Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kryptonite Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Kryptonite Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Keep your bike safe and secured with the Kryptonite U-Lock. It features a sturdy 15mm steel shackle and a multi-position carrying bracket that allows you to keep the lock with your bike at all times. This 4" x 9" Kryptonite lock comes with a $750 antitheft guarantee. It has a key safe program and is easy to attach and disengage for your convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation87%33 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

It's a cheap Kryptonite

09/02/2014
By ,
St. Paul, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Summary: This is not a top-quality lock, but Walmart has an amazing price
The good: #1: U-Locks are the best locks for bicycles. #2: Kryptonite is the best name for a bicycle lock.
The bad: This is the cheapest, chintziest Kryptonite lock I have ever seen. It is still good, but not as spectacular as Kryptonite's usual standards. I bought it anyway because the price is unbeatable anywhere, and it will be good enough for me.
The details:
The best thing about this lock is that it says Kryptonite on it. With locks, you are not just getting protection from someone working to steal your bike. You are also getting the image of security. When your lock says Kryptonite on it, it gives the impression that your bike is secured with a serious heavy-duty Kryptonite lock, and that impression is very important. That impression keeps thieves from even bothering to try to steal your bike. To me, that is more important than the actual security of making the bike difficult to steal. For image, this lock is good. I would like it better if the word Kryptonite were in bigger, clearer letters that didn't rub off with heavy use, like the better quality (and much more expensive) Kryptonite locks you can buy elsewhere.
The quality of the lock itself is okay. It's not any better than Master or Bell or any of the other "good enough" locks out there.
I have not had any trouble with the lock working properly.
As other reviewers have said, the guarantee is worthless. Don't buy a lock for the guarantee. Buy a lock to get a lock.
Another dumb thing: This lock, like may other Walmart products, is cheaper online than in the store (about $5 in this case) -- even though when you buy it online Walmart pays an employee to go pull it off the same retail shelf where I looked at it in the store, then move it to the back of the store to wait for me to come back, then go get it from there to bring it to me. It seems like a pretty dumb system if you ask me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Powerful, Reliable U-Lock for an Amazing Price!

06/26/2015
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll keep this short and sweet. For the price, this Kryptonite lock from Walmart cannot be beat! Just the other day a would-be thief attempted to steal my bicycle. A neighbor saw him hammering on it with a mini-sledgehammer and ran him off. The lock was damaged, but it held strong, and I was able to keep my bike. Granted, I need a new lock now, but I immediately reordered this lock from Walmart. It has been proven reliable, and I would highly recommend this lock!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Key won't work anymore

06/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked fine, for 1 month. The key won't open it. I have to try several times and it's even worse to close it.
The previous lock I had went through 2 years of continuous use, rain, snow, and everything. This one lasted 1 month.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

How to return it

06/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For those who had a problem [which is not good] -- if you have your receipt you can get a cash refund for up to 90days [90 days applies to all refunds listed here.] if no receipt if you have any packaging [they need the upc code] or can find the same item in the store, they will give you a debit card for the price, good any all walmarts.'' for those who order online, keep your invoice and you can return it for refund -- if you lose the invoice your account at walmart.com [see under "orders" i think] will have a coded return form for you to print out.
no it shouldn't break as people have indicated but its a pretty good price and I think with the generous return policy worth the chance.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Works

04/02/2014
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Originally this lock was very loud (rattled a lot) until I discovered that there was a screw loose. I tightened it and then didn't have that problem any more. This seems to be a good lock. I've been riding my bike as my main source of transportation for about 18 months now and haven't had it stolen. As so many things, the fact that there is a U-lock attached properly is a deterrent to anybody trying to steal your bike. (that's because crooks know they work)
I do agree that the hoops you have to jump through in order to use the $750 theft guarantee are stringent enough that most people probably won't bother so I wouldn't recommend that as a deciding factor in your purchase.
I was involved in a car vs. bike accident last year and this lock came through that just fine (although the key in my pocket broke). Ironically, last month my bike fell over and broke the bracket that holds the lock in place. I plan on picking up a replacement of the same lock though because I have been impressed (and it's half the price of the other u-locks out there).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

This lock did everything it promised.

