Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coppertone Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Coppertone Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

UV rays can be harsh on your skin, so tan the healthy way with Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion. The moisturizers in this sunless tan lotion ensure that your skin is silky smooth, while also building up a gradual and natural-looking glow. Coppertone tanning lotion, in this 9-fluid-ounce bottle, gives you a tan that you control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.274 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation84%43 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

First time sunless tanning.

05/14/2010
By ,
LA County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this product with the intent of using them on my legs because there is a huge difference in color from my lower body to my upper body, which is really not cute! As soon as I opened the bottle, I was kind of skeptical because the lotion is white in color & from what I've seen sunless tanning lotion is usually orange or brown in color. It doesn't take long to dry and is a bit hard to tell if you've applied evenly because its like regular lotion but it works great. I woke up this morning and my legs are definitely a bit tanner. I just took a look at my hands and I assume I didn't wash my hands well enough because there is a bit of color. Nonetheless, I'd buy this product because its worth the price. 9oz for a little less than 8 dollars at my location compared to getting 5 or 7 oz of product for $5-7 dollars. Yes, I'm a cautious bargain shopper (=
Overall, its great for begginners and I do plan on continuing to use it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Love it, Love it

05/21/2009
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lotion is wonderful. It goes on smoothly, just like your regular moisturizer. Plus, it has a great fragrance. I am very fair-skinned, and the color looks healthy and natural. I can look very tan after only a few days. Walmart, please keep carrying this lotion; it's my healthy-skin, summer secret! :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

great color

05/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried almost every product out there for a sunless tanned look and this one is the best! Not only does it give you great natural looking color quickly on fair skin, but it doesn't sting your face or eyes. Most of the products I've tried sting or burn if they get anywhere near your eyes. This product's great for sensitive skin. I can put it on all over my face with no stinging or burning. Thanks, Coppertone! Please continue to carry this product @ walmart. It is hard to find.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Sun tan

12/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The tan is very light, what happened to products like Q.T.??
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Best out there for fair skin

04/21/2010
By ,
Blair, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried several sunless tanning products and they all make me look orange and look fake. Not this, it is amazing. It looks totally natural! I love it, Walmart is the only place in town I can find it. Please Walmart keep this item on your shelves!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Get it!!!!!!!
Posted 07/12/2011
It works great!!! It makes your legs look like they've been sitting in the sun for hours. You don't even need to put it on daily!!! Just like twice a week!!!!! I RECOMMEND!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Michigan
SUPER PRODUCT !!!!
Posted 06/10/2011
This is the best self tanner I have ever used! Everyone is always asking me where I went on vacation to get my great tan. I use it on my face too and it doesn't make me break out. Try it . . . . you'll like it.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Good self tanner

03/16/2012
By ,
Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I usually don't post reviews ,but I had to!I've bought this product last week and couldn't wait to put it on to see how it looks,of course I put it a day where I didn't have to go anywhere that way I can test the color.IT TURNED OUT AMAZING!The color is great,not the best tho, if you apply too much I believe you could probably turn orangy...But I like using this on my face,I put it after washing my face at night and I go to sleep,the next morning I had color on my face, great for summer or winter since I become super white.Doesn't clog pores as said,I have a bit of acne and it didn't worsen it or wtv , and the color looks natural on the face.If your a beginner, totally try this, price is good,you get alot in that bottle trust me! Also,I noticed that the ingredients are not so chemical so it's great.You will need a few applications to get your desired color,since this is a GRADUAL TAN.I've been using self tanners for 1 year now,and this is one of my favorite ,mostly to put on the face :) I gave this 4 stars,because I hate the fact it's gradual.ALSO,it can take up to 4 hours to really see the color not so sure tho, but it dries quickly .
Enjoy your tan!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Doesnt look orange.

05/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used other self tanners in the past and stopped using them because I could never find one that didnt look fake and or orange. I was reading the reviews on the Coppertone Tanning and decided to give it a try. I am very happy with this product. Looks natural, and no ugly orange look. I would recommend while in the shower to exfoliate well first, then I put on my every day body lotion, I then put the Coppertone lotion on. Be careful in dryer areas like the bottom sides of feet and heals. Drys fast. Can reapply daily until desired shade. Doesnt fade much at all after the first couple of showers. You would want to reappy after day two and so on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

IT WORKS!!

10/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lotion only after I read the great reviews on here. I started using it on a Friday afternoon and by Sunday with only 1 application per day I had a nice tan! I am very satisfied with this product. It doesn't take long for it to dry and I put some on about 30 min before I went to bed and I didn't wake up orange :) Be careful tho with your feet and hands..mine aren't orange but I guess you have tan lines..like between your toes which isn't a bad look same has a tanning bed or laying out.
Be sure to wash your hands after using. It doesn't stink like most sunless tanning lotions. My husband has noticed a difference in color and says I have a beautiful tan! :) Definitely will keep this around to use. Also, the color of the lotion is white not brown or an orange color. You can put it on your face and works just as good! No burning. Enjoy your Tan, I am!! :D
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Great pick-me-up for winter blahs

12/23/2013
By ,
Springfield, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is like every other self tanner except that I have found that it doesn't run when you get wet or wash dishes like some of the others I have used. If you are an experienced self-tanner like myself :), you know to always watch out for the elbow and knee area. Be sure to use a moisturizer before applying to these areas as they Will show up darker, almost giving a dirty appearance. Doesn't leave an orange tint and stays on quite well. But, like the other self tanners when you take a shower it starts to wear off, just be sure to scrub off what you can and use a moisturizer before reapplying self-tanner again. It does even out eventually. Self-tanners are tricky so only use after you moisturize and ALWAYS wash your hands after use. :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Best Sunless Tanner Out There !

