Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

RCA RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

The RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV picks up the signals sent out by TV broadcast stations since February 17, 2009. It is compatible with a wide variety of television brands and models, including flat screens. With its easy-to-hide design, this RCA digital antenna takes up only a small space on a wall, thus keeping a low profile, or it can lay flat on any level surface, making installation and use quick and easy. It will easily fit in small spaces and is ideal for use in small apartments or bedrooms. With one of these units in place there is no need to adjust it into different positions to pick up different stations. The black color blends in with many flat panel TVs, making the unit even less conspicuous. This flat TV antenna will pick up both digital and analog signals from your local broadcasters so you can watch TV on your local channels, in clear and sharp high definition when available.
Average Customer Rating:
3.456 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(263 Reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
49
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 star
64
Customer Recommendation65%171 out of 262reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 218 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
49
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 star
64
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Surprising Performance

10/16/2010
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched online a little before making our purchase and were looking for something very inexpensive to get the broadcast channels since we did away with our cable. Bought this and brought it home. Very quick assembly, easy install and a good amount of channels for the price. Now I'm sure that a bigger antenna on the chimney would probably get us more, but for what we need, this was $15 well spent!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Works great in Indpls

01/10/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked at reviews before we bought our first Digital TV Antenna and thought this one would be the best to try. The price was right. We hooked the TV (older Emerson 13" Color ) to the converter box first. Then we hooked the RCA Digital Antenna to the converter box. The stations come in so well ! The picture is sharper than what we see with cable, DISH or DIRECT TV. We really want to be able to watch ME TV and it came in beautifully. At our first attempt we picked up about 16 to 20 channels and all those came in perfectly. We still have to figure out how to get the Closed Caption feature turned off, but other than that it works very well. Tonight we tried it at a friend's home that is about 5 miles East of downtown Indianapolis.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Exceeded expectations

03/15/2012
By ,
Polson, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! Is what I have to say, I'm kinda blown away by this product.
Yes like most of these reviews, the product is flimsy! At first I thought to myself, "This is never going to work".
I'm going to contradict what some are saying here and say that it was incredibly easy to assemble, and no I'm not some kind of electronics guru. The instructions were simple and the wings are clearly marked, "a" "b" and "c". You just follow the instructions and in 2 minutes you'll have the thing together. It's three screws and 4 parts, so I think it's simple to put together.
We upgraded from a 'full on' rabbit ears amplified dish antenna which cost $50! The rabbit ears we're always getting in the way because we had to point them away from the TV to get a signal, so my wife and our dogs and I would always run into them. Further more whenever you moved, the digital signal would be interrupted, which was a pain in the backside when you wanted to get something from the kitchen. Also we had to move and play with the thing when we changed channel!
I plugged in this new wing antenna and pointed it in the same general direction as the old antenna, and immediately got all the same channels as before and all came in crystal clear with no jittering. I was blown away!
However some tips for you. For me I found it better to lie the antenna horizontally, not vertically. I first tried to place it in the window, but it didn't really work and barely got a signal, as soon as I laid it flat, it worked like a dream.
If I had to critique, then I would say the cable is really short, and limits the range of placement options. I am going to buy a 6' extension cable so I can hide it a bit better. I would recommend you do the same.
I would also say that I live relatively close to the transmission towers (after researching on antennaweb.org) so I'm not sure if this item would be practical if you live in the middle of nowhere! However for me, it's a great product with great results, and I highly recommend it.
The price is exceptional at only $15, yeah it's flimsy, but it packs a punch!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Works for me

