Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Easy to use, hard to turn off, this multimedia PC and widescreen monitor are perfect for pictures, music, movies, and games. The combination can handle formula-heavy spreadsheets and family photo slide shows and still have power to spare for Web surfing and digital entertainment. The SuperMulti DVD burner lets you create music mixes, video discs, and digital photo albums on your own DVDs and CDs, and LightScribe technology lets you etch custom, silkscreen-quality labels and artwork directly onto LightScribe-enabled discs. The AMD processor with two cores delivers performance for multitasking and multimedia, plus it's a perfect match for Windows Vista, too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
23
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%82 out of 84reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
23
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

HP Pavilion A66683W-B

12/06/2008
By ,
Little Rock, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought the this PC... Watch Review. Feel free to ask any questions... Sorry this was my first video.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

This is what Black Friday is all about!!

12/30/2008
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My parents bought me this computer on black friday. I had picked it out and thought it seemed like a steal (and it was!). For $400 you get a 19" Monitor (that they sell at wal-mart for $228!!!!) Here is my quick review, I hope it helps and informs some of you who have left comments that aren't accurate, you may be more happy with your product :)
Bads:
Advertisement is wrong, this is a Sempron processor, but it isn't that bad.
Load time is very slow, however Vista does take up a lot of RAM
No memory card reader... but Im sure this can be added to as there are expansion bays.
Power supply is low and graphics card isn't awful (it runs SPORE pretty nice) but should be upgraded.
The Goods:
The monitor, as I already stated is BEAUTIFUL. You will not be disappointed with it at all. The speakers are built in so if you want better speakers you can get them, if you don't then you don't need extra wires hanging around your desk!
Highly upgradeable... I added the wireless PCI card and taking a look inside there is lots of room and it's easy to do. I plan on upgrading the graphics card as well.
The tower is laid out very nice. The back is nicely organized to hook up everything and everything on the front is hidden so it looks nice.
It runs quiet and is a great computer for internet, mild gaming and running typical programs.
I HIGHLY recomend this computer. The price is higher now than what I paid, but it is still a great deal. I have an Alienware laptop and I hate to say but I am finding this new desktop a bit more enjoyable! It has room for improvements but for the price it's great. If you want it to do more you can upgrade it just fine on your own.
Also, just to clear up a few things. There is a hidden section on the front with USBs... someone said the USBs should be on the front, they must not realize this. Also, someone said this computer should include speakers... they are built into the monitor, you can even adjust the volume via the keyboard.
Hope that was helpful!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

What a deal!

12/30/2008
By ,
Lexington, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer and monitor are amazing. We recently had a major meltdown of our laptop and needed to replace it with a computer that was reasonably priced. After comparing specifications on several computers, this HP model came out on top, and Wal-Mart's price was INCREDIBLE! The computer is used mostly for internet surfing, e-mailing, picture storing, and some work (I teach hybrid and online classes). It has performed well for every use, and the 19 inch monitor is great for movies and other videos. I strongly recommend this combination. I do recommend buying a good set of speakers for the computer. The ones on the monitor are fine, but if you are doing any video watching or music listening, you will want some speakers that are made for those purposes. I purchased a GE speaker set (also from Wal-Mart) for around $25 dollars and am very happy with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

My Computer 1!

12/14/2008
By ,
Bedford Heights, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always purchased HP Products and have always found them to be exceptional. I have an HP Pavilion Laptop. My 15 year old daughter wanted her own computer, I thought an early Xmas gift. I was in line at Wal Mart on black Friday at 2:30 am. This was an excellent purchase! The resolution is excellent, the system performs, with a 19 inch moniter, this computer boots up faster than me laptop! I have to remember that I purchased this computer for my daughter. It is an exceptional value since the system is now over $100 more. Way to go Wal Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 5 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Decent little basic desktop

