Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sea-Life Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sea-Life Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Live plants are essential for a well-balanced aquarium.
Average Customer Rating:
2.714 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation43%21 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Beautiful Plant

08/14/2011
By ,
ORLANDO,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, only one bulb sprouted out of 2 big ones. As someone else noted: you have to keep the receipt and you can mail the bulb back to the company for a replacement or you can always take it back to Walmart( don't think it would be an issue).
The plant is very pretty -reddish and green in colors. I will definitely buy more of those.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct
2.7 out of 5(49)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
Review 2 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

LOVE THIS PLANT!

10/08/2013
By ,
Lexington KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this one and the other one that Walmart sells. Both are great!
Here it is after about 4 weeks (see photo). It took a little while for it to start growing and it's not a fast growing as the other one, but as you can see, it's a beautiful plant!
I plan to buy another one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct
2.7 out of 5(49)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
Review 3 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct
01/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one package which had two bulbs. One was a dud. HOWEVER the other makes up for it. As you can see in photo we even had to wrap stems around long to allow light for the fish. We have at least 10 leafs and I just put the bulbs in 3 weeks ago. great color and great grow rate
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Good price.. But not the amount advertised..

12/26/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I only received one bulb in my package :(
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 5 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Sea Life Inc. has WONDERFUL customer service!!

10/20/2011
By ,
Petersburg, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two packs of bulbs, one aroponogenton & one lilly. I was very disappointed to find that they were all duds, growing white fuzz & not sprouting after several weeks. Knowing that they probably don't have a very long shelf life, I understood that this was not either company's fault. You just have no way of knowing if they will sprout or not until you throw them into your tank. I had made several other purchases at Wal-Mart that day, so I did not want to send in my receipt as proof of purchase. Instead, I put one lilly bulb back into the box I had purchased it in, put it into a regular envelope (bulky as it was), put two stamps on it & sent it off. I also thanked them in advance with a small not & a "Thank you!" on the back of the envelope. Within two weeks, I received thirteen bulbs in return!! They even wrote "Thank you Amanda!" on the back of their envelope as well! Needless to say, I am overwhelmingly pleased by their quick response, generosity & thoughtfulness! They now have a loyal & life long customer! Thank you Sea Life Inc.!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Petersburg, Va.
Just to clarify....
Posted 10/26/2011
I wanted to make clear that although I received a lot of bulbs back, they were small. So, I'm sure they send replacement bulbs based on weight. A friend of mine also sent some duds back and only received 6 bulbs, but they were VERY large compared to mine. I am happy to report that 3 days after my original post almost all of my bulbs have begun to sprout! Which is very exciting considering that it has only been a little more than a week since I received them in the mail!! I have 2 ten gallon tanks with one betta in each, gravel substrate & some blue plant light bulbs which I also purchased from Wal-Mart. I'm going to buy some plant fertilizer to speed up the growth. I'm really looking forward to my tank becoming a beautifuly planted and healthy home for my bettas!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Really is worth the money ... please read

08/23/2009
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To all the other people who negatively reviewed the product, you guys did waste your money. They garuntee the bulb to sprout in 30 days or they will send you new ones.
You must save your proof of purchase, because, like the others said, they don't always sprout. However, when you send the bulb back to the company and the proof of purchase, they are more than generous with the return. I sent in 1 bulb and in a few weeks received two handfuls worth of bulbs in the mail. Every one of those bulbs sprouted. Way more than what I paid for. I had to plant them in my other tank because there were so many of them! They are very beautiful when they grow.
LESSON HERE: keep your proof of purchase and read the instructions on everything you buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+67points
Review 7 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Very quick growing and clean

12/05/2009
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two packages of these yesterday and got 7 bulbs out of it. I let them sink on their own and only two refused to. I wrapped those up in a coffee filter with some gravel, tied it off with nylon and let it sink. I can see at least three bulbs already sprouting, including one of the ones who wouldn't sink on it's own. Now, that's what I call quick. I don't know why people are complaining about cloudy water because these I didn't even rinse off before putting them in and I got absolutely no dirt and the water is extremely clear. I think these are wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+25points
Review 8 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Didn't grow and the company didn't follow through.

