Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coppertone Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Coppertone Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

UV rays can be harsh on your skin, so tan the healthy way with Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion. The moisturizers in this sunless tan lotion ensure that your skin is silky smooth, while also building up a gradual and natural-looking glow. Coppertone tanning lotion, in this 9-fluid-ounce bottle, gives you a tan that you control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.275 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation85%34 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

First time sunless tanning.

05/14/2010
By ,
LA County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this product with the intent of using them on my legs because there is a huge difference in color from my lower body to my upper body, which is really not cute! As soon as I opened the bottle, I was kind of skeptical because the lotion is white in color & from what I've seen sunless tanning lotion is usually orange or brown in color. It doesn't take long to dry and is a bit hard to tell if you've applied evenly because its like regular lotion but it works great. I woke up this morning and my legs are definitely a bit tanner. I just took a look at my hands and I assume I didn't wash my hands well enough because there is a bit of color. Nonetheless, I'd buy this product because its worth the price. 9oz for a little less than 8 dollars at my location compared to getting 5 or 7 oz of product for $5-7 dollars. Yes, I'm a cautious bargain shopper (=
Overall, its great for begginners and I do plan on continuing to use it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

2 applications in

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
And I am nice and dark now! After just two applications, this turned my porcelain white legs nice and dark. I also used it on my face. One application was enough for my face because one application is very subtle but gives a nice glow. Two applications and it's very dark. Go very easy on knees, heels, and tops of your feet. After about 8-10 hours after applications you will get darker and darker and darker...so I for sure would not apply more than once per day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Great pick-me-up for winter blahs

12/23/2013
By ,
Springfield, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is like every other self tanner except that I have found that it doesn't run when you get wet or wash dishes like some of the others I have used. If you are an experienced self-tanner like myself :), you know to always watch out for the elbow and knee area. Be sure to use a moisturizer before applying to these areas as they Will show up darker, almost giving a dirty appearance. Doesn't leave an orange tint and stays on quite well. But, like the other self tanners when you take a shower it starts to wear off, just be sure to scrub off what you can and use a moisturizer before reapplying self-tanner again. It does even out eventually. Self-tanners are tricky so only use after you moisturize and ALWAYS wash your hands after use. :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

great color

05/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried almost every product out there for a sunless tanned look and this one is the best! Not only does it give you great natural looking color quickly on fair skin, but it doesn't sting your face or eyes. Most of the products I've tried sting or burn if they get anywhere near your eyes. This product's great for sensitive skin. I can put it on all over my face with no stinging or burning. Thanks, Coppertone! Please continue to carry this product @ walmart. It is hard to find.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

excellent product

03/16/2014
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best product in the market, I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Love it, Love it

05/21/2009
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lotion is wonderful. It goes on smoothly, just like your regular moisturizer. Plus, it has a great fragrance. I am very fair-skinned, and the color looks healthy and natural. I can look very tan after only a few days. Walmart, please keep carrying this lotion; it's my healthy-skin, summer secret! :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Best out there for fair skin

04/21/2010
By ,
Blair, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried several sunless tanning products and they all make me look orange and look fake. Not this, it is amazing. It looks totally natural! I love it, Walmart is the only place in town I can find it. Please Walmart keep this item on your shelves!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Get it!!!!!!!
Posted 07/12/2011
It works great!!! It makes your legs look like they've been sitting in the sun for hours. You don't even need to put it on daily!!! Just like twice a week!!!!! I RECOMMEND!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Michigan
SUPER PRODUCT !!!!
Posted 06/10/2011
This is the best self tanner I have ever used! Everyone is always asking me where I went on vacation to get my great tan. I use it on my face too and it doesn't make me break out. Try it . . . . you'll like it.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Good self tanner

03/16/2012
By ,
Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I usually don't post reviews ,but I had to!I've bought this product last week and couldn't wait to put it on to see how it looks,of course I put it a day where I didn't have to go anywhere that way I can test the color.IT TURNED OUT AMAZING!The color is great,not the best tho, if you apply too much I believe you could probably turn orangy...But I like using this on my face,I put it after washing my face at night and I go to sleep,the next morning I had color on my face, great for summer or winter since I become super white.Doesn't clog pores as said,I have a bit of acne and it didn't worsen it or wtv , and the color looks natural on the face.If your a beginner, totally try this, price is good,you get alot in that bottle trust me! Also,I noticed that the ingredients are not so chemical so it's great.You will need a few applications to get your desired color,since this is a GRADUAL TAN.I've been using self tanners for 1 year now,and this is one of my favorite ,mostly to put on the face :) I gave this 4 stars,because I hate the fact it's gradual.ALSO,it can take up to 4 hours to really see the color not so sure tho, but it dries quickly .
Enjoy your tan!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

IT WORKS!!

