Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

RCA RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

The RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV picks up the signals sent out by TV broadcast stations since February 17, 2009. It is compatible with a wide variety of television brands and models, including flat screens. With its easy-to-hide design, this RCA digital antenna takes up only a small space on a wall, thus keeping a low profile, or it can lay flat on any level surface, making installation and use quick and easy. It will easily fit in small spaces and is ideal for use in small apartments or bedrooms. With one of these units in place there is no need to adjust it into different positions to pick up different stations. The black color blends in with many flat panel TVs, making the unit even less conspicuous. This flat TV antenna will pick up both digital and analog signals from your local broadcasters so you can watch TV on your local channels, in clear and sharp high definition when available.
Average Customer Rating:
3.456 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(263 Reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
49
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 star
64
Customer Recommendation65%171 out of 262reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 218 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
49
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 star
64
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Works for me

01/27/2009
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one for a small TV in my wife's basement sewing room and it worked so well I tried it on our big screen in place of a large amplified TERK. It outperformed the TERK.
That being said we live within sight of the antennas so we are at an advantage for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Surprising Performance

10/16/2010
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched online a little before making our purchase and were looking for something very inexpensive to get the broadcast channels since we did away with our cable. Bought this and brought it home. Very quick assembly, easy install and a good amount of channels for the price. Now I'm sure that a bigger antenna on the chimney would probably get us more, but for what we need, this was $15 well spent!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Pretty amazed what this batman looking gadget does

02/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say after reading mixed reviews, I was kind of sceptacle of purchasing an Antenna and just giving into a money hogging cable/dish company. But i said what the heck its worth a shot... now that i have setup the Antenna, i couldnt imagine going with a cable company. I get all the basic channels which is around 50 channels or so in HD free!the picture is 10X's clearer than normal cable! sure i dont get movie channels, but its good to get out with the family and go pick a few dvd rentals from a RedBox. Some channels volume are a little louder than others but nothing you cant tolerate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

May look like a piece of junk, but it's NOT

05/09/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased 6 different antennas (some of them over $100), and NONE of them were able to pick up all of the main channels at once. Finally, we decided to try this cheap-o antenna which looks like a paper airplane and feels about as sturdy as one too. We stuck it up on the wall, and surprisingly it worked like a charm! We are finally able to get all the main channels without having to adjust the antenna. The picture is clear and the sound is excellent. I guess more expensive doesn't always mean better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Better reception than expensive antennas

09/26/2011
By ,
Portland, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a huge $149 antenna for my living room TV and one of these for my basement TV. This flat antenna was better even in the basement! So I bought another for my living room. Way more channels than the $149 antenna. Then I hooked the amplifier from the expensive antenna to the RCA flat antenna and even more channels! And it takes up so little space - I just taped it to my window.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

great if you have kiddos :)

11/15/2011
By ,
HOUSTON,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well i saw this online and i ordered it and picked it up the same day. when i came home i opened it and there was a part missing and it looked used. so i had to go back to the store and exchange it. online the price is 11 something including tax and in store its 16 something including tax.... so yea i did an exchange and came home and opened the brand new one and all the pieces were there everything was wrapped up like new. so putting it together was a little weird but i let my husband read the instructions and put it together. so we hooked it up to our 50" LG LED t.v and its works perfectly. we even got some channels that we never got with our other antennas. :) also its great if you have kids. i have a 13 month old and we've gone through 2 antennas because he's broke both. this antenna is hidden right behind our t.v you cant even see it. its GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

digital antenna

01/01/2012
By ,
Asheboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is an awesome product for a low cost. i would and have recommended this item to all of my family and friends who use converter boxes for better reception and more channels this item is it and u don't have to pay an arm and a leg for good reception. easy to assemble too!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Blown Away

01/13/2012
By ,
American Fork, Ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The money I spent on this device is the best dollar for dollar value that I have ever spent in my life. I am not just saying this to be silly either. This product is outstanding. Prior to having this device I was paying Comcast 19.99 a month in essence to get my local channels. I hooked up the device, ran through the signal set-up within my TV and BINGO! More channels than I knew were floating over the air ways - 57. Granted a large portion of them are Spanish - which doesn't help me out - but nevertheless I can now watch my Broncos thump the Patriots tomorrow without the need to go over to a neighbors house. Great picture and great sound. Can't recommend it highly enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Who needs cable?

05/24/2012
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two of these antennas, both attached to HD TVs, and they work superbly for both UHF and VHF. They are of a wonderfully simple and elegant design. We have them mounted as high as possible on the wall, which probably gives the best results. They are inexpensive and a great value. No, I did not get paid for this glowing review. The antennas deserve it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Ideal low cost solution

11/01/2012
By ,
North Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product turned out to be better than expected. Didn't have to go through the hassle of returning it. I live in North Orange County, California. The TV I own has a built-in tuner (most newer TVs have this). Don't watch a lot of cable/dish. All I needed was the local channels. After looking at all the antennas available I decided to buy this model because it supports HD channels, was cheap & looks "presentable". It is also NOT amplified so I don't need to plug in an adapter. Amplified antennas (use an adapter & require power) claim to have better reception, but after buying this, its safe to say there's a good chance you won't need an amplified antenna (depends where you live. Some areas will need it).
A few Tips: Product seems very delicate but that doesn't matter since you're probably not going to be handling it too often. Some assembly is required which is an extremely simple task & should only take a couple of minutes. After assembly, place it at a height slightly above your TV. You can use some blue tape to hold it in place temporarily and run the auto tune on your TV. Once that's done, see if the reception is good on the channels you watch. Pick the one from your favorites with the worst reception and then manually move the antenna to a location where you get better reception & then run the auto tune on your TV again with the antenna in the new position. That should sort out any reception problems with most channels. That's it you're done.
Hope these tips help. For 15 bucks I'm getting a clear reception on 90% of the channels. The HD channels are amazing. Can't believe this antenna is able to get such clear reception. My final position of the antenna is on a wall slightly above my TV (about 6 feet above the ground & approx 4 feet from a window). Of course there's no rule that this is an ideal setting. It will vary by location.
I very rarely post reviews, but since I'm going to save a whole bunch of money in the long run, it's only fair RCA gets credit where it's due.
Cheers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Best Product for Your Money

