Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Action Train Table

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Step2 Step2 Action Train Table

This large all-in-one train table provides hours of imaginative play. Its extra-large surface encourages interaction between children, and its horizontal layout puts the entire play surface within easy reach.
Average Customer Rating:
4.453 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(190 Reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
44
3 stars
14
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%175 out of 190reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
44
3 stars
14
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Action Train Table

WHY PAY MORE!!!!

06/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This train table is superb! My 3yr old just loves the thing. It is a solid table and is very durable. The fact that it converts to craft table is great. I was shocked that it only cost $45bucks! It comes with a cool 3car train that uses 1AA battery to go around the whole track. He puts all of his HotWheels cars on the track most of the time because it is compatible with most major brands of cars and trains. I've seen train tables for well over $100, but for what; I mean, if you have the money, by all means, but for the consumer conscience, this is a GREAT table at GREAT price, with GREAT Site-to-Store shipping.
PS- There is some insertion of screws to hold together the table legs to the table that would be a bit tedious with just a regular screwdriver. I used a power drill and it worked out great. Definite time saver.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 2 for Step2 Action Train Table

It's okay

11/07/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased for my son's 2nd birthday. easy to put together. I did put up many of the sign because they ended up all over the floor. My son climbs into it to play and ends up taking out the bridge and station. He actually has been playing more with a the Mega Blocks Tiny and Tough Build it race track I got him then the train table.
This is a great toy I recommend it for 1 1/2 years. The sooner the age the more you'll get from the toy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Step2 Action Train Table

great track,, ships fast

08/01/2010
By ,
Baltimore, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this toy online on july10 (sat) for my son's bday on july 14 (wed). I thought it wouldn't arrive on his bday, (i miscalculated the day i should order) but to my surprise, it arrived just in time. My son is so happy with this toy. I didn't bother to put the screws and it is still sturdy, he does often climb onto it. It can accomodate thomas trains and other wooden trains(ikea).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Step2 Action Train Table

GREAT BUY!

04/24/2010
By ,
Bethel Park, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son for his 2nd birthday, and I COULD NOT be happier! He isn't into trains, just cars, so the typical train table didn't work. This is perfect because all of his matchbox and hot wheels cars fit on the track, and I don't have to put the tracks together a million times a day! He LOVES it and plays with it for hours at a time!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Step2 Action Train Table

WE LOVE THIS TRAIN TABLE!!

07/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our son just opened his new train table that we bought him for his 4th birthday - and we couldn't be happier! He LOVES his train table! And we are very happy with the quality and value of this toy. The entire experience has been great - we had it shipped to our house for only $2.97! It came within two days! Set up was so easy, too! There aren't many pieces so it makes set up a snap! Perhaps what we love the most about this train table is the battery operated train! My 4 year old just can't get enough of watching that thing go around the tracks! I think we may need to purchase a second one just so our 3 year old can get a chance to play! Even our 6 year old seems really interested in playing with it! Overall, this is a great product and great value. No wooden pieces to put together or come undone or find all over your house! I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a really fun train table for a small child and a small price!! GREAT VALUE!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 6 for Step2 Action Train Table

Train Table

08/19/2010
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My preschool class is enjoying their new Step 2 action train table. It appears to be durable enough for four classes of 60 children to enjoy. My only complaint with the manufacturer is they failed to design it deep enough so you don't have to remove the train station and bridge every time to replace the lid when you are finished playing. I think continued pulling on the bridge to remove it will evenually damage it. We also struggle with finding a place for the train station and bridge to lay horizontally so the lid will fit. A deeper design would have alleviated these two problems.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Step2 Action Train Table

Step 2 Train Table "Two Big Thumbs Up"!

