Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Great Value Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Indulge in the delicious goodness of cheese, minus the guilt, with Great Value Easy Melt Cheese. This Great Value cheese, in a 32 oz pack, has 1/3 less fat than cheddar cheese. Plus, it's naturally gluten-free and rich in calcium. When you purchase this gluten-free cheese, it comes with a guarantee that you'll be fully satisfied with its taste and quality. For great quality guaranteed, choose Great Value Easy Melt Cheese.
Average Customer Rating:
4.361 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation83%30 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

better then velvetta

12/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Im not a huge fan of vevetta cheese but i really like block cheese like that becuase it mets nicer than pre packaged slices do. I either get this or smooth and cheesy from hyvee, either one has a good wholesome cheese taste and it melts easily in dishes. my mom personally likes to melt it by itself and add some salsa to make her own cheese dip but me i could just cut a slice off and eat it plain, its that good. The price is reasonal because its not quite as much as velvetta but is basically the same thing, i just prefer this taste better, it seems more cheesy. Its good on spaghetti, and tator tot hotdish, its great for making homemade cheesy noodles and really good in chilli. So many options. if you can't get our kids to eat their brocolli or califlower, try melting a few slices of this in there and then giving it to them. They get all the same nutrients just have a better flacor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Delicious

05/06/2014
By ,
Suburban D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cheese is a nice surprise. It is every bit as good as Velveeta, and a lot easier on the pocketbook. Here in Va. depending on the store, Velveeta costs anywhere from six to eight ninety eight. Which is insane. This cheese is a wonderful alternative. It tastes and acts like the name brand, and is much more affordable. We love it for grilled ham and cheese sandwiches, melted on a hamburger, melted on vegetables. We especially love it melted with potatoes. You can also melt it with a can of Rotel's spicy peppers and tomatoes, or salsa, for a wonderful dip with nacho chips. My husband and kids inhale that stuff. Whenever I go to the store, I buy a box of this. I always have one in the pantry and one in the fridge, because I don't ever want to be without it. You can also melt this with milk and butter to make your own CheezWhiz. The possibilities are endless and so are the bargains. Do yourself a favor, buy this, and save some money. You will love this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Not consistent!

11/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this mainly for making cheese dips - I have always loved adding chili or salsa to Velveeta! Bought this for the first time recently and probably won't buy it again. Actually used some in a casserole recipe first, and it was fine... would never have guessed it wasn't Velveeta! But then I used it to make salsa/cheese dip and was SO disappointed! I microwaved it for about 30 seconds, stirred it, then did another 30 seconds or so. Was almost but not quite completely melted, but seemed fine. So I popped it in for another 10 seconds, and I don't know what happened but it separated or something, and came out looking curdled and lumpy! It tasted fine, but the texture was awful. Thought maybe I had just overcooked it, so gave it another try again today, heating it for a shorter amount of time, and got the same result. I won't use it again for dips but seems to be fine for cooking. Will try in grilled cheese also, and just hope it doesn't break down again! Will probably not buy it again, which is sad because the price is great.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Good on the palate and great for the food budget!

08/22/2011
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this cheese to add cheesyness to boxed mac and cheese, and when I make mac and cheese from scratch. It melts wonderfully for grilled cheese sandwiches, too. I'll melt it over brocolli, cauliflower, and baked potatoes, too. It's also great melted over a hot dog in a bun or slice of ham in a sandwich. There's no need to buy Velveeta when this product is just as good -- if not better -- and saves you money, too. I have to agree with topdogsq that the packaging could be more eye catching, but hey! It goes along with the WalMart way of providing great value without the frills for the consumer to pay for, too. If we wanted to waste money on frills, we'd go to Byerlys, Lunds, and Macys!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Surprisingly good, even if not melted

08/30/2014
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tastes just like American pasteurized cheese, and melts well with no separation. Take the brick, put it in the freezer for about 30 minutes, then slice it all up, putting individual slices into foldtop bags, keep in the freezer, remove as needed. Else, it's too soft at room temperature, to easily work with. It won't freeze fully, but the slices won't mold, either. I'm not sure you could shred it straight from the freezer, but it should break up decently, for 'scattering' prior to melting in the microwave (1 minute, perhaps 2 if frozen).
Cheese can be refrozen without appreciable loss of taste, especially if you normally use it melted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Compare to Velveeta

09/22/2014
By ,
Chappell Hill, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have made cheese dip for over 40 years, using the Velveeta brand of cheese, some milk, and a can of Rotel diced tomatoes. Recently, I have had to pinch pennies, and to save gas money (15 miles to nearest store), I tried the Site to Home with free shipping over $50.00. Along with other groceries I purchased the Great Value Melt n' Dip, and the Great Value diced tomatoes. All of my ordered items were delivered by Fed Ex in two days, and everything was perfect. I made my cheese dip as usual, and I have to tell you, the texture, and consistency of the cheese was exactly the same as the Velveeta brand, and my family thoroughly enjoyed chips and dip while watching Sunday football.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Wow!

