Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

The Classic Phonograph and CD Player combines the nostalgia of your vinyl with the modern convenience of CDs. It comes with a beautiful oak finish that will fit perfectly anywhere in your home. It is equipped with an AM/FM radio, record player, and CD player.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation83%10 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

Excalibur USB Turntable

12/28/2008
By ,
georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I happened upon this turntable while looking at reviews of other USB turntables. Price wise it was a great deal as many of the other brands I had viewed ranged from $100- $300. I hesitated purchasing this because I couldn't find any reviews on this turntable. But during another search for turntables, this one popped up again. I took a chance and ordered it. I almost bought two because of the price.
My husband set the turntable up Christmas night. He just took it out of the box and plugged it into our desktop computer. The most challenging part was figuring out the Audacity software that comes with it. The manual that comes with the turntable doesn't go into great detail about using the software so do a search online for an audacity tutorial. There's also an audacity forum.
We won't be hooking this turntable to our stereo system (we already have one set up) so I don't know how well it would work. But if you want to burn albums right to your computer (we used Windows Media Player) and you're looking for something not too complicated, then the Excalibur might be a viable option. And the price also makes the Excalibur a great value.
We are happy with it so far. And can't wait to record more of our records.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

Phonograph

12/28/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The description of this product is wrong. There is no cd player in this turntable. The turntable looks a little cheap made, as I expected for this price. This product works, however, just fine for my needs. The Audacity program included is the same one that can be freely downloaded from the net and is a good one which is commonly used. I only was able to record mono with the USB cable, but that may just be my ignorance of the Audacity setup. Using the Audacity included in Portable Apps(free download) on my USB memory stick and the RCA stereo hook up, I recorded a couple of my old albums in stereo just fine. I will need to split them up and convert to mp3 to play on my player. Audacity does that just fine too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 3 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

Item not as described-Waste of time and money

03/18/2009
By ,
New Bedford, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is no CD player, no AM/FM radio and does not have a "beautiful oak finish". After looking at the picture of the product, I thought as much. The unit has two speeds 33 and 45. I figured it may be great to play the old 45s we used to listen to years ago, as some of them are still not released on CD. As soon as I started playing a record the first thing I could hear is the tone arm bearing down on the record and scraping the vinyl, causing permanent damage to what once was a pristine surface. I immediately shut the thing down and put it away. IF it had a 78 speed, I would have used it for those alone.
Bottom line: You DO get what you pay for!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 4 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

You get what you pay for.

01/09/2009
By ,
Mars
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, there is no oak finish on this turntable. Second, there is no CD player, either. These two things should be established off the bat.
That being said, this is a nice little economy turntable. It doesn't have many bells and whistles, but it does play and record your vinyl. However, for the first few plays, mine would shudder and squeak. But then I took the bottom off, and something fell out, and all seems to be well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

SO SO PHONO

02/05/2009
By ,
MONROE, MI.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WHEN I GOT IT AND SET IT UP, THE ARM DIDN'T RETURN AND SHUT THE MACHINE OFF! THE TURNTABLE HAD A BAD VIBRATION SO I TOOK IT APART AND PUT A SMALL AMOUNT OF VASELINE ON THE SHAFT! NOW IT RUNS REAL SMOOTH, I JUST USE IT TO RECORD ALL MY MOMS OLD VINYL 78'S AND 331/3 RECORDS. THEY SOUND REAL GOOD AND THE RECORDS WERE IN POOR SHAPE. OVERALL I LIKE IT ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE I PAID FROM WALMARTS. IT'S PRETTY EASY TO OPERATE!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

Inexpensive, but Good Product!

03/09/2009
By ,
Frankfort, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just needed a turntable to go with my new software for converting vinyl to CD's.
This one works great. Plays 33, 45, and 78's.
Has built in software that can go directly to computer. I didn't use this option.
Advertises incorrectly about wood trim and CD deck...which it doesn't have.
For the exact same product, price here (shipping included) was $69...other popular sites prices were $106 and $119 plus shipping!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 7 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

Surprise...

03/26/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I couldn't believe how quickly this was delivered, first of all. I was careful to read all of the instructions and was ready for the issues that others have described with this product...had none of those problems. I haven't listened to my records in years, so it was awesome to hear them again. I haven't tried the computer transfer yet, but value-wise, what a nice machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

good concept

12/28/2008
By ,
wausa, ne.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the turntable was warped when I got it and the only way to listen to the records was to stack a couple at a time . not something I think you should have to do so I will be returning it to the store and probably look for a different model. In my opinion not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 9 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player
05/22/2009
By ,
WALDPORT, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WHEN MY DAUGHTER RECIEVED THIS I WAS SURPRISED THAT IT CAN BE SET UP TO BURN CD'S/ SHE WAS VERY EXCITED ABOUT THAT
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player

exceded my expectations

01/11/2009
By ,
Cascade Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great item at a fantastic price.like all electronics you can find better software than what comes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player
06/03/2009
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exscellent product for the price
Difficult to download to computer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for EXCALIBUR 491 SoundMaster Classic Phonograph and CD Player
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5