Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

Great Value Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

Premium Great Value Coffee is 100 percent pure coffee. This Instant Decaffeinated Coffee can be enjoyed any time of day, even in the evening hours, without keeping you awake or the use of a coffeemaker. To brew a cup of coffee, simply add this 100% Pure Coffee to a cup of hot water and stir. Premium Great Value Coffee contains no artificial flavors or colors and is natural gluten-free. It is suitable for a kosher diet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%12 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

Good for quick iced coffee

12/02/2012
By ,
SW FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a coffee snob; I used to pay over $100 a month to get special kona shipped to me etc. (well, I still would if I could afford it). However, I felt it made no sense to waste great coffee on iced coffees, since they are diluted with, well, ice (and milk). Sure, you can go through all kinds of effort making special coffee ice cubes and coffee extracts; but really, at the rate I drink them down, that isn't efficient. I also wanted to find a decaf variant and, let's face it, any decaf is going to be a big downgrade in quality from the real stuff. So why pay a lot for "fancy" decaf?
I didn't like any of the instant coffees I tried; but picked this up one day at the local Walmart, with frankly serious doubts. I was surprised to find that it works well for me as a daily iced coffee option. I can whip it up in seconds, adjust the strength to my mood, and I don't have to stress about expensive coffee going to waste as the ice melts.
I have continued to use this since then. In particular I like that I can make it very strong if I am so inclined, as doing so doesn't exacerbate unpleasant flavors to the same degree that other instant coffees do if they are prepared more potently than recommended. It has a reasonably acceptable balanced coffee flavor, and it works well with any type of milk, including sweetened condensed milk for Vietnamese style iced coffees.
With the understanding that this is instant decaf coffee, I would suggest you give it a try if you are looking for something of this nature and have found that all of the popular brands are either lacking in flavor entirely, or are too bitter, sour, burnt, acidy, or tangy. It is inexpensive to try and, if you dislike it as a beverage, you can always reserve it to use for baking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

Good but needs to come in larger jar

02/08/2014
By ,
Berwick, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good decaf coffee but these 8 oz. jars get used up too fast and I need something much larger for my household.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

Tastes like coffee.

05/19/2013
By ,
Missoula Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When you open the lid, you won't that glorious smell that Taster's Choice does, but it tastes good - it tastes like coffee. And for me, that's better good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

Better than Folgers decaf!

06/24/2013
By ,
Greer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this instant coffee and don't know why it's no longer carried in the stores!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

A good tasting coffee.

06/09/2012
By ,
Cinti., OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tastes real good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

Superior to any coffee I've ever had.

03/27/2014
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm shamelessly addicted to this instant coffee. My husband and I love our coffee and we've tried many. This is, as it says in it's brand name, a Great Value. It's also great taste. No chemical aftertaste. It's just awesome. You couldn't even tell that it isn't gourmet and home brewed. It's just superior.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

purchased for emergency purpose only

04/25/2013
By ,
Western MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Storing away for an emergency....any coffee is better than NO coffee! Enough said :)
(for my wife, she drinks decaf)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

Great For Middle of the Night

12/22/2013
By ,
Bryan Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this coffee to have when an extra cup of coffee would be nice with no added caffeine is wanted.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

good flavor but weak

04/29/2014
By ,
silicon valley, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered a variety of instant decaf coffees and have been comparing them. The Great Value version has a good flavor, and I may order it again. The only issue is that it is pretty weak, so you need to use more crystals than you would if you bought (e.g.) Nescafe Clasico, which is a lot stronger. If you are trying to get the best price per cup, this may not pencil out, despite the low unit price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz

Good coffee.

02/18/2014
By ,
Pahrump, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tastes good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Great Value Premium Decaffeinated Instant Coffee, 8 oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5