Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Special Kitty Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Special Kitty Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Only the best for your special kitty. For pet owners who demand the best, there's special kitty premium cat litter. Its odor control system traps odors & releases a pleasant fragrance that keeps your cat's litter box clean longer lasting means you use less. Because special kitty premium cat litter gives you highly effective odor control, you don't need To change it as often, so you use less. And that means more value in every bag, more money in your pocket a name you can trust. Special kitty is committed To bringing you brand-name quality cat litters at a price that makes sense. Special kitty premium cat litter is no exception. It's made under strict quality control standards, so you get premium performance without the premium PRICE
Average Customer Rating:
3.78 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation75%44 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Special Kitty Clumping Cat Litter

08/22/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used other expensive cat litter brands, but returned to using Special Kitty Scoopable/Clumping Cat Litter a year ago; this brand is slightly different from Special Kitty Scoopable/Clumping Litter, however although it's sold at Walmart, I didn't see the particular brand that I use on their website.
It's AMAZING and clumps very well! For me, no matter what cat litter I use, I prefer to use a clumping brand because it allows for easy removal of any waste without having to dump the entire litter pan and replace it with new litter. I'm not one to skip even one day without scooping out my cat's waste, and if I'm home at the time I'll do so as soon as she finishes no matter what I'm doing. To me, there will always be a litter box odor in someone's home if they allow any kind of regular, premium, clumping, etc. litter to remain in their cat's litter box without scooping it out each day. By removing the cat's waste every day, my home remains fresh and when I have guests they always say "Wow, I can't tell that you have a cat because it doesn't smell like a cat in here." What people don't realize is that when they visit someone's home, it's not the cat they are smelling- it's their waste that the pet owner doesn't remove from their litter box daily.
Overall, why pay high prices for other brands when I receive the same effective results from Special Kitty's line of cat litter products. I pay just under $5 for the 14 oz jug and it lasts for approximately two weeks.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Just as good, if not better than the name brands.

12/26/2012
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this cat litter! I recently decided to drastically reduce the amount of money I was spending on cat litter by trying out cheaper brands so I tried this one first and it is amazing. I was using all of the Arm & Hammer clumping litters which were fine, but got to be too expensive over time. I like this litter because even if I don't have time to scoop the litter, it still blocks the odors in the box. It is not clumping litter but one of the main complaints I've had in the past about non clumping litter is that the urine that doesn't get scooped ends up stinking up the litter box and I end up having to keep pouring litter into the pan to keep it fresh but with this litter, it never seems to start smelling bad. I have 4 cats and 3 litter boxes and one 25 lb bag fills all 3 boxes and can last for 2 weeks and still smells fresh. You do the math, I was spending upwards $24 every 2 weeks for clumping litter and now I'm only spending $4 every 2 weeks for this wonderful litter that works just as well. Pretty easy choice for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Poop

06/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How did it work for you? What do you wish someone would have told you before buying it?
Review guidelines
It wortks
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Cheap, and works fine

11/20/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the unscented version of this product at my local store for very little money. I'm using it in two litter boxes for three then six-week-old kittens and their semi-feral mother.
It doesn't clump (and it's not supposed to), which is what I preferred, since clumping litter is dangerous for cats, and especially dangerous for kittens. (If they swallow any, it clumps in their intestinal tract, and they may require surgery to remove it.)
I got the unscented since I am sensitive to scents, and I don't really want all those chemicals around such tiny kittens anyway. I usually sprinkle baking soda (also very cheap) on the bottom of the litter pan after washing it out to control odor, and mix some more in every time I scoop out the solid waste (with four cats and two boxes, that's twice a day).
The litter boxes don't start to smell until the litter is completely urine soaked. Then I dump it, wash the box, and replace the litter. The tiny little litter box that the kittens are using is lasting about two days before its all wet and needs to be changed. The bigger one the mother uses is lasting about a week.
I'm really glad this is available. I've gone through one-and-a-half bags in two weeks, but since this is so cheap I'm not worried about the price. And since I've spent about $500 in vet care alone (in two weeks!) for these kittens, I'm glad that I can save a bit of money here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

A real bargain

02/18/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cat litter is every bit as good as the name brand cat litter, but costs less at Walmart. Why throw money away with the cat litter?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

decent litter

06/01/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ok product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Used to be great, but no longer :(

02/03/2014
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this a couple months ago, and it was great. Low dust, white litter with lots of flecks of blue for deodorizing. Very happy.
But the most recent order is dark gray, tons of dust, and very few flecks of blue.
I'll upload pics if I can, but the quality has definitely dropped. Do not recommend :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Better than the name brands...Great WHITE litter