07/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought a pack of these from Walmart back in April and tossed them into my tank, after three weeks there was no growth and white spots started forming on the bulb so I took them out and sent them back to Sea-Life with proof of purchase, a note, and the original packaging per the instructions on the original packaging. It is now mid July and I have not received a replacement, a letter, a phone call, or email. Nothing.
It's sad to see that the company has stopped honoring their guarantee when I read so many positive reviews before purchasing the bulbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 9 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

DOA

08/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PLANT BULB FLOATED ON TOP OF THE WATER. NEVER DID SINK LET ALONE SPROUT !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 10 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Nothing sprouted.

08/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered two of the Lily plants and after two weeks in the tank nothing has sprouted. One is floating if I don't partially bury it. Got seven bulbs from petco and all seven sprouted same day I placed them in the tank and are now plants. Looks like I'll be returning to sea-life.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 11 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Excellant plants for the money.

09/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While shopping in the Pet Section at Wal-Mart, I came across the Hardy Aponogeton and Dwarf Lily Aquarium Plant bulbs.
I just "popped" them in my Discus Fish tank and lush green and red plants are "up and running".
My aquarium is now beautiful. Discus love them.
The Lilys took a little longer but were certainly worth the wait!!! They look just like the picture on the card.
I highly recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Review 12 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Supplier out of business - no more replacements

08/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these bulbs and they did not grow, so I sent them back to South Dakota in May. After no response, I called the company today. The person who answered said that Sea-Life used to be there, but they went out of business in April 2014. So, forget about receiving your replacement bulbs if you sent them in after that. So, we as customers have no product, receipt or UPC code to return to Wal-Mart for any type of exchange or refund.........c'est la vie
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Review 13 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Bulb not viable.

07/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After a month of floating and rotting in my tank, I removed and discarded the bulb.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 14 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Company guarantee confirmed

03/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a few packages of a variety of bulbs available at Walmart. I kept all the packages and receipts. After they didn't sprout for weeks and fungus started growing on them I looked up the company online and found that other people had been successful in getting their bad bulbs exchanged for good ones with Sea-Life. I left the bulbs in the tank for the 30 days hoping sprouting would occur, but gave up after the guarantee time, dried the bulbs out and mailed them and a letter of explanation and copy of my receipt. In a couple weeks I rec'd 2 packages of bulbs, and have 100% growth within a week of placing in tank. I can only guess that there was some lag time before Walmart gets these things out on the shelves, and perhaps the bulbs were too old or something. The replacements are great. I really love companies that stand behind their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 15 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Best product on market

09/14/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product are the best I have seen. The plants grow after 3-4 weeks in the aquarium. And if they did not grow, I could return it to the compagny Sea-Life
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Review 16 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Actually produced a plant

08/28/2012
By ,
Huntington, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got some of these lilly bulbs in with my Christmas present from my sister. I had actually forgot about them, until I found them in a box in June. I popped the bulbs into my 29 gallon aquarium (which had NO live plants at this point). I really expected nothing to happen, since I had tried something similar before. To my surprise about a week after tossing them in the tank, I saw sprouts! Now I have two small lilly plants in my tank. They have grown all the way to the top of the water. Now I'm just waiting to see if they will actually flower. It's an added bonus that my fish seem to love these plants, and it has improved my water quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Too Easy...

10/12/2010
By ,
Cartertsville, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got a pack with 2 decent sized bulbs and both are sprouting after 6 days. One sank right off and the other sank after I held it under long enough for a large air bubble to escape. Both sprouts are reddish-purple in color. I can't wait to see how much they've grown today!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

VERY NICE LILLYS

09/08/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
people say that the lillys will not grow, well i find that hard to believe i sent one back that didn't grow and they sent me 3 back and i had to give one to a friend thanks.... out of 2 packs of lillys i now have 6 beautiful large plants counting the ones they sent me....THANKS AGAIN will buy again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

didn't grow, rotted in tank and polluted water

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Followed directions and did not grow, only laid in tank and rotted, polluting the water.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Sea-Life Plants Live Lily Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Amazing company

02/17/2014
By ,
Charlotte NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought a pack of these just to try them out. Within days it was moldy and clouding the water, so I sent the bulb to Sealife. In less than two weeks I received a package with 10 bulbs! Three were of the lilies, and seven of their other kind of bulb they sell. I put them in water and all but two sunk within minutes, those two had sunk within a few hours later. I have high hopes for all of these bulbs, though really I don't have space for them all!
Be prepared for the walmart bulbs to fail, then send them to Sealife. You will receive far more than what you paid for! I highly recommend this company. They have a lifetime customer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next