12/12/2008
By ,
Ft Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was looking to get a desktop for my wife and son so they could browse the internet, create and print documents, and play kid games online.
I purchased MS Office Home and Student 2007 and entering the product key was an easy activation process. I kept the flimsy keyboard but pulled out a Logitech wireless optical mouse rather than using the HP USB mouse. I was pleasantly surprised about the quality of the monitor that also has a DVI connection ( I don't forsee using it but it's nice to know it's there). Also, although I found out my HP Photosmart 7350 printer is compatible, I had to download a driver for a different model. The printer worked fine after that.
It is considered a base system (no webcam, media card reader, lower end processor) but it definitely performs well for the price. One thing that I am frustrated about is that it boots up faster than my new Dell Latitude D630 work laptop that is only two months old and loaded with Windows XP/Office 2007 with no PC games :-)
I purchased this desktop during 2008 Black Friday for just under four hundred dollars and glad I did, especially looking at the price now (close to six hundred, bundled with a fifty dollar printer). I recommend this desktop, in particular for basic home use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Lovin' It

12/29/2008
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price I paid durrin' black friday you can't complain. I paid over 1000 bucks for my dell a couple of years ago and I'm ready to take over this one I bought for my nephew. I hooked my WRT54G wireless router back up and bought the rangeplus wireless router network usb adapter. I like the keyboard. You can open the Dvd/Cd drive from the keyboard. I do find it boots up slowly, maybe b.c. of Vista. But once it's on it runs smooth. It comes with 2 gb of ram with 4 slots. I wish I could have picked up another one for the price. It runs smoothly, no big complaints from me. I do wish the mouse was a little bigger. Now I just have to play around with Lightscribeand order a media reader bay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Did someone say gaming?

12/20/2008
By ,
Glucester , VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BADS: Very small harddrive when you first get it. only about 100GB on mine. Something took up a lot of space. Also the powersupply is SUPER small, only 250W's.
GOODS: Well, I got this because it look like a good computer to upgrade. When I got it I was a little happy and sad to find out that it did'nt have the CPU listed. Since it isnt a desktop CPU, but Also it's a lower quality CPU. Then I decided to make it better. So I bought a 500w power supply and a new cooling fan.(Which made it louder) After that was done I bought a XFX Geforce 9800 GTX+ and a PCI-E to PCI-e X2 power splitter to power it. Now it run's great, and I play alll the new game's MAX settings. EVEN CRYSIS
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Incorrect description

12/09/2008
By ,
Rochester, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The computer itself is not too bad. Easy to set up, nice monitor, and it's extremely quiet.
My problem with it is the description of the product is incorrect. The description states that it has a Turion X2 2200 processor, however it actually has a Sempron "Dual core" 2200. The Turion actually runs a true dual core, as opposed to the Sempron which is merely a single core. Needless to say, the sale from Thanksgiving day is going back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Black Friday Special

12/12/2008
By ,
Morganton, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this HP computer at the $398 special price the morning after Thanksgiving. It is an economy model system except for the rather big 19" monitor. I expected to get a muti-slot media card reader in the top front, but it wasn't included in the deal. Overall, I do like the computer, so far. However, the tiny speakers inside the monitor are not much and you will need to burn your own system backup/reinstall discs on 3 blank DVD's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Excellent for Basic Computing

12/27/2008
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this computer for $398 in my local store. For that price this was the best computer for the money. Out of the box the only issue I has was once setup it showed that my Windows Vista software was not "genuine". A call to HP support and a system restore fixed the issue and have had no problems since. The computer also has a Sempron X2 2200 processor, not the Turion as described, but this is still a dual core processor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

I love it

02/12/2009
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have played around with it for about a week now, and I love it! The only thing that I don't like about it is that it didn't come with the memory card readers that were displayed in the picture, but other than that, it exceeded my expectations. The speakers are not bad at all, like the person below me said, you just need to turn them up in control panel. The monitor is stunning, and it seems to be a speedy little guy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Good Family Computer

