Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apple Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Apple Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Highlights includes groundbreaking technologies such as Multi-Touch, the accelerometer, 3D graphics and access to hundreds of games. Play hours of music. Create a Genius playlist of songs that go great together. Watch a movie. Surf the web. View rich HTML email. Find your location and get directions with Google Maps. Browse YouTube videos. And shop the App Store for games and applications.
Average Customer Rating:
4.772 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(224 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
188
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%217 out of 224reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
188
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Over Rated? Much!

12/25/2008
By ,
Valdosta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You are very much so paying for the name with this product. It does work as it should; but simply put its over priced. At nearly 300 dollars you're getting a cellphone without the phone or texting. If you're going to spend this kind of money get the iphone or the LG Dare. Its cheaper; and does the same thing. However on a lighter note; the grapics on this mp3 player are iimpeccable; the wifi connection works seemlessly; and with the applications feature there is always the ablity to add new features to you're itouch.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 2 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB
11/03/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've bought several iPods over the years. This is the best iPod that I've bought. It's like a PDA and a iPod put together. You can surf the internet, check the weather, keep notes, keep contacts, play games, watch YouTube, watch videos, listen to music, listen to audiobooks, view pictures.
Similar to an iPhone except that you can not take pictures or use it as a cell phone. No monthly fees, just a wireless connection. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+174points
Review 3 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Revolutionary

10/27/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The iPod touch is simply amazing. I have had it for about two weeks, and I cannot put it down.
Just make sure you buy a case at the time of purchase as it gets scratched very easily. I have tiny scratches on the back of the iPod already.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Review 4 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

AMAZING!!!

07/23/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has everything anyone could ever want on an mp3 player. You can do practically anything with this like listen to music, watch videos, view pictures and email along with surfing the web, watching youtube videos and much much more. Well worth the money. But be careful with it though, it can get scratched easily so I would recommend buying case along with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Review 5 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Beyond expectations

08/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product but I did have a problem with it at first but I jus needed to download the newer verison of the software n now it works even better then I thought it is expensive but to me it was worth the price because it does a lot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 6 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Better than a Zune

06/29/2009
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Ipod Touch is awesome...a must have for teenagers!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 7 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

great toy

11/04/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed my TOUCH. It has so many neat things to do. If you are trying to decide between an iphone and a touch, the touch is the better value. It does everything the phone does without the phone component.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Review 8 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

iPod

06/01/2009
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall the iPod touch lives up to its rep with only a few minor exceptions. So far I have enjoyed discovering this little gadget. The touch features are excellent and the built in speaker is nice though you need a good set of plug-ins or an adapter to your main stereo. There are many free apps available to downlowad that make your life easier or just more fun. I can view ebooks on my iPod that I have purchased on my Kindle. Movies display beautifully albeit it on a small screen and a number of selections are offered in HD. On to the dislikes. High price ( I got the 16G). A built-in camera would almost make this complete. The fact that you have to use the Apple store if you won't to buy songs instead of transferring them from your cd collection. With other mp3 players, you can buy from a variety of sources. Lack of built-in microphone. You can use a compatible external mic and appropriate app. Overall I have enjoyed this iPod touch. It's not just an MP3 player. Maybe the next generation will address these issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Very nice

07/12/2009
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: large screen, apps, shake to shuffle like nano, bluetooth update from apple recently, full keyboard to use, get everything iphone has except mic and being able to call. (yes that means you can buy an app for about 5 bucks and have unlimited texting as long as you have wi-fi.)
Cons: short battery life if you use it alot like i do, bluetooth only works with A2D2 headsets, and its not cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

A fun toy

07/08/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't planning on getting an iPod touch anytime soon, although I did like the idea of the Wifi access feature. However, when my iPod video was stolen, I decided to splurge and haven't regretted it since. I love being able to access the internet wherever there's Wifi, and the touch screen is fun to use and very clear. The only drawback is if you're planning on doing a lot of typing, the touch pad can be a little difficult to use if you have larger fingers. However, all in all this is a great product, although pricey, and comes in handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 11 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

very useful product

10/27/2008
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am amazed at the versatility in such a small product. Being able to immediately access weather, stock prices, maps and email are just 4 of the tools available. The only drawback I have encountered is in typing replies to email. Having a stylus included with the ipod touch would be a definate plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 12 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Fabulous Technology

05/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I'll start by saying that I am not a tech savvy person. This is the best gadget I have ever had. I upgraded from a nano and was surprised that, even I, could get this thing set up easily and quickly. About ten minutes out of the box I had my email account set up to come through and everything. You will need a nice case though....something to protect the back and a screen protector for the touch screen. I love "flipping" through my albums and I especially love the "on demand" genesis that makes a playlist from whatever song you are listen to at the moment. If you are like me, and want something fabulous but don't spend a ton of time on a cell phone then this is the gadget for you. Initially I thought about the iPhone...but I don't talk alot on my cell and I didn't want to pay the extra $$$ each month for internet access....this is perfect, so many places have free WiFi....I can even use the touch at home for internet as our router is wireless!!!!! I highly recommend this, even the price doesn't seem so bad once you get to using it!!! Well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Love it!!!!

