Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Flanders Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Flanders Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Average Customer Rating:
1.76 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation28%7 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Horrible! Horrible! Horrible

06/02/2010
By ,
Port Saint Lucie, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew there had to be something wrong when I saw the price. Less than $7 for 20 "beef" patties. I figured they were partly soy for that price, but I did not find it on the box when I first looked.
So, I got them and brought them home. I finally found the list of ingredients on the side of the box. And, YUP! there is soy in there. I cooked them anyway. Pan fried just so you know.
Now, I'll give a product at least two chances before deciding on them. Well, they failed utterly both times.
The flavor is hideous, beyond description. I tried burying them in cheese, coating them with BBQ sauce and lastly dousing them with Louisiana Hot Sauce... all to NO AVAIL! There is NO way to disguise the vile taste of these things!
We had them once for dinner and then I tried them again today for lunch. Yeeech!
Do NOT get these things. I understand that times are hard now, but if you really want some kind of meat dish, get SPAM or something less costly like that. These "burgers" are absolutely disgusting.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 2 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Good if you never ate a Hamburger!!

07/21/2009
By ,
Chula Vista, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So i bought a 5lb box of Flanders Beef Patties. I was like woo man 7 bucks wow what a deal. So im thinking man thats about 35 cents a patty.
So I got home fired up the grill. yup my new grill I bought at walmart $228 out the door including the propane. So Im grilling 4 flander patties on the grill. Smoke everywhere and I cant control the flames. Im flipping the patties over, looking at the texture of the meat and the smell. In my head im thinking wow something seems off. Just something about these patties doesnt seem right. The smell is off and the texture. Im thinking man I think my grill defective. Anyways my patties are ready to eat. I made a burger with mayo and ketchup, onions and cheese. Took a bite and something just doesnt seem right again. So I look at the box and its says SOY. It taste like beef mixed with cardboard.
I was pretty disappointed when I read all the reviews on this product. Tomorrow im going to return my box of flanders back at walmart. I hope i get a refund or store credit. I'm going stick with 100% beef patties.
Pay the extra 3 bucks for quality beef.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 3 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

WORST "BURGER" EVER!

12/03/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't stress enough how bad these were. Seriously the worst food experience in my life. I about threw up eating this. I purchased a 20pack, and ended up throwing out the other 18. I hate wasting food... but in this case, I'm not entirely sure it's food.
While eating it, the taste just...was "off". It made me seriously wonder if these were even really made of beef or not.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 4 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Not really BEEF!

03/15/2011
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These were horrible! I bought 4 packs for a picnic and my kids and family asked if they were turkey burgers because they were so light and didn't taste right. I told them they had BEEF PATTIES real big on the box. After reading ingredients I realized they were really soy burgers. Can't believe they can put BEEF on the box so big just because they have beef in them. I wrote the company and they said they were approved to put BEEF PATTIES on the box. They didn't reimburse me - only sent me some coupons (like I want any more of their products).To be safe, from now on, I'll ONLY BUY burgers when they say 100% BEEF. We used 2 boxes at our picnic but I don't think many people finished their burger. I ended up feeding the other 2 boxes to my dogs so I wouldn't waste them. At least the dogs didn't seem to mind them.
I would never buy these again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 5 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Mostly circus animals, some filler

04/29/2011
By ,
Omaha, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like many of the other reviewers here, I was enticed by the low price, $8 for a 5 pound box.
As soon as you open the box, it's obvious something's not right. The patties were an odd color, not pink like normal hamburger but a sickly grey. The color didn't change much on the grill either. It was hard to tell when they were done. If you turned them too soon they fell apart, but if you let them thaw and cook partway through, they mostly held together. They did put out a lot of fat so the grill flamed up really bad. Some of the patties started to burn, but it didn't look like any overcooked hamburger I've ever seen before, it was more like burned toast.
The first batch I only used salt, and they were absolutely horrible. I used some good cheese and nice buns for my burgers and they were ruined by the terrible meat. The second batch I used a ton of "hamburger grilling spice" and served it broken up over noodles and cheese; the flavor was mostly tolerable.
This stuff might be acceptable for a school cafeteria or an Arizona prison, but it's got no place on a backyard grill.
The ingredients list on the package: beef, water, beef hearts, textured soy flour, salt, spices, dextrose, onion, spice extratives.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 6 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Yuck!

06/07/2010
By ,
Allentown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Okay. My friend had bought these for Mem Day. She never got to use them, so she brought them over to my house, so we could grill them. I put them on the grill. Then came time to flip them. They crumbled in my tool, and it was a texture similar to cat litter. I turned the grill off then, bc the crumbled "meat" was starting a fire.
I decided, maybe I could pan fry them. The next day, my hubby went to do just that. He said they were terrible. They tasted so gross. That cardboard would have tasted better. I would not recommend these, not even to dogs.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 7 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Disgusting

05/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Big bold letters on the front proclaiming "Beef Patties" - as soon as I tasted it I was wondering what was really in them. Absolutely disgusting, not even close to what a beef patty should be.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 8 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Worse then Dog Food

10/02/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These so called Beef hamburgers tasted so bad that my dog wouldn't even eat one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 9 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb
06/18/2012
By ,
Orlando, fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok so these aren't steak house burgers, but come on people, it's 5lbs for $8! What do you expect?! I will say they had a different taste to them, but it wasn't horrible. I pan fried them, topped it with fresh lettuce, cooked onions, cheese, mayo and a potato roll. My daughter and husband ate them. I would say with the right seasoning and toppings it's not half bad. Make sure you cook it til it's crispy though!
All in all, if your tight on funds, and you're not expecting steak house or "dads BBQ" burgers it's worth a try. And for those that complain about the soy and beef hearts, start reading your packages better! There are beef by-products in lunch meat, hot dogs, etc. At they tell you beef hearts on Flanders box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 10 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Wouldn't Feed These to My Dog!