11/12/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive antenna to pick up local channels. This antenna did that and with very crisp picture. The HD channels it brought in looked just as good as cable or satellite.
I was thoroughly impressed. There was no need to look for a better antenna. This was it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV
11/25/2012
By ,
Peoria, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a Christmas gift to pair with a Magnavox HDTV converter box, but I do own two others. The RCA flat antenna comes with enough coax cable to put up the wall to nearly the ceiling, but I wanted to hide it. My husband easily added more cable to it and dropped it down from the attic to an existing cable outlet. I had just cancelled the cable company, the wiring was still in the wall, so we made use of it for our third analog tv. So there are two RCA antennae attached to a wood beam in the attic just a few feet apart, using 1/2 round staples to support the cable wires to each. Do not staple the bowtie film, just the wire. Also, with a coupler purchased at Radio Shack, we were able to put two tv's on one antenna and got great reception on both. Each analog tv has to have its own converter box. This is a great antenna for signal and a quality product. I went online to find the optimum direction to aim and get the best reception.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Bought first two years ago.

11/26/2012
By ,
Kyle, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That worked so well that I bought another for the spare TV I bought for the garage. Easy set up and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Try it- you'll like it. And its cheap!

01/06/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This flimsy bat-like piece of plastic may be inexpensive, ($14.95 at Walmart) BUT, having purchased 3 other antennas I was unhappy with I decided to try it. It took 5 minutes to assemble(with a tiny little screwdriver) and a minute to hook up. Immediately it pulled in 8 more stations than the $40 antenna it was replacing. In a suburban area, 10 to 30 miles from broadcast stations, we are recieving 23 channels. The big plus is this product can be placed in a window sill and is unnoticed. Except by the neighbors, who I am sure think we have put out the bat-signal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Works well

01/19/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was using a loop antenna, hooked onto the back of the TV (with a transformer). That worked fairly well, until the TV was wall mounted, then it got worse. I saw all the reviews on this, and figured I'd give it a shot. Every channel comes in flawless, even the channels that were marginal, no matter how the loop was aimed before. I'd definately recommend this antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Can't believe it! But wow!

02/16/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading reviews on this flimsy plastic "bat' and how well it worked, I decided to give it a shot. We have a room not wired for cable and we have tried using a $50 antenna in there wth absolutely no luck save for a few stations that would come in grainy and static ridden and cut out sporadically. This little antenna was the last resort before we gave up and called the cable company to wire the room. Well, it arrived and I assembled it in less than 5 minutes, hooked it on to the TV and voila!! 31 channels, all super clear!! We had thought the other, expensive anntenna had not worked because we are in an urban area and near an airport, but this little "bat" does not seem intimidated by that at all;-) I placed it on the wall behind the TV and it works wonderfully. you may need to experiment a bit with positioning, but once the channels are clear, they are locked in! I rarely review, for under $20, this product definitely is a great buy! In fact, I ordered another one for a friend and she is just as pleased with the results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Great antenna

04/05/2013
By ,
Englewood, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the ONLY antenna we will use. I recommended it to my daughter when she got her first apt, and she loved it. It's great if you want to cut back on expenses, and dump cable. I put mine on the wall behind my tv, and it's hidden, but picks up the signal very well. We have a 40" LG hd flat panel tv + LG blue ray player w/ apps, & Hulu Plus, so we don't need cable.
I Highly recommend this antenna!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

This gives me crystal clear HDTV in 1080i.

05/01/2013
By ,
Richfield, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little antenna that doesn't even look like it can work gives me crystal clear HDTV on all my TV's. The one TV is reading 1080i signal. It worked so good on one TV that I decided to hook it to
the input of my cable system. It worked. One TV gets 11 channels. The more expensive TV pulls in 50 channels all for free. I now have 3 TV's working off this $15 antenna and am going to quit DIRECTV at the end of the billing cycle. The antenna is in the ceiling in the basement hidden away. People have forgotten you don't have to pay $100 a month for TV. It's free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Beyond expectations

05/28/2013
By ,
Green Bay WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this product at first because it was so inexpensive, so I read the reviews and decided to go ahead with it. I could not be more pleased with it. It seems very flimsy and cheap when you open the package, but after assembling it and putting it on the wall horizontally above the tv (just with scotch tape, yes it's that light) I was amazed. The channels come in better than with my more expensive bunny ear antenna, I get more channels and they come in clear with no fuzz or pauses. Plus no more adjusting the antenna!! I am more than happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for antennas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

excellant reception

06/07/2013
By ,
Sedalia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live about 60 miles from channel 17 that I am receiving. (It is shorter by air). I had bought this antenna when I bought my conversion box for my old TV. I bought a multidirectional antenna with a amplifier for my living room TV. I decided to hook this one to my computer room TV. I installed it above my doorway and got better reception when the weather was bad than the one that I paid over $40 for. I plan to buy another one for my living room TV and mount it upstairs where the $40 antenna is now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 238 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next