12/23/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not think it would be possible to beat Velveeta; the venerable ingredient that I have eaten for 50 years. But the folks at Walmart and Great Value have pulled it off. The packaging is terrible and would likely scare most people away from trying the product which is too bad because they should.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

EEEEWWWW!

11/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've used this 'cheese' before, and its been ok, but the box I bought last week... OMG!!! That was the nastiest stuff I have ever tasted! Wouldn't melt either. Had the consistency of toothpaste. Don't know if they changed the formula or I got a bad batch, but I will NEVER EVER use this again.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Better than Velveeta - but not as good as Pace

11/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's hard to argue with that price when the product really does taste better than Velveeta (something that is not difficult to do in my opinion). However: it's only a little better than Velveeta - still something that I would *not* recommend for dishes like macaroni and cheese, dishes in which real cheese tastes SO much better. It's fine for cheap-and-quick chip dips (try mixing with Pace hot picante sauce and microwaving - mmmm). I like the flavor of Pace Cheesy Melt (another brick-like cheese substitute) better than this item, so on the VERY rare occasions that I purchase such an item, I will look for Pace before looking for Great Value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Good cheese

05/28/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cheese is almost identical in taste to the more expensive Velveeta, at considerably less price.
Melts easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

delicious

11/25/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will never buy Velveeta again. This product is so much better tasting, and melts so nicely for mac and cheese. I just bought it today, but I'm afraid I'll need to replenish my stores soon, it is that good. BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

as good as others

01/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
near me this is about 25-33% cheaper than Velveta, and tastes the same... just a plain slightly cheddarly, processed taste... not great on its own, but great in dips, soups, grilled cheese, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

My tummy requires delicious Cauliflower & Cheese!

07/22/2012
By ,
Mt. Shasta, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I don't want chocolate! & I don't want toffee or cream? ...
MY tastebuds desire farm-fresh healthy Cauliflower & Cheese! And NOT just a little bit! (uh-uh?) Geez, and I don't want some tiny frozen block that get's zapped in the microwave?
Great Value Easy Melt Cheese does the trick! You simply cannot taste the difference, once it melts into cauliflower! (delicious! - every time!)
NOW, I can enjoy my UN-naughty Treat, *anytime! (munch-out!) for a fraction of the cost of American or Cheddar!
What's not to LOVE! Hey - it's a no brainer! (yummy!)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

great for cheese dip

09/09/2013
By ,
Dunn.NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you like velveeta this is the same only half the price, it great melting cheese to add to what ever you make
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Why pay more for a brand name?

10/18/2014
By ,
PONTOTOC, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Think about Velveeta. GV Easy Melt tastes and performs the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Great Cheese Product

10/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have ordered this several times and like this as well as name brand. I do prefer this regular fat better compared to the reduced fat. I have used for dips, etc. and all came out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Great Taste!

07/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally bought this cheese for grilled sandwiches, but it didn't last long enough: I kept cutting off slices/chunks to eat as quick snacks!!! Today I ordered it again; this time I'm going to make some of those sandwiches topped off with Hatch's diced tomatoes & green chilies, with roasted garlic; others will have a tad of wasabi added along with fresh spinach and maybe a slice of ham or some tuna. From here on I'll order Great Value cheese melt on a regular basis because it tastes terrific!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Love

09/20/2014
By ,
Irvine CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is very soft and unless you refrigerate it its very spreadable right out of the package.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Excellent sub for the name brand

08/31/2013
By ,
San Jose Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy this cheese and have worked into every recipe. It does seem a bit softer than the name brand, so setting out cheese cubes makes it a touch harder to work with ( thus 4 stars). However, flavor and use in recipes are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Great Value Easy Melt Cheese, 32 oz

Great for Mac & Cheese

09/12/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to always use the name brand that starts with the " V " until I tried this one. It works great for my mac and cheese as well as dips, on cheeseburgers, whaever you use that other one for, and at a lower price too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next