10/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best cat litter that my cats have used. It's a highly absorbant white litter, not one of the dark grey litters that gets muddy. It's also great at hiding odors. If you keep the boxes scooped it will last for quite awhile. I used to use Fresh Step, but, then they switched to the grey litter and it didn't work like it used to when they used the white litter. This is great litter. I should know, I have 5 discerning cats!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Kitty Litter = Dust Storm

07/20/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this kitty litter. I use 50 pounds every week.
My only complaint is that it is so dusty. I have had to install an exhaust fan in the room with the (4) litter boxes.
What does the 99% dust free claim mean?
I am going to try another brand in the future. Cannot stand the dust - allergies (mine and the cats).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb
12/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Where did some of the people writing reviews get the idea this is clumping litter? It certainly isn't advertised as clumping. This is your standard, change often cat litter at a fantastic price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Good Product

09/30/2013
By ,
Thonotosassa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am all to experienced with cat litter. The Special Kitty Clumping Litter in the 40lb box is what I have used because it is just as good as the expensive brands. I am having a little financial difficulty so I tried this Special Kitty Premium in the bag. So far, one week in the litter box and no odor AND that is a big plus!!! I think I like this better than what I have been using because it doesnt clump up like clay. The clay litters are very heavy to put in the trash. This litter is making my trash much lighter in weight. I have a lot of cats that I care for and I need something cheap that works. When comparing the 25lb bag to the 40lb box of the clay clump, I think I am gettin a bit more for my money - I will have to do some exact math to know for sure. Anyhow, I do recommend this litter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

LOVE THIS CAT LITTER : )

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS PRODUCT IT DRY'S UP THE CAT'S URINE PRETTY GOOD AND THE SMELL THIS CAT LITTER HAS WHEN YOU OPEN THE LITTER BAG IT HAS A NICE LIGHT SCENT OF FRESH SCENT. I HAVE NO COMPLAINS ABOUT THIS PRODUCT AT ALL AND I DO RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE TO TRY IT. AND FOR THE PRICE IT'S WORTH THE MONEY FOR ME THIS IS GREAT I HAVE MORE THEN 5 CATS SO THE PRICE AND QUALITY OF A PRODUCT IS ALWAYS IMPORTANT TO ME.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Something Has Changed!

06/30/2013
By ,
Hicksville, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Something has changed and not for the better! I have been buying Special Kitty for years and have been extremely happy, but within the last year the quality has changed. I had 6 cats and 4 litter boxes. I scoop several times a day and change the litter once a week. Now I have 5 cats, but now after 3 days the urine smell is unbearable. It's like it doesn't get obsorbed anymore. I finally stopped using it and switched to Tidy Cats. Now no problems, more money but no smell!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

My Cats Say Yeah & My Wallet Says Yippeee!

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For years, I purchased the expensive stuff. It cost me $15 a bag. However, I needed to do a mail order delivery, and Wal Mart did not have the litter I always buy. I decided to buy this, and then the following week I would go to Petsmart to get the litter I wanted.
I used this "cheap" stuff, and my cats fell in love. Honestly, they much more prefer this litter. I can get 3 bags for the same price as one of the other. It's insane, and I don't get it, but it's not for me to argue with my pets. It's their litter box, and it's my wallet that gets to celebrate. Excellent buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Better than Dollar Store generics but....

12/18/2013
By ,
ARIZONA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Better than Dollar Store generics but far poorer quality than Johnny Cat. The panamint clay does not absorb as well as other cheap brands but the odor control is fair to good. I bought it through Walmart.com as I was unable to drive in the neighboring town this month (50 miles each way) to buy better litter and shop for groceries.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Better than the leading brands and a better price!

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this product, the premium special kitty litter is all my cats will use faithfully. Controls the smell and is easy to scoop out in between changing it out. For some reason they have taken it off the shelf at my local Wal-mart Store in Sedalia, Missouri. Please bring it back! Thank You
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Best Product

09/09/2013
By ,
Davie, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 33 cats, so I'm "professional" in cat litter, I recommend Special Kitty Premium, it's a good price and the quality is excellent!
Thank you Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Not bad 4 the price

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when thIs Item was shIpped to me It was rIpped open however walmart dId fIx the Issuse so no complaInts
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Saved My Back!!

02/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an animal rescue, it's great that I can order litter from Walmart and have it delivered to my house with no shipping charge. Thank you, Walmart!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Special Kitty: Premium Cat Litter, 25 Lb

Won't Purchase This Product Again

01/31/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product will create a clump however the moment you touch it with a scoop the clump disintegrates. Other litter manufacturers are still successful with their clumping litter so what has changed here? I'm done with buying this product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next