Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua Culture Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Aqua Culture Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

The Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon Aquarium Air Pump is versatile and can accommodate up to three air-powered devices. The three powered devices can include bubble stones, action ornaments and under-gravel filters. The aquarium pump will push out up to 1200cc per minute and also includes two check valves. The aquarium bubble pump will help to improve and maintain the quality of your aquarium environment. The Aqua Culture: Air Pump is a powerful accessory to help ensure that your underwater friends remain healthy and happy.
Average Customer Rating:
2.946 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation46%17 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Wonderful

08/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS PUMP! For Christmas i got my mom a betta and a cute 2.5 gallon LPS tank and the air pump would always die on me. So instead of wasting $15 on another 10-20 gallon air pump I got this 20-60 gallon double outlet for $12! Very useful when having two tanks next to each other too!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Super quiet air pump

10/24/2014
By ,
Cocoa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 of these pumps and they preform beautifully. Very powerful and no noise!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Worth the price.

03/18/2009
By ,
Putnam New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am currently using this pump on three fish tanks. 2 10 gallon and 1 30 gallon. I have the pump resting on a piece of cardboard and there is barley any noise from the pump. I have had the pump for just a little under 1 year and it still works great. I noticed other reviewers complained that the pump stopped working after just over 1 year. But like another reviewer stated, that for the price I paid for it, it would still be a good buy to replace it every year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Not good for prolonged use

04/21/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This pump will suffice or be good enough as a temporary solution for your aquatic needs, not for permanent usage. I have bought three of these pumps and each pump has failed (stopped producing air bubbles). At first the pump works well enough with some noise, which can be fixed by placing pump on a towel. After some time, one outlet stops producing air and within a few days the other outlet does the same. When I took it apart to locate the problem, I found the diaphragms were broken. This last pump only lasted one month! The other two continued working for about two to three months and each gave out in the same manner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Works then doesnt

09/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked fine for a week them didn't. Since I didnt keep the packaging I cant return it! My loss
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Best dollar value on the market

09/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 43 years of fish keeping I have owned and repaired many pumps. This produces 2800cc at a high pressure. I have one running 2 years in 24" water, and it will run 2, 12 inch airstones. The valve body is centralized and so far the diaphragms are good. I hope tetra is using better rubber because all the whisper pumps I owned in the past needed repair every 6-8 months like clockwork. Well at $0.99 it used to be cheap to own a whisper air pump. Today the repair kits are $6.00. This Aquaculture pump has had some bad reviews, surely any pump will fail if you don't have a bleed valve to let off exess pressure. Although I run 12 inches of air stone at 24" of depth I use no bleed valve. I clean stones in vinegar monthly, and replace when I can't blow through them by mouth. This is the most trouble free pump I have ever owned, Sorry Tetra you Whispers don't compare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Prosperity, South Carolina
How does it work?
Posted 01/05/2014
I see no part that I can hang it on the side of the aquarium and have to pump head go into a pipe that takes the pumped water under the gravel in the aquarium for clean-up. I cannot see an elongated part that would go into the pipe tightly and still keep bubbling up the water at the same time and creating waves. I do not know if this is going to work for me at all. The description is not covering all uses. Need answer quickly (out of pump)... please somebody help me!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

good pump

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Great starter pump for compost tea

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this pump to brew Boogie Brew compost tea in a 5 gallon bucket. Works a treat. I dont know about life span yet. I will only be using this pump about once a week for 24 hours at a time. One air stone in the brew bag and one in the bottom of the bucket. Works much better then another pump I got from a big chain pet store for the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

great if used right

07/18/2010
By ,
pomona ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
READ THIS WILL HELP at first i thought it was horrible i only had a air stone connected to each port and it was loud, big mistake that i believe is being made by all the people that are complaining because i noticed when i disconnected it was silent so i went and bought a air stone strip and connected it on one line and connected the 2 balls in the other and it was silent and worked great better than before i believe the people that are complaining did that mistake and blame it on the product ;) HOPE IT HELPS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

it is quite loud would not buy

01/29/2014
By ,
texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was at wall mart lookin for some random things and i found this, i thought it would be worth a try. i got home i was kinda excited to put this in my 20 gallon tank and if i liked it i would move it to my 55 gallon. i pluged it in for not even 5 seconds i unpluged it shoved it right back in the box. It is louder than any air pump i have ever seen, way les preasure than i expected fo a air ump rated for a 60 gallon tank.
if noise doesnt bother you than i guess its okay but fo a bed room tank i wouldnt run it for than a muinet of being in the room!!
VERRY LOUD!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

did not last

06/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This pump was loud at first, after just a couple of weeks it quieted down but lost its power. I opened it up to see if there was anything I could do to save it and found cracks in a plastic part that has to take on the movement required to compress the diaphragm. I am not an engineer, but DUH!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Works good for my fish tank

04/22/2014
By ,
South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For everyone complaining about the noise of the
pump, put it on a sponge and Styrofoam like I have
it in the photo it brings the noise down to very little
or no noise.
Hope this helps you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Steer clear of this inferior quality pump

11/06/2008
By ,
OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had several aquarium pumps throughout the years, most lasting many years in continuous service, and I've never had them break as quickly as this brand's. I bought my first bad pump in the late spring 08, and within a couple months one of the two air nipples broke off. I quickly returned it in exchange for another. Within 5 months this one failed the same way. I carefully inspected the pump to find the plastic block the nipple was attached to was cracked with several stress fractures. I'm thinking it's probably due to the continuous heat and vibration. Adequate design but inferior materials.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Junk

07/18/2009
By ,
Dallas/FtWorth, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The pump has not lasted me more then 2 weeks at a time. Wal-Mart has replace the pump without any trouble each time. The replacement pump number 3 just went out and I am on my way back to Wal-Mart to get a refund, but this time I will not get this model or brand!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

JUNK

10/03/2009
By ,
INDIANA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NO GOOD DO NOT DO IT ABSOLUTE JUNK WE WENT THROUGH THREE IN A MONTH
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

1/6 cost and far better than fancy one

07/15/2010
By ,
Baton Rouge
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For $11 bucks, I took a chance as my Rena Air 400 was broken. The little pump did better than the new Rena Air in the same tank set up, made less noise, and was about the same price as a new Rena part and shipping + handling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Not worth it

04/03/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My smaller pump wouldnt push air for the stones so i bought this one like 4 months ago.. it quit working so I took it apart to find that the rubber has already cracked out on both sides of the pump.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Aqua pump

11/11/2008
By ,
Janesville Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like the other person noted with this pump I have also had two of these and they do not last long only got 1 year out of both of them. Would not recommend buying this brand
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Works great

02/07/2009
By ,
Kansas city,KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using it for my 55 gallon fish tank i have to different water stones connected to it. They are both 18 inch and that lil pump is pushing them great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aqua Culture: 20-60 Gallon, Double Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

great at any price

06/13/2009
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given a couple of these used and was so pleased I got a couple of more new ones. No problems with diaphragms and they produce a great deal of air.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next