Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

The RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV picks up the signals sent out by TV broadcast stations since February 17, 2009. It is compatible with a wide variety of television brands and models, including flat screens. With its easy-to-hide design, this RCA digital antenna takes up only a small space on a wall, thus keeping a low profile, or it can lay flat on any level surface, making installation and use quick and easy. It will easily fit in small spaces and is ideal for use in small apartments or bedrooms. With one of these units in place there is no need to adjust it into different positions to pick up different stations. The black color blends in with many flat panel TVs, making the unit even less conspicuous. This flat TV antenna will pick up both digital and analog signals from your local broadcasters so you can watch TV on your local channels, in clear and sharp high definition when available.
Average Customer Rating:
3.456 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(263 Reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
49
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 star
64
Customer Recommendation65%171 out of 262reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
49
3 stars
22
2 stars
19
1 star
64
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Works Very Well

12/16/2008
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because of the small size and thin coax cable. I am very pleased with how well it works.
The assembly is a little tricky, read the instructions carefully. Lightweight and easy to mount. Good results witin 10 miles of station.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

09/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a antenna for the office in my shop. Not expecting much, I bought this one planning to take it back and buy a real antenna. I assembled it and unhooked the new $100 antenna mounted on the chimney of our house to see if this RCA would pick up any of the stations that I was getting with the big antenna and rotor system at home. After sitting it in a window near the TV, to my suprise, I could get ALL the channels with the small RCA that my big antenna was picking up. Did not do a channel scan with the RCA because I was afraid that I might pick up channels that the big antenna would not. I might also add that the nearest tower to me is at least 30 miles, and I am picking up some much farther. I am a very difficult person to please and am very happy with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 3 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Exceeded expectations

03/15/2012
By ,
Polson, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! Is what I have to say, I'm kinda blown away by this product.
Yes like most of these reviews, the product is flimsy! At first I thought to myself, "This is never going to work".
I'm going to contradict what some are saying here and say that it was incredibly easy to assemble, and no I'm not some kind of electronics guru. The instructions were simple and the wings are clearly marked, "a" "b" and "c". You just follow the instructions and in 2 minutes you'll have the thing together. It's three screws and 4 parts, so I think it's simple to put together.
We upgraded from a 'full on' rabbit ears amplified dish antenna which cost $50! The rabbit ears we're always getting in the way because we had to point them away from the TV to get a signal, so my wife and our dogs and I would always run into them. Further more whenever you moved, the digital signal would be interrupted, which was a pain in the backside when you wanted to get something from the kitchen. Also we had to move and play with the thing when we changed channel!
I plugged in this new wing antenna and pointed it in the same general direction as the old antenna, and immediately got all the same channels as before and all came in crystal clear with no jittering. I was blown away!
However some tips for you. For me I found it better to lie the antenna horizontally, not vertically. I first tried to place it in the window, but it didn't really work and barely got a signal, as soon as I laid it flat, it worked like a dream.
If I had to critique, then I would say the cable is really short, and limits the range of placement options. I am going to buy a 6' extension cable so I can hide it a bit better. I would recommend you do the same.
I would also say that I live relatively close to the transmission towers (after researching on antennaweb.org) so I'm not sure if this item would be practical if you live in the middle of nowhere! However for me, it's a great product with great results, and I highly recommend it.
The price is exceptional at only $15, yeah it's flimsy, but it packs a punch!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 4 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Ideal low cost solution

11/01/2012
By ,
North Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product turned out to be better than expected. Didn't have to go through the hassle of returning it. I live in North Orange County, California. The TV I own has a built-in tuner (most newer TVs have this). Don't watch a lot of cable/dish. All I needed was the local channels. After looking at all the antennas available I decided to buy this model because it supports HD channels, was cheap & looks "presentable". It is also NOT amplified so I don't need to plug in an adapter. Amplified antennas (use an adapter & require power) claim to have better reception, but after buying this, its safe to say there's a good chance you won't need an amplified antenna (depends where you live. Some areas will need it).
A few Tips: Product seems very delicate but that doesn't matter since you're probably not going to be handling it too often. Some assembly is required which is an extremely simple task & should only take a couple of minutes. After assembly, place it at a height slightly above your TV. You can use some blue tape to hold it in place temporarily and run the auto tune on your TV. Once that's done, see if the reception is good on the channels you watch. Pick the one from your favorites with the worst reception and then manually move the antenna to a location where you get better reception & then run the auto tune on your TV again with the antenna in the new position. That should sort out any reception problems with most channels. That's it you're done.
Hope these tips help. For 15 bucks I'm getting a clear reception on 90% of the channels. The HD channels are amazing. Can't believe this antenna is able to get such clear reception. My final position of the antenna is on a wall slightly above my TV (about 6 feet above the ground & approx 4 feet from a window). Of course there's no rule that this is an ideal setting. It will vary by location.
I very rarely post reviews, but since I'm going to save a whole bunch of money in the long run, it's only fair RCA gets credit where it's due.
Cheers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Great little antenna!

02/21/2013
By ,
fort worth texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works very well! Much better than the more expensive one that has to be plugged in to an electrical outlet.
This is the second one of these that I have purchased-highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Great antenna

04/05/2013
By ,
Englewood, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the ONLY antenna we will use. I recommended it to my daughter when she got her first apt, and she loved it. It's great if you want to cut back on expenses, and dump cable. I put mine on the wall behind my tv, and it's hidden, but picks up the signal very well. We have a 40" LG hd flat panel tv + LG blue ray player w/ apps, & Hulu Plus, so we don't need cable.
I Highly recommend this antenna!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Can't believe how well it works! Great value!

