Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Catcraft Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Catcraft Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Designed to provide your cats with countless hours of enjoyment, this Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture has everything a cat needs. It is carpeted to promote scratching and exercising. When the cat is tired, it can lay down on the cat tree furniture and take a nap.
Average Customer Rating:
3.477 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
24
2 stars
12
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation72%94 out of 130reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 128 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
24
2 stars
12
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

You Can't Beat The Price!

07/11/2009
By ,
Auburndale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased for $39.99 a year ago. I have three adult cats and recently added three kittens. It has held up tremendously with all cats jumping and playing. I added string with toys attached using a screw drilled under the platforms! The only drawback is the kittens tended to chew at the seams, previously when carpet threads would string I would just keep them trimmed. I duct taped the kitten damage and so far so good. You could also get carpet remnants and re-cover or just buy a new one for that price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Piqua, OH
I also bought the tree shown a year ago.
Posted 12/09/2013
I had 4 adults cats who also loved the tree shown here. I'm unfortunately down to 2 cats now and they tore this product up within a month. It's the recycled fuzzy carpet and I have to trim it, vacuum it, and it is still an eyesore. My babies don't like when the fuzz comes loose in their toe nails.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

With some modifications, it can be great!

08/30/2012
By ,
Portland, Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this cat tree for $39.99 in store and thought it was a pretty good deal. I had read reviews previous to purchase, and understood it wasn't going to be a great item. I figured I would hedge my bets and purchase this before putting down over $100 for a comparable tree.
My first problem with this tree was that the carpet covering the tubes came off very easily once my cats used it as a scratch post. It definitely is a bit shaky and moves when the cats are climbing. Other than that, it seemed to be a nice tree. My cats hung out on it without breaking it (biggest is about 16lb) and seemed to enjoy it.
After the carpet started pulling up, I decided I was going to remove the carpet and wrap all the posts in sisal rope (found in hardware section, $5 per rope with a total of 4 needed) and hot glue it down. The carpet was stapled onto the cardboard tubes with a strip of glue up each tube, so removal was fairly easy. It took about 2 hours to glue/wrap the sisal around the tubes, which made a huge improvement in eye appeal.
As I was putting the tree back up, my biggest cat jumped on it before I had secured it to the roof. The tree then tumbled down ane the plastic end caps on the tubes pulled loose, meaning it was not going back together. If I hadn't just spent a few hours of my life wrapping it in sisal, I might have thrown it away, but I decided I needed to fix it. I bought deck screws (50 pack) and screwed down all of the plastic end caps so they would not pull out in the future (these were also just stapled on like the carpet). I also ended up using the screws to firmly secure the base, as the hex screw that came with it stripped when I used a real hex to tighten the base and I could not get it back off. This means that the bottom piece and the bottom tube are forever joined, but every other section comes apart as originally intended.
Total, I have probably spent $60 including the original purchase to improve this tree. Definitely a nice investment and my cats are thrilled their tree is back up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tallahassee
Brilliant!!
Posted 11/14/2012
Thanks for taking the time to explain how to improve this tree. I have 4 that I will now be redoing. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Small footprint. Big fun.

04/26/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat is thrilled that she can now look out the window or watch tv from her own sky box. With it's three shelves it provides a lot of options for her to choose from. Happy girl.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Very unsatified with product

09/10/2010
By ,
Mazeppa, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This cat tree I just bought turned into fuzz after one cat scratching. The carpeting isn't real, and
after a week it shredded and had holes in it.
I bought this product in the past with great results. My cats liked them so well they demolished them after a year. But, this new products is horrible, and won't hold-up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Easy to customize cat tree

01/26/2014
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For $40, this is a great basic cat tree that would be easy and inexpensive to modify. I haven't done anything yet, but some ideas would be to add sturdier/longer platforms, different cloth on the platforms, sissel rope to the poles ($5 at walmart), etc. I love the fact that it goes all the way to the ceiling. Once assembled, I sprayed some catnip oil on it, and watched my 3 cats go to town with it. The platforms it comes with aren't too small. I have 3 cats of different sizes/ages, and they can all climb and lay on them. It seems sturdy so far, but I haven't had it long. I'm going to see how well it holds up structurally, and if it does well, I'll be buying a couple more for different parts of the house. I took a star off because on its own, I'm sure the "carpet" is super cheap/thin and going to be ripped to shreds shortly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Great tree for the money

