Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Maybelline Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Maybelline Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

The revolutionary whipped formula of this Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation provides an air-soft, matte-finish with a weightless feel. Color pigments offer superior coverage with this Maybelline Dream Matte Foundation. This Maybelline Dream Mousse Foundation blends effortlessly for a soft, natural-looking, even-toned result, and this Maybelline Dream Mousse Foundation now comes in 16 shades. For best results, start by applying foundation down the center of your face first. Use just a small amount of makeup and blend it in thoroughly. Layer more, if necessary, to achieve the coverage you want with this Maybelline Dream Mousse Foundation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation86%37 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Wonderful Foundation

12/15/2012
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all- I've seen many reviews of this, and they're pretty mixed. You almost have to try it for yourself to make a decision on if it will work for you. I buy this for my 16 year old sister, and she adores it. She will only use this shade, as she is very fair complected- and it's the lightest foundation that we have found. She has acne prone skin, and it is very sensetive. This has been the only thing so far that has not made her break out in either a rash, or pimples. It applies strangely for my taste, but she finds it very easy to use with a wedge, and fantastic for heavy or light coverage- whichever she needs at the time. Unfortunately, this particular make-up, and shade is increasingly harder to find. We tried two local Wal-Marts, a few grocery stores, and a Target with no luck. Wal-Mart was the only one that had it in stock, and allowed me to buy more than one at a time. It shipped in about two days, if I recall. Very pleased with the service, and availability of product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Flawless Results

08/07/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you want a flawless, airbrushed look that appears as though you're not wearing any makeup? Then you need to try this foundation! It works as a concealer and foundation in one and covers all traces of my acne scars and dark spots. I have oily skin in the T-zone so I do have to set that area with a pressed or loose powder every couple of hours, but this foundation is great for normal to oily skin, I recommend applying a primer and oil-free moisturizer before applying this product.
I live in FL where's it's very hot and humid and can honestly say that after being outside in the sun for 7 hours my makeup didn't run. On day one of trying this foundation I didn't apply a concealer underneath and I did notice that within a few hours I needed to re-touch and add a little more of this foundation where my dark spots were, but on day two I applied concealer on my dark spots and then applied this foundation and my face looked flawless throughout the day. I also set it with a pressed powder which kept the foundation in place all day and eliminated the shine. I also love that this foundation does not clog up my pores nor does it break me out.
Application: When applying this foundation I recommend using a cosmetic sponge, your finger, or foundation brush using the 'dab' method so that it can evenly distribute smoothly over your face without streaking.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Switchin' to Maybelline

09/24/2013
By ,
Huntsville,AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found a foundation for everyday or almost everyday that was good and not expensive, until I saw my daughter wear this. She's young so she always looks good but 2 weeks ago I asked her if she was using a new foundation because a noticed a slight more glow( in a good way)than before. She told me about this. First, I thought here I go with the color 'wheel' again but I got it right on the second try. My color is Por.Ivory. Smooth,even coverage with no sticking in the lines or turning into something like the oil on top of a pizza. Of course I have to use power(not as much with this) and blot--I'm used to touch-ups.I have worn makeup like this where they say it won't be greasy or make me look like I have a zillion pores but it doesn't. This is wonderfully dry yet soft and creamy. Sometimes people tend to overlook the older brands because they may seem dated but some companies are doing a great job keeping up. Way to go Maybelline!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS IF YOU HAVE DRY SKIN!!!

12/26/2013
By ,
queens,ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can not stress the fact of how much i hate this product. I bought this item back in June 2013 and thought that it would be a cool thing to try. Boy was i wrong. The container makes it seem like it's filled with so much product, but it's just an illusion of the way they shaped the glass. So, not much product for your money. Secondly, i do have to admit, though, that the texture is quite pleasant...until it touches your face. It feels so heavy on my face! I have dry skin (forehead, cheeks, chin) and worst of all was the fact that all my imperfections were supposed to be covered, right? Well, those imperfections were exaggerated with this mousse. It created patches all over my face. So alright, maybe first time's not a charm. I waited 2 days to try again. SAME THING HAPPENED. And what was even worse was that i started getting even more pimples after using this. Now it just sits in my makeup collection, having me regret purchasing it.
PLEASE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR BY NOT PURCHASING THIS PRODUCT IF YOU HAVE DRY SKIN!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Gives skin an "airbrush" finish!

