Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Master Chef Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Master Chef Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation78%21 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

very good coffee

10/10/2009
By ,
Western NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did purchase this coffee because of the price and because I dislike coffee in plastic containers. It is good quality coffee like I serve in the restaurant. No aftertaste and marvelous aroma while brewing. I would buy this again and again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 2 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

a stunning coffee value

05/03/2012
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To my tastes, this is better than any of Starbucks except their Christmas Blend (about $15/pound), any of Stumptown (except their phenomenally great Hairbender Blend, also around $15/pound) and except some blends (also above $10/pound) of Mocha Joe's and of Green Mountain Coffee Roasters. However, all of those are whole-bean dark roasts, and this is a ground medium roast, and the medium roast means that this coffee has a stronger roasted-nuts aroma than any dark roast coffee, but has less of a smokey aroma than those other extraordinarily fine coffees. So, if price were no object, then choosing between this and all of those others would be purely a choice of nutty versus smokey. However, at around $$2.50/pound, this one is astronomically preferable to any of those. If one prefers a medium roast coffee, then none tastes better than this, and there isn't any reason to use any competing brand since all of the others cost at least twice this stunning price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

A wonderful surprise

02/08/2009
By ,
Alamogordo NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVED IT!. Bought it because the price was very reasonable, will keep buying it for it is smooth, rich and mellow. No after taste, no bitterness. Reminds me of coffee from South America but without the price of import.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

This coffee tastes horrible

01/17/2010
By ,
MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The only thing I have to say about this coffee is that it's inexpensive...but personally it tastes like hot dirt. It was horrible..I ended up throwing almost a whole can away and going and getting my normal brand. I guess going cheaper isn't always better. I'll stick with my normal brand from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Master Chef as Good as the Rest

01/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is really good coffee. I have always used Folgers or Maxwell House, but once a friend told me about Master Chef and I tried it, I haven't used anything else. It is just as good as the leading brands and a fraction of the cost. I think so many people get hung up on having to purchase major well-known brands that they are unwilling to try something else...well I'm glad I did - this is a money saver for sure and I still get great coffee!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Wonderful coffee, exceptional value

01/10/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compared to other brands (which carry significantly higher prices), Master Chef stands out far ahead. Not only is it one of the best values available, but the flavor, aroma, and color are all well beyond those of Folgers, Maxwell House, etc.. It lacks the pungent "skunky" flavor often associated with said brands, partially due to it's packaging. It's freshness is typically remarkable (although about once a year we get a very "dry" can), and in a blind test incorporating several acquaintances, it scored well above all other regularly available brands except for Yuban Classic, which ran slightly behind. All in all, it's a great coffee for morning drinkers looking for a medium blend with a wonderful bouquet, and the price to value ratio can not be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

OK - Good Value

01/24/2011
By ,
Somewhere in the New Mexican desert
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pro's - Tasted fresh; good body; tastes rich and not watery; nice aroma
Con's - Strong aftertaste, has somewhat of a canned taste
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Taste
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 8 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

What a pleasant surprise!

06/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this can of mundane looking coffee because of the absurd price tag: only 2 bucks for the whole can. I was skeptical at first, especially based on a few of the other reviewers here. But low and behold, that all changed once this baby was brewed! The flavor is mellow, the aroma is sweet and the coffee turns out smooth. For only two dollars I could not be more impressed with a can of coffee; I will definitely be recommending this blend to my friends. Hot dirt I think not; this is quality at an even better price. Gotta go, I think my coffee's done ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Good Coffee Great Price

06/02/2012
By ,
anywhere usa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because I wasn't able to locate a coupon online to purchase Maxwell house coffee that I usually drink, I bought Master Chef. The cost of this large can of coffee is half the price of what I usually pay and the coffee is surprisingly good.
Because I add flavored creamer and Splenda to my coffee, it really makes no difference to me what brand of coffee I buy anyway. For my personal use, it's a waste of money to buy expensive coffee
I found this coffee at Walmart where I usually shop and saved five dollars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Great Coffee

