Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Mainstays Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Because of its contemporary look, easy use and versatility, the Format Frame is the most popular picture frame. Featuring a safe ground edge glass, these frames are a great way to display and protect your favorite pictures. With its front-loading design you can easily insert your photos and place them either vertically or horizontally on the wall. This 4" x 6" frame has a snap-on easel back that enables you to place it on your table or shelf. The Format Frames are also ideal for creating your own wall collection with a simple and sophisticated look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.532 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%106 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Easy to use, looks good, great value

01/13/2014
By ,
milpitas, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These frames are plastic, but are perfect for my project. Pop out the glass from the front and slip the photo in. Pop the glass back in and you are good to go. I can see where the stand would be clumsy if you wanted to put it on a shelf or desk. I have mine clustered on the wall. I like the thin frame that sets off the photo.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

It is what it is.

04/05/2014
By ,
Albany, ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would prefer that they were deeper and of better quality but for $1 what can you get. Sometimes the glass is chipped. I need a lot of these frames for an exhibit of photographs. I need about 100 but the store does not carry that many. So after several trips to different Walmarts I finally ordered about 2 dozen online. I had them delivered to the local store. Next problem. The cost online was more than the cost in the store. So they said they would honor the instore cost if there were enough of the frames in the store. There were. But what if there weren't? There were certainly enough in the box. I would order these directly from the supplier but it's not possible. I would also like to order more and usually when one is ordering a big quantity of something there is a discount. So even if they are only $1, it adds up and some discount should be made. These sort of frames also used to come in an assortment of colors but don't any longer. I said 'excellent' for meeting expectations because my expectations are low. By the way, they are now packaged 2 for $2, rather than 1 for $1. If I only wanted one I'd have been out of luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Plastic Frame, Glass Front

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw these in the store for .99 each. Bit more expensive on line, but I wanted to buy in bulk. These are very good value, easy to use. They were very well boxed, no damage. I will probably buy more. Not the best frames you'll own, but great for my needs & budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

great inexpensive frame

07/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used these frames for awards for triathlons for 3 years now. They're easy to take apart and put back together; they use real glass; and they come with 2 display options.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

great value

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was worried about these being mostly glass but they were pretty easy to pop open and the pictures look nice with just a thin black border. they are plastic but nice looking on the wall especially for the price !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Great Frame for the money.

02/10/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased these frames using the site to store. It went very smooth and the frames came in within a week or so. It was really nice not to have to pay for shipping since I purchased 17 dozen because I bought these as wedding favors. I was very impresses with the product for the price. Not only did these fit into my budget, they were one of the only reasonably priced frame I found after hours online with a viewable 4 x 6 picture area. That was very important to me because we are having a photo booth and most frames cut off all sides which would make the photo booth multi-pose image cut off. The glass popped out easily and went back in just as smooth and the glass edge is not sharp at all so I'm not worried about kids doing it. The only negative I could find is the plastic tab to make the easel back is flimsy and cheap looking but it serves the purpose I guess. But the frame actually stands up pretty well on its own in landscape so you don't necessarily need to use the tab. Overall I am very satisfied with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12
08/06/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The back of the picture frame has a little piece you detach and then hook in to enable your pictures to stand up... the small piece is pretty flimsy and I had a rough time getting it to fit in to the right spot. Other than that I loved them! I put engagement pictures in them and displayed them on the tables at my wedding reception!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

4x6 picture frames

05/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These picture frames were perfect for our use. Less than $1 per frame. We used them as wedding favors--pictures were placed on reception tables and guests were invited to take a picture of their choice. Frames were easy to put together--even the little easel thing. I would highly recommend these frames.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Just what I needed

08/14/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These frames are great for displaying a lot of pictures on a wall. The thin frame allows you hang them close together and the photo to stand out. I used many to make a wall collage. Easy to use and light weight. Can't beat the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Excellent frames

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These frames are both an excellent frame and a superb value with quick shipping and quality packaging. I would highly recommend walmart frames
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

A very helpful product

07/20/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to redo my room and bought these to make a wall of pictures and it turnedout great.! they are easy to use and no tools required or any strain at all... You just pop off the top and put the picture in and it looks great.. Totally recommend it for any project
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Great Value

03/08/2011
By ,
Upstate, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These frames include little plastic pieces for propping them up on a table or flat surface. The stands are very flimsy and cheap. I would recommend you use these frames on a wall, they look great on the wall!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Very good frames

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used them for my wedding pictures and they turned out great! Easy to use frames. When I have another project, I will be looking for these again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Very decent frames at a great price.

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These frames have a nice clean look and were very easy to get pictures into. Although the black frame portion is plastic it doesn't look cheap like many frames at this price point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Great for our business

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used in our Celebrity Tour business and are a perfect fit for their use. Glad to see they still carried these since our last purchase was more than 4 years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Great picture frames

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These frames are great and you can't find a better price. Shipping was fast and none of the 12 frames was broken upon arrival. If you are looking for a set of low profile frames I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Perfect cheap frame solution!

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not the highest of quality, but a great value and product for your picture framing needs!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

worth more than the price, I think

12/20/2009
By ,
Camden, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These frames are plastic (except for the front glass piece) but they're not flimsy or low-quality, and I'm really picky about that. I wasn't sure what to expect from Wal Mart, but I'm really happy with these. They're easy to use. I'm not sure how well they'd work as easel frames, because I didn't try them that way, but as far as the wall-hanging aspect goes, they're quite nice. I'm using them to spell out my cousins' names with photographs for Christmas, and I think they're gift-quality. The only minor issue is that they're *slightly* bigger than 4x6, so there is a little black space around my photos, but it doesn't look bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Excellent Photo Frame

02/14/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These 4x6 photo frames are the best I've ever purchased. They are a thin black plastic frame with glass covering. They look great hanging individually or in groups. The back also has a tab that snaps loose which one can then attach and it allows the frame to sit on a desk top. Photos mount easily, just hold the frame in both hands and slightly bend it, the glass and black backing board come loose and you place the photo between them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Inexpensive but functional

03/31/2014
By ,
Eastern MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Met my expectations for $1.20 Frame
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next