Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kryptonite Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Kryptonite Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Keep your bike safe and secured with the Kryptonite U-Lock. It features a sturdy 15mm steel shackle and a multi-position carrying bracket that allows you to keep the lock with your bike at all times. This 4" x 9" Kryptonite lock comes with a $750 antitheft guarantee. It has a key safe program and is easy to attach and disengage for your convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation71%10 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Works

04/02/2014
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Originally this lock was very loud (rattled a lot) until I discovered that there was a screw loose. I tightened it and then didn't have that problem any more. This seems to be a good lock. I've been riding my bike as my main source of transportation for about 18 months now and haven't had it stolen. As so many things, the fact that there is a U-lock attached properly is a deterrent to anybody trying to steal your bike. (that's because crooks know they work)
I do agree that the hoops you have to jump through in order to use the $750 theft guarantee are stringent enough that most people probably won't bother so I wouldn't recommend that as a deciding factor in your purchase.
I was involved in a car vs. bike accident last year and this lock came through that just fine (although the key in my pocket broke). Ironically, last month my bike fell over and broke the bracket that holds the lock in place. I plan on picking up a replacement of the same lock though because I have been impressed (and it's half the price of the other u-locks out there).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

product defective

07/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well, I had to order this online as it was out of stock in my local store. So, I paid an additional $6 shipping, as I just got a new bike, don't want to lose it, and this seemed to have a great reputation.
I used it two days, locking it a total of five or six times. Now it won't lock. The key goes in, but won't turn. I've had three friends all inspect it and the internal mechanism does seem clear of any obvious problems.I didn't save the shipping invoice so am hoping the return isn't too much of a headache. Do I risk replacing it with the same lock? Not sure. In the meantime I can't use my bike for running errands...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

This lock did everything it promised.

10/03/2012
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had my bike locked up overnight at a bus station. The next morning I arrived at the bus station to see that someone tried to steal my bike. They cut off my one lock very easily, but they could not break the Kryptonite U-lock. They bashed the lock with a brick, scratching and even denting the bike. The lock was so unusable after the incident, but my bike was not stolen. I am going right back to Walmart and buying the same lock. It is also important to know how to correctly lock a bike up which you can find out online. I would recommend this lock to anybody with a bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

lock failed after 3 uses

08/04/2014
By ,
Quincy, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As other reviewers have noted, this U-409 lock seems to have a fatal flaw; after just a few uses the key no longer locks the lock. Hmmm... seems that is a fundamental requirement for a lock! Walmart should recall all of these. Bought mine just two days ago at the Quincy, MA store. Will try to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Warranty

01/27/2009
By ,
San Jose, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The lock is name brand but to utilizing the $750 insurance is almost impossible. There are too many conditions to meet. My bicycle was just stolen and there was no remains of my old lock. One of the conditions of the warranty is to send the pieces of the old lock which I wouldn't have had. They are very misleading. When said and done, It would cost well over $50 to utilize the warranty and one would only collect if all the conditions were met. Hopefully the name on the lock will be enough deterant for potential bike thieves.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Thanks for your review
Posted 05/06/2014
Thanks so much for your review, one never understands how tricky some of these offers are until it really happens. I will not be impressed by their $750.00 guarantee any longer.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Great for regular bike that is not too expensive.

07/19/2014
By ,
pcma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked just don't use it on your expensive bike. I use it along with another cable lock for the wheels to deter thieves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

excellent

09/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
~It's a u lock which is the only way to go, anything else will get your bike stolen.
~It's made from Kryptonite, a brand that has been the leader in bike locks since the beginning i believe.
~It's very durable
~I've had it for around 3 months and it's still working great
~it comes with a little clipping system for your bike. it just snaps right in
~for the price it's great, if you have a 2000 dollar bike then you'll want to get a 80 dollar kryptonite lock
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

very good

03/30/2009
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just bought it a while ago. . .just thought i would read the reviews, but it seems like a good lock, i was looking for that ajustible junior lock that looks similar to this one but it appears they sold out, but i am content with this one seems fairly solid, just hope my bike doesnt get stolen like that other guys review haha, but useing it it really does do its intended job, keeps your bike from riding away without you haha! very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

Love my U-Lock!

02/08/2009
By ,
Anthem, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Easy to use. Heavy, but secure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK
07/21/2013
By ,
Las Vegas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Avoid this lock. The locking mechanism broke after using it twice!! I don't know if this was just a fluke, but a lock isn't supposed to be damaged after using it twice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK

very well made lock.

07/18/2013
By ,
naperville, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought the lock for my daughter's bike and se really likes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Kryptonite 4" x 9" U-LOCK
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5