01/27/2009
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one for a small TV in my wife's basement sewing room and it worked so well I tried it on our big screen in place of a large amplified TERK. It outperformed the TERK.
That being said we live within sight of the antennas so we are at an advantage for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV
11/25/2012
By ,
Peoria, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a Christmas gift to pair with a Magnavox HDTV converter box, but I do own two others. The RCA flat antenna comes with enough coax cable to put up the wall to nearly the ceiling, but I wanted to hide it. My husband easily added more cable to it and dropped it down from the attic to an existing cable outlet. I had just cancelled the cable company, the wiring was still in the wall, so we made use of it for our third analog tv. So there are two RCA antennae attached to a wood beam in the attic just a few feet apart, using 1/2 round staples to support the cable wires to each. Do not staple the bowtie film, just the wire. Also, with a coupler purchased at Radio Shack, we were able to put two tv's on one antenna and got great reception on both. Each analog tv has to have its own converter box. This is a great antenna for signal and a quality product. I went online to find the optimum direction to aim and get the best reception.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Great antenna

04/05/2013
By ,
Englewood, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the ONLY antenna we will use. I recommended it to my daughter when she got her first apt, and she loved it. It's great if you want to cut back on expenses, and dump cable. I put mine on the wall behind my tv, and it's hidden, but picks up the signal very well. We have a 40" LG hd flat panel tv + LG blue ray player w/ apps, & Hulu Plus, so we don't need cable.
I Highly recommend this antenna!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Try it- you'll like it. And its cheap!

01/06/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This flimsy bat-like piece of plastic may be inexpensive, ($14.95 at Walmart) BUT, having purchased 3 other antennas I was unhappy with I decided to try it. It took 5 minutes to assemble(with a tiny little screwdriver) and a minute to hook up. Immediately it pulled in 8 more stations than the $40 antenna it was replacing. In a suburban area, 10 to 30 miles from broadcast stations, we are recieving 23 channels. The big plus is this product can be placed in a window sill and is unnoticed. Except by the neighbors, who I am sure think we have put out the bat-signal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Beats paying for Cable service

07/25/2013
By ,
York, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my brother who does not have cable. His TV only got 2 channels, but once he hooked this device up he got 10 channels. They were clear and the reception was great. He was very happy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

It works...

09/20/2010
By ,
Carson City, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna is really flimsy, but once you put it carefully together it worked just fine. It is very, very light weight and I liked it because I could take double sided tape and stick it up on the wall so it is out of the way. I had to move it a couple times to get my channels but once I found a spot it worked fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Looks funny works GREAT

02/02/2014
By ,
Applegate,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live quite a distance from the stations (60 mies and mountains) and this antenns works better than the $100 one I tried.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

09/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a antenna for the office in my shop. Not expecting much, I bought this one planning to take it back and buy a real antenna. I assembled it and unhooked the new $100 antenna mounted on the chimney of our house to see if this RCA would pick up any of the stations that I was getting with the big antenna and rotor system at home. After sitting it in a window near the TV, to my suprise, I could get ALL the channels with the small RCA that my big antenna was picking up. Did not do a channel scan with the RCA because I was afraid that I might pick up channels that the big antenna would not. I might also add that the nearest tower to me is at least 30 miles, and I am picking up some much farther. I am a very difficult person to please and am very happy with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

does what it claims

12/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this antenna. It's used in a small town south of KC and is between 15 and 19 miles from all broadcast points in KC. I connected this antenna to a 32 in flat screen tv and it picks up all 24 stations (counting side stations) that are broadcast out of KC. Checking signal strength on all stations - the TV indicates all stations but one are between 90 and 100 % signal strength. (Most DTVs have a way to measure this in the set up menu) The only station outside of that measures 80%. And since all modern TVs have digital tuners the picture and sound are perfect. With DTV you either get the station or you don't. Or possibly it comes and goes. Well this TV and most all DTVs lock in the stations even if you only get 40% or so strength. So the 80 to 100% I receive with this antenna is more than enough. You do need to do a small amount of assembly with this antenna, but as long as you follow the simple instructions, most anyone can do it. (You will need a phillips head (+) screwdriver). Pay no attention to the flimsy appearance of the piece, it does the job. After assembling this antenna I simply placed it against the wall behind the TV where it cannot be seen at all. It's best to position this antenna broadside toward the stations rather than in-line with the stations. The TV is on a fireplace mantel on the ground floor of an apartment, again 15 to 19 miles from the stations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Blown Away