06/03/2011
By ,
Fenton, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My dad picked up a box of these and I attempted to cook a few on the grill last weekend. The package says "BEEF Patties!" Now, for the price I wasn't expecting ground sirloin, but these did not look or smell like beef! They didn't look right when I took them out of the box; more of a gray color than pink. As I was grilling them, they smelled terrible! Imagine cooking Spam on a grill! They melted away to nothing due to the high fat content. I seasoned them with some salt and pepper and reluctantly took a bite out of one. Disgusting! It didn't even taste like a hamburger! How in the world do these even meet USDA standards? Especially here in Michigan!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

I found the perfect recipe

06/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading several negative, and no positive, reviews for these hamburger patties, I still had to try. And I think I have found the best, tastiest, way to cook them. At first, I tried pan frying, broiling, and grilling. nothing worked, they were rejected every time. However, I found, that pre warming my George Foreman grill to 350 degrees for 5 minutes, then cooking the patties for 6 minutes, resulted in a pattie that is no longer rejected by my dogs. They gobble them up! So, if you want a cheap pattie to "treat" your dogs, get you a George Foreman grill. I in no way endorse these patties for human consumption.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Taste Pretty Good When Cooked Fully

08/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Now I am not going to say they are better than a 80/20 handmade beef burger. I will say they beat a McD patty in taste...which is not really giving them a large complement but really they do taste pretty good.
I have noted that some people say they are yellow when they are cooked...well they are yellow when they are about half way done...you have to cook these fully or they will not have a decent taste. Checking them by assuming they are done when the juice runs clear is not valid...the last few minutes of cooking will shrink the burger quite a bit, that is when you know its really done. Then bump them with the spatula, they will bounce the spatula slightly when they are done as will any well done burger. When they are done they will not be yellow, and they will have a good texture.
Also I noted that some said it fell apart. Any frozen patty as it thaws on the grill will tend to crumble if you don't let it thaw completely and then cook a while before you flip it.
The only reason they did not get 5 stars from me is that they tend to have a lot of fat (hence the shrinking) so they flame up extremely bad...so you have to keep a large glass of water by the grill to kill off the flames when they get out of hand. Now a little flaming does give it a little extra flavor, but it can get out of hand. I took off one star for the extra work required to keep the frames in check.
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Review 13 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

OMG!!! GROSS

05/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These things are TERRIBLE!!! The earlier review that explains the colors and texture is dead on. When I was grilling, one of my neighbors poked his head over the fence and asked if I accidentally grilled a cheese wrapper or something. He said he smelt burnt plastic. When trying to eat these things, I remembered the soy burgers they used to give to us in elementary school and how good they were compared to these. We threw the whole box out!!! I wouldn't feed these to my worst enemy!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 14 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Its a matter of taste preference

05/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flanders beef patties aren't your typical 80/20 burgers, but are in a class of their own. I find the flavor really good. Different, but good. I take a big ole' box of these when me and my friends have a bonfire. Grill them up and then put a slice of cheese on a corn tortilla and put the burger on it. Grill it a bit more to crispen the tortilla. I always get great feedback about them. Great product but don't expect your typical hamburger
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Review 15 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Different opinion

04/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been eating Flanders patties for as long as I can remember...I really think that some of the other comments that were posted were rather harsh. I will admit, they are only good when being grilled. Basically it's a matter of preference. But if you're grilling and having a great time it's a Q time hamburger!!! Trust me I love em
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-7points
Review 16 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Light color - not what you want

12/31/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These patties have a bad taste to them and they smell like dog food. Funny thing is that the dogs wouldn't eat them either. They're really light in color and not what you really want from a hamburger. They cannot be flipped over without breaking unless you use a spatula and tongs together, even on a griddle with deep sides.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Blech, Blech, Blech - Did I remember to say blech?

03/26/2011
By ,
Placerville, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If one could give these "beef" patties negative stars I would. They are absolutely horrible. The texture is wrong and the flavor is wrong, nasty! I found myself wishing I had a dog to feed them to. Then I read all the other reviews stating even the dogs wouldn't eat them. Don't buy these. You will regret it greatly. BLECH!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 18 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Bad but decent in Chili

06/30/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had the same experience as other people that have purchased these "burgers". So, rather than throw them away, I tried them in my chili recipe. They were pretty good. The "meat" absorbes the chili spices and it didn't taste half bad. I recommend this product but for chili only.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Taste
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 19 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

VERY BAD

05/16/2009
By ,
Hadley, Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These have a horrible texture of mushy paste, there is no flavor, which is probably a good thing. My husband and I both tried them, we ended up throwing out the entire box. Get the Great Value frozen burgers. They are by far the best frozen burgers on the market.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for Flanders: Beef Patties Family Pack Quarter Pounders, 5 Lb

Horrible

03/24/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These are the worst tasting burgers I've ever had. They are solid white patties when you open the package and they are yellowish after they've been cooked. The consistency and taste of them reminded me of Salmon patties, absolutely horrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next