05/24/2010
By ,
Folsom,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy this product !, it gives you the best tan money can buy and for only eight buck's ! Forget the tanning salon, this is much cheaper and just as good ! Easy to apply and you can go as dark as you want ! If you buy it, get 2, it sells quickly for obivious reasons ! Coppertone is the best and only
sunless tanner I will use ! and you'll look like you just got off the plane from Hawaii !!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Keep Coming back to this tanner

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a naturally pale person who does not tan even when I get some sun. I've tried many tanning products over the years with usually mediocre results. I rarely re-purchase a self-tanner. Coppertone Gradual Tan is the one self-tanner I keep buying. The color is natural on me (not orange, not yellow), it's easy to use, builds up nice, gradual color (but doesn't take too long - I get noticeable color in a couple of applications). It's fool-proof, doesn't streak, mild smell, inexpensive and just generally works. Unfortunately it's getting harder to find so I hope they don't discontinue it. Thanks to Walmart for carrying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Great product

10/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keep stocking Coppertone 9 self tanning lotion. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

5 Star for coppertone gradual tan

07/14/2011
By ,
Lompoc, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried a few gradual tanners & they always made me look pretty orange. I'm not quite pasty white, but I'm close.
This worked really well. I found that I do turn a little orange-ish if I put the lotion on before bed & sleep with it on. However, if I put it on & shower about 4 hours later, I don't turn orange at all & I look nicely tan after 3 days!
The smell is nice at first, but after a couple hours it started making me nauseous. It's not a bad smell, but it becomes strong and annoying. My husband never minds the smell, he says it never smells bad to him. I guess it's just preference.
Over all, I would recommend this lotion. It's the best I've found so far!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

For Extremly Pale Only

05/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a pretty pale person and this does almost nothing on my skin, after almost two weeks of daily use. So Im guessing it might be okay for someone who has never used a tanner before, ever...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

This product works well and fast.

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would suggest this to someone who wants a little color for a special occasion which is why I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

beautiful glowing skin!

05/29/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have only used this product a couple of times and i thought that it was very worth the price. it has a great smell, unlike other self-tanners and it creates beautiful glowing skin even when used on fair skin tones. overall, i think that it is a great sunless tanner!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

no streaks

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only product that does not turn my legs orange, leave streaks, or stain fabric.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

2 applications in

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
And I am nice and dark now! After just two applications, this turned my porcelain white legs nice and dark. I also used it on my face. One application was enough for my face because one application is very subtle but gives a nice glow. Two applications and it's very dark. Go very easy on knees, heels, and tops of your feet. After about 8-10 hours after applications you will get darker and darker and darker...so I for sure would not apply more than once per day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Best Self Tanning Lotion I have Come Across !!!!

05/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have some what pale skin. My face, chest and upper back usually tan all of the time outside, while other places don't. My legs NEVER tan no matter what I do. I am not a big fan of the tanning bed. I feel like it is like paying for Skin Cancer. However, I always go once or twice to get a good burn since that is the ONLY way I ever tan. Once I have burned badly, I tan good after that just being outside. However, even in the tanning bed, I still have those issues with some areas tanning and some not.
I use self tanning lotions after 1-2 trips to the tanning bed and have had a love hate relationship with them.
I have tried a few products, which usually left me super stinky, streaking, or orange. Yes, I looked like I lost a fight with a crayola marker!
Then I came online and read the reviews for this product and I was very impressed. Not a single bad review out of all the pages. So I thought I would give it a shot.
I bought it early this afternoon, and applied it around 4pm. I did chores around the house, and forgot about it as I dozed off on the couch around 8pm-9:30om. I got up and went to look and I already seen results. I had a natural glowing tan that I didn't think was possible from a lotion!!! I hopped in the shower not long after and applied the second coat afterwards. I am very impressed! I did not apply to my face because it is already super tan, I just applied from my neck down.
Pros:
-Normal lotion color in bottle, which I like because I hate bronzer.
-Smells pretty good, like regular lotion
-Doesn't streak
-Doesn't turn you orange
Cons:
-After setting a long time it does give off a bit of a "burnt" smell but it does not last long
-When showering it does feel slimy, so make sure to wash your body well!
I only gave this 4 stars only because of the occasional burnt smell. Other than that I am extremely happy that I have finally found my self tanning lotion!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coppertone Sunless Tanning Lotion, 9 fl oz

Great product for this purpose

08/08/2014
By ,
Clarkston,Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used many of these products and this has been the best one I have found. Goes on smoothly and covers great. Also covers well with NO streaking, I would recommend this to
anyone who is wanting a coppertone tan without damaging the skin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next