Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

This Energy Star-qualified 720p model saves energy and saves space. It's only than 4.3 inches deep without its stand, so it's perfect for smaller rooms. The tuner can receive conventional analog channels (NTSC), as well as digital channels (ATSC), including over-the-air HDTV broadcasts where available and unscrambled digital cable channels. Two HDMI inputs and a variety of other inputs make it simple to connect DVD players, camcorders, digital cameras, or even a computer. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.189 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation84%31 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV

11/20/2008
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product and great price well below competitors. I had some restrictions and concerns when looking for a HDTV : We had to fit this unit in an existing entertainment cabinet 31 inches wide and 27 inches tall. This was the only 32 inch unit we found that had the right dimentions. Also did not like the black shiny border found on most TV's because it reflects light from other sources causing a distraction. This TV has a small matt black border that eliminates that issue. The sound is great and can be adjusted above the air conditioner noise and the kids! Also we are pleased with the tuner reception. We live in the country about 40 miles from the metro TV towers and have very good reception with this unit. I had been concerned because before this TV we used a Digital TV converter and the picture and sound were constantly breaking up due to poor reception. In both cases we were using the same antenna. No issues now so we can avoid getting a dish or cable.
And last we did get the extended warranty because of the 90 day labor only on this TV. Small price to pay based on the cost of this TV vs others in the same class. Hope this review helps you> :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Awesome TV at an awesome price

10/09/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is beautiful in all aspects. It does everything very well. It has a great picture, perfect sound quality and awesome VGA graphics. At 20 watts per channel, it has twice the power of some TVs with only 10 watts of power. If you need more volume, just hook it up to your stereo system and crank it up! It picks up the HD channels coming through my external antenna for free and doesn’t miss a beat. As far as having to attach the base yourself, I am sorry to inform everyone but, every TV and/or monitor you purchase; you will have to install the base. It is not rocket science and is super easy to figure out. You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Huge Disappointment

01/09/2009
By ,
Bradley, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this TV from Walmart in July. By December, we were having problems with it freezing up. It then began to have issues with powering up. It sometimes takes 10 minutes for the picture to come on and stay on. Unit would turn itself on and off when powering up and make a horrible noise with lines on the screen. We ended up needing a new unit. We'll see how the replacement goes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

just great

02/07/2009
By ,
brownsville, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had absolutely no trouble with this tv. I have had it for 5 months; and I use this product excessively. I use my ps3, ps2 on it. and I watch tv. The sound is great, the picture quality is fantastic, considering it is only 720p. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

So far it's okay

12/28/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have had the tv for about a month. It has worked fine but the sound has gone out a couple of times. When you shut the tv off and restart it, the sound is back. Otherwise no problems yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

not again

10/03/2008
By ,
WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Right off the box I had trouble. The sound doesn't go high being that I'm deaf in one ear but I don't have trouble if it went up as my others do. This buzzing sound goes on and off. The screen freezes and gets those little digital squares. Kind of a cheap plastic stand which you must put on yourself. This is all in two days. I took a chance being that my other Maganavox just powered off and never came back on. Guess I have to take this back and spend a few more bucks for better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Perfect TV

03/04/2009
By ,
Tiverton, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did extensive research to find a great TV for a good price for my boyfriend for Christmas this year. I looked everywhere and I couldn't find anything under $500 that was worth buying because it either had really bad reviews, the picture wasn't good, or the speakers rattled. Finally I found this TV online and ordered almost immediatly. It had everything I ws looking for- a big screen, great picture and good sound! Plus it was under $500! On Christmas Day we hooked it up and it had a great picture and good sound. Now we have HD and the picture is amazing! The sound would be better with a sound system but it's good enough for the bedroom. Now for his birthday I need to find a bluray player :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Good Value IF you like LCD

10/30/2008
By ,
Wilmington, De
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV because it was the ONLY 32" that would fit in my space (BARELY). From a function, feature, and value perspective I am pleased with my first 14 days. FRANKLY I think LCD TVs are 2nd rate next to CRT's - and without DIGITAL and/or HD programming the pixelation makes the picture look like junk. Of course that is channel by channel, and based on the service you have, and will become less prevelant as the market becomes more and more HD/Digital.
One unexpected reaction is my Guitar Hero III doesn't function with this TV. (WHAT??) -- Yes - read the internet blogs if you like this game, it is actually an issue in the program, and other GH versions are OK. Also there is a "calibrate lag" feature in the Guitar Hero Game that helped for me (but not for everyone apparently).
Also - These new TV's take a second or 2 to bring up a channel -- quite a pain for a quick channel surfer like me -- but again, this is not just an issue with this TV.
ALL in ALL - the TV seems fine - accepting the picture issue is due to my lack of HD/Digital Cable.
The channel surfing delay is inherent in most new TVs. AND the bug in Guitar Hero is a game issue.
The only thing directly about the TV that bothers me is the WEAK remote. From 5 feet away I have to point DIRECTLY at the sensor (not 5 degrees off).
They should have included a rifle scope to mount on the remote.
ALSO happy with WALMART as a retailer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Fantastic Bargain & TV