12/19/2008
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this computer because ours were very old. The sale on this was unbeatable. I ordered it online, which was easy. It arrived a few days late, we took it out, set it up, and thefive of us use it daily with no problems. The only thing I don't like is it doesn't come with the full Microsoft office products. It has word, but not Publisher. The MS Office that it does has is a 60 day only thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Good PC

03/02/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor a few weeks ago. I like the computer very much. The 19" monitor is beautiful!! It looks like a small tv on my desk.
It was very easy to put together and works fine with my local Internet provider. The price was also great. $493 is not bad. The monitors cost half that much.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

A really nice product

01/02/2009
By ,
Waynesville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this computer as gift to my son and his family for Christmas. They are very pleased with it. I bought a similiar model earlier in the year and I have enjoyed it. I knew my son and his family would like their new computer as much as I like mine. For the price, you couldn't ask for more in a computer. I wasn't sure they would like Vista as much as I do, but they do. It's great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor
12/27/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my daughter for christmas and she was so excited. The monitor is fantastic as far as the picture it shows. The only down side to the purchase was the fact that it does not come with speakers and we will have to purchase those seperate. She was able to play games, but couldn't hear any sound. Overall, the value and everything else is wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Excellent Price, Great computer.

12/30/2008
By ,
Westbrook, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried to get this computer the weekend after Thanksgiving and was sold out....a few days later they had them back in stock! Computer was easy to set up. The quality of the print and graphics on the screen aren't all that great...but all I do online is check email, balance the check books and paybills. Overall, this computer is a super buy. No complaints here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

PLease Read! The speakers DO work!

02/09/2009
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, so I set up this computer last week. If you are considering making this purchase, and it seems like a great value, I can tell you that it is! The only issues I have is that it comes with Vista which I am completely new to, but I can figure it out. Secondly, it does NOT come with a SD card reader/camera card reader. It shows one in the cpu(tower) of the picture, but that is not the same CPU you receive, though it is very similar. I have always had laptops and all my laptops have had card readers---I did not know that they make desktops nowadays without card readers. I will just have to hook up my digital camera with the cables, so not too big of an issue other than a small inconvenience. NOW....in many of the reviews people are saying you have to buy speakers because these dont work well. NOT TRUE!!! I have had the computer for a week and up until 5 monutes ago, I agreed and thought, wow, ,what terrible speakers....I had the volume (on the screen) all the way up and I could barely here it. Well then I went "duh!" and went to the control panel. I went to audio and found that the computer comes/defaults to the volume being almost all the way done. So you HAVE to adjust that when you get the computer. Like I said, just go to the control panel, go to audio and you will see the volume is all the way down....then just slide up the bar to as loud as you want. My hubby is upstairs talking on Skype and I can here him down here! These speakers are JUST FINE unless you want something with alot of definition for like watching movies or something like that. But I think the sound is just fine. I hope this helped. Take care!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

good product

02/07/2009
By ,
Millry. AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank You, Walmart this is a very good desktop, just have to get use to the keys, because I am so use to use the other keyboard but overall this is a good machine. I would give it a 5 out 5. It is a lot that I still don't know about this machine, but I like it . I am so excited about this flat screen monitor.
Thank Again
sroscoe
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

Not exactly

12/20/2008
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My computer works very well, but it does not have a turion processor. It has a sempron processor. I guess that would have been too good to be true. Anyway, I ordered it online and, there were no problems. It came quickly. The only thing a person may want are some speakers. They just have to be the kind that plug into the wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for HP Pavilion a6683w-b Desktop PC w/ AMD Sempron X2 2200 Dual-Core Processor (with 19" Wide LCD Monitor

desktop hp pavilion

12/28/2008
By ,
North Beach, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer for my parents and they love it! It's easy to setup & runs smoothly. The only bad thing is that it comes with Norton, which I don't recommend. The monitor is awesome & the tower is great. It has all the extra usb connections for a webcam or anything else you'd like to connect. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next