Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Great Value Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

Contains up To 15% solution Of water, salt & sodium PHOSPHATES
Average Customer Rating:
2.417 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation33%4 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

Buy the "fresh" instead.

03/09/2014
By ,
Bedford, tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Because I was curious about shrinkage when cooking, I thawed one of these out, and weighed the chicken, without all the water from the ice coating on each piece. 2 pounds, 4 ounces. I looked in the bag again for the other 12 oz of chicken. Nope, not there. Apparently 3 pound bag does not mean 3 pounds of chicken. I bought this thinking it was less expensive than a pre-cooked product I had compared it to, and at 3 pounds of chicken per bag, it was. But not at 2 1/4 pounds. Today I went to the store for my usual groceries, and found a 5 pound tray of chicken breast for less, and it actually has 5 pounds of chicken. As a bonus, the pieces are all about the same size, which isn't going to happen with this frozen product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 2 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

horrible waste of money

10/27/2011
By ,
camrose, alberta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not recommend this product to anyone. the fillet were very nice until we started cooking them. it looked like we were cooking a big pan of fat. it was so rubbery, then we tried to eat it. Couldn't get by the total saturation of salt. why wreck a perfectly natural product with tons of salt. so i tried to soak the salt out of it and fry it again. didn't work. what a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
Oops...
Posted 01/10/2012
My apologies...I just realized this isn't quite the same chicken we have here. I've had chicken with the salt, like you mentioned, which tasted awful, but the bag we have here are plain old chicken. No salty taste. Sorry!
0points
Customer Avatar
Almond, WI
Good Stuff
Posted 01/10/2012
At least here is the US, there is no salt in the chicken at our Walmart.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb
12/20/2011
By ,
Hazleton Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've enjoyed this product for years..They have changed it though..The chicken breasts look more like chunks. Thick and smaller like a thigh.I don't care about that, but the texture was terrible. Dry and tough..The dog had trouble eating it..It was so tough that my husband described it as 'like eating a piece of beef jerkey'..I am throwing out the rest of the bag and doubt if I will purchase this again..A shame!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Review 4 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

Awful tough dry inedible

06/20/2014
By ,
Hialeah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried prepping different ways grilled, sautéed strips, even tried tenderizing with meat mallet with no luck still stays ridiculously tough and dry and as others say let's out liquidy fatty substance when cooking
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

Poor Quality is Evident in these Cheap Breasts

01/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meat is thick and fatty with plenty of connective tissue to be removed before it can be eaten. After cooking I found these breasts to be the toughest I have ever cooked. I bought two bags because of the good prices. The taste is acceptable but not good. Meat is tough and I wonder what these poor birds have been through. I am returning my second bag to the store. I do not believe these breasts are worth the price, inexpensive as they are.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Review 6 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

Stringy and tough

01/12/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've enjoyed these in the past but of late they have simply become inedible. Toughest chicken breasts I have ever purchased and the price isn't that much better than fresh. I bought these for the convenience but it's just not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 7 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

Awful

07/14/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all when you cook these, they release some kind of watery fatty substance that smells pretty gross. Second the breasts end up shriveling up to about half their original size. Third, they are very tough. I don't recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 8 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

wonderful

09/26/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this chicken is very virsatile, it can be used in just about any dish. great for the grill, grittle, skillet, oven, soups, salads, and sandwiches. just season to taste or leave as is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 9 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

Best Value In Area

10/02/2008
By ,
Saint Charles MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is the best value in the area where we live - I have shopped the chain stores here but Walmart always has the best price on frozen chicken breast. We usually get 2 packages at a time because we use them several times a week for meals. The portions are huge and very flavorful. Buy these with confidence.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Review 10 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

Great chicken

03/22/2009
By ,
Wyandotte, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this chicken because the pieces are decent size, and it thaws really quickly. It cooks up great on the grill and tends to marinate quickly also. We usually go through a bag a week. (there are only 2 of us). I've used this in salads, soups, stew, pot pie, on the grill, roasted/baked in the oven with fresh vegetables, etc. Very versatile, and it's sold at an excellent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 11 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

Veins, Fat & Cartilage

10/13/2013
By ,
Galax, Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was buying this for the last year, but have noticed the quality has dropped drastically the last few months. Be prepared to do a lot of trimming yourself if you choose to buy this product. The whole reason I buy boneless , skinless chicken breast and not all the other parts is I can't stand all the nasty stuff that runs through the dark meat selections. These chicken breasts are just as bad if not worse with veins, Cartilage and large clumps of fat. By the time you cut off all the nasty stuff your not getting very much actual edible white meat! And what meat is left is very rubbery!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 12 for Great Value: Chicken Breast Fillets Boneless Skinless w/Rib Meat Poultry, 3 Lb

Good and Convenient

01/10/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use these chicken breast all the time. Unless they are freezer burned or cooked wrong, they always turn out good. Never rubbery or chewy. There is some fat to be trimmed off, but I don't have an issue with that. They are good and a good value. I marinade a piece everyday and it's juicy and exceptional.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point