10/03/2012
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had my bike locked up overnight at a bus station. The next morning I arrived at the bus station to see that someone tried to steal my bike. They cut off my one lock very easily, but they could not break the Kryptonite U-lock. They bashed the lock with a brick, scratching and even denting the bike. The lock was so unusable after the incident, but my bike was not stolen. I am going right back to Walmart and buying the same lock. It is also important to know how to correctly lock a bike up which you can find out online. I would recommend this lock to anybody with a bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Warranty

01/27/2009
By ,
San Jose, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The lock is name brand but to utilizing the $750 insurance is almost impossible. There are too many conditions to meet. My bicycle was just stolen and there was no remains of my old lock. One of the conditions of the warranty is to send the pieces of the old lock which I wouldn't have had. They are very misleading. When said and done, It would cost well over $50 to utilize the warranty and one would only collect if all the conditions were met. Hopefully the name on the lock will be enough deterant for potential bike thieves.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Thanks for your review
Posted 05/06/2014
Thanks so much for your review, one never understands how tricky some of these offers are until it really happens. I will not be impressed by their $750.00 guarantee any longer.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Solid bike lock

06/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is one good bike lock you can trust
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Pretty sturdy lock

06/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this was a pretty good lock, it kept my bike safe. Someone actually tried to steal my bike by putting a white substance (I think compressed air) in the keyhole and the lock stayed in place unfortunately it stopped locking soon after the tampering :( It was great while it lasted
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Great protection at a great price!

08/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this lock for two years now in a high theft city environment and am very pleased with it. It has worked flawlessly and the price is great. It is a "must have" compared to other U-locks at this price. 4" x 9" inches will go around most anything and, at 15mm thick, it is tough as nails... actually tougher!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Excellent security for a low price

10/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I worked at the 2014 Los Angles County Fair and had two bikes, a Trek 7.1 and a Cannondale M300, stolen on Labor Day and the following Weds. They were locked up at the bike rack at Gate 1 which is right in front of a ticket window and security screening entrance. I had 1/2"cable locks on both bikes and they were both cable locks were cut in front of all those people. I am a bike hoarder so I still had more bikes to ride to work. I got the Kryptonite U409 and I still have my bike. They advertise a $750 Anti-Theft Offer, but what they don't tell you is it costs extra from $10 - $30. for 1 to 3 years coverage. Kryptonite does offer a free replacement key if you register your key number with them. Great U-Lock size for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Superman Stopper!

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lock performs very well it keeps my bike safe and sound.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

excellent

09/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
~It's a u lock which is the only way to go, anything else will get your bike stolen.
~It's made from Kryptonite, a brand that has been the leader in bike locks since the beginning i believe.
~It's very durable
~I've had it for around 3 months and it's still working great
~it comes with a little clipping system for your bike. it just snaps right in
~for the price it's great, if you have a 2000 dollar bike then you'll want to get a 80 dollar kryptonite lock
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Love my U-Lock!

02/08/2009
By ,
Anthem, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Easy to use. Heavy, but secure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Good Lock

04/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good lock and easy to use. Good piece of mind.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Great for regular bike that is not too expensive.

07/19/2014
By ,
pcma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked just don't use it on your expensive bike. I use it along with another cable lock for the wheels to deter thieves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Strong Lock

01/25/2015
By ,
Bronx, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I brought this lock online I thought I was going to get a so so lock. I was impressed how strong this product is. Worth the price and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

very good

03/30/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just bought it a while ago. . .just thought i would read the reviews, but it seems like a good lock, i was looking for that ajustible junior lock that looks similar to this one but it appears they sold out, but i am content with this one seems fairly solid, just hope my bike doesnt get stolen like that other guys review haha, but useing it it really does do its intended job, keeps your bike from riding away without you haha! very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Safe Bike

01/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use just lock the bike up and go when I get off the train my bike is still there hours later not to fear kryptonite here
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

product defective

07/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well, I had to order this online as it was out of stock in my local store. So, I paid an additional $6 shipping, as I just got a new bike, don't want to lose it, and this seemed to have a great reputation.
I used it two days, locking it a total of five or six times. Now it won't lock. The key goes in, but won't turn. I've had three friends all inspect it and the internal mechanism does seem clear of any obvious problems.I didn't save the shipping invoice so am hoping the return isn't too much of a headache. Do I risk replacing it with the same lock? Not sure. In the meantime I can't use my bike for running errands...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next