Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sterilite Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Sterilite Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Sterilite 18-Gallon (72-Quart) Stackable Storage Boxes let you keep your stuff safe over long or short periods of time. Made of durable plastic, this stackable storage unit can be placed in the attic, basement, garage or other space. Suitable for the workplace, commercial venues or the home, the Sterilite tote box combines durability and a clean, simple design. These plastic storage boxes have a generous 18-gallon capacity and contemporary design, letting you comfortably store a lot of stuff, including paper, clothes, linen, toys and other household items. The stack and nest design maximizes the storage efficiency, letting you keep more boxes in a smaller space. Each features a contoured snap-on lid that fits tightly to the base, allowing easy and secure stacking with the additional totes. This secure snap-on lid also ensures safety for the items inside, keeping them dry and clean for when you need them again.
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(327 Reviews) 279
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
223
4 stars
72
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation91%299 out of 327reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 162 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
223
4 stars
72
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

arrived in great shape

01/09/2014
By ,
detroit, mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
no damage, they all were delivered to my front door (good thing--THEY ARE HEAVY) in great condition with no damage at all. the one complaint is the new design. they used to be a uniform shape , now they taper(go from wide at top and narrow at bottom) this makes packing more of a challenge. they used to be one shape straight up and down, same size all around, now the tapered tote makes me wonder if they actually are eighteen gallons still.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8
02/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The measurements online are right on. They fit perfect where I was putting them. The only thing, is that one of the lids was cracked from shipping site to store. That did not bother me though because I didn't need to use the lids for my kids toys.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Best Price on Storage Boxes!!!

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These seemed too good to be true at less than $40 for 8 of these large storage boxes! I was not disappointed. They arrived within 2 days - 2 days before anything else in my order and were exactly what I needed for storage in my basement and storage for our camping supplies. I took 2 of them camping with us and they held up and kept the camping gear and food dry, even as it rained on our site. I am very pleased with this purchase and will be ordering a couple additional sets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Great Product, Bad Packaging for Shipping

11/08/2013
By ,
Hemet, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've ordered 3 sets of these storages boxes. EACH & every one of them had one bin damaged in a corner from, I'm assuming, shipping. If you want these, have them sent to the Site-To-Store so they can check them out before bringing them home with damage, then having to schlep them back to the store, wait in line, and try re-ordering. I think it's the responsibility of Sterilite because it was their boxes and they were flimsy, it's no wonder there was breakage. If not for the damage, these would be a 5-star!! Be forewarned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

18 gallon Sterlite Storage box, or Totes

06/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Glad i bought them, they are not as flimsy as some people say. Time will tell
how they hold up, but they worked great for me to plant my Tomatoes in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

I returned these after short usage

12/15/2013
By ,
Albany, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These totes are the thinnest Sterilite totes I have ever purchased. (and I have a lot of them, all of which have lasted. I have some that are more than 20 years old). They collapsed under the weight of being stacked and the lids are tearing where the corners of the tote on top is putting weight on the tote underneath. I bought 35 of these. I wish I could return all of them, but I was only able to return the 8 that were still new. What a waste of money! This spring when the weather warms, I am going to have to rebuy sturdier ones and repack our entire storage until. Waste of money!g
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Best value

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shopped around for the best price and no one could come close. I thought 8pc meant 4 tubs, 4 lids, but it was 8 and 8. Better than I thought, especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Recieved damaged

08/29/2014
By ,
NE
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
One of the tops was cracked in 4 places. One of the bottoms had a smashed corner. The cardboard package was very thin and only had one piece of tape to keep it together, and was smashed when I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Great product and delivered within a week.

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! My storage problems have been solved with these attractive
Clean totes that stack easily No water,bugs or dust can get in. I may buy
More for other areas of the house and garage
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Cheap Breakable Containers

01/18/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The lids show stress marks by just putting them on the containers. One corner of the lid cracked just gently placing on the container. The lids do not snap on firmly and the plastic is already cracking on the first use. DO NOT buy these containers. I will pay more and get Rubbermaid next time, these containers are not going to last and they will crack under little pressure. I would not put them in any cold areas like a garage, or they would crack even more than they have already. Cheap, cheap, plastic that will not last.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

18 gallon totes w/lids

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like these totes. This is my second order of them and I will be making a third. I am moving in a few months and I am packing every thing in them. I don't have to worry about getting bugs.
They stack and I have made labels so I know what is in the tote. One on the side, one on top. Nice and neat.
When I get where I am going much easier to put things away . Leave packed what I don't need right away.
Christmas or Holiday decorations can stay packed until needed.
I recommend anyone who is trying to get organized to use these. Can't beat the cost either. I shopped around before buying these .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Great unit for organizing

08/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great size container for organizing items in your garage or home. They stack great. Keeps the moisture out and is a great value at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Only Place That would Ship these to my house.

02/15/2010
By ,
Triad Region, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm disabled. I needed a bunch of these totes but no one but Walmart would actually ship them to my house! I am ecstatic. Sterlite is a quality brand and the price can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Perfect for my needs

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was easy to pick up in the back of the store for Walmart.com orders. Totes were well packed and associate put them in a cart, wheeled them out and loaded them in my car for me. I would do it all over again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

These storage tubs help make organization easy!

07/07/2010
By ,
Upper Midwest USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My local WM store no longer carries this style of storage tub and since I have many of them already, I was happy to find them available online. The Sterilite brand seem to hold up to heavy weight and stacking better than any other brand. Other brands and recycled plastic are the worst storage tubs for the long haul. I've had to replace every one of the other brands because of cracking, splitting, and buckling. Now all of my storage totes are Sterilite in this style and color. Since they are all the same shape and size, they stack very well on top of each other without toppling over, buckling or cracking. Sterilite totes are GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8
01/24/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is what it is. Almost waterproof storage in the bed of my truck. Seems to get more snow inside than it does rain.
If it gets very far below freezing the plastic will turn extremely brittle. Not an issue just an FYI for the money you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Saves a few buck over buying in store

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They shipped to my house for free and it saved me a few bucks over buying in store. THey stack pretty good and are not the strongest tote but they are perfect for what i needed . (i would not load it full of heavy tools)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Storage Box

06/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! I use this product for everything, it is the perfect size for office, home, outdoors, traveling, etc... you can store a good amount of stuff in ti, papers, clothes, linen, etc... it is effective when you stack them and it closes very secure. This is ideal for moving. The only one thing, for my organizational jobs, I would like to have colors, it would make it easier to go back and look for stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Holds quite a bit but too small at the bottom

12/09/2013
By ,
Lakeland FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only issue with these is that the bottom is much narrower than the top, making it very difficult to fit large items. I would definitely look for a different type in the future, one with straighter sides. The are very deep, and an excellent price, but they didn't really work for the purpose I needed them for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sterilite 18 Gallon Tote Box- Steel, Set of 8

Very durable

08/10/2014
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very handy for moving. I used to pack up my daughter's things for college.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 266 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next