Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Don't let a simple job like vacuuming wear you out. The U6485900 Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum does the hard work of cleaning while you simply steer. It features innovative WindTunnel technology for spotless cleaning that removes embedded dirt and blowback on carpet. This bagged upright vacuum cleaner is self-propelled and maneuvers both in forward and reverse directions for effortless clean-up. The Bag Check indicator tells you when to replace the dirt bag for maximum performance. The vacuum bag is made up of microscopic HEPA filters that lets you breathe easy knowing that maximum dirt, dust and pollen are trapped in it. This versatile Hoover WindTunnel bagged upright vacuum has a headlight at the base that lights up dark areas under furniture and corners for easy cleaning. The dirt finder indicator at the base glows green when no more dirt is found on the surface.
Average Customer Rating:
4.221 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(498 Reviews) 444
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
294
4 stars
125
3 stars
19
2 stars
15
1 star
45
Customer Recommendation86%421 out of 492reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 269 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
294
4 stars
125
3 stars
19
2 stars
15
1 star
45
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Clean Sweep

04/21/2011
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own two of these now because I live in two different places... The only thing I would change about the design is that I'd rather the accessories were held in a separate container instead of riding on the vacuum itself... It makes a good furniture and wall scratchier, not good! But other than that you couldn't ask for a better vacuum... Don't buy a bag-less vacuum cleaner you'll be sorry, get one with a through away bag.
That's it.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great Value

09/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched high and low for a good vacuum at a decent price. I even did extensive research on consumer reports (which rated it one of the top 10 bagged vacuums).
The main cons people mentioned were 1) noise and 2) heavy. It's a vacuum people... vacuums are noisy! Unless you need to do all your vacuuming during someone's nap the noise is fine.
I will admit the vacuum is a bit heavy. I was concerned it would be too hard to vacuum the stairs but it was a breeze. I just pull it up every couple steps while I'm getting the stairs and before you know it it's at the top. I never work out and I can easily get it where it needs to go. Plus, the self-propel function makes it so you barely have to push it back and forth.
Pro's:
-Attractive
-Great attachments
-Strong suction from the hose
-Love the 'dirt finder' feature
-Brush roll stops spinning when the vacuum is upright to keep from burning the carpet
-Bag makes for easy clean up (bagless vac's are over-rated!)
-Self-propel can be turned off
-Can adjust to carpet height or hard floors
-Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+159points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Greenacres, WA
My second Hoover WindTunnel
Posted 11/05/2011
This is a top scoring and recommended vacuum on Consumer Reports. Can't really get a better recommendation than that! I've had my first WindTunnel for a long time. They are heavy, but great vacuums!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

When it works, it's OK.

05/29/2012
By ,
South Jersey, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is one of a series of Hoover vacuums that have the same poorly designed power switch and belt mechanisms. Both mechanisms are so badly planned and executed that they fail repeatedly, requiring unscrewing cover plates and resetting the parts so that they will function. The power switch is just a long stem reaching from the handle to the body of the vacuum, where a toggle switch is installed. The idea for this piece isn't terrible, but the way it's built allows for too much sloppy movement, resulting in misalignment and the need to reset frequently.
The drive belt works much the same way, riding on a convex hub, from which it often slips off, rendering the drive and the brush immobile. Then you have to flip it over, remove four screws and reset the belt.
It's like old British sports cars...if you are into constant tinkering, then this is the vacuum for you. If you want one that works consistently, look elsewhere.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Very impressed w/ mine since April 2007 & counting

11/24/2013
By ,
Cypress, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my WindTunnel Self-Propelled April 2007. I still am impressed with it. A belt broke once and I bought two replacement belts and have not had to use the second one. Last year the on/off switch started working / not working, so I just plug / unplug to start/stop. I really like the red light / green light feature - I can tell it is working correctly and know when I have the carpet as clean as possible from the vacuum. I will buy another WindTunnel when this one is worn out.
Looking at some of the complaints......with a three year warranty, take it back if it does not function properly. For the most part, it seems most of them do not have problems. As for the black rubber marking the baseboard, my old one has gray rubber and leaves no mark. If it did, I would put duct tape on it to protect the baseboards, because this is the best vacuum I have ever had. If enough people complain, I imagine Hoover will correct this flaw.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Hoover WindTunnel

