Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Equate Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Equate Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Get your daily dose of fiber the easy way with the Equate Fiber Original Texture Fiber Powder. Diets low in saturated fat and cholesterol that include seven grams of soluble fiber per day from psyllium husk may reduce the risk of heart disease. One teaspoon dose of this laxative powder has at 3.4 grams of this soluble fiber. When you have more fiber in your diet, it helps you get on a regular bowel movement schedule so you feel less bloated and you avoid constipation. Made with 100% natural psyllium fiber, each teaspoon serving helps reduce your risk of heart disease by lowering your cholesterol. Plus, when you improve regularity, you may notice that you have more energy and your skin, nails and hair look healthier. Take a teaspoon of the Equate Fiber Original Texture Fiber Powder once in the morning, so you can enjoy the benefits of daily digestive health.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation79%30 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder
07/11/2013
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Equate psyllium product comes in diverse forms, flavors, with or w/o additives, so read the back label carefully before purchasing. I no longer see the one I bought on the website, but it is labeled as the UNFLAVORED, 100% NATURAL PSYLLIUM HUSK FIBER LAXATIVE.
Contrary to the front label, claiming this Equate product to be 100% psyllium, the primary ingredient is sucrose (a sugar). According to the nutritional information on the back, the recommended serving is 7 grams, which is comprised of 4 grams of sugar, making it the primary ingredient. If you want or need a truly sugar free psyllium, I recommend capsules, Konsyl pure psyllium powder or capsules, or Vitacost brand products. The other alternative is to contact Walmart and ask them to provide a true 100% psyllium product. While Equate isn’t overpowering sweet when mixed with water, it can still be a problem for diabetics, people who are prone to inflammation, and/or people like me who aren’t fond of sweet drinks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Loaded with sugar.

05/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sucrose is the first ingredient. Had I been able to determine this from the product description I would not have made the purchase. That is the reason this is so much cheaper than name brand pure psyllium husks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Works Well

07/25/2014
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This fiber works as well as the name brand fiber at a cheaper cost. I will purchase this again and I would recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Much cheaper and more available than name brand

11/20/2013
By ,
Silver City, NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I buy the unflavored because the only other choices have massive amounts of sugar or artificial sweetener. I can no longer find the unflavored fine texture Metamucil brand and the last time I did it was twice the price of this stuff.
This mixes poorly using a spoon in a glass, so I use a shaker bottle with a spring inside, like the ones for protein shakes. Use cold water so it doesn't get slimy. Drink it fast.
The one disappointment is that this contains sugar, plain old granulated sugar. I have no idea why, but it does not have nearly as much as the flavored versions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Honest Review of Product

05/18/2014
By ,
boston, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great! I mix one teaspoon with silk chocolate soymilk. The chocolate soymilk is thin and the fiber mixes really well and taste pretty good. Every morning I have this drink and every day I am regular. I have tried a lot of pills and other products but this works for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Equate psyllium is gone from store shelves, why??

03/03/2011
By ,
S. Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product for years and am happy that Walmart offered it at a reasonable price. Now, it is vanishing from the shelves, and only the very expensive "Name Brand" is available. WHY, Walmart?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

used for baking GF

05/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this product as a leavener in gluten free bread baking (as recommended by a GF cookbook by America's Test Kitchen) and it worked great. I have not used it as a laxative, however, so I can't comment on that part.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Excellent product

05/26/2014
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is better than the brand
name Metamucil. And the price is 30 to 40 percent lower!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Absolutely equal or better than the big brand name

03/08/2013
By ,
COLUMBUS OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is absolutely equal to and perhaps even better than the big brand name product. I have used Equate Fiber Therapy for many years and plan to use it for many more. The price is right, the value is excellent and the performance of the product is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

