Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqua Culture Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Aqua Culture Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

The Aqua Culture Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump is a smart choice for anyone who wants a reliable aquarium pump for their fish tank. This powerful Aqua Culture Aquarium Air Pump is designed for 5-15 gallon aquariums and can accommodate up to three air-powered devices, including bubble stones, action ornaments and under-gravel filters. The Aqua Air Pump includes one check valve and pumps up to 1200cc per minute.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation63%24 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Don't waste your money!

07/13/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this pump for about 2 months and it already has died. It is loud and just not worth the money. Don't waste your money!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Cheaply made product.

12/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this just under 1 month and the plastic attachment that the air hose goes on has already broken off after normal handling and gently trying to remove the air hose. It pulled the plastic piece right off with no force. (No wiggling or anything, just a straight tug and it broke right off) It was actually stuck in the end of the air hose. Just for comparison, I also have another air pump on a separate tank that I do the same with, and I have had that same pump since the late 1990's and it still works just as well and has never broke. (It's an AQT3001).
Other things about this filter is it's very loud and will also move across flat surfaces if you don't secure it, so I had to eventually put a cloth under it because of the noise and movement. For the loud rattle/vibration it has, it doesn't have that much power. Once again, the old, out of date air pump I have is stronger, but quieter and doesn't move, so that's saying a lot about a product that is less than a month old.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

nice pump

06/19/2009
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pump works well for me, I've been using the same one for about three years with no problems. Good for about 5" of airstone, if your using a larger airstone, buy a larger pump. It circulates the water in my 10 gallon nicely, no complaints here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Great Price

03/03/2010
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it to use with two turtles and it does make a little bit of noise, but it works great, i have had no issues with it and it is a great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Economy to the max

06/08/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Standard Aquarium tubing" is 3/16" which this pump takes and you need some.
The pump air output in GPH (gallons per hour) is 18 GPH
It is very noisy, but then again if noise isn't a problem and you want a disposible pump, you won't go wrong for only $6. Who knows, it might work a few years. The problem area is on the plastic connector area. They get brittle and break all by themselves, so it's really the luck of the draw depending if your pump happens to be especially strong or weak around that area. The vibrations of the pump can lead to the breakage all by themselves, so don't feel bad if you get more than a year, and don'rt forget Walmart has a 90 day return policy if it breaks that soon and you want to wait in customer service for a refund or exchange for a do-over...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Nice little pump!

01/10/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at my local WalMart & I think I'm going back for another one! It works great, puts out quite a bit of air & isn't too noisy at all. I use it to power a small corner/box filter with some DeNitrate in it to help remove nitrates from my goldfish tank & it's doing it's job well. Lots of bubbles!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Don't be Cheap

05/28/2009
By ,
Shamong, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my 10 gallon tank in my office and it lasted about 5 months. The diaphragm has a tear in it. Looks like the screw that holds it on heated up and melted it. Spend the money and go with a better brand. Also can't find replacement parts or I would fix it myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Gets the job done, but not the best.

02/07/2009
By ,
Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can't beat the price on this one, but it would be better to buy a tetra one. This one is pretty loud, and not very powerful, but it gets the job done. I would say it should be a 5 gallon max for this one, since it is in my 5 gallon and isn't very powerful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Great Product at a Low Price

08/18/2009
By ,
Brainerd, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pump to use with my 10-gallon aquarium. It is powerful enough to run my 10 inch airstone, and absolutely quiet. I'm so happy with it that I bought another one for my 5-gallon tank as well. The second one is just as quiet. I have never had any problems with either, and I've had the first one for well over a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Can't beat it for 6 bucks

03/26/2013
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this thing running for 3 years non-stop and it shows no signs of wearing down. Its quiet if you mount it correctly and puts out real nice airflow. $6 can't buy you much, nevermind something that lasts years without worry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Value that lasted

07/19/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased product 3 years ago for my 10 gallon tank and the motor just burnt out. Not bad consiering price although it can be loud at times (just relocate it) but I'm on my way to buy another one!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Aquarium Air Pump

07/29/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. freaked out the fishes for a few hours. They had gotten use to the bad pump. So much fresh air.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Good air pump

07/27/2014
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works petty good for up to 10 gallons I myself would get bigger for a 15. Otherwise its worth the money..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Trust Me Dont Do It...

10/03/2009
By ,
INDIANA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought three of these pumps in one month and they all broke. There is a black sort of gasket on the inside thst pushes the air into the tank, it has ripped everytime...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Works Really Well

01/07/2014
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this air pump to use with my five gallon hospital aquarium. I use it to operate the air stone and it does the job very well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Lousy Air Pump

06/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought two of these pumps in the last two months both times after about a month of service, the plastic tube that comes out of the pump to deliver air has broke off twice for no reason at all. So I have paid nearly 14 dollars for two air pumps that still work, but don't pass air out anymore, due to the fact that the tube has broke. So I have brought a tetra pump to replace it and that cost me almost 14 dollars for the one pump.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Great Pump for a Great Price

04/09/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these for a ten gallon fry tank and I am very satisfied with it. It was half of the price of the one I bought at a pet chain store and unlike that one, it is almost completely silent. You have to stick your head next to it to hear the faint hum it makes. I keep it on carpet, but the rubber feet make it silent on solid surfaces as well. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a pump.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Tough

08/11/2010
By ,
Marquette, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This air pump is a tough little pump with plenty of power. I've been using this pump in my 10 gallon and 29 gallon aquariums for about 9 months and haven't encountered a single problem thus far.
It is a little noisy, but if you wrap it in foam or an old sock with a rubber band, you can hardly hear it working.
Excellent; cheap; you get more than you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Posted 01/10/2012
Just FYI but I would not recommend wrapping an air pump. They usually generate a lot of heat & containing it will cause the pump to fail faster.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Sound is little annoying

06/12/2013
By ,
Englewood
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this air pump with the expectations that it would be silent while running but its vibration is little annoying specially when there is no other sound in your surroundings. If you are looking for a quiet pump then look somewhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aqua Culture: 5-15 Gallon, Single Outlet Aquarium Air Pump, 1 Ct

Not too great

11/15/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Description on box states that it "is rubber insulated for quiet performance", not really too quiet. You can hear it vibrating against the wall, if hung, and/or on a shelf. The provided check valve did not work, no airflow through either end. Spend the money and buy a better product. You get what you pay for!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next