12/27/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this table as a Christmas present for my son.I did so after looking at more expenseive wooden train table sets. This table took less than 30 minutes to put together. All the pieces were there. The table looked great. My son was so excited when he saw the table, and he has played with it for hours. He can use his hot wheels on this table, and the tracks are molded to the table so they don't come apart. It has a flat cover that goes on it, so that the kids can use it as a table to color, etc. However, he is too busy using the trains for us to try out that feature. I would recommend highly!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Step2 Action Train Table

Wonderful Product!

02/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My soon to be four year old and I sat down and looked at all the trains sets online and he picked this one because of the bridge and station. When we got it he was so excited! it was easy to put together, although the holes were not pre drilled. He plays with it every day. his cars and thomas trains fit right on the tracks. My 8 year old daughter and her friends play with it too! its not too big, will fit under the bed if you dont put the legs on. Its sturdy, he likes to sit in it. Great product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Step2 Action Train Table

Fun Fun!

01/12/2010
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 1/2 year old got this train table for Christmas, and hasn't stopped playing with it! He's a pretty rough kid, so we really like the fact that the track is built into the table. It also fits his Matchbox cars, so we race those around the track too! The cover is very sturdy (he's, of course, been standing on it!) And we love the little train that comes with it. It has been a great purchase - well worth the $50!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Step2 Action Train Table

Train Table

06/02/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my godson Angel and he absolutely loves it. My sister, his grandma, put it together, although she did need a drill to make holes to screw the legs in. Angel said it's just like the one he plays with at the library.
What I liked the most is that it came with a cover which turns it into a table. The idea of making it multi-functioning is brilliant.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Step2 Action Train Table
02/22/2011
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
one of the legs arrived cracked, i still have to call step 2 to see if they will replace it for me. other than that my 2 yr old loves it. he played w it so much the first day the battery died in the train. he also loves to sit in it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Step2 Action Train Table

2 year old loves it

03/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves this train table. We gave it to her for her second birthday and she has played with it every day.
Pros:
- Accepts Thomas Take Along Trains (not Trackmaster or Wooden Railway), Brio, Matchbox, and Disney Cars Mini
- Track does not fall apart--only removable items are the station and the bridge
- Top works as a table
- 1/2 the price of other tables
- Included train goes by itself and usually stays on track
- Has a lever to stop the train--it stops it in the right spot to load logs onto the train
- She enjoys loading the logs
- Train can be played with on the floor... It goes all the way across the floor and keeps going until it hits something (then the wheels keep spinning but it doesn't go)
- Large enough for multiple children to play
- Comes with accessories (trees and signs)
- Sturdy (didn't collapse when I caught my 2 year old standing in it)
Cons:
- There is only one path to take on the track... no choices of path to take.
- Disney Cars die cast cars made by Mattel don't fit (they are too wide)... bought mini Cars instead and most of those fit (Wingo is too wide)
- The train uses one AA battery, but it doesn't last more than a week at our house. I started using rechargables so it doesn't matter....
- Station and bridge have to be removed to put the top on
- Included forklift is too wide to drive on the track
Overall, we are very happy with this table. I recommended it to my friend and her son will be getting his own for his birthday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+253points
Review 13 for Step2 Action Train Table

Loved it!

10/04/2009
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this with the site to store delivery to our local store for my son's second birthday. We gave it to him a week early because we were so excited to set it up. It was very easy to set up and my son absolutely loved it. When I told everyone about it and how much he loved it they all bought him matchbox cars and accessories to go with it. It has been a huge hit here, we have tried to put the cover on it but he gets upset because at night he wants to see it. All of my nephews loved it and have asked for one for CHristmas as well as my mom who wants to get one for her house for the kids to play with. Great product, great value, highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 14 for Step2 Action Train Table

grandson loved train

07/01/2009
By ,
Coshocton, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the train for my three year old grandson. He loved it.
Easy to put together.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 15 for Step2 Action Train Table

Great price, fun toy!