11/10/2010
By ,
DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The power of this vacuum is extraordinary! For cleaning power, it gets 5 stars. The rotary brush attachment for cleaning carpeted stairs works beautifully. I love that the rotary sweeper can be turned off to clean floors and bathroom rugs. The self propel feature and headlight are awesome. Since it has a Hepa filter and Hepa bag, no dust or smells get recast into the air--as they did with my older Hoover.
Three things keep this vacuum from getting 5 stars all the way across: 1) It's extremely loud. Earplugs are a must! 2) The hose for the attachments is too short and you have to buy a longer one in order to clean an entire flight of stairs without dragging the vacuum up 3 or 4 stairs at a time. The 20' extension hose, while too long to stay on the vacuum for regular vacuuming, should be included with the unit so that it can be switched out as needed. 3) The electrical cord covering is quite thin and can be damaged easily, especially if you happen to go over it with the vacuum.
Overall, I'm very happy with the Windtunnel's performance and value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great upright vacuum!

03/04/2012
By ,
Pine Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foremost, this vacuum got my carpet really clean! The suction was strong enough to "lift" the carpet in places but gentle enough when switched to hard floors to vacuum throw rugs without sucking them into the machine (step on the corners as the instructions recommend). The self-propel feature is a definite plus making it easier to push and pull the vacuum across the floor thereby relieving some of the stress on my post-surgery wrists. It does a great job of picking up cat hair and dirt and the replacement bags are readily available at my local Walmart store. The attached hose returns to its original shape and is by no means flimsy but it's puzzling that it doesn't come with an on-board wide brush attachment for reaching behind toilets and under toe-kicks because the machine itself is too large to fit into those areas. However, I can use the brush that came off my old canister so overall I'm very satisfied with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

A great product

02/16/2009
By ,
Dallas, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered on-line and it came well packaged and just nothing to putting it together. It does everything they say it will do and is so easy to use with the self propelled feature. All the controls are easy to use and the cleaning on heavy carpet and hard floors both is excellent. If I really wanted to nit-pic, I might wish for a retractable cord, but I am so pleased I can't even complain about that. The bag is simple and easy to change. I had a bagless before and hated it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Highly recommend

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first self propelled windtunnel lasted 15 yrs. the self prop feature had broke finally. There was no hesitation on buying another. I quickly realized it had not been working for a while, I guess I just slowly got used to putting more back into it. Wow! This one is stronger than my first. And be careful if vacuuming barefoot, it will back up so fast it will hit your toes. Oh...and the attachments on board are always at the ready to get those bunnies against the wall that no vac gets. LOVE IT! It came with a HEPA disposable bag that's fabric like instead of paper. Although I had many type Y paper bags left, I was so impressed I bought a package of the HEPA bags. You won't be disappointed in this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Very Good Performance

12/23/2008
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace my old Hoover Wind Tunnel that I had for 8 years because it was losing suction power. I really liked the old one and was contemplating buying a dyson or another windtunnel. The price is what kept me from buying the dyson (maybe I'll get it in another 8 years!). The vacum was so easy to put together. All you have to do is screw in the handle and you are ready to go. The attachments work great and are easily accessed. It also works great on hardwood and tile floors. I use the vacum daily and it gets everything up including little strings and cat hair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Everything!

