Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revlon Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Revlon Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%22 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Best product!

07/03/2014
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't write reviews, but when something works amazingly well, it's worth mentioning as I'm one to look at reviews to help with purchases also
This product is beyond exceeded my expectations.
For the price, I get a salon looking color. I have dark dishwater blonde hair & this product gives me vibrate blond highlights
I have been both to a professional & will use this is $ is tight. I've used this product 3 times & perfect results each time
I hate the hat, so I actually highlight my hair using foils (tin foil) & because I've seen the beauticians do it, I part my hair into sections & zigzag the strands & do it that way. It's time consuming, but you get even highlights without that aweful hat. Even if you knew a friend who could do it.
I also start from the back & leave it on for 60 min. A blow dryer will also help activate each section evenly. Just blow around your head aiming for the tin foil wraps.
THE AWESOME HIGHLIGHTING KIT OUT THERE (& at 31, I've tried a variety of boxes products!)
Posted before & after pics..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

USING THIS PRODUCT FOR YEARS

12/11/2013
By ,
Springfield VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent hair product but the results are not guaranteed because each time you use it, the lightness in hi-lights varys. This is because of the timing factor. Sometimes I have used it for 25 minutes and barely see the hi-lights and other times you will find that some parts of your hair appear much lighter. In any event, practice makes perfect. Hair salons have resulted in my hi-lights being way too blond for me and by using this hair product, I can control the level of brightness. Also, depending on whether or not your hair is a much darker color, your hi-lights will vary. But, in most cases, read the instructions carefully to determine just how light you prefer your hi-lights to be, and you should be very happy with the end results. There is no other product out there, for this price, that will give you these types of professional grade hi-lights. I have found the hair products that allow you to simply brush on your hi-lights, end up with brassy looking hi-lights and not blondish.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

I was amazed!

04/05/2014
By ,
Clovis, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Growing up I had natural dirty blonde hair, but as I got older it turned darker and darker. So for the past 6 years or so, I have always gotten my hair highlighted at a salon. Recently I decided I wanted a change so I asked my stylist for a natural ombre style. Well what I ended up with is very dark brown hair on top and my blonde hair at the ends. It was pretty bad. I went home and realized what I wanted was balayage ombre. After doing some research (youtube) I decided to buy this kit. I did not use the cap but instead applied with my hands making sure I blended between my darker roots and blonde ends. It turned out soo good! Nobody believes it came from a box! I was planning on buy a toning shampoo, but not needed because there is no brassiness probably because I left in on for about 40 min.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Great highlighting kit for beginners!

06/20/2013
By ,
San jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this highlighting kit two weeks ago, i had previous highlights in my hair that were starting to look horrid and began growing out. I picked it up on a whim, and im so glad i did! It is true that pulling hair through the cap will take HOURS. It took me 4 hours all together to finish. I thought that it was easy at first but the back took me an hr and a half alone. I had my brother help me and point out sections I missed. After that i just mixed the powder and liquid together and applied it generously on my head, making sure i put more on my ends since they were darker. I kept it on for a little over an hour since my hair is dark and has red tones in it. I got in the shower and washed the product out then slid the cap off. When it dried i couldnt help but stare at my hair. It came out REALLY good. This is definitely something to use for beginners. I did thinner highlights using the side labeled "A" on the little tool in the package. The only downfall was how long it took, and that some parts did come out a little more blonde than others but it may be because my hair was already highlighted.
I would definitely buy this again!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Very time consuming, but better than the salon!

06/27/2012
By ,
Columbia, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is well worth the price, but it is VERY time consuming to pull hair through the cap. I would definitely recommend having a friend nearby to help you pull strands through the back. Took me about two hours to get all hair pulled through (not including dye process). I left color on for about 35 minutes because my hair "pulls" color easily. Some pieces pulled a very nice, light blonde, while others pulled a more brassy tone. This may have been my fault though, I have very long hair and almost ran out of dye so it is possible that some strands were more thoroughly soaked than others. Overall, I would definitely recommend this product as long as you have someone to help- its well worth the saved money from skipping the salon, and other than the few pieces that turned out brassy, it turned out just as well!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

easy, inexpensive highlights

10/30/2011
By ,
Midland, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kit is amazing. It was so easy and looks great, looks professionally done. I agree that you need a little help with the back, I did it myseld and it took a long while with no help to get hair pulled through all the holes. There was no leak through on the cap at all, the bleach mixture was very thick and easy to spread (I did with fingers instead of the spatula so I wouldn't push the bleach through the holes in the cap and onto my scalp). I actually used this on color treated hair, my hair is a darker brown and I use a high lift brown to make my hair a light brown shade, and these highlights look amazing. I used the full hour development time to eliminate any brassy tones. It also helps to really blend in and hide any grays.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
usa
high lift brown?
Posted 05/12/2014
I also have very dark brown hair. What is a high lift brown? Never heard of it or what it means, :) ...... Also, should I use a toner also, another thing I have never used. Any help will b appreciated..... ty.
0points
Customer Avatar
Great Review!!
Posted 12/14/2013
Thank you so much, for your detailed review! So Very helpful!!!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Big bang for a few bucks

