Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sea-Life Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Sea-Life Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Live plants are essential for a well-balanced aquarium. Aponogeton bulbs are one of the easiest aquarium plants to grow. They thrive in almost all water conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
2.729 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation52%25 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

LOVE THIS PLANT!

10/08/2013
By ,
Lexington KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this on a whim and only one of the three bulbs sprouted. I understand from other internet sources that the company is great about returns, so I'm doing that.... BUT... the one that spouted is AWESOME!
This is after about 30 days or so, but it grew really fast.
I also have the Lily Bulb and it's great too. The leaves are large with beautiful dark red color.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Plant Bulbs

04/05/2009
By ,
Ville Plate, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought a pack of these for my 14 gallon tank. When I put them in a couple of them went down instantly while the others just floated around, but after a few days they to eventually sank. Only one of them actually grew, the others grew what looked like mold on them & they smelled rotten so I took them out & threw them away. I bought a 50lb bag of special plant substrate from Dr. Foster & Smith called Eco-Complete which helped alot, along with lots of light. Within a few months, it went from a tiny bulb sprout to a very pretty, tall aponogeton plant, it grew to the top of my tank. You might have to buy a few packs to get a few plants, but they do grow. It's alot easier to just buy or order plants that are already grown, but this way does work.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

great value!

08/07/2011
By ,
oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Make sure you bury these in substrate or small gravel/rocks for them to grow well. I put them all in a little mesh bag made from a recycled mesh onion bag from the groc store, so I could keep them all together to see what they did. I first let them bobble around on the bottom of the tank, but then noticed everytime there was a sprout somebody nibbled it off. Then stuffed them in the chimney of the little ceramic "house" in the aquarium. They sprouted in about 4 days and grew well up to the surface of my 40 gal. tank in about 5 weeks. They had outgrown the chimney so I removed them and stuck the roots under a rock and gravel so it would anchor itself. That made them really grow!! My Koi eat the roots so I have to hide them from them. This is a bargain for live aquarium plants if you can stand to wait a few weeks. I bought more just to start in a window sill and then transplant later when they are big beautiful plants!.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

No viable bulbs.

07/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After a month, all of the bulbs have rotted and had to be discarded.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

You may get a plant

11/16/2009
By ,
Levittown NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this and tried all 5(?) bulbs, only one sprouted. The rest were dumped after a couple weeks of nothing (a little fungus yeah).
The one plant I got is wonderful. I have it in the 1.5 Gallon Tetra Aquarium Cube Tank (also sold here) with just 3 small goldfish in the tank. The plant is doing great and growing huge on my desk. It is somewhat near a window but not in direct sun, just the little LED on 8 hours a day. This plant keeps my tank balanced as my nitrate reading is near zero showing it is eating the fish waste as fertilizer.
Considering the low cost of this item I am happy with 1 plant per package.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Great for the price!

10/09/2010
By ,
Cartertsville, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking at prices for live aponogeton, I decided to try these bulbs. There were 6 bulbs for the 1/2 the price of one live plant (not including shipping). Three of the bulbs are sprouting after 4 days and the others look promising. Even if 3 are all I get out of this pack, I'll buy more of them. It's great value and I get to watch them grow!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

well woth it

04/23/2014
By ,
Cedar Hill ,TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product was a huge disapointment when I first bought it it made my water foggy my betta was not acting right they did not grow they were completly dried out. I held on to them for 2 moths before I sent them back to sea life inc. when I got them 3 weeks later they were already sprouted and huge. There growing in my tank right know there about 3in and its only bin 4 days. So just try to get good light brown ones and u will have no problems and they also have good costumer service.
p.s once they grow its well worth it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Sea-Life Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs.

06/13/2014
By ,
Bremerton,WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not impressed! Not one bulb has sprouted in 2 weeks and I've used root tabs. I will buy live plants from PetSmart in the future. Bought one already from them a Moneywort and it's doing great. Otherwise I've been happy with all aquatic supply that I purchased from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Good.. if used right

04/30/2009
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product, and at first I just set it in the tank, and it grew a little bit. Then, once I put it in the rocks like the directions say too, its huge now! I'm getting a bigger fish tank for it. Just make sure you put it under alot of rocks and it will grow quick
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Have to be patient

03/26/2009
By ,
Arab, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mine didn't grow for about six months. They are now growing great though. If you look up the type of plant it says that the root or bulb needs a period of time not producing leaves. They are beautiful now though. Good luck everyone
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs

06/06/2014
By ,
Nocona, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These have grown as said. They have grown tall and acts as if it will come out of the Beta tank.
The Betas like them because they can hide in them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Ehh.. OK

05/12/2010
By ,
West Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After about three months mine have finially started to grow. (not the 30 days boasted on the package) I just dropped them in the tank and waited for them to sprout. I can not remember now what the directions where but after they started growing roots and some leaves I placed them under the rocks slightly. The leaves started growing like mad then! They look ok and the fish seem to really enjoy the live plants. All of the 4 bulbs I can see are having some growth - one bulb I have lost in the tank somewhere but its probably growing. At any rate - 4 out of 5 is good for any bulb/seeds you purchase and start yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Did not flower. Just floated on top until moldy.

