Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

Great Value Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation53%8 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

Check the "source" very carefully.

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love water. It's my only indulgence of the liquid variety. I have tasted so many brands from all over, both domestic and international. In my humble opinion, Canadian water tastes the best. Logistics, however, makes this (and water from other countries) rather expensive.
The Great Value brand is sourced differently. Until about 6 months ago, the Roaring Springs company in Pennsylvania (USA) was supplying this water. I absolutely love this water and I'll shop for it everywhere. It's about the closest thing to Canadian I have tasted. Years ago, Walmart used to carry Canadian water sourced from "Aberfoyle" Springs in Ontario, I think!! Then the Nestle company bought Aberfoyle and started using there local company in North Carolina - wow, what a difference. I stopped purchasing it. Eventually, Nestle gradually changed the waters name to "PureLife" and transitioned to purified drinking water.
I've contacted the water company directly and learned they (Roaring Springs) used to "private label" this water for Walmart, BUT there contract is over -- they say. Now, Walmart uses a company called "Crossroads". IMHO, it tastes L O U S Y. If you really have a palet for water, you will taste the difference. Roaring Springs is more minerally tasting, whereas many others have a "salty"/nasty aftertaste. If there was some way I could request the Roaring Springs brand, I would. I feel so strongly about this water that I've even driven to Pennsylvania (about 130 miles) to by cases of it. But, again, this is costly and very inconvenient. Once in a "blue moon", Roaring Springs will appear on the shelves, but it is short lived. BTW, the UPC code of the Roaring Springs water is: 078742351933. Morale of the story - be sure the source is "Roaring Springs". //d
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

I Think Something Changed

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
During my last trip to WalMart I noticed that all the Great Value Spring Water was either removed or sold out. I previously purchased a gallon to tide me over while my faucet with PUR filter was being replaced. The taste was really bad. I'll going to discard the remainder.
I did notice that some of the reviews said the water tastes great as well as it tastes horrible. I sorted the reviews by date and discovered that the older reviews sited the "great taste" and the newer ones sited "horrible taste".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

AWFUL!

11/27/2013
By ,
St. George, Ut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This water has an awful taste! dumped it out!!!!!! It tasted like chemicals. It is the WORST spring water I have ever tasted. If it would have connoted me more than .88 I would have definitely returned this product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dyersburg Tn
Taste that get's your attention
Posted 08/03/2014
This water needs to be filtered more or what, label says Processed By Ozonation,Carbon Filtration,Ultraviolet Treatment,Micofiltration so why does the water have a unpleasant noticeable taste, is it the plastic container prior to filling, come on walmart check this out and quit putting on shelves until it is corrected or properly explained what the taste is. I recently purchased Gerber brand and it as far as taste, was tasteless and the plastic container looks like the same material. I don't care where the water is derived from if it is filtered properly it should not have an after taste.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal
10/05/2013
By ,
tampa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband buys bottles of this every week and we are on a budget and the price is good but the last few months it tastes exremely horrid. Hard to describe but its kinda like a moldy aftertaste. I've tried the spring and drinking water and am having the same issues with the taste. My husband puts up with it and drinks it but I cannot drink it and go w/o drinking anything because sometimes thats all we have availble. Opened a new bottle today and before drinking it I could smell it straight from the bottle. Dunno if the bottle is making it taste weird or if its the water itself. I do not give it to my 2 yr old I still give him the baby water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

Tastes horrible

07/01/2013
By ,
Austin,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Water shouldn't even have this strong of a taste. It's horrible. It's like some chemical cocktail of plastic/chlorine. This is going right down the drain and into the trash.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

worst spring water ive ever tasted

03/24/2014
By ,
dayville ct
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This water tasted like my tap water, wich tastes awful. The price was good and usually I like the Great Value brand products but ive never tasted such awful spring water. Will never buy this product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

Spring water

10/13/2009
By ,
Stone Mountin, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great, pure, tasting water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

Buy it all the time, tastes great!

09/30/2011
By ,
waxahachie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always drink bottled water. This is what I drink at home. It tastes as good as any name- brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

Great price for something every house should have

04/23/2013
By ,
Elm Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value if you need to stock up. We usually have a dozen of these stashed away in the pantry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal

Definitely some kind of taste

06/21/2011
By ,
Queens, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Spring water should have no taste at all. Poland Spring water has no taste. This Great Value has some kind of taste that I can't quite pinpoint what it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Austin,Tx
Agreed
Posted 07/01/2013
Yea, it doesn't taste good at all.
0points
Customer Avatar
O.C., CA
Totally agree about the taste. I smell chlorine.
Posted 08/16/2012
I totally agree. I consume only natural products, and the very first thing I noticed- even before taking a sip of this water, was the chlorine-like smell. It definitely has been treated with something chemical. I also noticed particles floating round in the water when I held it up to the sunlight.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal
08/03/2013
By ,
arlington texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
should get 0 stars taste like cardboard i'd rather die of dehydration than drink this water
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Great Value Spring Water, 1 gal
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5