Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

This space-saving 720p model is only 3.7 inches deep without the detachable stand so you can enjoy a big beautiful picture in nearly any room. The tuner can receive conventional analog channels (NTSC), as well as digital channels (ATSC), including over-the-air HDTV broadcasts where available and unscrambled digital cable channels. Samsung's Digital Natural Image engine and anti-burn-in technology assure you of crisp, bold images. And hot key enables you to select sports, game or movie modes for optimal picture quality. Two HDMI ports and a variety of inputs make it simple to connect DVD players, camcorders, surround sound systems, or even a computer. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of an HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.717 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%57 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

Best 50 Inch Ever!

12/08/2008
By ,
Sherwood, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV on Black Friday for $798. As the other reviewer stated it WILL DO 1080I, as most of my Dish Network HD programming comes in at. I now put the Vizio 42 inch 1080P I bought last year in my bedroom. I, like many others thought, being Plasma ,and for the price, it would not compare too my LCD. MAN, was I so wrong! Sound, is great, no popping like my lcd does from time too time, and NO picture noise. Last, I have too say, this is the most beautiful picture of ANY TV I have ever seen!!! Comparing at stores, won't help you. BUY IT! Hook it up too satellite NOT cable, and you will be in heaven with this bad boy 50 inch! Way too go Samsung, you did it again!!! I am puting a picture up too PROVE this monster will do 1080I.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

The BEST Plasma TV!

01/31/2009
By ,
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HELLO EVERYONE...THIS IS MY REVIEW...PAY ATTENTION! :)
FIRST OF ALL: IF YOU ARE GOING TO BUY THIS SAMSUNG PLASMA TV...MAKE SURE YOU READ THE ENTIRE BOOK OF INSTRUCTIONS...DO NOT THINK YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO...AND...MAKE SURE YOU HAVE AN "HD" SET TOP BOX OR RECEIVER WITH AN "HDMI" CABLE...IF YOU ARE SPENDING THE MONEY TO BUY THIS COOOL TV...TAKE THE TIME TO HOOK IT UP THE RIGHT WAY...YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! :)
WITH THAT SAID: I REALLY LOVE THIS SAMSUNG, 50 INCH, PLASMA HDTV...I HAD A 42 INCH LCD HDTV BEFORE THIS...WOW...WHAT A GREAT UPGRADE TO GO FROM LCD TO PLASMA...I WILL NEVER OWN ANOTHER LCD TV AGAIN...THE PLASMA IS SSOOO CRYSTAL CLEAR...THE DETAIL YOU WILL GET WITH THIS TV IS OUTSTANDING...I LOOK FORWARD TO WATCHING THE SUPER BOWL WITH MY FAMILY & FRIENDS ON THIS TV...I KNOW IT WILL FEEL LIKE WE ARE AT THE GAME...SITTING IN FRONT ROW SEATS ON THE 50 YARD LINE...ALL BECAUSE OF THIS AMAZING PLASMA TV!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

Not a bad deal!

12/30/2008
By ,
Paris, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know this package is not the best on the market and is one of those where they throw it together just for special occasions like Christmas...but I think it’s a steal for someone on a budget. We only had about $1300 saved up and were able to get a 50" plasma, surround sound, and a DVD disk changer for less than we were prepared to spend. It was pretty easy to set up and it has some really neat features (the ones we have figured out so far...still learning). FYI...if you want the cable, antenna, satellite, or whatever you have going through the TV to broadcast through the surround sound speakers you have to purchase a separate cable called a digital optical audio cable. They fail to mention that which probably leads to a lot of returns because if you are like me...you buy surround sound to use all the time not just when watching a movie. Other than that…I can’t believe I didn’t get one sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