08/25/2013
By ,
maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did not want to rent a set top box for a TV that we hardly ever use. Was skeptical about this, but decide to give it a try since it has gotten such great reviews (here and Amazon) and can't beat the price. I also got the GE amplified antenna (3x the price) to compare. It picked up 29 channels! Depending on where I put the antenna, I can pick up some other channels (the international channels), but then loses some. I compared this to the amplified. The amplified did not pick up any more stations (same behavior, depending on where I put it, it would pick up a slightly different set of channels). The amplified did *slightly* better in that the picture came in more 'clear' on a couple of the stations, so the signal I think is stronger due to amplification, but it didn't pick up any 'more' channels. I decide to keep this antenna and return the amplified because of the price and the pictures came in plenty clear on majority of the channels with this passive antenna. The additional cost was not worth the slight improvement on a couple of the channels and that we hardly ever use this TV.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Antonio TX
**** UPDATE ****
Posted 09/16/2013
I have had this antenna for some time now and I am still satisfied with it. I did purchase an amplified indoor antenna and did receive more channels than with this one. You will have to try different options to see which works for you. Over a month without cable TV and loving it. I do have HULU plus and Netflix, happy to save $100 monthly. This is a good option to start with. Best of luck to you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

The Best Antenna for Little Money

08/25/2013
By ,
Tampa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this antenna for my TV in the kitchen. Wow! I could not believe how this cheaply made antenna outrun my another $60 antenna. It pickup 52 channels from my location in Tampa with very minimal adjustment. So great that I connect it to the cable splitter and use it for other TVs around the house. All work great at the same time and receive crystal clear channels.
IMPORTANT TIP: make sure to install the included T-bar piece. Not sure why this T-bar doesn't show in the display picture on the box, probably because it makes this antenna looks uglier but that how it's designed folks! It won't work without it. Also, choosing a good spot for it is necessary: higher than your TV and away from obstructed objects, especially electronic appliances or devices; I nailed and hided mine on top of the bookshelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV
08/25/2013
By ,
El Paso
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

great

01/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Best antenna I ever owned!!

01/28/2014
By ,
Pompano Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got rid of cable a few years ago and I have an hdtv and was using rabbit ears antennas but was constantly moving them around to get a clear signal. I finally got so frustrated that I decided to get this. Who would believe something so flimsy and cheapy looking would be the best antenna I have ever owned!! At first I positioned it close to the ceiling and I couldn't believe how many channels it picked up EXCEPT for my favorite news channel which I did get but lots of static. I thought I could live without that channel but I couldn't, so the next day I played around with the antenna again. When I took it down from the wall I was standing on the side of the tv and suddenly my channel was clear and perfect. Sure enough it doesn't not have to be high above the tv. I have a low shelving unit with a lamp next to the tv so I placed the antenna on the wall behind the unit so it is partially hidden and now I have all the channels and my favorite.
I am so happy I bought this. I ordered another one.
Thank you Walmart!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 12 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

May look like a piece of junk, but it's NOT

05/09/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased 6 different antennas (some of them over $100), and NONE of them were able to pick up all of the main channels at once. Finally, we decided to try this cheap-o antenna which looks like a paper airplane and feels about as sturdy as one too. We stuck it up on the wall, and surprisingly it worked like a charm! We are finally able to get all the main channels without having to adjust the antenna. The picture is clear and the sound is excellent. I guess more expensive doesn't always mean better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+108points
Review 13 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Great product

04/07/2014
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this product! Works wonderful with my HDTV . Digital channel are clear and mild signal lost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

good antenna

12/26/2012
By ,
Belfair, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked much better than an amplified one I tried
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Try it- you'll like it. And its cheap!

01/06/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This flimsy bat-like piece of plastic may be inexpensive, ($14.95 at Walmart) BUT, having purchased 3 other antennas I was unhappy with I decided to try it. It took 5 minutes to assemble(with a tiny little screwdriver) and a minute to hook up. Immediately it pulled in 8 more stations than the $40 antenna it was replacing. In a suburban area, 10 to 30 miles from broadcast stations, we are recieving 23 channels. The big plus is this product can be placed in a window sill and is unnoticed. Except by the neighbors, who I am sure think we have put out the bat-signal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Can't Beat it !!!

09/23/2014
By ,
Phila, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Won't bore ya with the details... lost some work and had to cut out some bills quick!! Cable was almost a car paymnet SO cxl'd it and ordered the RCA digital Flat antenna.
Had to test it around the house to get the best reception BUT once it was clear, bought the amplifier and for around $25 total,its as clear as HDTV local cable. The weather does effect the signal, especially the more distant ones. I get about a dozen channels, can't beat it for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

great antenna

03/09/2013
By ,
kissimmee florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two, of this antenna n there are awesome i even recommended to my son and my best friend in new york and they love it.. now they getting more of them for there TVs in Puerto Rico..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Works as it should!

07/26/2013
By ,
Imperial, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 of these one in my main floor family room and one in our basement. Only use them for when the direct tv goes out because of storms but they work great! Well worth the $8. I had one of the flat squares before and it did not pick up the channels like this one does!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

Good Purchase

10/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little antenna works great for us in our location. We live about 50 miles from the television stations for our area and this thing works almost as well as an amplified. It is installed on the first floor of our house in a room where the signal only has to travel through one wall when considering line of sight. As with anything you can purchase to improve upon "whatever"...results may vary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for RCA Digital Flat Antenna made for DTV

It worked!

12/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had low expectations for the price. But i needed a cheap fix for an antenna in the basement, and it gets the signal. amazing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 238 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next