Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wild Harvest Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

Wild Harvest Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

Average Customer Rating:
2.1 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation30%3 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

Clearly not made with Ferrets in mind

11/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased this as back up food in store when my mail order food has had a delay. The food is rather large for a tiny ferret mouth. I have 2 ferrets and on multiple locations the triangle shaped pieces have gotten lodged in the roofs of my poor ferrets mouths! They are just the right size and shape to get stuck in between their teeth! Fortunately we were in the room and noticed our poor little ferrets struggling to try and figure out what to do to remove the food on their own. Never buying this brand again I can't buy something that's going to potentially make my fur babies suffer if I'm not home at the time to notice it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

After researching. ..

11/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Getting a ferret for Christmas, buying supplies in advance. ..thought this was great price for food vs pet stores but come to find out, ferrets shouldn't have fruits. Will return for different food. Shipped quickly though.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

Stay Away

09/24/2014
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a terrible food for ferrets. A look at the ingredients proves this. Ferrets are carnivorous and should have a diet very low in fiber. The second ingredient in this food is rice. Not to mention the various fruits also included which adds more plant fibers and sugars, which are also something to stay away from. Your ferret may love to eat this food, but pets don't generally pick things to eat that are beneficial to them. Be a good ferret parent and get them a high quality grain free ferret or cat food. Zupreem Grain-Free Ferret Diet and Evo are two great examples.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

bad choice

06/08/2012
By ,
Cheboygan, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought that this food was good for ferrets until I found out that ferrets are strict meat eaters and this food has a ton of fruit and vegetables. no wonder why my ferret has been so itchy...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

Garbage

04/13/2013
By ,
Roanoke, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ferrets are meat eaters. Obligate carnivores. The stuff in this product produce nothing but large bowel movements which shows the amount of non-useable stuff in it.
Instead look for meat and meat meals as opposed to "by-products." Meat and poultry by-products are the bits that don't make it into human foods, and may be low in digestibility and therefore not really a useful protein source. Eggs are also a high quality protein source. Look for meat or meat meals or eggs to make up the first three ingredients. You'll find a few foods that make this requirement - but definitely avoid any that do not have high quality proteins or fats as at least most of the first 6 ingredients.
Beware the use of corn gluten, soy meal, rice gluten and other vegetable or grain based proteins that may boost the protein content, but are not useful to ferrets. Also watch for added sugars (sucrose, fructose, corn syrup, etc).
Basically look for:
High in protein - 30-40 percent on the label nutrition analysis
Protein must be high quality, highly digestible, and be animal-based (not plant-based)
High in fat (at least 20 percent, perhaps up to 30 percent on the label analysis)
Very low in carbohydrates and fiber (less than 3 percent fiber)
There are several ferret diets available now, and some are better than others. Good diets tend to be expensive, but are worth it. To see the importance of comparing labels, MD Ferret PAWS, Inc. provides a nice comparison chart (http://www.mdferretpaws.org/care/food_treats.html) to allow you to compare a huge range of foods. The chart is long, but ranks foods for you. You can see from the chart that there is no perfect diet - very few foods come close to meeting the requirements set out above. It is really a matter of picking foods that you can readily get that are as close to ideal as possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

Bad Food!

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My ferret ended up at the vet and the vet told me to switch foods because he showed such poor health from this food. This food has mostly filler and vegetables and not enough meat. Will buy a food that has higher meat ingredients. Won't buy this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

Do not buy this!

10/06/2013
By ,
New Mexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This food absolutely horrible. Ferrets eat meat, not vegetables and fruit.
If you think your feeding nothing but the best, you actually feeding nothing but the worst.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

ferret. food

03/28/2014
By ,
fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our ferret loves it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food

my Ferret loves this food

07/10/2012
By ,
livingston, montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great price for this, and my ferret loves it, she is so playful and healthy, i only want the best for her, and i will buy this food from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Roanoke, VA
No good.
Posted 04/13/2013
Ferrets are obligate carnivores and must have meat or meat based protein to survive. This food is an emergency room visit just waiting to happen. There is nothing of any value for ferret in it. Please stop using/selling this crud.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wild Harvest 3lb Ferret Food
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5