Do yourself a favor and buy this TV

11/29/2008
By ,
Springfield MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been in the market to buy a TV for nearly a year. Read tons of reviews, visited many stores, and spent many hours looking at many different models. All the research I had done pointed me to the Samsung brand. Originally I had wanted a LCD, but knew that I could get a bigger set by going plasma. Weighed out all the pros and cons. A Home Theater tech friend of mine said plasma was the way to go, because I watch a lot of sports, and the plasmas refresh faster, the contrast ratio produce deeper and richer colors, and the picture was more natural than LCD's. I was skeptical about the picture quality of the plasmas, but after visiting a store where they had a 42 and a 50 in plasma, the quality of the 50 in picture was extrordinarily better than the 42. I was also concerned with the life expectancy of the plasma. This TV has an 80,000 panel life, and in this day and age with technology advancing like it is, in 5 to 8 years I'll be ready to get the next hot set up, so 10 to 15 year life span is just fine with me. When I saw the Wal-Mart ad for Black Friday with the Samsung 50" I knew I couldn't wait any longer. When I got the TV home I had it set up in a matter of minutes. Right out of the box with digital cable the picture is real good. My local digital channels come through in 1080i and the picture is phenomenal. I don't have HD programming yet(getting Direct TV) but some cable channels are coming in in HD. When you change channels a display in the top left corner tells you if it is cable, digital, or air and also if it is 1080, 720 and so on. Burn in is not an issue as the anti burn in technology on this tv takes care of that. The menu is easily to navigate, and the pre set picture settings are awesome. Sound is surprisingly good although I use my surround sound with this unit. The 50" set looks so much bigger in my living room than it does in the store. It's like having a movie theater in your house. The set does get a little warm, but not hot and this was expected. One more thing to consider, any tv you look at in the store will look different in your home, due to size of room, lighting etc. At 898.00, this is still an incredible value. Do the research and you will see how highly Samsung is rated in the TV world. I can't tell you in this review how awesome this TV really is. Buy this TV!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

WOW!!

12/19/2008
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not understand why so many reviews on plasma TV's are so negative. Purchasing this 50" plasma has been my best decision all year. I recommend with any TV (old or new), you should take the time to properly fine tune the picture brightness, contrast, color, tint and sharpness. Any good electronic store should carry a video essential DVD to assist you in this area. The factory presets for the picture quality is pretty good for the untrained eye. Has many extras to improve picture quality, however I do recommend turning the sharpness control to the lowest setting and turning off the edge enhancer feature for better picture quality. By Increasing the sharpness controls you're adding extra digital signal information to the original program signal. In other words you're adding false information to the picture, taking away picture quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

A Great Television for a Large Wall

01/20/2009
By ,
Perry, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been searching for a Television to fill the wall in our formal frontroom and after many months of searching through magazines and stores, we felt that this Samsung had the best picture quality. The base of the Television was the heaviest part of the Television so once it was removed so the television could be put on the wall the televisions weight was reduced by a good 10 pounds. We have been happy with the sound, picture as is, but enjoy it more when we watch it with the Blu Ray player. Finger prints do show up on the side panels so one does need to wipe these down if you have a habit of touching the television. An addition of a Soundbar is an extra that would be nice, but not really needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

poor quality

12/03/2008
By ,
Tuscaloosa.AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
my husband bought this tv for me on black friday. i thought this was a really good price but after looking at the picture i told him that now i why it was such a good price but on the other hand he likes the tv i wish he would consider taking the tv back for another brand. The store do not have one avaliable for show that should have been an eye opener
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 8 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

Getting a whole lotta bang for your buck

11/29/2008
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fought tooth and nail on Black Friday to get one of only four of the Samsung 50" televisions, and am glad I did. First of all it's gorgeous and sleek. The picture is clear and looks great. The only thing I could kind of complain about is the color during regular cable television watching. It manages to be too bright and too dark and the same time. Also the colors sometimes just seem a bit off. But it's such a small problem that could most likely be fixed with a bit of fiddling around in the settings some more. It's an amazing television for an amazing price. I really couldn't be happier and would recommend anyone out there to buy one if they get a chance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400
12/08/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife picked this up for 799 on black friday. We could not wait to turn it on. We were very disappointed. The picture quality was not very good at all. I tried for days to adjust the settings to a point where it was even watchable and could not do it. A friend of ours got the same TV and said she had the same problem, but when she had High Def installed it got better. So we went and purchased high def and the quality did improve a little but still appears grainy. We are taking this TV back tomorrow and looking for a new one. Next time we will not buy without being able to see the TV set up in the store first.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 10 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

THE BEST TV FOR THE PRICE EVER!