10/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lotion only after I read the great reviews on here. I started using it on a Friday afternoon and by Sunday with only 1 application per day I had a nice tan! I am very satisfied with this product. It doesn't take long for it to dry and I put some on about 30 min before I went to bed and I didn't wake up orange :) Be careful tho with your feet and hands..mine aren't orange but I guess you have tan lines..like between your toes which isn't a bad look same has a tanning bed or laying out.
Be sure to wash your hands after using. It doesn't stink like most sunless tanning lotions. My husband has noticed a difference in color and says I have a beautiful tan! :) Definitely will keep this around to use. Also, the color of the lotion is white not brown or an orange color. You can put it on your face and works just as good! No burning. Enjoy your Tan, I am!! :D
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

No streaks.

12/04/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product moisturises your dry skins and does not settle in the dry skin lines creating streak like stains. Colors evenly. I simply live it. I had a bottle for 4 years and started using it again and now I use this product weekly. Bought 3 bottles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Best Sunless Tanner Out There !

05/24/2010
By ,
Folsom,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy this product !, it gives you the best tan money can buy and for only eight buck's ! Forget the tanning salon, this is much cheaper and just as good ! Easy to apply and you can go as dark as you want ! If you buy it, get 2, it sells quickly for obivious reasons ! Coppertone is the best and only
sunless tanner I will use ! and you'll look like you just got off the plane from Hawaii !!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

beautiful glowing skin!

05/29/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have only used this product a couple of times and i thought that it was very worth the price. it has a great smell, unlike other self-tanners and it creates beautiful glowing skin even when used on fair skin tones. overall, i think that it is a great sunless tanner!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

5 Star for coppertone gradual tan

07/14/2011
By ,
Lompoc, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried a few gradual tanners & they always made me look pretty orange. I'm not quite pasty white, but I'm close.
This worked really well. I found that I do turn a little orange-ish if I put the lotion on before bed & sleep with it on. However, if I put it on & shower about 4 hours later, I don't turn orange at all & I look nicely tan after 3 days!
The smell is nice at first, but after a couple hours it started making me nauseous. It's not a bad smell, but it becomes strong and annoying. My husband never minds the smell, he says it never smells bad to him. I guess it's just preference.
Over all, I would recommend this lotion. It's the best I've found so far!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

AMAZING!!!

08/24/2013
By ,
fort worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to try and see if i could finally get some color but i didnt want to use bed tanning. The smell first off is actually pretty nice. I had read reviews about other self tanners having a unique smell to them. I had no streaks and after 3 applications i have a nice golden tan :))) I love how it gradually builds up with no streaks and honestly a bottle will last me a week of using it every day :D GREAT DEAL
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Delightfully Surprised!

10/07/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product definitely exceeded my expectations and I was skeptic even with good reviews. I'm naturally a pasty pale color and always burn in the sun with no tan. I now use it every couple days now and it has boosted my self esteem and doesn't look orange like others I've tried. Just make sure you rub a generous amount and rub in really well, and apply waaay lighter amounts on ankles, knee caps, toes, etc.. You'll see the difference over night but gets darker by the 2nd day. Very affordable as well. I dont even have to try any others I love it so much.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz
03/27/2012
By ,
Jackson, Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Oh my goodness. I am a very fair skinned person and I didn't want to look like casper during the summer so I thought that I would get my "tan" on. This worked perfectly during the first 4 days. I got BROWN. And since I was so brown, I stopped using it. After the first day of not using it, I had white and tan patches all over my body. Even when I followed all the instructions on the bottle I still had the patches. I know i'm probably the only disclaimer here but I PERSONALLY hated it.
Thanks for my "tan"(:
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Good and easy coloring

04/13/2012
By ,
Mesa, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice, smells fine, works quickly. Not as good as the one I used to use that is not made anymore. The one I did use was a Neutrogena brand, I believe, but it is not made anymore. This lotion is white in color and blends well. Easy to apply. Colors gradually and quickly..w/in 3 hours.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

ORANGE

03/31/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product turned me orange and was pretty streaky. Not the look I was going for.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz
Based on the average of (22) ratings-only reviews
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5