Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Clairol Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Clairol Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde delivers simply blonde bliss. Born Blonde Maxi is for use on dark blonde to black hair. Clairol offers a complete range of easy to use blonding hair color products that give you brilliant, natural-looking blonde results. Whether your starting color is light blonde to dark brown or even black, you can easily become completely, beautifully blonde with results that feel incredibly soft & silky.
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation55%16 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

Easy enough to do by myself!

03/18/2012
By ,
St. Augustince, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought this, I had coppery hair, almost orange. I had already bleached it once, but the other product didn't get my hair the colour I wanted. This immediately brought the colour up several notches lighter and did much less damage on my hair. I love it! I used it twice to get it from orange to platinum blond. Don't look at other reviews! If you want blond hair and it is coloured or dark, you WILL have to bleach it a few times unless you want to fry it really badly. In any case you do wanna pick up a good conditioner after you bleach it. ^-^
The photo is of my hair after bleaching it three times, twice using this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Review 2 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

Great Product! Best on the market

07/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only BLEACH I will use. This isnt a hair dye its bleach. That means that first of all you need to put this on your hair. I usually leave it on 20 more minutes than the box states since my hair usually takes a little longer since its dark brown. This will turn your hair a very light blonde almost white if you keep it on the right amount of time.. If you look at your hair and you see orange keep it on longer. Since this is bleach you are supposed to buy a hair dye to use after this however if this gets you to the shade you want(like in my case) then you just need to follow up with a toner or toning shampoo (Purple shampoo) Being blonde is never a one stop process! A toner or purple shampoo removes any yellow or brass you may have however this product doesnt leave me with much of that at all. But one wash with the purple shampoo and its the perfect very light blonde- lighter than the box.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Review 3 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

Average results.

07/02/2011
By ,
Pilot Mountain, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So this is my first time going blonde. My hair is normally a dark brown. I've been reading online about what can happen and how many people end up with orange/yellow hair so I expected it. For the most part you really need to add a toner to this, unfortunately my local walmart doesn't sell toner, I'm not sure if they do at other ones. My hair ended up being a mixture between a strawberry blonde and orange, had to go find a store that carried toner. I applied the toner today and it really has evened out to a more natural blonde look, it is definitely not as light as on the box. My hair is now very dry so I will be following up with a deep conditioner. After what I have read online about bleaching and dying, I did get what I expected to get from this, but the package can be very misleading to someone who is using that as their sole guide to dying their hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 4 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

Do it right.

02/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're going from dark brown before bleaching, it will be orange after one application. To get light blonde, I suggest doing it 3 times.
This is the only bleacher that I've liked using...and I've tried a few.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Review 5 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

Nice and Easy(:

08/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My hair started a golden blonde color with some very blonde highlights. I dyed my hair using the John Frieda Foam dye in one of the lightest blonde colors they had. My hair turned a darker golden blonde but it was almost strawberry blonde on the ends. I've been trying to get my hair platinum blonde and then I was going to add some pink streaks. My original plan was to go to Sally's Beauty Supply and see what they recommended. Instead I seen this at Wal-Mart and had read on some website that this was actually a very good bleach. I decided to try it because it's a lot easier to buy a box with everything you need then buy everything separately (which sometimes is a good thing). My hair is now mostly platinum blonde. It has some yellow pieces but I expected it based on the directions. I also probably could have left it on a little longer and the yellow would have been gone. I left the bleach on for a little more than an hour because i was worried about damaging my hair too much. But surprisingly I have very little damage. I am planning on toning my hair tonight to get out the rest of the yellow. My hair is a couple inches past my shoulders and this ended up being almost the perfect amount of bleach. I needed a little bit more but I plan on touching up the spots I missed tonight too. Overall it's not bad. If you have dark hair I wouldn't expect miracles. I do like that this tells you what stages hair lightens in so you can guess about where you will be. The only thing I don't like is it says you can use it for dark hair. If someone tries this on black hair then yes it is probably going to be orange and not blonde. You would probably have to use this 2-3 times to get a light blonde from black hair. Overall though this worked pretty good for me(:
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+3points
Review 6 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

I can't wait to dye my hair brown again.

05/27/2011
By ,
Wonderland, Alice's Imagination
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've bleached my hair many times in the past but stopped because it was too pricy. When I saw this in the stores I thought it was a god-send and I would finally be able to be blonde again. My hair looks completely awful right now. It's splotchy and the color is more yellow then the nice, natural blonde on the front of the box. Very disappointing. The product also claimed my hair would be soft and it is everything but that. I know what happens when you bleach hair but this is the worst it's ever been. Frizzy, straw like and yucky. I would never do this again. I can't wait another second to be a brunette again.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 7 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

AMAZING!

04/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nothing less than AMAZING! i have dyed black hair. i bought two boxes of this product because i have thick hair shoulder length. i had more than i needed in one box!!! the turnout will be an orangey color but i had the other box to do a 2nd application so i got the blonde color i needed to dye my hair a light golden brown. WILL DEFINITLY USE THIS PRODUCT AGAIN!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 8 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

Oh, wait, you didn't want ORANGE?