04/07/2014
By ,
Greenville, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We foster cats for a rescue so we have around 15-20 cats in the house always. In December, 5 months ago, we bought one of these and a $120 cat tree from another website. This one had held up better than the more expensive one! Yes, the carpet is coming off the lowest pole, but that is it, the rest of it is holding up fine and it has not moved and inch from where we put it up. With this many cats using it day in and day out I'm surprised it held up so well!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Get what you pay for

04/14/2009
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this as a gift for my 1 year old Bengal. He plays extremely rough and broke this thing twice within a month. So I finally went ahead and Gorilla glued the whole thing together and it works great. I have it placed next to the cabinets above my fridge along with a kitty bed, making it his very own room, he likes it up there. I plan on purchasing another to place by a window but will glue it together immediately instead of waiting for it to break.
Good for the price, but pick up some gorilla glue while your in the store.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Good Cat Tree

12/26/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cat tree after I unexpectedly acquired a 2nd cat, a large male. I already had a smaller cat tree for my little female, and there was no way they were willing to share.
Thankfully Leo loves this cat tree and spends a good portion of his day on it. I would definitely buy this again.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

My babies love it!

07/13/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My babies Dakota & Chloe love this tree. At first they didn't know what it was(it's their 1st tree) but as soon as I hung a mouse toy on it they were at the top. Now they are on it all the time. I put it by the window so they can watch the world outside. The only thing I would have to say I don't like about it is that it's not as sturdy as I would like but it does do it's job. Now my kittens don't have to scratch my sofa & they can be up high like they want. No tools needed unless your ceiling is between 8-9feet the instructions say you need a hacksaw but I just used a cutting knife(I have good knives). I got this because it is cheap for now until I can afford a bigger tree that comes with a condo. Overall I love it & so do my babies!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture
10/12/2012
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have five big cats and they love this thing they play on it
everyday. I read a bad review that said the platforms were not
sturdy but with five big cats this thing is holding up great.
They love to sit on the top platform and they vie for that
position all the time. If it was not sturdy my cats would have
broke it apart by now. They like it so much I am thinking
about buying another one. Only thing is I am not sure how
long the rug/carpet will hold up with these guys scratching it
like crazy but so far so good its holding up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

modified but a great buy!

03/19/2013
By ,
Cheektowaga, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got two of the cat craft cat trees about 6 years ago and took out the top platforms to put in a long board in their place. My cats love it because they can see out of my high window that are about 5 ft off the floor The cats love to lay on the platform and look out the windows. I may have modified it but it works well. I plan to buy 2 more to replace the well loved carpet. I feel 6 years of high use is good. I also have 8 cats so it was well used and my cats never have used my furniture to sharpen claws.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Great product if you're on a small budget.

11/19/2012
By ,
Austin, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love it. I have a rescue cat that I have been nursing back to health. She loves to sit on it so she can get away from the dogs. Its cheaply made and not incredibly apealing. Mine is a dark blue. It will probably last a little less than a year, but at the price it is I can just go buy another one. If you can afford to buy a more expensive one its probably a better Idea, but if you're on a small budget like me this is a great deal. I will probably get a couple more eventualy. Remember you get what you pay for. dont buy this and expect it to last for years and years it wont. If you want something that will last for about a year then this is great. Its super easy to put together! I had it up in 10 min. Great product for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

cheap price for a cheap product

05/14/2014
By ,
Williston, ND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a small cat. He is only a 2-3lbs and full grown. He likes to scratch and climb so naturally I though this would be a great idea. Seemed like a great price. This thing is not worth the cost. Honestly, I could/should have built something better myself.
Pros-
- Allows cat to scratch
-allows cat to climb
-cheap price
Cons-
-Cheap cardboard tubes
-FELT not Carpet
-Doesn't fit a ceiling under 8 feet
-doesn't fit a ceiling over 9 feet
-at a 9 foot ceiling, it is wobbly
-the ceiling brace is made of a clay-like material and breaks, rendering the product useless
-at an 8 foot ceiling, you really have to push hard to get the brace pushed down far enough, but it does make it sturdier.
- the platforms are small, even for a small cat
This is the second one of these I have gone through and I will not be buying a 3rd. I don't understand how anyone could have a good review of this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Get what you pay for