01/13/2012
By ,
American Fork, Ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The money I spent on this device is the best dollar for dollar value that I have ever spent in my life. I am not just saying this to be silly either. This product is outstanding. Prior to having this device I was paying Comcast 19.99 a month in essence to get my local channels. I hooked up the device, ran through the signal set-up within my TV and BINGO! More channels than I knew were floating over the air ways - 57. Granted a large portion of them are Spanish - which doesn't help me out - but nevertheless I can now watch my Broncos thump the Patriots tomorrow without the need to go over to a neighbors house. Great picture and great sound. Can't recommend it highly enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Great Product

12/08/2011
By ,
Long Island NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, gets all the local channels, VHF and UHF. However, I did end up covering it and running a cable outside and mounting it out there, it works much better elevated about 10 0r 12 ft high. If you are on an upper floor, or have a 2 story home , I would recomend running a cable and installing it up high. Once I did that, it was perfect. Some Assembly Required lol. But simple to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV
12/30/2011
By ,
Tooele, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together, put in a window great reception.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Better than expensive ones!

12/30/2011
By ,
SW Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna is easy to put together and performs much better than my other HDTV antennas that are 3-5 times more expensive. It picks up signals from TV stations I didn't have before so I get more channels. I lay it flat on top of a bookcase clost to the TV and it becomes invisible. A good product I'd recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Best Product for Your Money

11/12/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive antenna to pick up local channels. This antenna did that and with very crisp picture. The HD channels it brought in looked just as good as cable or satellite.
I was thoroughly impressed. There was no need to look for a better antenna. This was it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Ideal low cost solution

11/01/2012
By ,
North Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product turned out to be better than expected. Didn't have to go through the hassle of returning it. I live in North Orange County, California. The TV I own has a built-in tuner (most newer TVs have this). Don't watch a lot of cable/dish. All I needed was the local channels. After looking at all the antennas available I decided to buy this model because it supports HD channels, was cheap & looks "presentable". It is also NOT amplified so I don't need to plug in an adapter. Amplified antennas (use an adapter & require power) claim to have better reception, but after buying this, its safe to say there's a good chance you won't need an amplified antenna (depends where you live. Some areas will need it).
A few Tips: Product seems very delicate but that doesn't matter since you're probably not going to be handling it too often. Some assembly is required which is an extremely simple task & should only take a couple of minutes. After assembly, place it at a height slightly above your TV. You can use some blue tape to hold it in place temporarily and run the auto tune on your TV. Once that's done, see if the reception is good on the channels you watch. Pick the one from your favorites with the worst reception and then manually move the antenna to a location where you get better reception & then run the auto tune on your TV again with the antenna in the new position. That should sort out any reception problems with most channels. That's it you're done.
Hope these tips help. For 15 bucks I'm getting a clear reception on 90% of the channels. The HD channels are amazing. Can't believe this antenna is able to get such clear reception. My final position of the antenna is on a wall slightly above my TV (about 6 feet above the ground & approx 4 feet from a window). Of course there's no rule that this is an ideal setting. It will vary by location.
I very rarely post reviews, but since I'm going to save a whole bunch of money in the long run, it's only fair RCA gets credit where it's due.
Cheers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Bought first two years ago.

11/26/2012
By ,
Kyle, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That worked so well that I bought another for the spare TV I bought for the garage. Easy set up and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Pretty amazed what this batman looking gadget does

02/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say after reading mixed reviews, I was kind of sceptacle of purchasing an Antenna and just giving into a money hogging cable/dish company. But i said what the heck its worth a shot... now that i have setup the Antenna, i couldnt imagine going with a cable company. I get all the basic channels which is around 50 channels or so in HD free!the picture is 10X's clearer than normal cable! sure i dont get movie channels, but its good to get out with the family and go pick a few dvd rentals from a RedBox. Some channels volume are a little louder than others but nothing you cant tolerate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 238 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next