10/28/2010
By ,
EASTON
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you have any shade of brown hair you are going to need to most likely 2 boxes of this because the first time it dyes it orange and since i didn't want to damage my hair my bleaching it a second time i had to dye it a darker color and thank the lord i had another hair color box at home.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 9 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit
06/03/2012
By ,
Clarksville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before I purchased this product I had used a different kind of bleach to lighten my hair that left it a light orange color. After reading the other reviews I thought this product would lighten my hair the rest of the way to a blonde that wouldn't look horrible. I was wrong. I still gave it a higher rating because it did lighten it enough to the point where it should look good after I put a blonde hair color on it. I'm waiting a couple of weeks before doing it so my hair isn't too damaged. So this is good for lightening, but is by no means a final step for your hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 10 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

Excellent product to change your image.

10/13/2011
By ,
Miami Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The color of my hair was dark brown almost black but the grey hair started an invasion on my head and this was the right solution for me. My hair turned a really light blonde as shown on the box and I am very happy with the results, my husband love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Review 11 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit
07/02/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm mortified. I have long thick hair. It says for use on long or short hair and shows awesome results on the box This was their worst. I recommend 2-3 boxes or you will end up with orange coppertone and/or dark brown hair.
The front of my hair is super blonde and I applied it to the front and roots last. My roots are still pitch black, the parts of my hair that are naturally auburn are an orange tone with lots of black hairs here and there.
I have used clairol balsam palest blond and for 6-7$ [2 boxes of a different blonding mix] you can get somewhat better results without the dry and roughness.
Such a huge bottle i'd think it would've had more effect.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
Clairol: Palest Blonde Balsam Lasting Color, 1 ct
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 12 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

good but not even

05/07/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is the first bleached I've used.i did use this on previously dyed hair.my hair was red that faded to light brown on top and black on bottom.because of that i would expect it not to be evenly blonde i thought it would be blondish on top and brown on bottom,this was not the case.it was mostly blonde on top with light pink splotches and mostly dark brown on the bottom but had streaks of blonde.the roots also are light the every thing else but the instructions explain this.over all i like it.but it may not be for you.if i wanted results like on the boxed id have to do it twice.
-1point
Review 13 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

unless you already have light hair, dont use.

03/10/2012
By ,
gayville, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
works on dark hair? no, my roots are orange and my hair is still dark. if you are thinking of buying this product, dont. your better off taking your well earned 10 dollars and flushing it down the toilet. infact, i wouldnt spend even a dime on this ever again. i would rather spend 10 dollars on anything else but this. your better off spending 80 at the salon, and actually getting a good job done, which is what i have to do now. well, lesson learned, any one who wants to buy this product, it doesnt work, doesnt do what it says, and is not worth any money whatsoever. be warned.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 14 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit

Really...ORANGE HAIR!!! Not so Born Blonde Maxi."

12/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Okay...I have a really pretty natural grey color but had decided to dye my hair Dark Soft Mahogany Brown - LOVED IT! Well, I decided that I would go blonde and let my natural grey grow back in and have healthy hair. I saw this Born Blonde Maxi and thought based on the information and color guide provided that this would be a way to go back to blonde - WRONG! Last night I colored my hair and was completely mortified at the result, white/orange - like ORANGE!!! My anxiety level rose and I lost a lot of sleep over it, I can't go out in public like this, I look hideous. After this, I went online to see how I could fix it because I sure can't afford to see a professional. I am thankful for other sites that recommended going with 2 shades darker than what I had, I also went with an "ash" color to counter the orange. I used L'Oreal Excellence Medium Ash Blonde and it saved me...turned out beautiful and got rid of the orange. Now I just have to suffer with the tight scalp feeling and the smell of hair color as I colored twice. Also, the Born Blonde Maxi burns, is very strong smelling on the nose and eyes, leaves hair brittle and straw like as far as feel. After using the L'Oreal Excellence, my scalp is still tight and a little sore with a bit of a headache but my hair actually feels silky soft and well conditioned.
DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT UNLESS YOU LIKE THE COLOR ORANGE!!!
~ Totally Dissatisfied Lady.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
possible
Posted 02/12/2012
if you dyed your hair dark then used this one that might have been the problem. My cousin told me to get a hair color remover before using the born blonde product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit
03/22/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have what they call a dirty dish water blonde hair i bought this hair die to turn my hair bleach blonde............it did just that the ends and roots of my hair was white and the center and middle of my hair was ORANGE should have never done that... so i had to die it medium brown not the color i wanted.......i was so unhappy with the resalts it gave me.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-2points
Review 16 for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit
06/26/2012
By ,
SLO, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with your product and your shipping price and quick delivery.
I shall be purchasing it again soon. And other products from your store.
Thank you.
Sincerely,
GG
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clairol Nice 'n Easy Born Blonde Hair Color, Maxi 1 Kit
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5