04/29/2009
By ,
ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is the cheapest and most simple style that I have found. I have two 9 month kittens and they play on it every day. I have had it for about 6 months and I am already getting ready to purchase another. The product broke once, and took me about 3 weeks (8+ phone calls and a nasty e-mail) to get the replacement parts. However, once I was finally able to speak with a person, the company was great about sending everything for free. I also called during the Christmas season and can understand if this hindered the process.
My parents have the same product for their cat and it has lasted almost a year in great condition. Their cat is also older and does not play as rough as my boys. You get what you pay for. The product is cheap, but it's made with flimsy materials. If your cats play rough, it may not last as long. If you're looking for a cheap behavioral fix, this is a great product. My cats stopped clawing at the carpet, furniture, walls, etc. once I put this up. They love racing up, around, and down the post. They love sleeping at the top.
If you can afford to get the more durable products ($150-$300), I would stay away from this. If price is an issue, I would definitely recommend trying this cat tree. Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Unstable, Poorly Designed

01/14/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew I was taking a risk on this, since it was so inexpensive. Sometimes, when you purchase things at a low price, you can overlook some flaws. I wasn't expecting a great cat tree for ~$40; however, the flaws in this item are too large to overlook.
Pros:
1 - Short-pile carpet
2 - Takes up very little horizontal space
Cons:
1 - This cat tree is very wobbly and unstable. The piece wobbled so much that my cat got off of it within seconds of getting on. (See #2, below. My cat had access to one platform via another piece of furniture.# We tried repositioning the piece several times to stabilize it, but nothing worked.
2 - The tubes are too long, so the spaces between the platform pieces #22.5 inches, each# are too great for most cats to navigate. Even if I managed to stabilize the cat tree, it would still be useless to my cat #and probably yours, too) because she couldn't reach the various levels.
I wanted to like this item because it is very compact. However, we couldn't find any way to make this cat tree work for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Ok item

10/10/2014
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to install however the material around the poles does not hold up to much scratching. My cat torn off the scratch covering in 3 weeks & she doesn't scratch it that often. Needs to be a sisal type for strength.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

cheap materials

01/04/2012
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have 2 cats and every time they'd jump onto a shelf it would bow in the center. I thought maybe it was off center or not screwed tight enough so I'd make sure it was level and tight but it would still bow. One day while my cat was on the center shelf it separated at the middle and came crashing down on her. All this is made out of is cardboard tubes. Not wanting to have just wasted $40, I reinforced the connections with screws but it still bows. I shortened the top connection thinking maybe it was just too tall to support the weight of the cat but that didn't work either. Oh well, I guess you get what you pay for. I can't believe they claim it's durable on the box. How can cardboard be classified as durable? I also read the 4 star reviews and can't understand how their tree is still standing. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia, PA
Rebuttle
Posted 10/05/2013
If you actually had one of these that was defective, I'm sorry for you. However, our cats love the ones we've had. I'll keep buying them (whenever they're available) and highly recommend them. The cats play hard on them and, eventually, they do wear out. But, hey, we've gotten our $40 worth out of everyone we've had. If you have a complaint about the quality of the materials, why didn't you buy one of those $500 sets?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

The worst cat tree EVER!

11/05/2012
By ,
Auburn, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought cat trees from Walmart for years. The trees lasted over a year and I was very happy with that length of time considering I had several cats. BUT this last tree was a total disappointment! The cardboard was thinner and the carpet was basically a cloth instead of carpeting…It just took one cat jumping onto the tree and the tree bent in the middle. We tried anchoring it to the wall but within 5 days the “carpet” was pulling away from the tree as well as ripping. The tree was sitting at an angle no matter how much we tried to support it. I returned it to Walmart for a refund. With that money my husband and I bought 2x4’s and a carpet runner. Considering we had anchored the Walmart tree to the wall we figured we could build our own tree and anchor it to the wall. We have 4 shelves and 4 posts and very happy cats. We didn't expect alot buying a 40$ tree but certainly did expect the same quality that we've had for years.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Cats love it

10/09/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my old Catcraft tree for years before it finally was time to order a new one. So it is very durable for at least 2 cats that I have, plus they love to hang out on it, sleep, scratch and seem to enjoy it.
Would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Catcraft Cat Tree Pet Furniture

Munchkins Love It

02/01/2009
By ,
Fort Riley, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had our cat tree for about a year now and the cats (3) love it! They'll run up to the top and sit and look down at the others and one of them can hook his claws into the edge and jump down and end up doing flips on it. Its very funny to watch. My only problem is the carpet on it is easy to snag with their claws, so about every other week I sit there with scissors and cut the loose parts off. But toher than that no problems. My husband said it was very easy to put together and should be easy to take apart when we move (military).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Seneca, KS
Thank You
Posted 08/16/2012
Just wanted to say thank you for your family's sacrifice. Thank your husband for me, for his service. (I assume it's him who's enlisted, because of your screen name) Also, thanks for the review!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next