04/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not flower. Just floated on top until moldy. A complete waste of money.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct
07/25/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i chose these bulbs because i wanted to add live plants to my aquarium, but i did not want to buy the ones that are already grown because of the risk of parasites (snails). the first time i bought these a year ago, 4 out of 5 bulbs grew nicely. recently i bought more and only one grew. But that's not a problem because if you mail the company the bulbs that didn't grow within 1 month along with proof of purchase, they will mail you back new ones. I did this and was extremely surprised when i received 18! i have only put 3 in my tank from this batch and 2 have already grown. even if they do not grow from the original batch it is well worth buying and mailing the 'duds', because you get so many more. some of them are huge too. i'm storing them in the fridge because i read somewhere that it helps them grow. if during the winter months they look like they died, remove them, store them in the fridge, and put them back in your tank after about a month they will begin growing again, they were just in hibernation. or if you would like continuous growth you can cut off the flowers that grow above the surface
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Learned to Use a little Prep-work

04/27/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The only way I have found to make these things grow, is to put them in a clear glass. Put a couple inches of water in with them, and sit them in the window seal. Then, basically forget about them. After a week or two they will start to grow. I Love live plants in my tank, but they're a little bit too much work when you can just go buy them. As soon as they do start to grow, make sure you get the bulb buried so once the roots grow they can grab hold of the gravel. Good Luck once you start trying to clean the gravel, they're a pain to get to stick back down to the bottom again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Hardy plant so far!

12/26/2012
By ,
Canton, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a pack of these about a month ago. I put all four bulbs in my aquarium and my goldfish proceeded to kick them about the tank like soccer balls. I had about one sprout, and it is thriving nicely and is tough standing up to the goldfish which like to nibble at it and root it up out of the gravel every now and then. I saved the other three to send back to the company as directed on the back of the box but lost my receipt. My bad! This plant is definitely less expensive than live plants I would have to travel a long way to purchase or order online. I will probably buy a few more bulbs (and make sure to save my receipt this time in case they don't sprout). I did notice that the one bulb that sprouted was bigger and fuller than the rest, so that may be an indicator as to what to look for when purchasing more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Can't believe people have an issue!

08/21/2012
By ,
Mount Pleasant, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these a while back for my 20 Gal community tank and I just can't believe that anyone has had a problem with these! I planted my bulbs in my gravel and they all sprouted perfectly! Such a cheap way to get multiple plants for an aquarium, and it was fun to watch them grow! I wouldn't reccomend these for a brand new aquarium, mine was about a year old when I planted them. The benefit to doing this is that there's plenty of waste (Fertilizer) for the plants to grow with. Maybe people have been putting them into tanks that are just not mature enough for the plants? I don't know. I had no problems with these and I would recommend them to anyone who wants some cheap, hardy plants in their system!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

so far, so good

07/29/2010
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I got these bulbs, I just put one in because I didn't want to pollute the tank with a potential bomb. It's sprouting leaves but no roots yet. I'll try burying it like someone suggested. So, I put the rest of the bulbs in last week and one of them is already sprouting. I got the lilly bulbs, too, but no luck with them. I think they're duds. It might all depend on the condition of the tank. I have my two goldfish in a 5 gallon bucket outside on my patio. They have a little bit of air going through a small air stone and they have a few rocks from the yard and a fake tree trunk to hide in. I feed and clean they're bucket twice a day with a baster and replace the water I take out in the process. They seem happy. They're fins are in pristeen condition and they don't hide from me. In fact, if the conditions were perfect, I'm sure I'd have little ones, too, because every time I feed them, they do their little mating dance. It's so cool!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Never grew- MOLDY

03/07/2014
By ,
Oakley, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a pack of these bulbs in hopes to grow plants in my tank. I was so excited for these! Unfortunately, they never grew and began to turn moldy. I wouldn't buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sea-Life Plants Live Aponogeton Aquarium Bulbs, 1ct

Company actually backs there product

12/15/2012
By ,
boonton, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought these bulbs cause they were cheap enough i figured if 1 or two sprouted it was worth it.. Got 5 in package, only 1 sprouted.. i kept my receipt, and like the back said i mailed them my receipt and the 4 dud bulbs... about 1 week later i got a package with about 7 or 9 huge bulbs... all of which sprouted... Absolutely worth it, but hang on to your receipt.. The ones i purchased at the store were rather small dry bulbs.. However the ones mailed to me from them were huge fresh, and litereally sprouted within 24 hours... Def worth it.. i'd get the lilys too but my wal-mart was out of them..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Placerville California
Posted 08/03/2013
My Walmart only had the Aponogeton and no Lilly's :( Get more plants stocked Walmart!!! :) please!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next