Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sam's Choice Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sam's Choice Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation45%5 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Delicious, Not Salty, Excellent Value

11/18/2011
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had this ham over the weekend with turkey, dressing, greens, etc. I have had so many compliments on this ham. I used the barely remaining pieces in beans this week. Can't say enough good things about the ham. Good value for the price. Thank you Wal*Mart for having this conveniently available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Review 2 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Delicious and Moist!

12/27/2012
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will admit, I was a bit worried about how this ham would taste after I purchased it at my local Walmart. It was intended for Christmas Day dinner and I was having guests, so of course, I wanted everything to be the best, and since this ham isn't a "big name" brand, I wondered if maybe I should have spent the extra money to get another brand instead. Last Christmas, I purchased a Smithfield spiral sliced ham, paid twice what I paid for this SC ham, and it dried out a bit when I tried to reheat it (even though I did not keep it in the oven for as long as was directed and had the oven only on 325 degrees). This SC ham? I lined a roaster in foil, poured the juice from the package into the pan and put the ham cut side down on top. Then I covered the ham in foil tightly and put it into a 325 oven for 25 minutes. THEN I turned the oven up to 350 for 15 more minutes. When I took that ham out and opened the foil, I was shocked at how MOIST it was! I did not use the enclosed glaze packet and this ham does not need it, it has a wonderful sweetness to it already and it was a HIT! A 10-lb ham and we were left with only enough to make ham sandwiches the next day (which is actually wonderful, ha ha). I would highly recommend this ham and while they're on sale, I'm going to grab another and pop it into the freezer for Easter dinner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Review 3 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Best Ham I've ever made!

12/17/2013
By ,
Canvas, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I host a Christmas dinner with close friends and family each year and I prepare all of the food myself. I started purchasing the Sam's Choice Brown Sugar Glazed Hams two years ago, and it was a huge hit. Everyone loved it! The directions on the package where very simple to follow both for the ham and for the separate glaze. I've never had an issue with the ham becoming too dry even after reheating leftovers in the microwave. It's a great value and I wouldn't waste my time on any other brand. A big thanks to Walmart for providing this product at a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 4 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Lean, flavorful, firm, moist, deliscious ham!

04/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted with this ham for Easter dinner with my wife's family, and so were they. Got a 13 pounder for about $25 and it was great. Very little fat, firm, moist, flavorful and good directions. Directions are on the back of the label and more on the attached pouch of extra glaze. I earned my way through college cooking at Stouffer's Top of the Hub restaurant in Boston so I know something about meat and cooking. This ham was good right down to the bone which I'm using this morning for homemade ham bone soup. I would buy it again and recommend it highly. It is a good value just as it is, but especially so when compared to the fancier brand names in the supermarkets or the Honey Baked Ham stores. Why pay more when you can get great tasting quality ham for less than half the price? Try it, you'll like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 5 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Do not buy!!!

04/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this ham for a brunch I was having and I was so embarrassed I kept apologizing to my guests for the fatty terrible ham.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 6 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Slimy - Yuck!!

11/29/2013
By ,
Spotsylvania, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this before taking to the in-laws for Thanksgiving. Most of them were positive, so I figured I had a good chance at success. Wish I had bought a different brand. While this was very moist & flavor was ok, it was extremely slimy! The spiral cut was not all the way through & stopped about 4 inches from the end, so about 2/3 was cut. I followed the directions both on the package & with reviewers tips. VERY DISAPPOINTING!! I will NEVER buy this brand again. It would have been worth the extra money to get a more well known name.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Review 7 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Terrible Directions

10/24/2010
By ,
Tampa, Fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok I know how to read directions and on the glaze package that comes with the ham it says to glaze ham to remove from oven...Evenly apply glaze over the ham. Then under it has directions for stove top and microwave glaze. Again as an educated cook, I read thi to mean if you want the glaze on the ham just open and cover the ham, I thought the powdery glaze would mealt with the heat from the oven and if you did not want the glaze on the ham but on the side you used he stove top or microwave directions. Wow was I wrong and now I had a terrible powder covered ham. I am so disapointed in the directions. Maybe they should write to prepare the glaze first!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Taste
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 8 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Full of fat and Gristle

02/16/2014
By ,
Vandergrift PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worse spiral ham I have ever had. Had guests over very embarrassing to serve. Do not buy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 9 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Good Ham but no directions

04/24/2011
By ,
West Salem, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a good thing that this was not my first ham. Even though the label says to lift for directions, there were none. They should really include them for first time ham cookers. Other than that, it was good.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hampton, VA
Great Ham.
Posted 04/06/2012
As the package indicated IT'S FULLY COOKED. Any cook book will give you cooking directions based on weight and whether it's a fully cooked ham, fresh ham etc. All you are basically doing is heating this ham thoroughly. Use a meat probe and heat it in the inside to at least 180 degrees. Google how to heat a fully cooked ham! I noticed some people used the word "cooked" If you set out to "cook" this ham it will dry out like jerky. Most 9 lb hams will take and 1 to 1/4 hours at 350 degrees to warm. You want to use an OVEN not a crock pot or grill.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Horrible cooking instructions

04/24/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The label instructs you to pull the top left corner to reveal the cooking instructions.....mine was stuck tight on the foiled part so it was impossible to peel the part with the instructions on it. Why would you post the picture of the label on your site and then blow up the label WITHOUT printing the cooking instructions.........hope it tastes good -- tried to make an educated guess of how to prepare it.....as there were no instructions for the half ham size on your website
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charles Town, Wv
Sam's Choice Spiral Sliced Hardwood Smoked Ham
Posted 12/28/2011
This is without a doubt the best spiral ham I have ever tasted - I am very sad that it is not carried all the time by my local Wal Mart - I did not use the enclosed glaze packet and frankly the ham did not need it - I followed the heating directions and the ham came out perfectly - I will buy this ham again and again and again - nothing but raves from my family
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sam's Choice Smoked Double Glazed Brown Sugar Spiral Sliced Ham, 1ct

Terrible ham

03/31/2013
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst ham I have ever had. Most of the ham was fat I would never buy this brand ham again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points