Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sterilite Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Sterilite Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Sterilite 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Stackable Storage Boxes let you keep your stuff safe over long or short periods of time. Made of durable plastic, this stackable storage unit can be placed in the attic, basement, garage or other space. Suitable for the workplace, commercial venues or the home, the Sterilite tote box combines durability and a clean, simple design. These plastic storage boxes have a generous 18-gallon capacity and contemporary design, letting you comfortably store a lot of stuff, including paper, clothes, linen, toys and other household items. The stack and nest design maximizes the storage efficiency, letting you keep more boxes in a smaller space. Each features a contoured snap-on lid that fits tightly to the base, allowing easy and secure stacking with the additional totes. This secure snap-on lid also ensures safety for the items inside, keeping them dry and clean for when you need them again.
Average Customer Rating:
4.479 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(351 Reviews) 303
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
75
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation91%320 out of 351reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 163 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
75
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

arrived in great shape

01/09/2014
By ,
detroit, mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
no damage, they all were delivered to my front door (good thing--THEY ARE HEAVY) in great condition with no damage at all. the one complaint is the new design. they used to be a uniform shape , now they taper(go from wide at top and narrow at bottom) this makes packing more of a challenge. they used to be one shape straight up and down, same size all around, now the tapered tote makes me wonder if they actually are eighteen gallons still.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8
02/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The measurements online are right on. They fit perfect where I was putting them. The only thing, is that one of the lids was cracked from shipping site to store. That did not bother me though because I didn't need to use the lids for my kids toys.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Need Better Shipping Methods/Pkging, Flimsy Lids

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price was nice, but we were disappointed at pick up. The product probably would have been great, had the already thin and flimsy lids not been stabbed by box cutters or cracked during transfer. Three of eight lids are damaged. To stand alone on a shelf, they will cover the contents; but to they are no longer durable enough to be stackable. The other five don't look like they'll be able to stand much weight when stacked either. I've bought better from a competitor. Not worth it, even if there is a bulk discount.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Great Product, Bad Packaging for Shipping

11/08/2013
By ,
Hemet, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've ordered 3 sets of these storages boxes. EACH & every one of them had one bin damaged in a corner from, I'm assuming, shipping. If you want these, have them sent to the Site-To-Store so they can check them out before bringing them home with damage, then having to schlep them back to the store, wait in line, and try re-ordering. I think it's the responsibility of Sterilite because it was their boxes and they were flimsy, it's no wonder there was breakage. If not for the damage, these would be a 5-star!! Be forewarned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

storage bins

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liked these so much I may buy another set. Water-tight lids are important as some of these will be stored outside...under a tarp, but still. Walmart was perfect in every respect for this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

I returned these after short usage

12/15/2013
By ,
Albany, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These totes are the thinnest Sterilite totes I have ever purchased. (and I have a lot of them, all of which have lasted. I have some that are more than 20 years old). They collapsed under the weight of being stacked and the lids are tearing where the corners of the tote on top is putting weight on the tote underneath. I bought 35 of these. I wish I could return all of them, but I was only able to return the 8 that were still new. What a waste of money! This spring when the weather warms, I am going to have to rebuy sturdier ones and repack our entire storage until. Waste of money!g
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Great totes!

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An amazing deal and great totes!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Best Price on Storage Boxes!!!

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These seemed too good to be true at less than $40 for 8 of these large storage boxes! I was not disappointed. They arrived within 2 days - 2 days before anything else in my order and were exactly what I needed for storage in my basement and storage for our camping supplies. I took 2 of them camping with us and they held up and kept the camping gear and food dry, even as it rained on our site. I am very pleased with this purchase and will be ordering a couple additional sets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Only Place That would Ship these to my house.

02/15/2010
By ,
Triad Region, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm disabled. I needed a bunch of these totes but no one but Walmart would actually ship them to my house! I am ecstatic. Sterlite is a quality brand and the price can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Cheap Breakable Containers

01/18/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The lids show stress marks by just putting them on the containers. One corner of the lid cracked just gently placing on the container. The lids do not snap on firmly and the plastic is already cracking on the first use. DO NOT buy these containers. I will pay more and get Rubbermaid next time, these containers are not going to last and they will crack under little pressure. I would not put them in any cold areas like a garage, or they would crack even more than they have already. Cheap, cheap, plastic that will not last.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

These storage tubs help make organization easy!

07/07/2010
By ,
Upper Midwest USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My local WM store no longer carries this style of storage tub and since I have many of them already, I was happy to find them available online. The Sterilite brand seem to hold up to heavy weight and stacking better than any other brand. Other brands and recycled plastic are the worst storage tubs for the long haul. I've had to replace every one of the other brands because of cracking, splitting, and buckling. Now all of my storage totes are Sterilite in this style and color. Since they are all the same shape and size, they stack very well on top of each other without toppling over, buckling or cracking. Sterilite totes are GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Well Worth It

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used these same ones for years and they hold up to abuse and stay locked.. They stack real nice....
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8
01/24/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is what it is. Almost waterproof storage in the bed of my truck. Seems to get more snow inside than it does rain.
If it gets very far below freezing the plastic will turn extremely brittle. Not an issue just an FYI for the money you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Super value for storage and moving containers

11/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For moving nothing beats these plastic totes. When emptied, they stack neatly in a corner of the garage ready for their next job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Storage Box

06/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! I use this product for everything, it is the perfect size for office, home, outdoors, traveling, etc... you can store a good amount of stuff in ti, papers, clothes, linen, etc... it is effective when you stack them and it closes very secure. This is ideal for moving. The only one thing, for my organizational jobs, I would like to have colors, it would make it easier to go back and look for stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Sturdy bins & good color

11/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, good product. They stack up and lids fit well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Great tote.

10/28/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tote for storing your stuff in the attic. Good size, stacks well, durable. Great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

good for the price

04/02/2012
By ,
Dayton, Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These bins are great for the price. The lids are sturdy and snap on tight. The are easy to stack, store and pack things into. The only reason I didn't give it all the stars is because they seem smaller in height than the old grey 18 gal bins, which means its a little harder to store things in. But over a great product, wish it was more colorful or even just clear, but i guess that not very important.
Also I paid for them to be shipped to my home, since in store pick up was going to take weeks. They were delivered in 48 hrs for only $2 something shipping :) I was pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

great product!

10/20/2012
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how sturdy these are. They last forever and are very durable. I like the new opaque/see-through bins. They're not clear, so it's not a cluttered view of your storage, but you can see enough to tell what stuff is without opening all the lids. My only suggestion for improvement would be to make a smooth surface on the front the size of a big index card so that I could put normal index card-sized labels on, since it's hard for tape to stay stuck to the texture, especially in the cold. Duct tape works though. I also wish they didn't taper so much at the bottom so I could maximize storage space, but oh well. If you want that option just buy a more expensive tub. I wrote that I've had this product for a few weeks but I already have older tubs that are the same (gray though) and they've lasted years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Great Containers at an awesome price!

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are great containers and they are very durable and big. I ordered them online and they arrived safe and sound on time! Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 290 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next