07/31/2009
By ,
Houston,texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absoultly love my itouch!!!! I recommend it to anyone who wants an upgrade or their first iPod.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

08/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ipod is great! There are sooo many free apps that you can download that are so much fun. My favorite thing about this ipod is that you don't need any headphones, it just plays out loud! It also seems to recharge in a flash so you don't have to wait forever for it to charge. Its great to be able to set alarms on it for getting up in the morning, you can even choose the sound it makes. Its also great because you can check your email, right down notes, surf the internet, check out youtube, save contacts, set events in the calendar, check other times around the world, pop up a map if you get lost, check the wheather, use the caculater, and even go to i tunes and the app store. This ipod is very entertaining with free games and other apps. I recomend this ipod to everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I recomend getting a case while buying the ipod, I did and it saved it a couple of falls!:P
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Good for the most part, needs a few updates...

06/09/2009
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part, I'm very happy with my iPod Touch 2nd Generation. I purchased it mainly to use the calendar and contact list features for my business, as well as my music and ability to check email, etc.
The Pros: Awesome picture, fairly easy to use, there's an application available for just about everything you could need, and it's small enough to carry around but not too small that it ends up in a pocket going through the wash (like my iPod nano did). Overall it's a good product.
Cons: The calendar feature on the iPod Touch will only sync with your computer if you have Outlook or whatever the Safari version is. It will not sync with Windows Calendar. I had to break down and by the Google Calendar application so I could backup my calendar. Second thing, it's pretty hard to find a Wi-Fi connection unless you're constantly around a coffee shop or a home connection. There are even some places where my laptop will pick up a connection, but it's not strong enough for the Touch to pick it up. Last, the battery life isn't extremely long and some of the iPod docks will not charge the new Touch. I had to take 2 docks back because they didn't support the charge. So right now I just use my laptop until I can afford one of the higher end docks that supports charging...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Awesome product

12/09/2008
By ,
Piscataway, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything I was hoping, has a great browser, easy to use, great apps available, and, oh yeah, it plays music too :) I'd reccomend it to anyone who asked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

Wonderful Product

07/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device has everything you want or need in one handy place (as long as you have a wi-fi connection). It has instant speed, and is easy to use. The available applications are endless, and the games you can purchase are great.
The only con to an iPod is that if your computer crashes, you will lose all your songs! iTunes is one way only. You can take songs from iTunes and put it on your player, but you CAN'T take tunes from your player and put them back on iTunes without downloading a patch.
My advice: back up your music. Other than that, you will be very happy with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

It really packs a punch

01/22/2009
By ,
Mississippi Gulf Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had always refused to purchase an IPod because they don't come with built-in FM transmistters, and I was very pleased with another brand of MP3 player for years. I had an opportunity to upgrade to the touch, and so far have been very pleased with the product.
It can do so much, and it is very simple to operate, download music, upload CD's and just listen to music. The features are awesome, and the ease of use was very surprising. It would seem that they thought of almost everything with this product (except a modem and FM transmitter, of course). Just be prepared to spend a lot of time downloading if you want to rent a movie from I-tunes if you use your computer, and even more time transferring it to your unit.
I would recommend buying a cover at the very beginning. Even though it may be very sturdy, it seems delicate and could easily get scratched.
At first I thought the cost was outrageous, but it does come with a lot of handy features at no additional cost: especilally the internet where wi-fi is available. The speaker is really a joke; it's barely audible at it's loudest setting, and of really poor quality, but I guess nothing is perfectly perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB

FROZE UP! For 300$, all i have is a white screen..

06/29/2009
By ,
mobile, Al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm heart broken... i loved my itouch and never dropped it once! there are no dents or scratches on mine.
My itouch lasted about three months (freezing up at least ten times before its final crash)
the battery life when wifi is turned on is TERRIBLE! you might have thirty minutes before you have a 20% battery message appear(if your brightness is turned REALLY REALLY low). i used to adore my i touch. They are cool. but not very good now they just make me sick to think about them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 20 for Apple iPod Touch (2nd Gen), 16GB
06/15/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The iTouch is a great product to have! There are many great features that keep you entertained at all times. It's also great for road trips and for kids! I was able to watch two full movies, and still had 1/4 of the battery life left.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next