10/20/2008
By ,
Lake Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking at 32" LCD HDTV for quite some time and when mine finally quit, did not think I could get one this large. It is everything the description says it is and more. Perfect in the bedroom for a near blind person like myself. A friend says it's better than the Emerson she got a week later. I have not attached speakers yet and tried the PC with it but am sure it will live up to expectations. Especially love the sleep timer so I don't wake up to turn it off. Site to store is great as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Good choice

10/22/2008
By ,
Norfolk, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One week into using it and I'm satisfied with the product. This Magnavox 32" LCD has much better sound quality than the Vizio 32" plasma which I had returned. It even has more input connections than Vizio (so I can use my old devices). It is for bedroom use so I do not plan on adding external speakers. I have a different entertainment system setup in my family room. I hope it will provide a great many evenings of viewing pleasure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Love it

10/18/2008
By ,
Springfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This television was easy to set up. It only requires 3 tiny screws to put the base on, progaramming was simple, and it was easy to hook up to my stereo. The picture is clear and the sound is crisp (before the stereo was hooked up). Now that the stereo is hooked up, it sounds even better. This is the first LCD I have owned and I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Worst TV Ever

11/17/2008
By ,
Casper, WY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely dissapointed with this TV. The sound is a mono. The description says stereo, but it has one speaker on the back of the tv...that is obviously mono. The display colors looked like they were bleeding into eachother. I returned the tv to Walmart and exchanged it for a Phillips. I spent more, but it was definately worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 13 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Am Returning it -flawed picture

10/28/2008
By ,
Minneapolis
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If it didn't have a damaged picture I would have probably been pleased, but we set it all up and there were lines down part of the screen. I went out and got a Sharp elsewhere (same price & size) and it works perfectly. Now that I have the Sharp, I can tell the stand is more sturdy, remote easier to use than this one also.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 14 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Awful product

10/28/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these Magnavox TV's for xmas gifts for my kids. When I picked them up I took them straight home and hooked one of them up. The picture was the worst I'd ever seen. It was very washed out. I don't know if it was a defect or just the way these sets are. I did not even open the 2nd, and took them both back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 15 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

NOT WORTH A PENNY!

01/12/2009
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased 2 Magnavox LCD televisions. At 14 months and 15 months both televisions lost their picture. JUST A COUPLE OF MONTHS AFTER THE WARRANTIES EXPIRED!! Took to a repair shop where I was told that the cost to fix would be greater than the televisons were worth. HAULED BOTH TO OUR LOCAL DUMP!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Great HDTV for the price!

11/16/2008
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been looking at HDTVs for months. The price and good reviews made this a logical choice. We were not disappointed. Our last Magnavox was still going strong after 14 years, but we were wanting high-definition. I recommend this set, for the price. Shipping was very fast, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Amazing!!!

11/06/2008
By ,
Cleveland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tv two weeks ago and it has been amazing since I plugged it in. The digital tuner picks up all the digital channels in my area and it also picks up the HD channels over the air. Great TV for a really great price! Works great with XBox 360 as well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

GREAT PRODUCT

12/14/2008
By ,
Raceland, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome TV. It has a better picture than the Sony that I overpaid big bucks for. Would highly recommend it. WTG::: Magnavox. I bought this one on the blitz sale wish I hada bought 2 more. Was truly amazed how clear the sound and picture is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Great TV.

11/21/2008
By ,
Payson, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first LCD HDTV and so far I am very pleased with it. It has so many inputs of so many types. I have no complaints with this TV. Best of all it does not have the squeal or flicker of the old CRT style TVs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Magnavox 32" LCD HDTV, 32MF338B

Great TV

11/17/2008
By ,
Granbury, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased this tv for our bedroom. It is just what we wanted. It has a beautiful picture and the sound is great. We are very happy with this purchase! We felt it was a great product for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next