Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

Great Value Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

Meet your daily milk requirements with the Great Value: Dry Milk. This instant dry milk supplements your daily nutritional needs as a fat-free alternative to real cow milk with significant amounts of Vitamin A, Vitamin D3 and calcium. The non-fat instant dry milk is a kosher dairy product that gives you the goodness of real milk. This dry milk contains no artificial flavors or colors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.528 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%81 out of 88reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 95 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

Good for stocking up

12/20/2012
By ,
Battle Creek MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best dry milk for the price I have found..mixes well and has a good flavor.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

Good emergency or backup milk supply

10/10/2014
By ,
Medford, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS milk is GOOD! I've stocked it for over 2 years now? I mix it in 1/2 gallon plastic commercial milk jugs, washed out between uses. Mix according to directions, add water to about 3/4 full, cap and shake to mix. Once the foam settles, add water to FULL. Refrigerate for an hour or two, or over-night, to allow it to fully dissolve.
I live a bit out of town and don't have a vehicle. I walk. In Northern Wisconsin, going to the store for fresh milk when it's -20 degrees with a 20mph wind isn't an option? This dry milk is a life-saver!
I drink it, I use it on cereal, I cook and bake with it. The 64-oz box makes 5-gallons of milk.
Granted, I am using the 1/2 gallon amount of dry milk, but a bit less water, but it improves the taste? It probably has more dry milk solids, but it tastes GREAT!
I'm 67 years old and grew up on a family dairy farm, where we drank raw milk from our cows. That was better tasting, but compared to the 'whole milk' at the store, this dry milk is pretty good. Like more of a 'mouth feel'? Add 1 tbs of coconut oil to a quart. Shake the jug before using.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

Great taste

06/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly supprised at the real milk taste of this product. Other brands had a weak watery taste, but this tasted like regular milk. The 64 oz. package makes 20 quarts of milk. That's a great bargin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

2% MILK

02/16/2014
By ,
va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started drinking 2% milk over year ago.i just hated too go too store so often to purchase milk then worry about drinking it all before it spoiled.I decided to check into instant dry milk,i was somewhat skeptical about the taste,but gave it try i thought if it tasted bad i could always use it for cooking.Well i cannot tell the difference from 2% store bought milk,taste great.I like the idea i can make as much as i need at any given time.I suggest if you are drinking or using for cereal make a pitcher allow chill 24 hours.I also picked up the Augason Farms 2-Quart Mixing pitcher works great with powder milk it was shipped with the instant dry milk.Nice to have this milk on hand especially with all the snow and bad weather i dont worry about going to grocery seeing empty milk shelves!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

Dry Milk to mix with Protein Powders

10/12/2014
By ,
Nashville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this dry milk to mix with my Protein powders (soy and whey) and my powdered hemp (for fiber). I need dry milk for these mixtures because regular sweet milk doesn't mix well with them. The milk tastes well, I guess my biggest disappointment is the cost, but maybe that's because I have such a limited budget and Aldi's does have a Carnation Dry Milk product that is competitive with this (even though it is slightly higher in cost per unit). Thanks WalMart for making this dry milk available for delivery which is helpful to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

Excellent value, if your taste is not picky

06/16/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never had dry milk really live up to the deliciousness of fresh milk, but this is a much less expensive alternative, so I do not see myself going back to fresh milk. It can take a little bit of practice to figure out about how much water to mix with a given amount of the powder to make the right concentration in the right amount to accompany a bowl of cereal, and it still can taste somewhat weak, but I absolutely love that it has such a long shelf life, so it is a great money saver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

This Milk Exceeds All My Expectations!

10/09/2012
By ,
Breaux Bridge, LA (Crawfish Capital of the World;)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At only $2.74 per gallon, this is very inexpensive! Where I live (in S. central Louisiana) milk costs around $3.79 for a gallon. So I save $1.05 PER GALLON! My family and I save about $30 every month! In this economy, my family had to find every little way to save money; from just the money saved by buying this product it pays for nearly 300 miles of automobile travel! The savings really do add up.
Secondly, the taste is quite good. Especially if you make it the night before, refrigerate about 10 hours and then enjoy it. It is virtually indistinguishable from store bought! It really is a Great Value ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