09/23/2009
By ,
Corona, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This table is a WAY better deal than the Canyon Deluxe table. They are basically just the same thing...this one is a tiny bit smaller BUT it comes with a moving train! My boys love it. The first day they played with it for HOURS. The novelty has wore off now, but they still love it. Great toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 16 for Step2 Action Train Table

Cute,Sturdy, and most of all Fun!

06/02/2009
By ,
Naples, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this train table on clearance for $15 dollars as an early christmas gift for my then 13 month old son. It was awsome in the begining b/c it was something for him to cruise around right before he started walking. Now he is 19 months old and LOVES the train table!! He plays with it daily and likes to climb on top of it for a better view ;) My only complaints were that my son kept taking the bridge off and part of the bridge broke but we super glued it to the table and fixed it and we glued the train station to the table as well. We don't have any problems with it now. Make sure ( as with almost all Step2 products) have a pwer drill handy to put it together, other then that, wonderful product. Grandpa loves it almost as much as my son! i see this being lots of fun for some time b/c as soon as he tires of the trains then we will get him hot wheel cars to play with on it. I LOVE Step2 products and have several of them for my son.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Step2 Action Train Table

Great table!

02/22/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm glad I picked this over the Deluxe Canyon Road Train and Track Table. At least for my kids who are both under 3, I felt that this is more suitable for them as their 1st train table. I love the fact I don't have to worry about fixing some removable tracks. And that it comes with a battery operated train. My sons loves it. He uses outside of the table too. We haven't try putting any other kind of cars on the track yet. Love the fact that I can use it as a craft table as well. Crayon marks wipe off easily.
My only complain to this would be I wish they had packed it better. The top of the table board got chipped significantly as I first opened it. It's big enough that you'll notice it, but not big enough to really interfere with its function. Plus, I really didn't want to deal with the hassle of returning at Walmart and waiting for another one to come in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for Step2 Action Train Table

good deal!

03/29/2010
By ,
Kyle, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was cheaper to buy from Walmart than through the Step 2 website. It didn't come with the scenery stickers but a call to the Step 2 people got them delivered in less than a week.
My son is enjoying it completely. He's 20 months now. He likes putting different cars and trains in to see which fit good.
The only thing I didn't like about it was the cover. Its not water-proof. I won't be giving my son wet or sticky foods to eat or drink on it. Dry snacks only.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Step2 Action Train Table

Good for a First Train Table

12/28/2009
By ,
Louisiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Santa brought this for my son this year. A few things to point out about this table: The bridge and "loading station" are a little difficult to snap into place. The bridge is too easy to pull off which my 2 year old son does and then needs me to put it back on for him... over and over again. The loading station goes down enough that the train will ride over it but if you activate the switch to stop it so it can be loaded then it stops it a little too soon. My son hasn't yet gotten the hang of nudging it forward a little to load it but I'm sure he will. It IS the perfect height for a 2 year old. Also, I saw where someone else said that the forklift that comes with the set doesn't fit on the track/road which is true. However, most matchbox cars fit which is great. It would've been nice if you could fit the tabletop cover on without having to remove the bridge and loading station. It does come with a lot of extras (trees, signs, etc) Overall, my son likes to play with it; especially to load the logs onto the train. The price made it the right first train table for my 2 year old!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Step2 Action Train Table

Great Buy!!!

06/01/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best purchases I have made so far for my son! We bought it for his 2nd birthday almost a month ago and he has played with it almost everyday and he plays with it for long periods of time. I went ahead and bought the motorized Thomas and other lights and sounds Thomas Friends when I bought the table. It comes with a train but only one. Having the extra trains is nice. The motorized Thomas tips over occasionally on one of the turns but if one of the trains are connected it does fine. I haven't put the top on it yet, my son won't let me. Also, he received lots of matchbox cars for his birthday and he plays with them on it sometimes. He's not as excited about playing with the cars on it but it gives him another option to play with on the table. Some of the reviews were mixed and the price was so low I was hesitant to buy it but don't be. It was a great buy!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 168 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next