Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Camp Chef Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

Camp Chef Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

The Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater is a handy equipment to have to enjoy heated water anywhere. It is basically a gas powered water heater that is portable and can be used when a family decides to go traveling or camping. This Triton hot water heater heats water instantly, making it very convenient and a must buy for any family that takes frequent outdoor trips. The Triton portable hot water heater has the capacity of heating 1.5 gallons of water in a minute. The water can be adjusted to various temperatures between 80 and 150 F. It features mist, shower, jet and off settings. It includes a shower hose and can be easily carried using a carry handle. The heater comes with a regulator hose for attaching the propane tank which is sold separately. Get the Triton hot water heater and enjoy hot water showers on every camping trip you take.
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%23 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

Requires direct water hook up

10/08/2012
By ,
Mississippi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this thinking I could get a warm shower when dry camping (no hookups). Not so, it requires water pressure; you can't just put the hose in a 5-gallon bucket like I thought. I will return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Knoxville, TN
Don't have water pressure???? No problem!
Posted 08/28/2013
You could connect a hose to a 5gal or larger pail with a hose adapter and hangthe pail higher than the heater, thereby producing water pressure to feed the heater. Throw a rope over a tree limb for raising the pail higher and having more pressure. But just a few feet difference should be enough.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

AWESOME!

07/25/2011
By ,
Peabody, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is AWESOME! Every camper should have one. Great shower & you can use the hot water to wash your dishes while camping. The shower head has multiple adjustments (different sprays). It's almost better than my shower at home. If you have a tent or trailer without a shower then get this product you won't be sorry. Well, worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater
01/01/2010
By ,
Harwood, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are living off the grid and this has been our hot water source for a year. Love it. Living in central Tx it doesn't really get that cold, the heater keeps water temps warm enough on a chilly night. We are a family of 5 and everyone takes a shower with it everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

Easy to use, easy to put together.

06/02/2011
By ,
Philadelphia Suburb, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this shower to use with my 6yr old and 4 yr old boys. I hung it off the back of my deck and I use it to shower them off after their long day of play. They love to play in the creek in our back yard and have a tendency to get muddy even if they aren't in the creek. It has been great! The water temperature is warm, and can get hot. You have to contol the temperature of the water by the amount of water pressure as well as the amount of heat from the unit. My one concern is that it has a vented top for the flame of of the heater. I just hung it high so that my kids can't reach it. I was able to put it together by myself, but needed my husband to tighten the connections with a wrench.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

Wow this is great

10/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heater only took a few minuits to hook up. The information said it would only raise the water tempature 38 degrees but I think it will raise it a bit more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

Excellent product

05/27/2009
By ,
Riverside, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great item. It performed far beyond our expectations in providing immediate hot water. The temperature control worked well. It was compact and tidy. We've alread recommended it to several friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater
08/29/2013
By ,
Lompoc, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has met all our expectations for our daughter who loves camping but hates being dirty!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater
03/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the water heater, it worked really well. Heated the water as hot as you could stand and would stay at that temp.
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

Excellent water heater/shower

11/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together and operate. Immediate and endless hot water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater
07/23/2013
By ,
ft. pierce fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been looking for one like this and this was the best price that I could find anywhere on the net. used the product once and you get more hot water then we will need and that is good. Very easy to set up, love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

great piece of equipment for camper or living off

05/29/2013
By ,
gates, n.c.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
straight out of box installed battery'es hooked up water and propane worked like a champ. one small item I would change if I were wal-mart the stand is filmsy, but you can work with it. great working item
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

sounded too good to be true and it was

09/24/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was using it as a shower at our hunting club, but a 300 gal water tank 10 ft in the air did not have nearly the water pressure needed so only a trickle came out. THEN I added a pump and it had plenty of pressure, but the water will not heat up fast enough during winter months wehen it's under 50 degrees, so I purchased a summer shower only.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
lewiston,Idaho
Posted 10/02/2012
your best bet is buy a tankless waterheater this is for summer not a hunting cabin
0points
Customer Avatar
Red Bluff, California
Not a summer only heater!
Posted 04/19/2012
Your solution is simple. You have a pump. The heater can ONLY raise the temp 40 degrees or so. Two solutions: One, keep a sixty gallons or so tank of water INSIDE the cabin. an old hot water tank would work fine. Assuming a 65 degree interior of the cabin with heat or a wood stove, you could have 105 degree water! Two, pump ten gallons of water through the heater into a tank by the shower. The recirculate the warm water through the heater. Presto! Hot water!
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

It feels so good!

08/04/2012
By ,
christiansburg
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Works great. I did have a problem with the intake screen getting clogged up but it was because we were using lake water. Took the screen out and we were back in business. We set the shower up on the boat dock at the cabin and it was awesome. Much better than the old lake bath. I can't wait until winter time and being able to take a hot shower at the lake. Awesome product and a great price compared to most places that charge 150 for the same product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater

Makes hot water but leaks a lot

07/11/2012
By ,
Northern Sierras
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item heated the cold water from the tap awesome!!! I read other reviews and as far as making hot water it was great. The biggest problem I had was there were big leaks at the fitting where the hose connects to the heater. So much that it was squirting out in all direction which after a short time will cause damage to the heater. I am going ot return this because I'm sure it will go bad quickly because of the attachments not working correctly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Camp Chef HWDS Triton Hot Water Heater
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5