11/09/2011
By ,
Scroggins, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started buying this coffee when prices started to skyrocket. I love it. It brews great, taste great, and you cannot beat the price anywhere. It does not take any more scoops than any other brand to get a great pot of coffee unlike some brands where you have to use more coffee to get the flavor. Stays fresh. Plus I use the REAL metal can for storage of everything from small Christmas decorations to tools and supplies. No mice. No bugs. Great for taking cookies and crackers camping. I love this coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz
07/15/2011
By ,
Wellington, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like many others tried this coffee due to the price, and was pleasantly suprised! Also, if you check the actual ounces you will find you are getting even more for your money. It makes a very good cup of coffee, it is smooth...also good with honey, or my favorite is with cinnamon for morning Mexican coffee. I would like to know what coffee beans are used as I have not been able to find the info anywhere. Most packagers put it on the container.
Does anyone know? Is it Arabica? Or a "blend"?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Great coffee

03/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is good coffee, the price is cheaper then Maxwell House or Folgers and to me this coffee is
better. Great flavor, great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 13 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Master Chef: great taste and is exceptional value!

02/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With grocery prices constantly going up and coffee is no exception, we decided to try Master Chef ground coffee and found it to have a consistently good taste and an excellent bargain. Now, we only buy Master Chef ground coffee and have done so for months now. We have no complaints, only praises for this excellent brewed coffee. Thank you for offering such a quality ground coffee at such a bargain price, we will continue to buy it and recommend it to our friends and colleagues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Not good at all... Trust me

04/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this since GV Colombian was out of stock at my store. Wondered how it could be so cheap, and found out as soon as I opened the can! This doesn't even smell like coffee, more like wood chips. Brewed it and it came out very weak with this weird odor. Tastes very sour and bitter, I would compare it to cough syrup. I would highly recommend spending an extra dollar and getting GV Colombian, a much better choice and the best value coffee I have tried so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 15 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Great product for the value.

06/13/2012
By ,
Cape Cod, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been useing Master Chef Coffee for a long time. We travel a lot in a Motorhome, and do a lot of shopping in Wal-Mart's. We have tried to purchase this product in other stores, and can not readly find it.
The taste is Great, and could find it hard to say it wasn't from a top brand of coffee. I would say that you should try it, and you just might even like it yourself. We find it to be a Great Product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz
07/11/2011
By ,
Seattle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A friend was given some of this coffee and said it tasted wonderful asking what kind it was. Another person who only drinks name brands of familiarity thought it was not so good based on the label. I like it quite a lot and just got another can. Certainly does not compare to just roasted beans but then what name brand ground coffee does? Really a bargain I would say and made by a very reputable company.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Very weak and tastless

08/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You can't really call this coffee. First thing I always do when I open a new can up is to just get the smell of it and this had none and I new then i shouldn't have bought this but thought i'd try it once and will return it. I did try it to see what the taste would be like and hot is the only thing it compares to coffee. There is a taste but nothing like I ever had before.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 18 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz
05/21/2011
By ,
Big Ten
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I'd try to save a few bucks and purchased this Master Chef coffee. Well, I made one pot but couldn't drink a full cup. Seriously, it tasted like I was drinking cardboard. At 5am I returned the freshly opened can (thanks) and bought some real coffee ... Great Value Columbian.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
-1point
Review 19 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Amazing Coffee

08/24/2011
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this coffee and the taste was absolutely amazing! I definitely recommend it to everyone! This coffee taste better than other expensive coffee that I have tried in the past and the price is low. I hope they start selling it in decaf soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Master Chef: Ground Coffee, 34.5 Oz

Master Chef coffee

05/27/2012
By ,
Lawrenceville,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding value for the price. With the price of coffee going up all the time. It is as good as the name brands at your store. It is one of the reason's I shop at Wal-mart. Very, very good deal..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next