08/29/2012
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've tried every foundation over the moon and this is the absolute best. I'm 17 and have been struggling with acne since the 4th grade, so naturally, I have some experience with makeup. I've been using this for about 6 months now, and it is absolutely amazing. First of all, I don't have to apply a large amount for it to completely cover my face. Second of all, no matter how much I DO use on my face, it looks beyond natural. I even had a friend ask me "How do you get your skin to look airbrushed?" This makeup is so light and airy and it leaves the skin hydrated without being oily. And it stays on FOREVER. I also have Maybelline's Fit Me Liquid Foundation and that DOES make my skin oily. It is an amazing difference. Also, I absolutely love the choices of shades and tones, since I have a very strange yellow-ish skin tone. I would definitely recommend this to anybody and everybody. TRY IT! It's sensational.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Great for normal to oily skin

02/15/2012
By ,
Oceanside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have normal to oily skin and some acne scars. I wanted to see how good this foundation was, so I first put it on the right side of my face only, and the difference was dramatic! My skin tone was even, and it hid my scars very well! The matte finish made me think I had the skin of a model, something I'm sure I don't have and never expected to.
I don't understand other reviews saying it was greasy, the matte finish worked perfectly on me and lasted hours! I put it on first thing after I get out of the shower, the clean skin is probably what makes the difference.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

finally found one I love

03/26/2014
By ,
Sacramento,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used maxfactor pan stick for years and now they don't make it anymore. I have tried so many other make-up and never satisfied, while reading a review on another foundation someone mentioned Dream Matt so I thought I would give it a try, I am so glad I did it gives good coverage without being heavy. It is a little costly for as much as you get but a little goes a long way.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

AWSOME MAKEUP, MAKES YOU LOOK YOUNGER AND FLAWLESS

03/29/2012
By ,
BALTIMORE, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PEOPLE TELL ME ME, WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR FACCE? HAVE YOU HAD PLASTIC SURGERY? YOUR FACE IS FLAWLESS, I LOVE THIS PRODUCT, AND HIGHLY RECOMENDED, SPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE REACH YOUR 50'TH!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Best Foundation Ever!

06/12/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mousse is fantastic! After years of using Clinique (which is excellent) it seemed as though my skin was getting a bit dryer than it used to be. I'm 58 and prone to acne. So I thought Id try something new. After reading reviews online and seeing that it is fragrance free (a must for me) I thought Id give it a try. When I put it on for the first time I couldn't believe the coverage! Minor acne scars gone. Skin tone even. And so easy to use. Completely blended in under a minute. Im not one to fuss over makeup and this has been a godsend. I dont even bother using powder and it lasts all day. Definitely recommended.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Amazing

05/11/2012
By ,
Long Beach, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, all I can say about this foundation is that it is amazing. I have tried them all, both drug store and high end foundations and I have to say that I prefer this one over all of them. I was using Make Up Forever HD Foundation, which I do love btw. I have to say that I like this even better.
This foundation is very, very matte, so if you're into the more dewy type look, this isn't for you. Although a few sprits of fix plus can give it a less matte look. With it being so matte, I would not suggest it for anyone with dry skin, as it will kinda stick to dry areas.
I have read quite a few bad reviews on this product and I honestly can't see how it could be recieveing any bad reviews at all. I mean, come on, I'm comparing it to my MUFE and liking it a bit more. I'm thinking the bad reviews are either people not applying it right or that don't have the right skin type for this product.
This product will not work well if it's not applied right. First off, make sure you moisturize very well. Next use a good primer. I use Mac Prep + Prime Skin Smoother, which is THE BEST primer ever. When applyig, I dab a few spots on my face with my fingers (btw, I sanitize them each time before putting my fingers in the jar) then I use the E.L.F. powder brush sprayed with Mac Fix Plus to blend lightly. I then top it off with MUFE HD Microfinish Powder. I get a flawless, airbrushed finish and this foundation lasts all day and well into the night.
I have read that alot of people say this foundation doesn't last long. I have also read that some people aren't using a setting powder because they say the foundation is matte. Well. just because a foundation has a matte finish doesn't mean that you don't need to set it. If you prime and set, this stuff looks amazing and lasts a long time.
I also have a few acne scars and large pores from when I was younger. The HD foundation would sorda settle into them and get shiny towards the end of the day, kinda making them stand out. This stuff seriously camouflages them and nothing else has.
It is also very buildable. You can get great coverage with it, but if you go overboard, it can easily start looking cakey. If you haven't tried this, I suggest you do. Just remember to moisturize, prime and set and you shoud love the finished result.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
killen,texas
wanna try it
Posted 01/23/2014
prettynpink005..i just read your review and you've definity convinced me more into getting it cuz I was thinkn about MUFE,but Maybelline is so much cheaper..i have acne prone,sensitive,oily skin,im afraid its gona make my skin worse
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation
10/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have been in love with this product ever since i laid my eyes on it! i bought it and i used it as soon as i got home and it feels so soft on your skin and it hides things very well such as acne scars,dark spots,and many other skin problems! it evens your skin tone so well every one asked what i was using because it looks so natural ! if your local drug store has this product i would buy it ASAP! i would recommend this product to everyone i know and i would buy this as a gift for a friend!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Love This!