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Hoover Wind Tunnel has everything I needed plus more. I especially like the green and red indicator lights that inform me if they carpet is clean or not. I recommend the bag style as the non-bag type is messy to clean and the bags are low-cost. I previously had a Wind Tunnel like this that lasted me over a decade.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Very good product

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the same model of vacuum machine more than 10 years. This model is real reliable, easy to use, and powerful enough. I got this new one because my old one need change belt again, which happens every 4-5 years or so.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Easy to use

12/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great job cleaning carpets not so much on tile floors
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

So far, so good

12/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great so far. Self-propelled really helps - unless you want to make a workout of vacuuming. Dirt Indicator seems to work only with small particles, not things that constitute dust. Primary problem is there's no way to grab the front of the vacuum cleaner to lift it. Thus, it's awkward to use on stairs.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Best Buy by Consumer Report

05/26/2011
By ,
Sulphur Springs, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this windtunnel for 2 weeks - but the suction power is great! It does a wonderful job cleaning my furniture and floors. It does have an internal paper bag that requires replacement, but I think it is better because it doesn't clog up the filters as much as the bagless ones. So far I am very happy. I purchased this unit based on the ratings from Consumer Report. They have never steared me wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Great vac!

04/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a great deal of research before I purchased this vac. I even returned one or two before choosing this one. This is consumer reports top rated vac right now. It really pick up everything and the carpet looks clean and new again. I was hesitant to purchase this because of some of the other reviews stating that the parts were cheap and that it fell apart. I've only had it a short time and it does not appear low quality or fragile. I return a Dyson before I purchased this one and this Hoover seems to be a higher quality. I really like the self driving feature, the carpet practically vacuums it's self. Also there is a light that indicates if the carpet is dirty so you can continue cleaning that particular area, I enjoy that feature as well. I like watching it turn from red to green, it makes me feel like I've gotten the carpet clean.
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

hoover windtunnel

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent vacuum and value
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

Can't beat it

11/13/2010
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ive used the Self-Propelled WindTunnel for a few weeks now and really like it. My old tramped down carpet looks great. The WindTunnel gives you alot of cleaning power for your buck. I like that the attachments are right there at your fingertips and it only takes a second to switch from carpets to couches or stairs, no more planning my vacuuming around how many times I have to attach and unattach a hose. The hose on the WindTunnel is a little hard to handle at first. As soon as you turn the vacuum on it just wants to pull right back tight to the machine, but I've found that if I back it up against the stairs or piece of furniture I'm vacuuming grab the hose close to the machine with one hand, place my other hand near the end and pull it out while using the brush it works pretty good, otherwise the machine has a tendency to tip over. There is an extension hose available which I think is a must have for any higher up use and I will be buying one. My other self-propelled had all the weight in the bottom. This one has alot of it in the handle so you have to use your arms a bit more to hold the handle up, but that isn't all bad, I'm killing two birds with one stone, vacuuming and getting a little arm work out. It's not a hardship at all. I've read other reviews stating that it's heavy and jerky. Heavy? yes, but the carrying hand hold in the back makes it quite easy to carry. Jerky? not once you get used to the self-propelled function, you don't need to push or pull, just ease it along. All in all it's a good vacuum, easy to use, does a great job and is reasonably priced. I'm very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

The best of a vanishing breed

11/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a senior citizen with arthritis, knee and back problems, I have to have a self-propelled vacuum cleaner. But today, the makers have sacrificed that capacity for slightly reduced weight. The Hoover is the only SP model I could find for sale. Since I have used this model for many, many years, the choice was simple and Walmart had the best combination of price, free shipping, and reliability.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900

A great product

06/19/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our last Hoover finally died after 12 years, so we bought another one. We are thrilled with this machine! The suction is great and finishes the job in half the time of our old one. We would certainly recommend it to those with pets as it does a great job with the pet hair!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+154points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover WindTunnel Self-Propelled Bagged Upright Vacuum, U6485900
05/14/2009
By ,
Owings Mills, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Highly rated in a consumer magazine, it is excellent cleaning carpets, but less so on hard floors. Self-propelled, it is easy to use and all attachments are handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 361 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next