Mixes Up Quickly and Smoothly

10/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried this past reading reviews and am pleased with this product. I have used several times now for cereal and tastes good this way. I don't really drink glasses of milk very often so this has worked well for me for cereal as can make smaller amount. I make it day before and let get real cold. Nothing like the powdered milk of years ago. Have delivered to door, love online shopping!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz
07/01/2012
By ,
Benicia CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have been buying powdered nonfat milk for more than 40 years. It has become increasingly difficult to find this product in this most economical size. This brand dissolves better than others, including the name brand. The flavor is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

good for baking

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like to keep dry milk for baking since it keeps longer than liquid milk, taste was decent and value was good. Only wish the metric measurements were included along with English measurements.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

A Great Value

10/24/2012
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I purchase non-fat dry milk to save on our grocery bill. No need to go to the store every few days for milk. When a local grocery store stopped carrying the 20-quart box, I shopped all over town and could not find a comparable value, so I looked on line and found Walmart had the best deal---especially since there is free shipping. Thank you Walmart for helping me save on my grocery bill! ---ChazProd
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

It's cheaper online.

11/25/2013
By ,
spartanburg sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This milk is a great deal.
I take the bus to do my shopping. This really helps to have orders sent directly to my home.
Unfortunately the cardboard boxes are too flimsy. This might be better off being packaged in a mylar bag for shipment with heavier objects. However since Walmart refunds squashed boxes and I really don't mind scooping up contaminated powdered milk to save a penny.
My real sympathy goes to the Poor Fedex man who delivers these heavy boxes.
The milk may have survived if it was in a box that didn't have such heavy objects in with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

This product is excellent.

10/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. It doesn't have that powdered milk aftertaste. I really like having it on hand so I don't have to run to the grocery store when I run out of milk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

Dry Milk

03/25/2012
By ,
shakopee mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very convenient way to purchase milk to get delivered to your home.and it tastes as good as the liquid type.it is competitively priced also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz
05/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to make, tastes great. Doesn't make too many bubbles so you lose part of your milk.
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

A MUST HAVE GROCERY ITEM

03/29/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was brought up on mixing dry milk half n half with regular milk to make it stretch further. I had been going without milk for so long because I refused to pay more than $3 a gallon, normal price is $3.99 for the store brand. I always felt bad when my grandsons would come spend time with me, I rarely had milk on hand for their cereal. When I first decided to purchased this product, I was buying whatever was cheapest and under $3 a gallon, usually skim, but where I planned to mix it, I used whole milk, then tried it with 2% and kept changing the ratio, 1:1, 2:1, 3:1, until I decided to try it without mixing it. It was great! I can finally have milk any time I want instead of only when it went on sale for under $3 a gallon. The best part....the kids love it! My fussy grandsons (5 & 7 yrs old) actually loved it immediately after mixing. They think it's great that Meemaw can make milk! I prefer it after it's been in the fridge over night and nice'n cold.
I don't ever want to be without this product. It never has lumps in it, and if I remember correctly, the name brand had lumps when I used it last years ago. As long as I can continue to purchase this, I will never buy regular milk again, even if the price drops. Like someone else said, when I run out of milk, I don't have to run out to the store to get more. I only need make more.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

NEVER BUY ONLINE, badly packaged

08/19/2014
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've bought this milk often in stores, and it's great for what it does (cost is the same as buying fresh milk, so you're not saving money but rather time). This was the first time I bought it online and had it shipped. Disaster. The pictured box wasn't properly sealed, but fortunately it had the paper cover (not as pictured, but still fully sealed over the cardboard), so the milk was between the cover and the cardboard.
Was a nightmare to slowly peel off cover and pour the dried milk into some spare clean empty plastic coffee containers. Powder still got everywhere, took maybe 40 minutes to pour and clean up. Box will fill three average Folger's 34-oz red plastic coffee containers. Yikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

I like it

05/17/2014
By ,
Birmingham, Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best value out there in powdered milk. Long shelf life. Good taste. Can be 1/2 and 1/2 with whole milk to 'stretch' it without changing taste. Convenient to make as much as you need at a time/no waste. I keep it on hand for drinking, gravies, cream soups, dough. Add dry to mix with liquid in recipes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

The Very best Nonfat Milk I had in many years!

09/22/2012
By ,
Brooklyn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for this taste in dry nonfat milk for many years now; and I couldn't find it. But thanks to Walmart, the place you can find just about everything you want; I found this milk! you see as child growing up, this was the taste in the school milk I remember drinking. I LOVE. love this milk.
Thank you,
Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Great Value: Instant Dry Milk, 64 oz

great for healthy choice

09/06/2014
By ,
seattle, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent price for protein. Meets my expectations.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next