Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wright Brand Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz

Wright Brand Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation89%8 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz
09/04/2013
By ,
hartford, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to use this for my regular bacon. It had thick ham and thick fat.It was really good. Now it has a lot of rind and no thick pieces, just bad bacon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz

Best Bacon Ever

11/19/2009
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only buy this bacon. I use it for everthing. bacon & Eggs, Salads, Seasoning.....It has the best smoked flavor. I buy it and freeze it. I am NEVER without it in my kitchen.......The BEST.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz

cooking tip

02/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
put your bacon in a clear pyrex dish with a lid & microwave it until the liquid slows it's boiling. chop it finer before or after cooking. awesome in dishes where you want bacon bits. reserve the fat for other uses.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz

A bargain, and better bacon

01/15/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this stuff. I started buying it a few years ago just because it was a bargain. Now it's the main bacon I buy and use.
As others have said, you'll end up with a variety of cuts here - big chunks of fat, big chunks of meat, and thin slices like traditional bacon cuts. You can use each for its best purpose - the fat for seasoning beans & greens, the meaty cuts for omelets or salads, etc.
If you want a mix, here's a tip for best cooking results - separate it into the three main types: fat, mixed and meat. Start by cooking the fat til it starts to brown. Then add the mixed cuts. Finally, put the meaty cuts in at the end for just about a minute. You'll get a nice blend, with the fatty pieces crispy and tasty, without over-doing the meat.
I'm sure if you go to a butcher or order online, you can get gourmet bacon in thicker cuts, but this is by far the best I've bought at the grocery store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz

LOVE IT!!

02/11/2013
By ,
Sout Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to buy Wright's Bacon Ends and Pieces at Winn Dixie religiously to the point that when they ran out, I would remind the meat dept manager to restock. But, Winn Dixie discontinued stocking this delicious product d I am DELIGHTED to find it again at Walmart.
Sorry Winn Dixie - but you FAIL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz
12/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product for years. I typically grind and fry it for fresh bacon bits. They are by far the very best available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz

wrights ends and peices bacon

01/18/2009
By ,
Nashville,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do enjoy this product . a true value. great for blts salads and even bacon and eggs. assorted sizes alot of thick slices as well as lean. great value .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz

Excellent value; Excellent taste

03/18/2011
By ,
Loganville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been buying Wright's Ends and Pieces (48 oz) at our local Walmart Super Center for sometime now. This fits perfectly into my low carb diet as both a tasty treat and as a hunger stalling snack (in moderation). I generally cook a whole package at one time using a deep pot (to prevent splattering and to minimize clean-up).
As a scientist (retired), I like to know certain things. So I did some measurements on several cooks to determine the net cooked weight of the bacon from a full 48 oz package, and to determine just how much fat weight loss occurred in cooking and how much water loss (by difference) occurred.
I separate the pieces of the wad by hand and cut or slice thicker pieces largely to make them easier to eat. I drop the separated pieces into my deep pot one at a time as unfolded and as separate as possible. I also have an electronic probe thermometer and have determined that cooking to a temperature of 250°F gives an optimal product in terms of crispness for my tastes. To cook 48 oz takes about 20-25 minutes. The cooking bacon will begin to foam as the water cooks out starting about 220° and continuing on until I stop the process at 250°F and remove the bacon with tongs and a strainer basket. (I discard the cooked fat, but in the winter, one can mix with bird seed and place in a suet cage. Birds love it.)
Here are my figures:
48 oz (1362 grams) uncooked Wright's Ends and Pieces will produce 13.7 oz (390 grams) of crisp cooked bacon for a yield of 28% of the initial uncooked weight. The fat loss on cooking is 37% or 17.8 oz (504 grams) and the water loss on cooking (by difference) is 34% 16.5 oz (468 grams).
The package label gives the following information:
Serving size 2 oz (56 g)
Servings per container 24
Calories 300, calories from fat 280
Total fat 31 grams
Saturated fat 11 grams
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 390mg
Total Carbohydrate 0g
Protein 5 grams
Based on 24 2oz servings per container for a total of 48 oz, I conclude that the label information is for the uncooked product. According to the label, then the original percentage of fat is 55% (31/56) and protein is 9% (5/56). Summing the remaining components and subtracting from 56, we note that the original water content is about 20%.
I removed 37% of the fat (by actual weight) in cooking to 250°F. All of the protein would, of course remain, and would amount to 120 grams total.
So from my cooked weight of 390 grams, I can subtract 120 grams leaving 270 grams of fat and water. Assuming the remaining water content is 5% (it is crisp bacon) then water would account for about 20 grams leaving 250 grams fat or 64% fat in the final product. While this last figure may seem odd at first, the relative fat content went up on a percentage basis since the water content went down.
Assuming 64% fat (9 kcal/gram) and 5% water (0 Kcals/g), and 30% protein (4 Kcals/g) in the cooked product, the total caloric value resulting from 3 lbs (48 oz) uncooked weight of the cooked product is about 2,730 Kcals +/- or about 198 calories per ounce (28 grams) of cooked weight.
When cooked, virtually none of the salt is lost, so that the cooked product is fairly salty (~195 mg sodium or as expressed as sodium chloride 509 mg NaCl per oz) as well as fatty, which is why bacon has such appeal in general.
If eaten in moderation and by several people over several days, the caloric impact of the bacon is minimized, especially when the bacon is used as a replacement substitute for other foods and to assuage hunger. Several expensive diet products do exactly this, but believe me bacon tastes much better!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wright Brand: Seasoning Ends & Pieces Bacon, 48 Oz

Best bacon by far

11/09/2008
By ,
Patrick Springs, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the flavoring of bacon and the variance in piece size so random, this product offers a new world of joy to many old dishes and sandwiches.
The learning curve for cooking times due to thickness is quickly learned and offers no real threat to new cooks. The packege offers a wide range of thickness so that while cooking the whole package at once may seem like a lot of red meat to digest, the end results are truly amazing. Thin slices for that BLT or Club sandwich. Medium sized pieces of bacon go nicely in any salad. And the largets of pieces, if not immediately consumed for the rush of full bacon flavor, can be added to suitable beans for wonderous results.
The product does have a percentage of fat. It's bacon! When properly prepared, you'll cook off 20% to 25% into grease. Shouldd you prefer your bacon brutalized into a crispy semblance of what used to be a fine pork product, you may reduce the total weight by 30%. In general, the pieces are very rich in lean red meat and rarely will you find any piece void of meat.
As always, when you find it, buy it all. Distribution has been disappointing for me these last few weeks.
Enjoy my friends and try some bacon with cottage cheese in a Monte Cristo type sandwich. One of my favorites.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.