01/28/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading dozens of reviews I decided on this kit to help blend the grey into my very dark brown hair. I suppose you could do this by yourself, but I would suggest another set of hands. I punched the holes in the cap ahead of time. It was easy to pull the hair through the cap and easy to apply the mixture. Here's a trick for getting the cap off without a tangled mess. Rinse your hair in the shower and before taking the cap off work a dollop of conditioner through your hair. Rinse again and the cap will slip right off, no problems. The grey in my hair REALLY picked up the blonde. the rest of the highlights were a lovely golden caramel color. I had my hair cut the next day and the girl commented on how pretty they were. So, overall a wonderful experience and I've already picked up another one so that I can do the holes I didn't do this time.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

awesoooome!

06/27/2011
By ,
Panama City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most of my life I've had darker hair. I had been bored with it for awhile so I decided that I needed a change. I called around salons and the prices for some little highlights they gave me was so unbelievable, so i decided to take a chance and do it on my own. I was SO nervous but it look absolutely great. I love it. I've gotten many many compliments, and everyone says it looks professionally done. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone wanting highlights, just get a buddy to help you get that hair on the back of your head pulled through that cap. ;)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ky
works great!!
Posted 07/24/2011
I have dark brown hair that is almost black and have tried kits that never worked. This worked out great and I would reccomend this to everyone.
The only problem was when I tried to get the cap off after rinsing my hair, my hair got tangled and it was hard removing it on my own. Best to get a friend and have fun.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Does great lightening darker hair

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didnt realize what a great dye this was until i tried to ombre my hair with a different dye. This highlighting kit worked excellent for ombreing my hair. Its easy to use and really does a good job lightening darker hair (I have medium brown). The blonde looked natural and it was easy to do.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Longtime User

06/27/2014
By ,
Lowell,MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product for years and years. I used the cap ONCE! I have very dark brown, thick long and wavy hair. The reviews are not kidding when they say that pulling hair through the cap TAKES HOURS!! I apply directly to hair and scalp with no problems. I DO ADVISE DOING AN ALLERGY TEST FIRST THOUGH!!! I love the results this product gives.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Love It

04/07/2012
By ,
Warfield, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been steaking my hair for the last 12 years. My mom does my hair and this is the kit that she always uses. My natural color is dark brown and when I leave it on for 60 min it comes out bleach blonde. After it's streaked we always use whatever blonde hair dye I buy, so I get the shade that I want. While I was in college I had my hair streaked a few times at a salon but it didn't look as good as what it does when my mom does it. Not to mention the price is a lot cheaper. I would recommend this product to anyone that wanted streaked hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tx
about hair
Posted 04/04/2013
I was wondering if you colored your hair again after streaking it?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit
11/15/2012
By ,
Reading, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have brown hair with different shades and wanted some highlights and when I tried this my hair turned out AMAZING! It turned out great on me and i would prefer this over going to a salon, It's great quality and way cheaper!! Will definitely do it again!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Looks natural

01/23/2014
By ,
Nyack, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it, even used it on my already blonde hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Disaster

04/18/2014
By ,
Caribou, Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately I cannot give this product a good review as my situation was a what you call "hair horror". I have brown color treated hair, and used this product, left it on my hair for about 35 minutes. My hair came out totally orange. I tied my hair in a bun, went to a store and just picked up a box of non-permanent hair color; hopefully I will be able to correct it a little. Definitely will not go there again, not with this one. Bad, bad experience. The problem is that I don't know what went wrong, as I called Revlon and they did not tell me anything that I did not know, and don't offer any quick fix. Big help from Revlon!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

Really easy & WORTH it!

04/10/2013
By ,
santa Cruz
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am completely unskilled at doing my own hair but local prices are over $130 for highlights.
I was really nervous but the instructions were easy and the cap made it simple. I only took very small segments through the holes and my hair looks really natural & GREAT!!!!!
Everyone thinks I went to the salon, I can't believe I did this myself... Hubby is happy, saved a lot of time & money....
My advice is to take your time with the cap, use small pieces, and don't leave the dye on for too long, maybe 7-10 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit
08/09/2013
By ,
Quad Cities, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works great! May need a friend to pull the hair through the cap for you but the color was not brassy. A real pretty blonde on light brown hair. I will use again. And the price is great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit
07/18/2013
By ,
80014
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this product for the first time. I'm very pleased with the golden highlights.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

great results

11/17/2012
By ,
Okemos, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: for less than seven dollars, this kit gives me great highlights. Saves $60 and up compared to beauty salon highlights.
The holes in the cap are darkly outlined, so it's easy to see them when pulling the hair through.
I've used this product for ten years. Walmart always has the lowest price for this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit
09/04/2013
By ,
Brier Creek
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite brand to high light my hair. Still use it today.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Revlon Frost & Glow Honey Highlighting Kit

very good

11/25/2013
By ,
Camden, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next