01/16/2014
By ,
Arkadelphia, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE this makeup! I have very oily skin as well as acne scars and dark spots. When I apply this makeup, my skin looks nearly flawless! The only down side is that I have to buy two containers and mix to get the color I want. I was SO disappointed when my local store quit carrying my main shade (Cocoa)! But if I can still get it through Walmart.com, I can be satisfied with that. I highly recommend this makeup! I've tried lots of other brands, especially when my store discontinued this one, and nothing comes close!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Traditional Maybelline

05/24/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have worn Maybelline most of my life since high school. I've loved their mousse type foundations all along. Their product is fairly consistent. As a senior, I like this current product as I can apply just the amount I need rather than over my whole face. It blends so well and works very well with senior skin.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Great!

10/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was using covergirl and it didn't give the natural look that this does. I am a cosplayer and the make up is everything. It distinguishes who you are as the character your portraying and the foundations I have used before did not give very good results.
When you open it, it may not look like much but put a LITTLE on your finger or a Q-tip. A little goes a long way with this and I made the mistake of putting a lot on my face(I am used to having to use a lot) It has no scent and it feels natural when you wear it. I use the Porcelain/Ivory and it looks dark until you rub it in. This product is great and I highly recommend it^.^
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

I'm in LOVE, & im not even the Makeup type

04/23/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For starters, IF anyone left a bad review on this it's because they 1. Didn't apply it correctly, and use a good tool to apply it. (I recommend the beauty blender, or it's dupe the SOHO beauty sponge.. Or a stippling Brush) 2. They don't have normal to Oily skin. ..So back to my review
Im in LOVE and Im the tinted moisturizer type of makeup girl. This matches my skin Sooo perfect the coverage is great and it's sooo lightweight. It matches my skin soo well it took me a while to get use to putting it on because it just disappears and matches so PERFECT lol. I haven't tried this with a primer, I just moisturize before I apply it. It doesn't have a matte finish on me, though im sure it probably could if I used more. A little goes a long way, and that's all I use is a little. MY skin is Not perfect but with this it looks naturally flawless.. As if I don't even have on make up. I've only used it with the SOHO beauty sponge and I recommend for a even more flawless finish, also it saves you product. This can be the no make up make up and more.!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Love Coa-Coa but not available!!

01/27/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive been using Coa-coa for years now its not available anywhere!! I been to walmart for the past 6 monthes and its not available,as well as on-line!! I went to Walgreens even though it may be higher in price, but was not available there either!! Can anyone tell me where i can find it at!! HELP!! Did some one famous buy alll the Coa-Coa?? Yes this Item is that good!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation
09/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this product for the first time and fell in love with it. It provides excellent coverage, and it makes your face look really smooth. After wearing the makeup, I've received a lot compliments on how flawless my skin looks. One downfall about this product, though, is that it can become oily after several hours of wear. It's probably because my skin is already very oily even without makeup. I will continue to wear this product, but I will probably purchase Maybelline's Shine free loose powder to help with the end-of-the-day shine along with a primer. I will recommend this product to a friend. Love this product!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

love the matte finish

10/20/2009
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It goes on velvetty and smooth and the matte finish doesn't show all my inperfections.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

Dream Matte is super good

02/07/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought this product before from Pathmark and I never really wore Maybelline products because I mostly stuck to Sephora and MAC. This product is super easy to use, I buy the Cocoa Dark 3 and it matches and evens out my skin tone so nicely. I have a black spot on my face and I don't even use a lot of this product to cover it up. I love how weightless and light it is and its not messy
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Foundation

I don't like it...

11/24/2012
By ,
MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Maybe it's just me, personally. I feel like I have to apply too much of this before it starts making a difference. It's hard to blend well; if you don't blend well enough it accentuates your pores instead of hiding them. Basically, when I put it on, it looks unnatural, takes too much time and too much product, and is just unflattering.
Maybe I'm the only one with this problem. I'm not new to makeup and I have a lot of experience with foundation, so it's not like I'm just applying it improperly. I just don't like it.
On the bright side, the formula is good, the price is right and the color variation is good.
I think maybe it's an all-right product but it did not work for me. I bought 3 shades and ended up having to throw them all away (I thought maybe one was defective, so I tried them all).
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next