Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Generic Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Because of its contemporary look, easy use and versatility, the Format Frame is the most popular picture frame. Featuring a safe ground edge glass, these frames are a great way to display and protect your favorite pictures. With its front-loading design you can easily insert your photos and place them either vertically or horizontally on the wall. This 4" x 6" frame has a snap-on easel back that enables you to place it on your table or shelf. The Format Frames are also ideal for creating your own wall collection with a simple and sophisticated look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.485 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%96 out of 99reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Easy to use, looks good, great value

01/13/2014
By ,
milpitas, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These frames are plastic, but are perfect for my project. Pop out the glass from the front and slip the photo in. Pop the glass back in and you are good to go. I can see where the stand would be clumsy if you wanted to put it on a shelf or desk. I have mine clustered on the wall. I like the thin frame that sets off the photo.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

It is what it is.

04/05/2014
By ,
Albany, ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would prefer that they were deeper and of better quality but for $1 what can you get. Sometimes the glass is chipped. I need a lot of these frames for an exhibit of photographs. I need about 100 but the store does not carry that many. So after several trips to different Walmarts I finally ordered about 2 dozen online. I had them delivered to the local store. Next problem. The cost online was more than the cost in the store. So they said they would honor the instore cost if there were enough of the frames in the store. There were. But what if there weren't? There were certainly enough in the box. I would order these directly from the supplier but it's not possible. I would also like to order more and usually when one is ordering a big quantity of something there is a discount. So even if they are only $1, it adds up and some discount should be made. These sort of frames also used to come in an assortment of colors but don't any longer. I said 'excellent' for meeting expectations because my expectations are low. By the way, they are now packaged 2 for $2, rather than 1 for $1. If I only wanted one I'd have been out of luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Inexpensive but functional

03/31/2014
By ,
Eastern MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Met my expectations for $1.20 Frame
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Great Frame for the money.

02/10/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased these frames using the site to store. It went very smooth and the frames came in within a week or so. It was really nice not to have to pay for shipping since I purchased 17 dozen because I bought these as wedding favors. I was very impresses with the product for the price. Not only did these fit into my budget, they were one of the only reasonably priced frame I found after hours online with a viewable 4 x 6 picture area. That was very important to me because we are having a photo booth and most frames cut off all sides which would make the photo booth multi-pose image cut off. The glass popped out easily and went back in just as smooth and the glass edge is not sharp at all so I'm not worried about kids doing it. The only negative I could find is the plastic tab to make the easel back is flimsy and cheap looking but it serves the purpose I guess. But the frame actually stands up pretty well on its own in landscape so you don't necessarily need to use the tab. Overall I am very satisfied with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Nothing fancy, but perfect for a consistent look.

02/23/2014
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these frames because I wanted to do a collage on my living room wall and I wanted the same frame for all of the photos. These were cost effective and while they are simple, they are perfect for what I want them for. They are lightweight and hang well on a 3M hook. And with the glass that pops out the front, it will be easy to change pictures around in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Only recieved 11

02/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product other than the handling provided. My order was short a frame. These frames are cool tho. Good for decor and making collages
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12
08/06/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The back of the picture frame has a little piece you detach and then hook in to enable your pictures to stand up... the small piece is pretty flimsy and I had a rough time getting it to fit in to the right spot. Other than that I loved them! I put engagement pictures in them and displayed them on the tables at my wedding reception!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Great Frames but not the easiest to fill

02/05/2014
By ,
Jarrettsville, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the frames. I had them shipped to my house and they arrived undamaged. The only thing I don't love about them is that they are front loading, so it can be a little difficult to get the photos in the frame. They seem to be much better for hanging then sitting on any surface because of the flimsy backing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

02/09/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE these frames. They are perfect for my needs and soooooooo easy to insert the photos. The quality, price and service were all excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Just what I needed

08/14/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These frames are great for displaying a lot of pictures on a wall. The thin frame allows you hang them close together and the photo to stand out. I used many to make a wall collage. Easy to use and light weight. Can't beat the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Great for my purpose

01/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like them they are easy to put photos in. great for the purpose of putting photos of family in game room. No wasted space of a frame all you see once the photo is hung is the picture so it saves on space, and the frame isn't competing with the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

A very helpful product

07/20/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to redo my room and bought these to make a wall of pictures and it turnedout great.! they are easy to use and no tools required or any strain at all... You just pop off the top and put the picture in and it looks great.. Totally recommend it for any project
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Great Value

03/08/2011
By ,
Upstate, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These frames include little plastic pieces for propping them up on a table or flat surface. The stands are very flimsy and cheap. I would recommend you use these frames on a wall, they look great on the wall!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Not bad for inexpensive frames.

01/13/2014
By ,
Holt, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product was as advertised. This was my second time purchasing them. The first time was wonderful. Product was nicely packed in a small box padded with styrofoam. This time the frames were loosly dumped into a giant box with some bubble wrap thrown on top. I ordered 2 sets and they were both this way. 4 of the 24 frames were cracked or broken. The glass was fine but not the plastic frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

kinda hard to get glass out to put pics in.

01/05/2014
By ,
Harrodsburg
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the look of these frames with pictures in them. the problem was getting the pictures in, they were just a little hard to get the glass out to put the pictures in them. Other than that i LOve the look.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Great frames for the price

12/29/2013
By ,
Brooklyn,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shipment came quickly. The pick up at my site to store at FedEx was easy. I was very impressed.
The frames are frames. They work and they look marvelous on the wall.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Perfect for Gifts!!!

12/16/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My siblings and I are giving pictures to all of our relatives this year. It was easy, very inexpensive and will make many of my relatives extremely happy.Great Gift Idea, if you are trying to get everyone on your Christmas list a little something.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

worth more than the price, I think

12/20/2009
By ,
Camden, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These frames are plastic (except for the front glass piece) but they're not flimsy or low-quality, and I'm really picky about that. I wasn't sure what to expect from Wal Mart, but I'm really happy with these. They're easy to use. I'm not sure how well they'd work as easel frames, because I didn't try them that way, but as far as the wall-hanging aspect goes, they're quite nice. I'm using them to spell out my cousins' names with photographs for Christmas, and I think they're gift-quality. The only minor issue is that they're *slightly* bigger than 4x6, so there is a little black space around my photos, but it doesn't look bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Broken frames but overall great product

10/21/2013
By ,
San Francisco, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I order 3 sets of the 4x6 mainstay photo frames and 1 set of the 5x7 mainstay photo frames. I was surprised to see The packages arrived fairly quick, about 2 days after the order was placed. The photos are pretty easy to insert, just pop out the glass and slide the photo in. I ended up making a collage and the final product looked really good considering the inexpensive cost of the frames, less then a dollar each.
Two of the photo frames cracked while shipping hence the star rating. But besides that loved the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Format Frame 4" x 6" Black, Set of 12

Good for the price, but you get what you pay for

10/10/2013
By ,
Youngstown, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These frames serve their purpose, but they're very difficult to put together. The little peg that you have to put in to make the frame stand is incredibly difficult to assemble. You also have to put the picture into the frame by popping the glass out of the front. This is more difficult on some of the frames and I already broke a piece of glass by trying to put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next