12/14/2008
By ,
St John, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went and purchased this on black friday.It was worth every penny and more. Thank you Wal-mart for the great price. YOU MUST!!!! HAVE a HD satellite receiver or HD cable box with a HD subscription for you ladies to get the best picture. And don't even think about not using a HDMI cable. It's a must.
If you use a HD Satellite and HDMI cable. I challenge anyone to find a better picture. And by the way this is my third HD plasma TV, and is my favorite !!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

GREAT FLAT SCREEN

12/29/2008
By ,
Palatine, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well it is bar far the best TV I have ever had!! The Price was incredible! Anouther store who claim the have the best price HAHA had the same tv except it was 4 inches smaller for over $200.00 more then what I paid at wallmart. I reccomend you get this this TV from wallmart if you are in the market to buy a 50" flat screen. NOT only is it the best price that you will find but the the TV quality and GREAT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

Excellant product

12/27/2008
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this tv and am real happy I ordered it on line. The picture is like being right there and the colors are beautiful. I enjoy every minute I am watching on this tv. I am just happy with the tv period. The price was good also and the tv came right to my home which I liked as I didn't have anyway to haul it to my home. I would recommend this tv to anyone who wants a clear picture with vivid colors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

Fantastic TV

01/26/2009
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very excited and hyped to get my tv. When it arrived and was set up, I was even more excited. The picture and the sound was wonderful. I had already purchased an HDL cable because of the reviews that I had already read. I agree with the others, the tv is well worth the price and I am very, very pleased with it. I have had the tv approxiately 3 weeks. Buy one, you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

50" Samsung Flatscreen

12/30/2008
By ,
Henderson, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked at models that were 2500 and up, and honestly, this is just as good, and better than Sony. Yes its not 1080, but buy the HDMI cables, and your good to go. You will need this for games(Wii, etc) because of the shortage of outputs. An extra $50. You will NEED these, or theres no color on your games either. But the cables make the pic so much "richer"! Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

Nice TV

12/09/2008
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV on Black Friday and when we initially hooked it up, I too was very disappointed. We moved the unit to another cable hookup and found that the picture was much improved. I then researched the model on the net and found some advice for tweaking the controls and now we have a beautiful picture and great sound. It's definitely worth the price we paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

Not Bad for the Price!

12/22/2008
By ,
Bronx, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm no TV tech but I bought this online while it was on sale for black Friday for $798, and I decided to take my chances. I am pleased with the product but my brother said that he would've looked for something that was 1080. One downside is that it only has one video output, but hey I could deal with it! Overall, I think it's a great steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

very helpful

12/11/2008
By ,
ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went and purchased this on black friday..I could not be any happier with this t.v....It was worth every penny and more...Thank you Wal-mart for the great price...Only one thing I wish it had picture in picture...But we are so happy with this t.v....I would recommend this to any-one...Once again Thank you for the great price...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400
12/23/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this TV on Black Friday and waited in the store for a couple of hours. It was the best purchase I made all year. For the price, it has amazing picture and sound quality. I was looking more into the 1080, but for the price, this is the way to go. I highly recommend this tv if you are not going for the 1080.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

Just a Lemon

12/28/2008
By ,
Central City, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased as a gift and the power went down after 3 days, had to return to wal mart for exchange. Wal mart did replace with similar model. Have bought samsung products before with no problems. This was just a lemon i guess. WalMart did stand behind the purchase however and replaced with a Sanyo for same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Samsung 50'' Class Plasma HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, PN50A400

Gift for husband

01/12/2009
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I don't know all that much about electronics so I did my research and can honestly say I believe this tv has the BEST picture out of all that I looked at.
The sound is fine, but would be better with surround sound-which is available and we will be purchasing later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next