good product for the price

07/03/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is less than 7 bucks here, yet on other websites this stuff costs more than double the amount. Anyway, I have no complaints. It has a little texture to it, but nothing serious. It feels like I'm drinking oatmeal or something. I usually just have one dose per day, since I get fiber through my morning cereal (7 grams already in my cereal, and according to the label on this supplement, 3.2 grams of fiber per dose 3 times a day would add up to 10.2 grams, therefore I only require 1 dose of this stuff). I like mixing it with my protein shake at night before bed with milk. Tastes good and it also causes the protein release to slow down, which is good for at night, kind of like a casein protein shake.
I decided to buy this stuff because without it, I only have a bowel movement MAYBE every other day if I'm lucky. Sometimes, I've gone 3-4 days without moving a bowel, and I know that can't be good. Since taking this, along with flaxseed oil supplement, I have noticed more regularity and more solid bowels, since usually the ones I do have are very tiny which is strange (to me, at least). Anyway, I know that's a little TMI but hey, how will you really know it works if I don't talk about it? Anyway, yeah. The best course of action might be to mix this with a protein shake. I have never tried it with just plain water, so I can't give an opinion on that. I plan to try this with oatmeal or some type of juice and see what happens. I will update whenever I do.
Thanks, Walmart, for providing this product at such a ridiculously low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Perfect substitute at a low price

02/13/2014
By ,
Malvern, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been taking Metamucil for years but had trouble finding the unflavored kind in the stores. I purchased Equate Fiber and find it a perfect substitute for Metamucil, and the price at Walmart cannot be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Excellent product

01/04/2014
By ,
Hummelstown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of Equate psyllium fiber is as good as any psyllium fiber that I've ever taken.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Equate (wal-mart) Fiber Therapy

04/06/2009
By ,
Smokerise. Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is wonderful for the price, but it is thicker than that what I usually use or like.
For those of you that used the Product EZ Fiber, you may be dissapointed like myself. There is no longer a space for it on our Walmart shelf. These 2 are about the same price but in my opinion they should have left the EZ there to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Usefulness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Good, for fiber

05/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product is OK. Just took two days longer to ship than was promised, with no warnings. wish they would produce some with no sweetener.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Hard to mix, always ends up lumpy

03/19/2012
By ,
Silver City, NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This fiber product is difficult to mix and no matter how hard you stir there will be lumps or floaters. I prefer Metamucil smooth texture unflavored but WalMart does not carry it and the other "wal" store has also stopped stocking it. All the flavored stuff has either sugar or aspartame and I don't need either. Even this product has sucrose (sugar) crystals in it. A little but of sugar adds up when you use it 2 or 3 times a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Vanish from all Walmarts

04/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I have used this product for years with excellent results. Great product, better price.
Now we only can find the "Name Brand" which is logically more expensive and with different flavor. We love the Orange Flavor. When it is supposed to re appear?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Great Metamucil Alternative

10/24/2012
By ,
Warren, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you use Metamucil or would like to but can't afford it buy Equate Fiber Therapy. It is just as effective and at half the cost. I've been using it for years and can only get it at Wal-mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Horrible texture

01/13/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I would save a few bucks and purchase the store brand rather than the name brand fiber product, but that was a mistake. Usually you can purchase the store brand and get what seems to be the same product - but not this time! I tried and tried, day after day, to vigorously stir the powder into my water, but it just floats at the top. The flavor is fine, but the texture is definitely nasty. It does not mix, and one must gag to drink it down. I intend to toss the rest of the bottle and go back to the national brand. What a waste of money! And what's worse, it appears that Walmart no longer carries the national brand. So, I'll have to shop elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

Worst taste in the world

05/04/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You can forget about drinking this with water; the taste will gag you. They tried to sweeten the product with sucrose and it just makes it worse. I was surprised at how strong of a flavor this was as well. When mixing a tiny bit in with my oatmeal it was over powering. (So it seems mixing it with juice isn't a great alternative either). I mix a dose into my morning shake which isn't too bad. The protein powder and fruit do a good job of hiding it. It also doesn't mix nearly as well as Metamucil.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equate Fiber Original Texture (NBE) to Metamucil Fiber Powder

for a 6 year old, this isn't good

02/02/2012
By ,
Lempster, NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my 6 year old to try to get him "regular". He'd been taking miralax which is clear and dissolves completely. So when I tried to get him to drink this, it was a challenge! This gives the drink a brownish color (leaves little floaties) almost muddy and does not dissolve well. He would drink within a few minutes of me mixing it, yet he would still have a layer of thick gel on the bottom. I'm not sure if metamucil is the same way or if this is worse being a generic brand. I've gone back to giving my son the miralax.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next