart Porcelain Canner With Rack

Store supply damaged

10/17/2013
By ,
Nevada
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I searched the walmart stores around me and I guess they don't think people can in the desert. I did find two of them in one store and they were both damaged, the lids were bent in and the granite was worn off. I finally found one at Big Lots that was perfect for a few dollars less. It is a great canner and i have no problem with using it, made in the US is the best part.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next